Show ratings & reviews for

3.8 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

15 People found this comment helpful

Absolutely makes a HUGE difference controlling PVCs (in comination with Tikosyn and Coreg)....Gave me my life back. Haven't been bothered by too much nausea.

Shared reviews and ratings

Shadow | 7-12 | Other | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Caregiver
7/21/2021
Condition: Heart Ventricle Rhythm Problem
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My canine had heart issues his entire life. He was on Benazapril and Sotalol and had an active life despite his issues. Then the heart vet added Mexiletine. slowly my dogs appetite went from robust to reluctant. I assumed he was just getting picky. My vet increased the dose and soon Shadow ate little to nothing. Labs done a week before he died showed some bad liver values which my regular vet said might indicate a sour stomach / appetite issues. A month after going on a higher dose of Mexiletine he passed away due to CHF. Although no one can make a direct connection and Shaodws bad heart was most likely going to get him, I strongly feel that Mexiletines many MANY side effects and risks out weigh its benefits. This medication needs very close monitoring and control processes which in our case were not included by the heart vet. Strongly think about other meds or ways to control the symptoms. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
8/13/2017
Condition: Heart Ventricle Rhythm Problem
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

while I have had no rhythm problems in the last several years, I am ready to discontinue taking this med due to the severe stomach distress when I take this med (every 8 hrs) Don

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
8/6/2015
Condition: Heart Ventricle Rhythm Problem
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
tm5276 | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
3/18/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have a 2 syrinx in spinal chord which had increased in size over the last 3 years. This causes intense nerve pain in legs, buttocx and hands. Even texture in clothing can increase this pain. I take this with gabapentin which allows me a degree of relief.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
b0ceph0s | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/21/2015
Condition: Heart Ventricle Rhythm Problem
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Dizzy,Shakey,Tired, Vertigo, but taken with Amiodorone seems to be effective.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tracy | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Caregiver
5/2/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My daughter has been on varied dosages of this since she was 8. Although it has not been reviewed for usage in children, her neurologist began the regimen to help treat her myotonia congenita. It eases the stiffness, but wears off after a few months at the same dosage. She can tell a HUGE difference if she misses a dose, so it is working for her so far. She is 14 and has been taking this medicine for approximately 6 years.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
LMSinMS | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
1/20/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

For the past three and a half years I have had severe ulnar nerve pain in my left hand. I've had three surgeries to try and alliviate the pain. My pain management doctor prescribed Mexiletine about a year and half ago. I take it in addition to Lyrica and also Tromadol four times a day. Presently I am taking 1200 mg daily and am still in pain BUT, the pain is bareable now. Before Mexiletine my days were excrutiating, now I am functioning. I do have occassional involuntary nerve twitches but that is the only side effect I've ever had and they always seem to happen when I am still. If I remain moving this does not occur. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/28/2013
Condition: Heart Ventricle Rhythm Problem
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Craig30t | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
5/28/2013
Condition: Heart Ventricle Rhythm Problem
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I take 150 mgs. x 3 daily. No evidence of v-tach yet, but I am also an LVAD patient, which may be helping me also.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
U. Troy Snider | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
4/26/2013
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Chronic nerve pain (Peripheral Neuropath ) Rare spinal condition, syringomyelia no know cause. Began this drug in 2003, worked well for a few years, 150 mg once daily. Medication doubled 2006, 150 mg twice daily, worked to lesser degrees threw the years until mid 2012. When upped to 150 mg daily, terrible trembles, felt like was vibrating, reduced back to 150 mg 2x. Now medication has no apparent effect. Major problem was hairs on L arm felt like needles stabbing me when cloths or any slight breeze moved them. Am Viet Nam vet (don’t tell me how to spell a place I hated), VA has refused to link syringomyelia to my Agent Orange, or this peripheral neuropathy. How ever medication it did function well for years to help ease problem. Would recommend it as an option for peripheral neuropathy patients. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | Patient
3/23/2013
Condition: Heart Ventricle Rhythm Problem
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

biggest side effect for me was severe heartburn with or without food.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jasper1930 | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
7/7/2012
Condition: Heart Ventricle Rhythm Problem
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Been on this MED for a little more than 2 yrs. Taking 10 Mgs once each day in morning. Have had good results. Blood pressure is normal for one my age. No side effects yet.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
mexiletine | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/17/2012
Condition: Heart Ventricle Rhythm Problem
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Every day I was on this pill I got worse and thought I was dieing. No food sounded good got sick to stomach, couldn't get food down and started loosing weight. lost 14 lbs in 2 weeks.Now I'm off it and feeling better every day.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
millie | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/10/2011
Condition: Heart Ventricle Rhythm Problem
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

suffered bad heartburn. Bad chest pain. Had difficult when eating. Felt like food gets stuck in my chest. Couldn't eat because of pain. Stopped twice. Feel much better after stopping.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
[email protected]om | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/30/2011
Condition: Heart Ventricle Rhythm Problem
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Been on the drug for about two months. Started off at 150mg.X 3 daily had to be upped to 250 mg.x 3 daily seems to be doing its job now. Still go into Vtech every now and then very small attacks. So far happy with drug.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
rowatt | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/9/2010
Condition: Heart Ventricle Rhythm Problem
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've had rapid and/or irregular heart rate since childhood. Was particularly sensitive to caffeine too. Six months ago I began experiencing severe irregular heart rhythmns, sometimes feeling two or three beats together which would go on for a while. Almost fainted once. A specialist MD, an electrophysiologist started me on Mexiletine, 150mg twice each day with fantastic results. My heart almost immediately returned to a stable pulse. Only side effect is heartburn if I forget to eat or drink milk when taking the pill.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Fernrose | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
3/7/2010
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had severe burning down my left leg for 22 years. I have had 6 back surgeries; thinking each time it would help this along with my other back problems. Nothing has helped as much as seeing a pain doctor and he prescribed Mexiletine along with another new drug and increasing 2 others. I am finally so I can live with the burning.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
1/13/2010
Condition: Heart Ventricle Rhythm Problem
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
phildo | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
1/2/2010
Condition: Heart Ventricle Rhythm Problem
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

have dialated cardiomyopathy, atrial fibrilation and an ICD. my ICD went off (3x) and the increased my dose (3x). been stable for awhile. the next drug to try is scary.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Cakoo1 | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/22/2009
Condition: Heart Ventricle Rhythm Problem
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Since taking this medication, I feel that itis controling my sustained v-tach, however, I have bad nervous shakes in my hands making it hard to hod something without my hands shaking. I will report this to my doctor in the AM as I have an appointment.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More