Show ratings & reviews for

3.7 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

37 People found this comment helpful

I had a combo of Taxol and Carboplatin for ovarian cancer and had very little side effects other than the usual hair loss and extreme fatigue. A little nausea and metalic tast for a couple of days but no vomiting.

Shared reviews and ratings

shawnee_au | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Caregiver
4/7/2016
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Poison in every sense of the word. Very low success rate despite all these supposed 'fantastic' ,no doubt, fabricated, pharma reviews

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Theresa | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
4/9/2014
Condition: Cancer of the Ovary
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Easy fast drug to take as part of my treatment for ovarian cancer in 2011.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/10/2013
Condition: Cancer Involving the Head or Neck
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
marion | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/27/2012
Condition: Cancer in the Lining of the Uterus
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Drug was totally ineffective against the clear cell cancer that I have. Lost six months because this was the "standard" treatment for endometrial cancer rather than oncologist looking for drug effective against clear cell.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Cathy | 75 or over | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
6/6/2012
Condition: Small Cell Cancer of the Lung
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My father was diagnosed with mesotheloma 02/12. First chemo on May 22, 2012. Had trouble breathing that night, went into hospital,went into kidney failure on dialysis now.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
maddy | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/19/2012
Condition: Non-Small Cell Lung Cancer
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

2ost part of my hair, no nausea. 20 months cancer free

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Caregiver
9/6/2011
Condition: Non-Small Cell Lung Cancer
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

husband overmedicated-died

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
3/11/2011
Condition: Non-Small Cell Lung Cancer
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is the second time around for carbo. First time was in October 2006 for my husband. So far so good as this is the second treatment of four. No hair loss this time. Lost all his hair the first time. No nausea. He seems to be tolerating treatment much better than the first time.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/14/2011
Condition: Cancer of the Cervix
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
11/24/2010
Condition: Breast Cancer that has Spread to Another Part of the Body
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

it help me part of the time i do it with gemzar

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
dartballer57 | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/21/2010
Condition: Breast Cancer that has Spread to Another Part of the Body
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have only had 2 treatments so far. It seems to be ok, no serious side effects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
sudie | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/18/2010
Condition: Non-Small Cell Lung Cancer
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This drug along with Taxol IV was used for chemotherapy treatment after lung surgery in 2005. I am happy to say I have been cancer free for 5 1/2 years now. I was very tired during treatments but no other side effect at all.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
4/30/2010
Condition: Non-Small Cell Lung Cancer
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My mom was diagnosed with stage IV lung cancer in Dec. 09. Carboplatin was one of the chemo drugs used to treat her cancer. After only one treatment the doctors said that the Carboplatin distroid my mom's kidneys. My mom passed away April 22nd.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
sue | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/14/2010
Condition: Cancer of the Ovary
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was initially diagnosed with ovarian cancer in 2006 and had three treatments of Taxol and Carboplatin. After CA-125 increased in 2009, I had six treatments. I had an allergic reaction from the carbo during treatment #2. Subsequent treatments included steriods prior to the infusion. I had no nausea at all - fatigue for a few days after then nominally tired. I had Neulasta shots right after my treatments to help with my white blood count.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | Patient
2/14/2010
Condition: Breast Cancer that has Spread to Another Part of the Body
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

first treatment

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Saundra | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
11/18/2009
Condition: Cancer of the Ovary
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had 8 doses with Taxol starting in 2007. After a rising CA125, I have now had 4 doses. I had a mild allergic reaction on the 4th dose and will premedicate for the 5th.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
9/19/2009
Condition: Non-Small Cell Lung Cancer
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Had some fatigue and some nausea, but one more drug helped that. This drug with taxol and I am 4 1/2 years cancer free. Didn't lose my hair, over all not as bad as expected.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
4/14/2009
Condition: Cancer of the Ovary
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The combination of this drug and taxol saved my life. I did have an allergic reaction to the taxol but doubling up on steriods helped. The out come was very worth all the side effects!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Carol Ellis | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/9/2009
Condition: Cancer of the Ovary
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My experience with this drug was better than I expected. I had no nausea, tiredness-yes but rest was essential. I had a longer time getting my white cell count back but with a shot of Neulasta it improved greatly.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
marie | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/13/2008
Condition: Cancer of the Ovary
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

was not as bad as expected but took longer for my bone marrow to recover and so a 4 month treatment took 6months and now after 12 months I need more treatment

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More