Show ratings & reviews for

3.5 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

100 People found this comment helpful

Started seroquel 3 weeks ago and am now finding no mood swings, less anxiety and less racing thoughts. Terrific. Taken at night I can even sleep through the night!

Most voted negative review

24 People found this comment helpful

This is the worst drug I ever took,they need to take it off the market, it puts u in a temporary coma..I could not function I was falling asleep with a cigarate in my hand and almost burnt my house down, it burnt me couch, totally gone, I was driving at night and had to call my son, crying I was lost...in the morning I didn't remember going out even, many of times, I even stole 8 gallons of milk ,...

Shared reviews and ratings

Kiwi | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
9/10/2021
Condition: Manic-Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have nothing bad to say about Seroquel. I have been taking Seroquel coming up to 14 years. Before that i was a was on a path of self destruction and feared the outside world. Since then I have a Bachelor degree in Bicultural Social Work. I am a registered social worker and facilitator. And work in the justice system. My fear is coming off Seroquel, when and if that happens.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
NovelReader | 45-54 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/6/2021
Condition: Mental Disorder with Loss of Normal Personality & Reality
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After 20 years of battling major depression I was finally put on a medication regime that works. Part of my regime is Seroquel. My insomnia, depression, and apathy are gone. Completely gone! I do recommend taking this medication at night and getting a full 8 hours of sleep. I don’t use the extended release version because this medication does cause me to fall asleep.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Dontcomeforme23 | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/29/2021
Condition: Mania associated with Bipolar Disorder
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Had very bad nightmares on it. I would be spaced out. Caused an overall hung over feeling the following day.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Drew | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
8/3/2021
Condition: Mania associated with Bipolar Disorder
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I can attest wholeheartedly to the effectiveness of this medication, once I got sober. Still have slight mania and depression, but they are not life threatening episodes as they have been in the past. There is no magic pill, but after searching for something, this has given me the ability to function “almost human-like.”

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kathrin Cole | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/6/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was suffering from mild depression. Asked nurse-practitioner for Lexipro, which had helped my brother. She refused and insisted that I take Seroquel and gave me free samples. It made me sleep, but turned me into a zombie almost immediately. Lost all touch with reality, paced all day. Went back to dr.'s office, she saw that it wasn't working and insisted that I take increased dose. She had my husband administer more and more seroquel until she said it was the maximum dose. My condition continued to get worse. Seroquel ruined my life for 4-5 years. Worst medication I can imagine. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Abby | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
6/9/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I began taking this for both MDD, anxiety, insomnia, and a few other symptoms such as issues with dissociative episodes and hallucinations, and difficulties with suicidal thoughts and self harm. Taking this medication in combination with therapy has turned my life around, and I genuinely believe I would still be struggling if I had not started taking it. I tried other antidepressants and antipsychotics but this is the only one that worked for me without major side effects. I am only on the 25mg due to being really sensitive to medications, but that has worked well for me. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sam | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/2/2021
Condition: Repeated Episodes of Anxiety
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Im sleeping and my anxiety is no longer a massive issue. It seems to have just disapeared thank god.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Rebecca in Ky | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
5/28/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'm a manic depressive, bipolar, anxiety thats through the roof, PTSD, insomniac. I take 100mg in the morning, and that curbs my anxiety most of the day. At night I take 200mg. I literally had forgotten what sleeping longer than an HR or 2 felt like. This medicine has helped me out with most of my issues. Thanks to the manufacturer, 2 thumbs up! I've not experienced any weight gain with this medicine, not has my appetite increased. I've not experienced any weight loss either. But I love this! It works GREAT for me!! Thank you. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Cantabuseaplant | 13-18 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/12/2021
Condition: Repeated Episodes of Anxiety
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Made me very sick and projectile vomit quit taking after 2 days

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
NB.Mommaof4 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
4/21/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had a borderline heart attack in 2014 and I ended up finding out I had fibromyalgia right after. It all caused me to have extreme insomnia and chronic anxiety. Also before this I could never find a medication for my BPD, OCD and PTSD, so the doctors started me ok Ativan and trazodone. After feeling horrible on it and getting a new doctor I was switched to seroqual. I never felt better and I slept so good, but the weight I gained in such a short time caused other issues. I ended up gaining over 100 lbs and no matter what I did the medication wouldn’t help. I’ve been off of it now for almost two weeks. I miss sleep but I now know that I’m better off. I was never able to loose weight that kept gaining, and now it’s coming off. I can find other ways to sleep like taking Gravol, benydr or working out before bed. Still taking Ativan for my anxiety and MY OCD has gotten bad but managing. I can tell you NEVER use this drug. The itching and withdrawal is terrible and not worth it. I miss how I felt before ever touching this. Like I said great for sleeping if you need it but not worth the side affects !!! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
4/17/2021
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I need this medication! I started on 200mg 11 years ago (for anxiety?) and was not informed of the side effects. I have also taken 400mg of Lamictal for 14 years. I had two young children at the time and after the first night taking it, I could hardly open my eyes in the morning to get them off to school. But, it allowed me to sleep (I just needed to adjust my sleep schedule/routine) and really turned down the volume on my ruminations. I didn't gain weight, I lost it, but I think that had a lot to do with some major life changes I was going through. I took that dose for several years before reducing to 50mg, and a couple of years ago I stopped taking it. (I of course discussed it with my doctor) I thought I needed to learn to sleep naturally, instead of being basically sedated every night of my life. What followed was a downward spiral that led up to suicidal ideations and insomnia about 9 months ago. I started therapy which has been life transforming, but my suicidal thoughts and sleeplessness increased to a really dangerous level about 4 months ago. My doctor convinced me to give Seroquel another chance. His argument--"do you smoke marijuana before bed?" Touche. (He doesn't necessarily approve my weed smoking but respects me) I have been back on Seroquel since and I'm sleeping through the night. My ruminations have quieted down to something that I can manage. Admittedly it does make me feel more dull. I'm groggy in the morning. I am going to fall asleep an hour after taking it so that takes some planning. I don't weigh myself but I have remained active and all my clothes still fit so that's a good sign. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mona | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/25/2021
Condition: Repeated Episodes of Anxiety
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication was prescribed for my anxiety and they also have major depression the doctor told me this medication was very good and he was absolutely right. Since taking this medication I feel happy now and I'm able to actually get out and enjoy life.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/15/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

AVOID THIS DRUG AT ALL COSTS!! I was put on a low dose for insomnia. This drug took me to a place I never knew existed, and never want to go again! No wonder, per: Wikipedia, there are over 10,000 lawsuits active against the maker of this drug!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Q | 55-64 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
3/7/2021
Condition: Schizophrenia
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have parasites, but I'm not being believed. I don't like the side effects from this drug!! I'm not gaining weight, I am not able to eat, because my mouth is so sensitive and I keep getting strep. My mouth and tongue feel slimy and I don't like the taste of food. I vomit when I try to eat. I'm very weak from the lack of food. The inside of my lips, feels cracked and sore.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
lilredred | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
12/29/2020
Condition: Bipolar Disorder in Remission
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

love this med. its only draw back is the BIG weight gain and the restless leg. since it works so well i have been trying to deal with the side effects but i wont go off

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
12/29/2020
Condition: Bipolar I Disorder with Most Recent Episode Mixed
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have never slept consistently and soundly in my life really. I'm concerned with some info I've researched on Seroquel, given my particular diagnoses. But for now, sleep may be the one thing keeping me alive. Does not sedate quickly but makes me sleep til noon or later but who cares now. Being awake is too painful .

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
chabela2332 | 25-34 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
12/25/2020
Condition: Bipolar I Disorder with Most Recent Episode Mixed
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Diagnosed Bi polar 1 coinciding with schizoaffective disorder at 25 following a mixed suicidal episode and put on 25mg 4xdaily and gradually increased until now currently at 300 taken before bed. It took 5 whole years to get to this point, out of all other drugs I have given a try (taking earliest anti depressant at 15) this one has truly been a blessing but it came at a terrible cost for me. At first 3 months of it I had horribly vivid nightmares, excessive weight gain, constant almost narcoleptic like bouts of drowsiness, terrible tremors of my hand, blurred vision and slurred/mumbled speech, difficulty completing full understandab thoughts, an almost zombie like state and the high that cane with it. I also seemed to break out in welts, hives and rashes sporadically as well as akathesia. Those all happened within the first year. Nearly all gradually eased up as changes in when i took it and how much progressed in treatment. After 4 years on it, it worked its magic and so did covid and I had to stop taking it. Was able to avoid withdrawal thanks to being warned and my doctor providing me samples to use to taper down and off easily. Now I am back on it for nearly 2 months but I started taking high doses right away. Respect this drug and it will help you greatly. Side effects are terrible but in most cases the benefit really outweighs the risk of it. BUT THE RASH IS THE ABSOLUTE WORSE. Its concerning me a little. I will talk to my dr about it. Like all antipsychotics, the side effects are no joke... but for me the not wanting to commit something terrible by trying to disarm a cop and ending up in jail in the suicide wing naked for 7 days is worth all those pesky side affects. I hope this helped, thank you for your time. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
someone_somewhere | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
12/18/2020
Condition: Schizophrenia
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

300mg side effects were minimal. akathisia at night rarely. reduction of paranoia/auditory hallucinations. slight weight gain. mild heart rate increase shortly after taking that goes away. sleepy but manageable. 6-8 months spent stable. 400mg + 50mg as needed (NMS etc.) for the first two weeks, basically the same effects as above. then, suddenly one night, had hypotension and tachycardia. felt vertigo and dizziness. weakness in my legs and body generally from the blood pressure drop. brain fog, maybe a mild altered mental state. slurred speech. shortness of breath. felt like any moment i could slip out of consciousness. was taken to the ER. they pushed fluids, did scans, and watched for worsening symptoms. speaking was difficult and the expenditure would make me feel the vertigo again. these symptoms typically came in waves (around a few minutes on/few minutes off), which became less severe and less frequent over the next 4 hours. the ER doctors speculated, but didn't offer a diagnosis or recommendations other than to stay hydrated. my blood potassium level was 0.1 below normal - i'm not entirely certain what the measurement is - but it indicated very slight dehydration. my doctor told me to keep taking the 400mg. instead, i took a reduced dose (300mg) the next day, in case it was NMS, and experienced similar symptoms after the medication's onset that night, but not severe enough to make another ER visit. if i had followed my doctor's orders to keep taking the full dose afterward, i feel i would've likely went back to the ER, maybe died. i don't blame them. to some extent, it's a guessing game and up to that point they were more than competent. final words: stay hydrated on this medication. don't let your doctor increase your dose too quickly unless necessary- carefully monitor your mental health symptoms, have your doc make dose adjustments before things get out of control. if i had done these things, perhaps the medication would've kept working for me.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Gary | 55-64 | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
12/10/2020
Condition: Schizophrenia
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This drug gave me a second life, after being in Iraq for a 15 month straight tour of duty in total combat theatre, ate it up, no problem, when I returned things seemed normal for the most part, but for some reason when someone asked me about being over there, like a light switch, I would start shaking and crying, in my mind I was like wtf, am I tripping or what, maybe I'm just having a bad day, about a week went by, everything totally cool, I'm been promoted 3 ranks in a 4 month period, in the Army, this is considered on the ball without hesitation, I'm a walking, talking, example of the American flag in the flesh,,, then it happen again and a couple more times, in my mind I'm like WTF,,,man up and answer the folks simple everyday type of question, more shaking and crying, long story short got prescribed this medication, and after a week or two someone asked me about Iraq, and I could suddenly talk about it, the attack was gone, like boom,,,, I have to admit, that was pretty f -ing trippy!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MadDad | 7-12 | Male | Caregiver
7/24/2020
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My ex put my 8 year old son on this drug he has gained weight and complains about his stomach hurting. I dont agree with him being on meds at all. I have legal medical authority but she never asks or tells me. I'm concerned because I feel he is too young. I see 13 as an age but am unsure how they could diagnose him with conditions related to this drug at 8 years old

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More