Show ratings & reviews for

3.8 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

45 People found this comment helpful

I have been taking Casodex 150mg. on and off for 2 years. My PSA drops below l and then goes back up when I stop taking it. The side affects are not good, but tolerable. I have hot flashes, loss of hair under my arms and on my legs, decreased sex drive and a slight loss of energy. I am still able to work out the Fitness Center, swim and play golf.

Most voted negative review

7 People found this comment helpful

Im looking for help for my dad...?

Shared reviews and ratings

NORCAL Patient | 75 or over | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
3/28/2017
Condition: Advanced Form of Prostate Cancer
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on this drug for the past 10 months along with a Lupron injection every six months after I completed 44 treatments of radiation. The side effects are not pleasant, but are becoming more tolerable and less frequent. The one side effect that has not improved is the hot flashes which occur day and night with more frequency dependent upon how cool I am able to keep my body. The breast swelling and hair loss on my arms and legs has pretty much leveled off and weight gain and energy loss has improved with exercise and some diet adjustments. Trips to the bathroom during the night has greatly improved, from 3 to 4 to normally only 1 or 2 times now, but causing some loss of sleep and being tired during the day. My docs want me to remain on these drug for at least 2 years, so if the side effects remain the same, I should be able to deal with the side effects. PSA is below 0.1 three months after starting the drugs and has stayed the same.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
kidshelleen51 | 55-64 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
8/11/2016
Condition: Advanced Form of Prostate Cancer
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Diagnosed with high grade prostate cancer although no evidence of metastatic cancer. PSA dropped from 5.7 to .2 in 3 months and .1 three months later. But the side effects are horrible and I am taking myself off after 9 months. The Lupron/Casodex combo has left me severely fatigued, with joint pain, horrible hot flashes somewhat mitigated by Paxel, sometimes in a mental fog, 7 lbs of weight gain, bald under the arms, raisins for nuts, forget sex, frequent nighttime urination, and a few other things I can't remember. The damn cocktail works but docs keep you on it too long. After radiation and with an undetectable PSA, there seems to be no reason to continue this crap for another 9 months. So I'm in charge and I quit. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Paul | 65-74 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
12/26/2015
Condition: Advanced Form of Prostate Cancer
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Been on 50mgs/day with Trelstar shot every 3 months for almost 2 years, PSA went below 1 in first 6 months and has stayed there. Experience extreme fatigue now. Experience breast tenderness and hair loss in first 6 months. Not happy with side affects. As time goes by breast tenderness is decreasing and is now tolerable, same with hot flashes.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Dave | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
5/21/2015
Condition: Advanced Form of Prostate Cancer
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sam | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
11/28/2014
Condition: Advanced Form of Prostate Cancer
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had no serious side effects.Coincidently, or not, I required major periodontal surgery during my treatment period, due to significant bone loss. A previous reviewer had mentioned "loss of teeth" as possible side effect.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
11/26/2014
Condition: Cancer of Prostate that has Spread to Other Part of Body
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started casodex over 4 years ago, initially 50 mg per day for one month on it, then 2 months off. Later moved to 100 then 150 mg/day, still some months on, some months off. Whenever PSA went up to around 3.0, I went back on the medication. My PSA is still under 3.0 though the drugs effectiveness may be nearing the end for me. Virtually no side effects for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
churppy | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Caregiver
4/1/2014
Condition: Cancer of the Prostate Gland
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i am writing this for my husband,casodex,only treatment avabile,with out a three month shot,that cost's 2000.00,called lupron.casodex daily will kipp my husband in romission indeffintly.how can he be treated so rude.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Walter | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
1/16/2014
Condition: Cancer of Prostate that has Spread to Other Part of Body
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on Casodex (and Lupron shot) for 18 months. I get bad hot flashes but nothing else. It seems successful at this point. Time will tell. Good luck to us all.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
12/24/2013
Condition: Cancer of the Prostate Gland
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Total loss of sexual stimulation. Will this ever return after i stop casodex

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Eli | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
10/10/2013
Condition: Cancer of the Prostate Gland
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Started casodex week before surgery 6 1/2 months ago,both psa test since has shown non-detectible. Although gleason score was 9, pathology after surgery was great. Primary side effects, fatigue, breast pain, joint & musclepain, sharp pains in side & stomach, irregularity,slight nausea, drowsiness, gas,indigestion, weight gain even after arobic workouts 6 times per week (wondering if it impedes metabolism), frequent urination, & a few other side effects. Unsure as to how long I will need to take med. Still thankful for it. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
engelbach | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/26/2013
Condition: Cancer of the Prostate Gland
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have adenocarcinoma of the prostate. After four months on Casodex, 50 mg per day, my PSA went down from 10.7 to 3.1. two weeks later it measured 3.0. Side effects are breast swelling and tenderness, and diminution of ejaculate, but nothing debilitating.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/26/2013
Condition: Cancer of Prostate that has Spread to Other Part of Body
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Dissy, naseau, legs swelling, no appetite and constipation.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Johnat | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/19/2013
Condition: Cancer of the Prostate Gland
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Taking this medication for 6 weeks. Have trouble sleeping and very severe itching over entire body. Breast tender and feet and ankles swelling so bad can hardly get shoes on daily.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
old patient5qe5k2 | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
4/28/2012
Condition: Cancer of the Prostate Gland
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Iused tis medication to reduce psa rating

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
chuck | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
4/4/2012
Condition: Cancer of Prostate that has Spread to Other Part of Body
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

hot flashes.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
[email protected],com | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
1/26/2012
Condition: Cancer of the Prostate Gland
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Taking this drug for 5 years. Once a day. Have PSA checked every three months. It has been as low as 0.01 and is currently 0.60. I had seeds and radiation done before taking this medicine. That did not work. Medicine $546 which I paid $124 each month. I went to the VA and I now pay $9.00 a month for a y30 day supply. It has gone generic.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
bluebird | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
11/21/2011
Condition: Cancer of Prostate that has Spread to Other Part of Body
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I feel great since my doctor prescribed this medication

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/23/2011
Condition: Cancer of Prostate that has Spread to Other Part of Body
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
LJR | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/14/2011
Condition: Cancer of Prostate that has Spread to Other Part of Body
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Extreme, debilitating muscular back pain, took several weeks after discontinuing before could begin to live comfortably. Still have periodic knots in muscle.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
wolf | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
3/30/2011
Condition: Cancer of the Prostate Gland
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Diagnosed with Stage II prostate cancer in 2007. Radiation treatment then hormone shot and PSA test every six months. Casodex every day. PSA has been 0.00 since first checkup after completing radiation.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More