Show ratings & reviews for

2.9 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

91 People found this comment helpful

MY OPINION WHICH APPLIES TO ME: This is a dangerous, very effective drug for my afib but I am afraid of it. Trial and error I found out that by CONTROLLING high blood pressure ELIMINATION of excessive dietary salt, added potassium and magnesium supplements, REDUCED my afib attacks by 90%. Also to be avoided are chronic infections such as bad teeth. I absolutely must monitor and control my blood pr...

Most voted negative review

6 People found this comment helpful

I ALMOST DIED WITH THIS DRUG ,,,hundreds say relatives DID die THIS DRUG SHOULD BE REPORTED TO FDA AND TAKEN OFF THE MARKET NOW! one WISE dr saw that I was takeing it and said "STOP THat NOW" IF that doctor knew it's danger WHY do not others and FDA?? TELL FDA and Stop this killing drug

Shared reviews and ratings

Caregiver | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Caregiver
1/7/2023
Condition: Atrial Fibrillation
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

DO NOT TAKE THIS DRUG! Honestly, death is probably better than being on this medication. If you or a loved one is thinking about taking this, please don't! You aren't living when on this drug. This drug almost killed my mom. The decline took days. They sent her home on hospice after the most recent hospital visit told us there was nothing else they could do. Now that there have been a few weeks for the drug to leave her system, she is learning to walk again. She can eat and is no longer aspirating. No fluid is building up around her lungs (she's no longer drowning). She's no longer having unknown heart attacks (which is what the doctor's are assuming were happening). She no longer shakes. She can sleep. She isn't throwing up. She isn't feeling like spiders are crawling all over her. She can have the lights on and windows open. She can see. She can communicate. She can even watch tv again! Her oxygen is looking pretty good. She still has a ways to go, but we are so grateful that we took her off this medication. She declined in days. Please educate yourself. This is a death sentence for patient and home caregivers. Definitely get more opinions before taking any medication. My mom has asked that I spread the word and try to get this medication banned ... and I'll do everything I can to help someone else not experience what we did.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Helpful warning | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Caregiver
11/23/2022
Condition: Atrial Fibrillation
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My mother developed an exhausting chronic dry cough immediately after starting this medication. A few months later she went to hospital because she was seriously short of breath. After nearly 3 weeks on oxygen and with a "mysterious lung inflammation" she was taken off Amiodarone and sent home on oxygen. Days later she was able to breathe normally again, without oxygen tubes and cylinders but this terrible drug apparently lasts so long in your system that she'll be on steroids for another few weeks. Mum is 89 and was very well until she developed an AF. The Amiodarone experience has been devastating, the three weeks in hospital hell and I hope the experts are taking note of this forum.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Maureen | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/29/2022
Condition: Prevention of Recurrent Atrial Fibrillation
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It didn’t work to keep my heart in rhythm and the side effects were so debilitating I couldn’t tolerate it. Stopped it under doctors orders 3 days ago and praying the coughing, gagging, numbness to hands and feet, overwhelming fatigue, insomnia and constipation will go away. But the internet says the drug could remain in my body for as long as 75 days. The cough alone is driving my BP up dangerously high. Awful, awful drug.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/22/2022
Condition: Atrial Fibrillation
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been in constant A Fib for 3 months now following a bout of diverticulitis. I had previously has infrequent bouts of A Fib but not enough to affect my daily life. I have been on Amioderone since this constant A Fib started. It has not slowed down the A Fib at all. My doctors say I must be on it to prepare my heart for cardioversion so I keep taking it. It makes me nauseous and gives me pain in my stomach. I have begun taking it with food before I go to bed so that I sleep through some of the effects, but the pain wakes me up very early in the morning. I also had tachycardia, which is moderated by Metropolol. Controlling the heart rate makes it easier to cope with the A Fib, but I still find that it can make me pretty uncomfortable. I would really like to stop taking this but am afraid that I would not be able to have a cardioversion if I do.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Scared | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/15/2022
Condition: Atrial Fibrillation
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Edema in legs and hands, instability, severe muscle weakness in legs and unable to walk without assistance. Tremors and uncontrollable muscle movement. Was taken off medication after 5 Months. Has not been quite a month and no sign of improvement. Very scared I will not return to normal.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
J B | 65-74 | On medication for less than 1 month |
6/3/2022
Condition: Prevention of Post Cardio-Thoracic Surgery Atrial Fibrillation
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

KILLED my dad within weeks, after he had an icd fitted was prescribed this poison

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
RLF | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
5/15/2022
Condition: Ventricular Rate Control in Atrial Fibrillation
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was on Amiodarone for three years to treat Afib. I went into Afib 3 times while on the drug. During this time I started to suffer tremors in my hands to the point of not being able to write or control a mouse on my computer. After three years I had Heart Ablation surgery and was weaned off the drug. That was 4 1/2 years ago. I still suffer tremors and can not write out a personal check or run a computer mouse. I also suffer from E-D that has basically ruined my wife’s and my sex life. I am 62 and this drug has ruined my life. Try to avoid having your cardiologist put you on this Black ZBox drugRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Calico | 19-24 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
4/8/2022
Condition: Ventricular Rate Control in Atrial Fibrillation
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

An otherwise healthy, active man in his 60s is now bedfast in hospital due to this drug!! Lung fibrosis is NOT a minor side effect -- it steals the ability to breathe and function. His oxygen levels are now ridiculously low without high-volume oxygen that can only be given in hospital, so he may not go home for weeks or months. Some victims' lungs eventually recover, and some never do. This drug should be banned.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
pathlight | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
11/15/2021
Condition: Prevention of Post Cardio-Thoracic Surgery Atrial Fibrillation
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Undesirable side effects of constipation, hand/finger shake when engaging fine motor activity, appetite suppression and tiredness are a problem, especially the first two in the list.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Elliott | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/1/2021
Condition: Ventricular Rate Control in Atrial Fibrillation
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It seemed to help Afib…..a trip to the hospital for impaction and now a thryoid problem which I am not on a medication for and blurry vision we didnt have a cause…now we do. So glad I have a top notch Doctor that wanted me off this medication. Wish the dr’s that put me on it hadnt!!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years |
4/12/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

death

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
aquafina | 65-74 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/2/2021
Condition: Atrial Fibrillation
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The side effects of this drug were horrible. Fatigue, insomnia, hand tremors, constipation with abdominal discomfort, headache, erectile dysfunction, easy bruising, nervousness. Mt doc took my off of it after one month. This stuff is poison!!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Closer | 65-74 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
12/31/2020
Condition: Atrial Fibrillation
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I felt horrible for 3 days after receiving a loading dose in the hospital. However, once I settled into taking 200mg per day, I tolerated it very well. I took it for about 15 months. It helped keep me in sinus rhythm when I was at rest. However, when I worked out or did cardio, I often went into a-fib. So I discontinued taking amiodarone, and I had a catheter rf ablation. The ablation was successful, and I no longer take a-fib medication.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mike C | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
12/22/2020
Condition: Atrial Fibrillation
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I found out after the fact of taking this medication for a year that it can cause calcification in the eyes, which my optometrist noted I have, and also constipation, edema and a few other issues. My new cardiologist took me off of this medication until I suitable replacement can be found

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
robo | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years |
1/9/2020
Condition: Atrial Fibrillation
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My brother in law was on this drug for years until finally another cardiologist at their office said nobody should be on this drugs for years due to the serious side affects. It was too late as it resulted in serious liver failure. He now goes to the hospital every 4 weeks to have up to 2 liters of fluid removed. My heart surgeon (I had 2 open heart surgeries to repair mitral valve leakage) put me on this for 2 week but said they do not put anybody on it due to the serious side affects. It work for Afib but also destroys other organs. Ablation for Afib is much better if you can have this donelRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Charles Kuenzi | 75 or over | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
11/8/2019
Condition: Atrial Fibrillation
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was well aware and advised of the side effects of this drug. However, when I first had an afib attack three years ago, the hospital doctors spent almost a week trying every afib drug in their cabinet. Nothing worked. Amiodarone was the drug of last resort and It worked almost immediately. Since then I have had two more afig events and the Amiodarone again came to the rescue. After reading two pages of side effects, I can report no adverse reactions to this drug. Not one. Not after three years. Go figure. For me, I had no other alternative. I lucked up.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Male | Patient
3/18/2019
Condition: Atrial Fibrillation
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took amiodarone for 10 weeks and soon lost my ability to walk. Numbness in left arm and both legs and feet. I have been in PT for 8 weeks and can now walk using a cane. Dangerous stuff!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Unhappy | 55-64 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/13/2019
Condition: Atrial Fibrillation
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Only took this for 6 months. The side affects were horriable!!!!!!!!!!! Made hair fall out really bad. Left a brown slime on the lense inside my eye that will never go away. WARNING DO NOT TAKE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
KEITH R | 65-74 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/23/2019
Condition: Atrial Fibrillation
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

For four years I was on FLECAINIDE...good. Had recent heart surgery to correct a congenital defect and aneurysm. New cardio put me on AMIODARONE and I have had negative side effects: tightness in chest, off balance, numbness in hands

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
lungissue | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Caregiver
12/28/2018
Condition: Atrial Fibrillation
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This drug caused lung hemorrhage and finally death.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More