Show ratings & reviews for

2.9 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

91 People found this comment helpful

MY OPINION WHICH APPLIES TO ME: This is a dangerous, very effective drug for my afib but I am afraid of it. Trial and error I found out that by CONTROLLING high blood pressure ELIMINATION of excessive dietary salt, added potassium and magnesium supplements, REDUCED my afib attacks by 90%. Also to be avoided are chronic infections such as bad teeth. I absolutely must monitor and control my blood pr...

Most voted negative review

6 People found this comment helpful

I ALMOST DIED WITH THIS DRUG ,,,hundreds say relatives DID die THIS DRUG SHOULD BE REPORTED TO FDA AND TAKEN OFF THE MARKET NOW! one WISE dr saw that I was takeing it and said "STOP THat NOW" IF that doctor knew it's danger WHY do not others and FDA?? TELL FDA and Stop this killing drug

Shared reviews and ratings

Elliott | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/1/2021
Condition: Ventricular Rate Control in Atrial Fibrillation
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It seemed to help Afib…..a trip to the hospital for impaction and now a thryoid problem which I am not on a medication for and blurry vision we didnt have a cause…now we do. So glad I have a top notch Doctor that wanted me off this medication. Wish the dr’s that put me on it hadnt!!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years |
4/12/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

death

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
aquafina | 65-74 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/2/2021
Condition: Atrial Fibrillation
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The side effects of this drug were horrible. Fatigue, insomnia, hand tremors, constipation with abdominal discomfort, headache, erectile dysfunction, easy bruising, nervousness. Mt doc took my off of it after one month. This stuff is poison!!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Closer | 65-74 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
12/31/2020
Condition: Atrial Fibrillation
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I felt horrible for 3 days after receiving a loading dose in the hospital. However, once I settled into taking 200mg per day, I tolerated it very well. I took it for about 15 months. It helped keep me in sinus rhythm when I was at rest. However, when I worked out or did cardio, I often went into a-fib. So I discontinued taking amiodarone, and I had a catheter rf ablation. The ablation was successful, and I no longer take a-fib medication.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mike C | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
12/22/2020
Condition: Atrial Fibrillation
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I found out after the fact of taking this medication for a year that it can cause calcification in the eyes, which my optometrist noted I have, and also constipation, edema and a few other issues. My new cardiologist took me off of this medication until I suitable replacement can be found

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
robo | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years |
1/9/2020
Condition: Atrial Fibrillation
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My brother in law was on this drug for years until finally another cardiologist at their office said nobody should be on this drugs for years due to the serious side affects. It was too late as it resulted in serious liver failure. He now goes to the hospital every 4 weeks to have up to 2 liters of fluid removed. My heart surgeon (I had 2 open heart surgeries to repair mitral valve leakage) put me on this for 2 week but said they do not put anybody on it due to the serious side affects. It work for Afib but also destroys other organs. Ablation for Afib is much better if you can have this donelRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Charles Kuenzi | 75 or over | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
11/8/2019
Condition: Atrial Fibrillation
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was well aware and advised of the side effects of this drug. However, when I first had an afib attack three years ago, the hospital doctors spent almost a week trying every afib drug in their cabinet. Nothing worked. Amiodarone was the drug of last resort and It worked almost immediately. Since then I have had two more afig events and the Amiodarone again came to the rescue. After reading two pages of side effects, I can report no adverse reactions to this drug. Not one. Not after three years. Go figure. For me, I had no other alternative. I lucked up.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Male | Patient
3/18/2019
Condition: Atrial Fibrillation
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took amiodarone for 10 weeks and soon lost my ability to walk. Numbness in left arm and both legs and feet. I have been in PT for 8 weeks and can now walk using a cane. Dangerous stuff!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Unhappy | 55-64 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/13/2019
Condition: Atrial Fibrillation
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Only took this for 6 months. The side affects were horriable!!!!!!!!!!! Made hair fall out really bad. Left a brown slime on the lense inside my eye that will never go away. WARNING DO NOT TAKE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
KEITH R | 65-74 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/23/2019
Condition: Atrial Fibrillation
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

For four years I was on FLECAINIDE...good. Had recent heart surgery to correct a congenital defect and aneurysm. New cardio put me on AMIODARONE and I have had negative side effects: tightness in chest, off balance, numbness in hands

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
lungissue | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Caregiver
12/28/2018
Condition: Atrial Fibrillation
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This drug caused lung hemorrhage and finally death.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Babsy | 65-74 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
10/1/2018
Condition: Atrial Fibrillation
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Was taking 200mg daily. Heart rhythm was stable. Iâ??m on thyroid medication and the amiodarone affected the levels. I was either too high or too low. Reduced to 100mg and now been on 50 mg and thyroid levels are stable and heart rate and rhythm are are excellent.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Nino | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/21/2018
Condition: Atrial Fibrillation
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It stopped my A-FIB and have not seen any side effects yet.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Riverman | 55-64 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/16/2018
Condition: Atrial Fibrillation
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Was given the drug for atrial fib. Has caused me swallowing problems, severe stomach pains, and increased thyroid levels.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
5/22/2018
Condition: Atrial Fibrillation
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Have a problem with male pattern baldness. Used hair restorer and hormone replacement therapy is better

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Don with the problems | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
4/8/2018
Condition: Atrial Fibrillation
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Taking Amiodarone for over 4 years for Atrial Fib. .Had Atrial wall ablation 3 years ago . No Fibrillation until 6 months ago at which time I also showed high Thyroid levels. Did it do anything? I guess it may have helped with stopping fibrillation ,Maybe. But it also made me very ill now. Just what I needed another health problem.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Diana0801 | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
12/13/2017
Condition: Atrial Flutter
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Sometimes it drops my pressure & heart rate a little too low . Can this drug stop your heart ?? If anyone knows please respond

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Caregiver
11/17/2017
Condition: Atrial Fibrillation
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Our beloved dad of 11 died 4 year ago due to the side effects of this medicine(lung fibrosis) Please take this off the market!! Or at the very least be very specific about follow up!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
dave_toadyyanoo.com | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/31/2017
Condition: Atrial Fibrillation Electrically Shocked to Normal Rhythm
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Some relief with this drug, afib still comes and goes

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ant8337895 | 65-74 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/15/2017
Condition: Atrial Fibrillation
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This drug just killed my father 8/11/2017 ...it destroyed his perfectly healthy lungs..and doctors tried to reverse with steroids and it was too late..please ask your doctor for an alternative drug and if you have a cough or any breathing see your doctor immediately.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More