Show ratings & reviews for

3.5 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

86 People found this comment helpful

You do it because you are told it is good for you. All your joints ache, can't sleep, diarrhea, constipation, no memory, hot flashes, weight gain and not able to lose it. Can't get an insurance policy because you have to still take a medication as treatment, even though the medicine is supposedly preventing a recurrance. I quit and feel so much better. I'm living for quality not quantity now. ...

Most voted negative review

4 People found this comment helpful

as a woman w/ "MMMMT"( carcinosarcoma),(uterine cancer),i don't recommend any hormonal therapy,or hornone therapy- like drugs.i believe after 5 yrs.of tamoxifen & 4 yrs.of Evista(hormone therapy)it has sentenced to me a cancer that only 2-5% of all women get,with a very low expectancy.

Shared reviews and ratings

Zoey | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/25/2021
Condition: Hormone Receptor Positive Breast Cancer
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Only on anastrozole for three months, waited 8 months to start because I read about all the bad side effects. I had joint pain, depression, headaches, stomach pain, hot flashes, and sleeplessness to name a few. Doctors love to scare you to take the medicine, but the quality of life is so much more important. After reading these other women's experiences, I feel bad that the doctors are not always telling the whole truth. Yes, after going off the medicine you can have high blood pressure, heart issues, other cancers, high cholesterol and so much more I would love to hear from other ladies who have never taken these hormone drugs and see how they are doing. In general, I bet the cancer rates would not be that different, I sure would like an honest answer for all the women who experiences cancer and these hormone drugs.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
5/9/2021
Condition: Breast Cancer
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking this drug for over a year now. Since starting I have had severe fatigue, memory issues, sleeplessness, anxiety, and the worst bone pain imaginable. Some nights it gets so bad it brings me tears. It had got so bad my oncologist finally took me off it. She said I needed a re-set. Well I was off it for about 3 months and was feeling a bit better. Mostly more energy. But now I’m back on it taking it every other day. The bone pain is back with a vengeance, I’m so exhausted, and I’m having sharp pains under my left breast that feel like they are coming from my arteries and surgery site. I see my oncologist in 2 days to discuss how we move forward. I can not take this drug anymore it’s literally destroying my body. I was a young 52 before my diagnosis and treatment and now I feel Ike Im 70. I fear that this pill plus the 16 rounds of chemo and 30 rounds of radiation have done irreversible damage to my entire body. I was beyond fit and healthy before my diagnosis. It’s heart breaking what this has done to me. I don’t think I’ll ever see the old me again. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
8/12/2020
Condition: Breast Cancer that has Spread to Another Part of the Body
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on arimidex for 8 yeas. Things have gone very well for me till lately. I never got over hot flashes so that never bothered me. My feet and ankles have started swelling, I have gained a lot of weight. My PCP keeps telling me to loose weight. Impossible to do. My bone densiety tests have been OK.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Roseanne | 65-74 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/17/2020
Condition: Breast Cancer
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Here goes! 30 yrs ago at 40 Ihad a lumpectomy R breast with 36 radiation treatments. took tamoxifen for 1 yr. develooped uterine cancer. had total abdominal hysterectomy. 2008 had lumpectomy on left breast no further tx. 2013 lumpectomy Left breast no further tx needed. 2019 cancer came back both breast different cancers insitu left breast and right breast and also stage 11 right breast. I had a bilateral mastectomy in Oct. 2019. I was started on Arimidex (did not want to take this drug) took it for 6 months just stopped. severe joint pain, wt gain, depressed, moody, hot flashes to name a few side effects. I am a registered nurse, I still work, I exercise daily and feel so much better since I stopped this drug. anyone have any advice. My onocologist says there are no side effects from this drug. I really seriously doubt I am making this up. Good Luck to all of us surviors. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Roseanne | 65-74 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/17/2020
Condition: Breast Cancer
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Here goes! 30 yrs ago at 40 Ihad a lumpectomy R breast with 36 radiation treatments. took tamoxifen for 1 yr. develooped uterine cancer. had total abdominal hysterectomy. 2008 had lumpectomy on left breast no further tx. 2013 lumpectomy Left breast no further tx needed. 2019 cancer came back both breast different cancers insitu left breast and right breast and also stage 11 right breast. I had a bilateral mastectomy in Oct. 2019. I was started on Arimidex (did not want to take this drug) took it for 6 months just stopped. severe joint pain, wt gain, depressed, moody, hot flashes to name a few side effects. I am a registered nurse, I still work, I exercise daily and feel so much better since I stopped this drug. anyone have any advice. My onocologist says there are no side effects from this drug. I really seriously doubt I am making this up. Good Luck to all of us surviors. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Phunny | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
3/13/2020
Condition: Breast Cancer
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Joyce | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
2/8/2020
Condition: Hormone Receptor Positive Breast Cancer
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

In 2005, had lumpectomy for invasive ductal carcinoma. Received 35 treatments of radiation, and I was started on Arimidex for 5 years. Only side effect was crying, so pcp put me on an antidepressant. I now have neuropathy in my feet that neurologist said was usually seen in people who had received chemotherapy.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Eileen | 65-74 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
9/20/2019
Condition: Breast Cancer
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am so grateful that my cancer has not returned, first and foremost. Three months after starting on anastozole, I woke up one morning and could barely walk. The pain in my knees was excruciating, and from that day on, all my joints started to be one painful. I was fit before, but started putting on weight quickly. I practiced yoga the first four or so years until I became too sore. Cut out potatoes, bread, pasta, rice, cut right back on sugars. It didn't make a bit of difference. Hot flashes, sleepless nights, hair loss, foggy brain, feet and legs on fire when I lay down. I'm praying when I finish these pills in eight months, this will all reverse. It's discouraging when so many women complain about the same symptoms, only to read..Doctors say this doesn't cause weight gain, high sugar etc. Good luck to everyone going through this.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anastrozole(Arimidex) | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
4/25/2019
Condition: Breast Cancer
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am in 4 years of taking Anastrozole and the last 2 weeks I have 30 side effects and I feel very miserable, I want to stop taking this, My cancer was stage 1, mini tinny tumor, margin and main gland clean, and didn't tested positive for the h2 whatever is. Choose SAVI device for radiation and the pill, for 5 years, but why going thru 5 years for this tinny cancer? this is awful and doctors obviously don't have this side effects, pharma is a HUGE business. I will talk to my doctor, but Im stopping this medicine.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
FIONA | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/5/2019
Condition: Hormone Receptor Positive Breast Cancer
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I developed GROVERâÂ?Â?S DISEASE after taking this drug for a few months, which is a rash that matched the pictures and symptoms described in the on-line info that I researched. Nowhere in the literature from my pharmacy, nor did any knowledge or info come from my oncologist about GROVERâ??S DISEASE being a side-effect of ANASTRAZOLE. I was then prescribed EXEMESTANE, which was much too costly for me - so I am now taking TAMOXIFEN, which is affordable for me. I am thinking positive in the hope that I will not experience the side effects that others have been listing. Has anyone else had a rash that could not be identified when taking ANASTRAZOLE? And if you have, have you researched whether or not it could be causing GROVERâÂ?Â?S DISEASE. ??Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Karenvm5pim | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
8/1/2018
Condition: Hormone Receptor Positive Breast Cancer
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Increased bone pain with fracture of spine after 6month p use!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
5/22/2018
Condition: Hormone Receptor Positive Breast Cancer
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
STXChick | 55-64 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
5/3/2018
Condition: Breast Cancer
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Ductal carsinoma in situ. Biopsy dislodge duct wall. Caught by sentinel lymph nodes. Non in later layers. 33 radiation sessions. Took Arimidex for three years with 3 clean mammograms. Stopped taking as I could hardly walk (pain in joints, muscles, and bones), had no joy (depression?), cholesterol increased. glucose increased, and extreme fatigue. I felt as those I was 90 years old. So I decided to stop taking the Arimidex. Amazingly, within days everything went back to normal. I could walk without pain and I felt FREE!!! I will keep getting my mammograms, and am awaiting my bone density test to see if any permanent damage was done as I had good bones. I believe they took the cancer out and I am cancer free. But, I could not live my life with the pain and anguish of Arimidex. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lynn | 55-64 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
12/4/2017
Condition: Breast Cancer
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had a lumpectomy and radiation at the beginning of 2017. I began taking Anastrozole (1 mg) (generic brand of Arimidex) in March of 2017. I was concerned because of all the reviews I have read about the side effects. I have to let everyone know that there is hope that you may not experience these effects. I have been taking it daily since then and have had NO side effects (praise the Lord) I thought there would be fatique or joint pain- but so far in the 9 months. I have had no bad side effects. I hope you will have the same experience that I have had.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Karen | 45-54 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
9/27/2017
Condition: Breast Cancer
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Had stage 1 breast cancer and is HER2 Positive. I started this drug July 2015; and I have had the worst joint and muscle pains. My knees is where the worst of the pain is. I also have problems with my hands and opening and closing them on a daily basis. I also developed a rash on my lower leg that happened after starting this medication. This may be too much information, but it is a task for me to sit on the toilet without my knees being in constant pain with I try to get up. I have expressed joint pain to my oncologist, only to be ignored. I have an appointment in about 2 weeks; and after reading all of these statements that have confirmed what I been experiencing for the last year, I will advocate better for myself. I am so grateful for all of you women and your stories. I have already gone through the unthinkable with having Breast Cancer; and I don't want to have this kind of pain for the next 4 years. My quality of life is at 60% on this drug; and I want to have a better quality of life. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MH1306 | 65-74 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
6/2/2017
Condition: Breast Cancer
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Had dbl mastectomy last October from Stage 1 infiltrating ductal carcinoma. Lymph nodes clear. Surgeon started me on Anastrozole one month prior to that. No chemo or radiation needed. Surgeon ordered bone density test for baseline purposes and said I should have it done every year. I've now been on the drug for almost 10 months. Have a few "power surges" every day but they are not intense. Started losing hair early last year, before diagnosis so I don't know that I can blame this drug for that issue. Two months ago, I developed symptoms similar to carpal tunnel or tendonitis. Went to orthopedic doctor and he gave me a brace an cortisone shot, which didn't help. Don't know if hand problem is due to this drug or not but it is listed as a side effect. Have noticed increased hip joint pain. My sleeping problems are due to discomfort from my implants because when I change positions in bed, I can go back to sleep. I think I'm more fortunate than most of the ladies in these reviews BUT I've only been on the drug for about 10 months. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/29/2017
Condition: Breast Cancer
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Stage 1 breast cancer, no lymph node involvement, lumpectomy. Four weeks of radiation. One month off to heal, then began Arimidex. Four months so far. I was already taking two meds for RA, so the oncologist said that should help with any joint pain (none noticed!). Already on a med for osteopenia, so that should help with any bone thinning. My hairdresser recommended using Bosley hair shampoo and conditioner to help with hair thinning. It doesn't regrow hair, but it keeps hair from falling out. It has worked amazingly as one RA drug had already begun hair thinning which has now stopped. New hair re-growing since using it. Two side effects of Arimidex noted: 1) tingling/mild numbness in fingers and toes, off-and-on, and 2) weight loss -- so far about 2 lbs. per month. I can certainly live with that. Oncologist thinks that will even out soon. Overall, very happy with lack of side effects! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
BeachChair | 55-64 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
1/19/2017
Condition: Breast Cancer
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking Arimidex generic for 4 years and 10 months. I had stage 1,estrogen receptive, clean lymph nodes and had radiation. I have experienced roaming joint pain, hair thinning, fatigue, no libido, memory loss, severe hot flashes, trouble staying hydrated, and depression and weight gain. I tried effexor and I did sleep better, but didn't like how it made me feel. It was VERY DIFFICULT getting off this drug! Dr wants me to continue 5 more years, surgeon says stop NOW ! Breast cancer took my mom 26 years ago, but no BRACA Genes! Decision time settle for a reduced quality of like and live in fear of making the wrong choice or suck it up - Take the Effexor, Diet More, Pray More, Keep working out very often, and be with my loved ones ! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous |
12/26/2016
Condition: Hormone Receptor Positive Postmenopausal Early Breast Cancer
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Don't take this drug! Bad side effects, and some of them last years after taking the drug! I took it in 2008 and most of the side effects went away, but the arthritis is still there. You can't put back cartilage when it is gone. Do not take this, please!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
9/9/2016
Condition: Breast Cancer
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

this medication has caused significant hair loss, took it for five years, hair never came back. not bald, just horribly thin. arthrites, simply unbelievable. i am alive, its been 9 years and i am happy for that, would love more hair, less pain, however i am very happy to be alive and it probably is the reason. hard choices.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More