Show ratings & reviews for

3.5 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

73 People found this comment helpful

The only reason I gave this med a low ease of use score is the slow dosage build up. It takes a long time to reach the theraputic dose. I did so well on this med -- no side effects and felt so normal. After about 6 great months, I started thinking that I was just so ok ... and that the bi-polar stuff was all in my mind and a missdiagnosis by the doctor. I quite taking it ... was great for a ...

Most voted negative review

17 People found this comment helpful

Xfirst day taking meds will see how it make you feel everyday keep you posted

Shared reviews and ratings

B dogg | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
9/11/2021
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'm bipolar 1, rapid cycling, on this for a few years now along with bupropion for the depression (Oxcarbazepine for the mania works great). It's not 100% effective by itself but it seems to keep me from getting too deep when the depression rears its ugly head again and I can recover faster. If I stop taking it I can definitely tell the difference. I'd give it more stars if I didn't need the bupropion but I'm pretty satisfied with it anyway. I'm sure it's a big part of actually being able to manage the depression pretty well. Mania is my main problem anyway. It may be contributing to my short term memory problems though but I'm not certain of that.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jillian | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
9/9/2021
Condition: Bipolar Disorder in Remission
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been taking medications since I was 11, and this is the only medication I've ever liked (and worked for me). I never got any side effects (thankfully) and I've been at the same dosage for the past few months. My mother also takes the same medication and we've both concluded it is a miracle drug that has made it that we could function normally. Though the only downside is that you create an undeniable reliance on the drug. Sometimes I don't get a refill on time and I'd go without the drug for 3 days and I cannot function by any means - my whole world shattered when I was enduring the worst withdrawals of my life. It is the same thing for my mother. While the drug has really stabilized us and made our lives significantly easier, if we miss only a handful of doses everything falls apart. Overall, I do love this medication and it has truly worked for me. Though, be wary that you may develope an extreme dependence. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Linda Cannon | 65-74 | Female | Patient
7/13/2021
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was gaven this cause of BiPolar?! I never had! I had a sensitivity to meds and I got Dystonia. The constant twitching of my head which soon lead to painful muscle spasms in my neck. I was taken off the med and started on another. I’m still having Botox injections.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kathryn | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
6/26/2021
Condition: Simple Partial Seizures
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

At the age of 35 developed epilepsy (no known cause) I am now 42 years old still dealing with simple partial seizures (don't enjoy those auras). I have had an MRI, EEG, EKG and an EMU study at the hospital. I have been taking Lamotrigine 50mg twice daily, but in June had to go to the hospital due to a aura seizure. Hospital found my levels to be 2.0 range should be 3.0 to 15. I was increased to 100mg twice a day. I have never had any major side effects with this drug. Problem is trying to find the correct dose to take, since auras started coming back. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/2/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Absolutely hated this medication. I am allergic to certain anti depressants and ran out of things to try for my severe depression. A med manager prescribed this medication. It made me feel absolutely awful. I had no energy and it made my appetite nonexistent (I was never hungry and went 3 days with only eating a banana). Then started the allergic reaction: severe fever, flu-like symptoms, but the real sign it was an allergic reaction was the rash. My face, arms, back, and chest looked like I'd been sunburnt. My skin was hot to the touch and blotchy. I had to get a steroid shot to make the rash go away and even after two weeks it's still not completely gone. DO NOT take this medication for normal depression! And if you've been known to have allergic reactions to other mental health medications, this is probably not the right medicine for you.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/15/2021
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/7/2021
Condition: Manic-Depression
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am taking this med for mood swings. I don't feel as much mania, but the downs are still as bad as they always were. I also feels like it is sapping my motivation/energy levels. I'll be switching next time I see my doc.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
E.D | 19-24 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
3/7/2021
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have tried various medications to combat my bipolar and this is the one that has worked best for me. Although it does have a chalky taste and you need to swallow the medicine right away to avoid getting weird taste in your mouth.In the beginning i had nausea, insomnia, and body aches, these symptoms subsided fairly quickly. This medicine did heightened my anxiety but mostly at nighttime. I do think it is one of the less intense medicines that you can take and it is defiantly worth taking. It has made me more stable and increased the quality of my daily life. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
1313 | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
3/4/2021
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Still mostly feel the lows. But it’s not the constant back and forth like it was before. Without the other symptoms my anxiety has increased but we’re talking about how to combat that. Never had an allergic reactions either which is nice

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
RavenWillow | 35-44 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
10/1/2020
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This stuff is the best for me! I take low doses, and it always does the trick. However, a couple things for me.. 1. I only gave it 4 stars in Ease of Use because you must always start off on a low dose and work your way up to avoid dangerous skin reactions. I had itching when I first started on this med, but kept the dose low, and it went away. However, you do need to be careful when stopping and starting again. NEVER restart this medication at a previous full dose. In terms of satisfaction, I only gave four stars because, while side effects for me are mostly minimal, longer durations of time spent on this med at higher doses (100mg a day) caused minor speech issues. It was harder to form words with my mouth, and more difficult to transfer thoughts to speech. However, if I take breaks periodically, and keep the dose at or below 50 mg's a day, this med works absolute wonders. Makes my depression completely subside within days. I can't imagine taking anything else. Also, it turns out I have a very bad case of inattentive ADD rather than mild bipolar, and it still works great. Won't take anything else for my depression.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Heatcap111 | 35-44 | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
6/7/2020
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am on it for years n I feel like it makes me tired could that be

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Girl sick of pill pushing doctors | 25-34 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
6/3/2020
Condition: Epileptic Seizure
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Ive been taking this medication for a few years now and the side effects have become so unbearable that I'm getting off this medication. This is a mood suppressor for people with bipolar disorder so since given to me for seizures I feel numb, no sex drive, no motivation, and no energy. I'm lethargic and fatigued at some point every day and have trouble falling asleep at night. This med also causes constipation. The longer you take this med the more you'll have to increase the dose(more side effects) because this med is known for your body building a tolerance fast. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
K33vin | 55-64 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/8/2020
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took 25mg daily for a week. I think I was allergic. No sleep at all for five days. I had a headache that would not go away. I had body aches. Like the flu without fever. Nausea, vomiting, diarrhea. Chills. Stomach pain. I developed 52 cherry angiomas in one week. I lost 11 pounds. Stopped med at one week

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
2/5/2020
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
j | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/14/2020
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I sleep just fine, I started at 25 mg and slowly went up to 100 mg currently. I'm tired and sleep great.no rash, no unbearable side effects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
PekoeGirl1985 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
12/11/2019
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I did not get much sleep while on this medicine. The insomnia side effect is horrendous. Even with adding Ambien to the mix, I still would watch the sun rise. Also, the depersonalization side effect is pretty bad. I just didn't care about anything, and my passion for art was completely gone. I won't ever take this medicine again.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
pearl | 13-18 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/3/2019
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

only have been taking it for a few days and i’ve been lightheaded with drowsiness. it has made me feel extremely sad, more irritable, and unstable. legit started sobbing out of nowhere in one of my classes. i’ll give it a couple more weeks but so far, not a good experience. it’s only been an issue since they upped me from 250 to 300mg

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | Male | Patient
5/29/2019
Condition: Epileptic Seizure
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It is almost too early for me to review but so far it’s been nothing but good. No issues so far but it’s just under a week of me being on the drug.. no noticeable difference, nothing shocking anyway. Regular marijuana user who was told to quit because of it and I see why now... since being on this drug (not the pot) I’ve been sleeping BETTER and it helps with the pot... I’m a-ok with this. As far as stopping seizures go, so far so good but like I said it hasn’t been long.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sophie | 19-24 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
4/2/2019
Condition: Manic-Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Iâ??m a 23 year old female who was diagnosed with bipolar II two years ago. I had struggled with taking different medications and was concerned about side effects of anti psychotics that might dull creativity, make me feel foggy or gain weight. On lamotrogine I have experienced none of these side effects whatsoever. It takes a little while to work after titrating up slowly (I started at 25mg and now take 400) but it has honestly been amazing. I no longer have mood swings or depression, my mind is far more rational, my concentration has tripled. I know different medications work for different people but I think lamotrogine is worth giving a go and sticking at it while you titrate up. If it works as it has done for me youâ??ll have no side effects. My quality of life has improved and I hope others can benefit in the same way.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
dgtepo | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/23/2019
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have occepital neurologia, I do not know why my doctor ordered this medication for me. I became more sick from the medication than the headache.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More