Show ratings & reviews for

3.3 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

58 People found this comment helpful

Previously I had been treated with very limited success with: Lithium, Depacote, Triliptal, Risperdal, Lamictal, zoloft, Wellbutrin, Abilify, clonsepam, zypreza etc. My exsistance was unbearable. I went to a clinic and was taken off all the above. I spent three weeks rapid cycling with psychotic features and devestating depressions and suicidality. Within a week of starting Seroquel my sympto...

Most voted negative review

16 People found this comment helpful

to early to tell

Shared reviews and ratings

M. Spears | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
10/25/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was started on this medication as an acute care in-patient. I was in crisis mode due to the death of my momma and how it negatively affected ALL areas of my life. I have been in mental health treatment since 2017 and while I have a few diagnosis, none of them are classified as a psychosis. I did start cutting again as a way to deal with my loss, I had no appetite, I was barely sleeping and my hygiene went to hell because I could hardly get out of bed. The psychiatrist over the Behavioral Health Unit was familiar with me as it had been necessary for me to receive acute care at least a half-dozen times since 2017. I was started on Quetiapine in October of 2021. The somewhat high dose I was on in the hospital seemed fine and I was so relieved to have my mind quieted and feel a sense of peace. Now, realize that in the hospital setting one has no responsibilities except to eat, sleep, attend some groups and take our medication. The outside world is blissfully OUTSIDE. Upon returning home, the dose proved to be way too high as I was literally zombified, etc. Upon seeing my own psychiatrist, he agreed and allowed me to cut my dose by two-thirds and take 200 mg. @ bedtime. I should let you know that I am diagnosed with Treatment Resistant Major Depressive Disorder, recurrent/severe. I must admit that my depression is not as severe, I don't cry all the time, I don't spend days at a time in bed, I'm not obsessing over ways to end my life, I haven't felt the need to be hospitalized...HOWEVER, I have balance issues I never had before that have led to 1 mild traumatic brain injury, 1 moderate traumatic brain injury, breaking my nose on 2 different occasions through falling, as well as breaking 3 of my teeth along with several various contusions. IN ADDITION, I have researched and discovered the long-term effects of this medication. I just met my new psychiatrist, as my much-respected and much-adored former psychiatrist recently retired and returned with his family to Egypt. I had not shared my symptoms with Dr. Anunobi before he left. He was a tele-health doctor due to the fact that our town is just too small to attract psychiatrists. I personally find it difficult to share over a TV screen AND my doctor had extended my appts. to once every 3 months instead of once a month. I'm not a boat rocker. Well, I did share with new psych. and he took it very seriously, is weaning me off it starting immediately (Oct. 13) and will be starting me on new med which we will discuss on Nov. 3.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
hls | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/11/2022
Condition: Repeated Episodes of Anxiety
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My extreme depression, bouts of anger, thoughts of suicide, anxiety all greatly improved and its noticeable. Instead of getting 3 hours of sleep or less i am getting 8 hours with limited ake ups.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jessica | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/5/2022
Condition: Additional Medications to Treat Depression
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The weight gain is terrible, i have gained 4 kgs, since I started this medication (1 1/2 month ago), it has slightly stabilised my mood. It makes my brain foggy and I have trouble thinking, it has made my sleep very inconsistent. i overall would not recommend.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Charlotte | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/26/2022
Condition: Repeated Episodes of Anxiety
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Does this drug make you lose your balance all day and it doesn't go away. Is it right or no?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Vince | 13-18 | Transgender | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/22/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was put on this medication twice, once in the hospital at 50mg for "The added side effect of making you sleepy." but the nurses told my mom it was for hallucinations and psychosis (There was a lot of communication issues in that hospital in general) but either way it did not make me sleepy at all and in fact worsened hallucinations and intrusive thoughts while I was at the hospital. Immediately stopped taking it once I got home and felt much, MUCH better off Seroquel (and other meds I was on) The second time was by a psychiatrist. I told him of what happened when I was on it at the hospital, but because I was only on it for about a week he told me that I wasn't on it long enough to know if it works and he put me on 50mg to help with hallucinations, delusions, and to help stabilize my mood (later learned he diagnosed me with Cyclothymic disorder) needless to say it did absolutely nothing good. In fact, while on Seroquel I had a huge 2 hour long psychotic episode as well as worsened delusions and hallucinations and my mood did not improve AT ALL (My mood swings from different extremes in minutes). I can't tell if they got worse on it though, but I wouldn't be surprised if they did. Needless to say if it doesn't work once, it probably won't work again. And stand up for yourself if you think you're on the wrong medications or have the wrong diagnosis, speak up! An upside though is that the 25/50mg pills are tiny and very easy to swallow.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Boxer Mom | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
6/25/2022
Condition: Additional Medications to Treat Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My RNP prescribed it for me to just take 50 mgs at bedtime to help me sleep. I'm 55 years old, but I don't have bipolar disorder, just severe depression and was only able to get a total of 2 hrs of sleep and sometimes, 0 hours sleep. She tried Restoril, Ambien (made me hallucinate) and several other sleep aids without success. Then, she prescribed this and holy cow! I was fast asleep within 15 minutes and stayed asleep all night, getting 9 hours of sleep for the first time in 10 years! No hangover the next morning!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
gfgg | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/24/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Generalized anxiety, possible bipolar. Have the best sleep in years. Anxiety and handling stress improved since starting the med 3 days ago.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Evi Qenanaj | 25-34 | Female | Patient
5/21/2022
Condition: Schizophrenia
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My experience with medication is; In the first time i got them,I wasn’t sure if I should take or not. But people who they supporting me with this they gives me a little push because of my safety.When I start to take the medication in the firs I was so sleepy and very tired also i hade a lot of memories from my childhood it was for me wowww I couldn’t remember them. My body was very low. But day by day i get to use to them and take them everyday. Now i feel much better. Off course I have my open and downs but with the help of the medication of course I’ll be more available and i will be mich better. Thanky EQRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Unhappy | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/26/2022
Condition: Mania associated with Bipolar Disorder
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This has been extremely hard on my body. I feel stoned nearly all day and struggle to get out of bed. I previously had plenty of energy. Also getting a lot of muscle spasms. They have reduced the dose from 300 mg to 100 mg but I am still feeling really fatigued. I want to stop it completely but have to reduce gradually as the side effects of suddenly stopping are heinous. My body feels really inflamed since beginning this. Don’t recommend it at all. I’ve also found it has stolen any feelings of happiness. I’m normally a positive person but have felt really flat and it is hard to feel positive now. I would call it a depressant.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Harry R. | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
3/19/2022
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Been taking 300mg Quetiapine Fumarate for exactly one year and one day today to treat Bipolar II. This drug is incredible - in the past year, I started and graduated from a software bootcamp, was able to leave a toxic relationship with someone I lived with for years, land my dream career, and create the best new experiences with friends I haven't seen/or talked to in years. All this was possible because I didn't have to spend every ounce of energy trying to stabilize my emotions. For the first time, I lived with clarity in the present moment. To reiterate what other people have said, I wake up so happy each morning. Downsides: You have to plan your evening around when you take it (at least at my dosage). It is a soothing sedative, but I would never ever drive on this medication. Meals have a big role with it as well - sometimes I feel it in 30 minutes other times it takes 2 hours. Regardless, I feel like it stays in my system for 10-12 hours from the minute I take it. I shoot for 7:30 pm - Before that 12 hours is up I am a groggy zombie, but a ridiculously happy one so it's worth it. I'll leave here with this sentiment. Being medicated on this drug has allowed me to see my bipolar as a superpower rather than a hindrance. I think it's incredible that I(we) can relate and genuinely mean it when we say "I know how you feel." We have gotten to experience the extremes of every human emotion on the spectrum. I have become the 'therapist' to friends all throughout my life now because I can empathize with what they're going through and feeling because (I've) we have all been there before! * "We," meaning everyone reading this that also has Bipolar. Love and regards guys, and don't let anyone define you! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Hira | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
2/21/2022
Condition: Bipolar I Disorder with Most Recent Episode Mixed
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is best drug ever ever ever.... I Think more positive everyday in my life now with quetiapine.. Thanks who make this medicine ??

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Amjs | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
2/8/2022
Condition: Mania associated with Bipolar Disorder
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Lots of side effects. Muscle pain /weight gain /kidney problems/tiredness /dizzyness/addictive.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
OnionHead | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
1/6/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'm neither schizophrenic nor bipolar, yet I've been on Quetiapine "XR" for 5 years now and its been a major help to me. (Note: "XR" is the extended release formulation.) It is mild and it is very soothing - for example, when I get off work & my nerves are still frayed, need to wind down, that's when I take my daily dose of the XR. Its like slipping into a soothing, warm blanket - yet I'm still active and alert. Quetiapine XR stays in my system into the next day, keeping my thoughts orderly and I don't lose my temper for small reasons. Yet I still function & work like a champ. If I was on this medicine a long time ago, my life would've probably turned out so much better.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Brian K | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/4/2021
Condition: Additional Medications to Treat Depression
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I went into a full out suicide experience jumping in the middle of the road at nighttime begging for a car to kill me. Wife had to save me. Now the same psychiatrist is trying to give it to me again after 5 years of that incident.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Cgwad | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/25/2021
Condition: Repeated Episodes of Anxiety
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The side effects outweigh any benefits. Extreme anger, fatigue, dry mouth, burning and stinging sensation in your skin, ringing in your ears. I was a total zombie the next day. I don’t have drug allergies but I’m pretty sure this one comes close.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Temish | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
10/14/2021
Condition: Bipolar I Disorder with Most Recent Episode Mixed
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

To tell you honestly I am already dependent to this sleeping pills that my psychiatrist prescribed me I started drinking this way back 2015 then from now on I’m taking this pills up until now.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sonja | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
7/8/2021
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started quetipine about 6 months ago it really helped me with my mood staying stable and my panic attacks. This medication dosnt make me feel like a shell of a person which has been a struggle with previous medications. I’m just over all much happier and can appreciate the little things again.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous |
5/28/2021
Condition: Schizophrenia
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Loved it!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ritesh Gupta | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Caregiver
5/28/2021
Condition: Bipolar I Disorder with Most Recent Episode Mixed
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Shania | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
5/18/2021
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'm not to sure we're to start I have been on q for about 5 years now and I hope it's not just me that wakes up with really bad munchies, I went to bed the other night and woke up with chocolate next to my bed. it makes me so tired and I just eat. I was eating the other night falling asleep and my partner had to wake me so I didn't choke lol. well all jokes aside I do really find this effective as I said I've been on this for 5 years I've had other medications in the past and quituipuine just sits right with me but I know we are not all the same.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More