Show ratings & reviews for

2.7 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

13 People found this comment helpful

I had acute radiation proctitis (inflamed rectum--a side effect from pelvic radiation). Proctofoam greatly relieved my discomfort.

Most voted negative review

7 People found this comment helpful

bad

Shared reviews and ratings

Cutmandan | 35-44 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month |
2/20/2021
Condition: Hemorrhoids
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Terrible “foam” Got 10 day treatment. Got 2 days worth. The foam does not come out like instructions say. It works but $180 for 20 applications to only get 3 is the problem

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
EdT | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/16/2021
Condition: Rectal Disorder
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Using for radiation proctitis. Do not understand all reviews complaining applicator does not work. It isn't rocket science if you use as instructed, with very little leakage. Expensive, and my Medicare Part D does not cover after 30 days. Number of doses does seem to be somewhat less than prescribed doses (3 x 14 days prescribed).

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 75 or over | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/15/2020
Condition: Inflammation of the Rectum
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Side effect from chemotherapy was aided by using this product. The applicator was not well designed and proved challenging.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
vstz3x | 65-74 | On medication for less than 1 month |
11/14/2020
Condition: Hemorrhoids
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

small amount in container very hard to get out of the container one must keep shaking thecontainer forever very expensive for the amount one gets

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ouch | 65-74 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/23/2020
Condition: Inflammation of the Rectum
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed Proctofoam HC for radiation proctitis. The cylinder releases more foam down the canister than into the plunger. I got four treatments (out of what should have been ten) and then the canister was empty. It was effective but is too poorly designed and too expensive to buy again. Avoid this product.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
David Pow | 65-74 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/28/2020
Condition: Hemorrhoids
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Application by filling a tube you can Barely see thru is Awfully difficult. Will never use again - over $140 cost for me

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
tamidee07 | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/15/2019
Condition: Hemorrhoids
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This was costly and very difficult to use. Most of it was wasted seeping out of the canister. I called dr for another med. This shoukd be taken off the market and made in a more user friendly affordable version!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/13/2019
Condition: Hemorrhoids
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Medicine does not dispense correctly very expensive and able to use it I went to the to get another tax for another product I no not recommend this product at all

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/13/2019
Condition: Hemorrhoids
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Medicine does not dispense correctly very expensive and able to use it I went to the to get another tax for another product I no not recommend this product at all

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | Patient
8/4/2019
Condition: Hemorrhoids
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

DO NOT BUY THIS DRUG !!!!!!!!! A complete scam ! You can buy both active ingredients for approx. $12., instead of paying $137. at CVS. The "application system" is laughably complicated, and customer service is a joke.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/1/2019
Condition: Hemorrhoids
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Works, but horribly overpriced, and in an absurdly-designed, crappy, dispenser. Customer service at MEDA Pharma. was terrible.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Proctofoamsucks | 55-64 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/11/2019
Condition: Hemorrhoids
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This product is a waste of money! It was $30, which given I have a 20% co-pay, means this product is $150 for about 10 applications. The use recommendation is 3x a day, so you get 3 days of treatment. The applicator is the most convoluted thing I've ever seen and makes a mess more than anything. But the worst part? IT DOES NOT WORK. All it did was make the problem worse, like my you-know-what was literally on fire. If your doctor suggests this, tell her no thanks. I got better results with generic suppositories.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ms. Thang | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/17/2018
Condition: Anal Itching
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Paid $141 for this medicine, insurance covered $9. Supposed to use for 7 days, 3xs a day. It lasted 6. It kept seeping out the side. It totally waste your money AND my tailfeather still itches.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Gr8shpr | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/30/2018
Condition: Hemorrhoids
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Way too expensive and MEDICARE won’t cover this at all! Thank you to the reviewer who suggested goldbond anti-itch and generic cortisone 1%. My doctor must be crazy.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bill53 | 55-64 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/15/2018
Condition: Hemorrhoids
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Worthless based on how much leaks down canister per how much it cost. Why don't insurance companies approved prescribed suppositories?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/13/2018
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Its a nightmare to get the foam into the applicator. A lot of medicine got wasted each time I tried it. I thought I was unintelligent and did not know how to use it correctly. Evidently there are many that have the same opinion. The manufacturers must pay heed to it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/14/2018
Condition: Rectal Disorder
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Foam doesn't flow into applicator. Just seeps under cap. Over $80 for this little canister. Hopefully, I can return to pharmacist.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Deefren | 45-54 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/20/2017
Condition: Rectal Disorder
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Page will not allow 1 star, only allows 3 stars and up, with that said...oh give this products 1 star in every area xxxxxx 3 refills because medication gets wasted as it does not go into applicator....but definitely seeps out side of canister. $166.00 x 3 and what a waste of money. Would probably be a great drug if product didn't waste out sides. Called manufacturer, called pharmacy...it's like getting clearance for NASA. PLEASE BEWARE!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
mcat | 55-64 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/12/2017
Condition: Skin Inflammation
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Dispenser would not work. Took it back to the pharmacy twice; each time they said yes, it works. No it didn't. Got a little foam out (half-filled) once. Applied to area. Burned like fire! Waste of money and numerous trips to the pharmacy.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/29/2015
Condition: Hemorrhoids
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This foam and dispenser is absolutely hideous to try to use. It is messy and ineffective. It doesn't relieve my pain and it is so incredibly difficult to use. A suppository would be so much easier.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More