Show ratings & reviews for

3.3 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

7 People found this comment helpful

You will be going to the bathroom. Make sure you have a can of air freshner handy with this one.

Most voted negative review

3 People found this comment helpful

i had a skin reaction, i had hives all over my body, i itched from head to toe

Shared reviews and ratings

Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/11/2020
Condition: Bacterial Infection with Bronchitis
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Overall this drug works well but comes with some expected side effects such as itch and rash but mild for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/31/2017
Condition: Skin Infection
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Unlike the rest of these reviews, I have no allergy to penicillins or cephalosporins. Consequently, I had no side effects, the infection resolved completely within 7 days, and I am completely satisfied.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
aliciah | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/27/2016
Condition: Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Cefaclor did effectively treat UTI symptoms within an hour or two after my first dose. However after my second dose I developed hives over my upper legs, and less than an hour later I began to experience swelling in my throat. Stopped taking this drug after a trip to after hours care.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/1/2014
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Had to take tablets 3 times a day for 10 days. Symptoms didn't start to decrease until the med was almost up. Two weeks later, I'm having symptoms again. Not effective for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/25/2013
Condition: Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/26/2012
Condition: Lower Respiratory Tract Infection
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

on the last day of a 10 day course. broke out in severe hives. had plaques and welts all over body. antihistamines and aveeno baths provided little relief. was in agony for 4 days. then still had hives here and there, but the itch was able to control a little. never take this again!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Peggy B. | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/20/2012
Condition: Middle Ear Infection
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Started out with a sore throat, then ear infection in left ear. Then infection went to the right ear and perforated my ear drum. WOW I have been on this medication since 3/13/12 and seems to be working. The only side effect I have felt in some joint pain. That is about it. I will wait to see at the end of my treatment how I am then. This is my secon round of antibiotics. I was taking Z-pak and that didn't do a thing for me except make my lips itch. I really hope this works, because I have lost my hearing now for 17 days.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
cookster1946 | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/28/2011
Condition: Acute Infection of the Nose, Throat or Sinus
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

On the 7th day of taking this medication, IO broke out with hives on the palms of my hands, top of my feet, my neck and it continues to show up in different locations as the day goes on. Whould NEVER take this med again.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous |
2/11/2011
Condition: Inflammation of the Tonsils
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Was given as a 'strong' anti-biotic for my very inflamed tonsils. After 3 days of not getting any pain relief at all, I had to go back to the doctor for something else!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
E. | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/9/2010
Condition: Acute Infection of the Nose, Throat or Sinus
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Taking for sinus infection....had to take for more than 10 days, no side effects but it seems to work.....i felt fine except the dosage did give me a yeast infection which is common for most women i think and antibiotics.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
KYbluebird2 | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/15/2010
Condition: Acute Infection of the Nose, Throat or Sinus
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Speaking for Husband: First, I itched from head to toe. Not realizing it was the "cefaclor", I took a benadryl. Then I broke out with a rash, had hives and abdominal pains. Rather than go to the hospital I took another benadryl. This all took place within an hour of taking the medication. The "cefaclor" was effective for treating my sinus infection, however, the side effects were too severe to continue taking it. An hour has passed and the benadryl has given me enough relief to get through the night(I hope)to return to the dr., tomorrow.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
nancy | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/14/2009
Condition: Acute Infection of the Nose, Throat or Sinus
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Extreme itching on hands and feet within 45 minutes of taking. Quit taking after I realized what was causing the itching.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
cefaclor | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/10/2009
Condition: Acute Infection of the Nose, Throat or Sinus
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i had a skin reaction, i had hives all over my body, i itched from head to toe

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lizzy | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/3/2008
Condition: Acute Infection of the Nose, Throat or Sinus
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

You will be going to the bathroom. Make sure you have a can of air freshner handy with this one.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More