Show ratings & reviews for

3.5 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

101 People found this comment helpful

Started seroquel 3 weeks ago and am now finding no mood swings, less anxiety and less racing thoughts. Terrific. Taken at night I can even sleep through the night!

Most voted negative review

24 People found this comment helpful

This is the worst drug I ever took,they need to take it off the market, it puts u in a temporary coma..I could not function I was falling asleep with a cigarate in my hand and almost burnt my house down, it burnt me couch, totally gone, I was driving at night and had to call my son, crying I was lost...in the morning I didn't remember going out even, many of times, I even stole 8 gallons of milk ,...

Shared reviews and ratings

A. | 19-24 | Nonbinary | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/16/2022
Condition: Mental Disorder with Loss of Normal Personality & Reality
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was on Seroquel for about three months. It did a great job at treating my mood swings associated with depression, anxiety, and borderline personality disorder; however, this medication made me extremely tired. I was started on a 50 mg dose taken at night that got reduced to 25 mg and then 12.5 mg and the side effects never went away. In addition to extreme drowsiness, this also made me feel foggy which made it hard for me to get through an entire day without needing to take a break / nap.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Wayne | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/21/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was out in this for anxiety and it made my symptoms much worse. It made me restless and I wasn’t able to sleep at all. I was only in this for 8 days and when my psychiatrist took me off I crashed and ended up in the hospital with withdrawal symptoms.. tremors,confusion,sweating, rapid heartbeat and much worse anxiety.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Britt2022 | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
2/5/2022
Condition: Repeated Episodes of Anxiety
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’ve suffer from extreme panic attacks, some lasting weeks at a time. I started taking 100mg daily with my normal anxiety meds and I haven’t felt this good in years! ( only down fall is it gives me the munchies )

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/3/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

it did help with my psychosis but made me feel really foggy, made me mentally slower, and i would not stop gaining weight i stopped it and the realistic feeling i have is overwhelming my moodswings are crazy i go from extremely hypomanic to uncontrollable sobbing very fast

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 13-18 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
12/1/2021
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Diagnosed with depression. Take it at night to help me sleep otherwise I don’t. Down side, my mom has to give me aderall in the morning or I can’t get up until after 12. Only medication I can say has actually worked though.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
11/1/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

For Chronic Migraines-this med has basically stopped my chronic migraines at just 50mg! I got the idea to try it after my neurologist wanted to put me on Zyprexa temporarily to end a vicious migraine cycle I was in due to a HORRID reaction from Emgality (Seroquel is very similar to Zyprexa but generally considered to be safer). Yeah it's an antipsychotic and can have serious side effects but usually only at MUCH higher doses for psychoses (150-800mg). I tried topiramate, amitriptyline and propranolol and had some success but seroquel is a miracle pill for me. Studies have shown it to be effective for migraine prevention at low doses (25-75mg). It is profoundly sedating at any dose so it must be taken at night and can also cause some weight gain. Exercise, eat right and you'll be fine. Most neurologists won't think of trying this drug (mine didn't) so I hope this helps someone and best of luck to all my fellow migraneurs! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Angi D | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/21/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am BiPolar II, have been on Lamictal and stable for years. Started the lowest dose of Seroquel to help with some minor anxiety affecting my sleep. Took a whole pill the first night, was a zombie the next day. Took half a pill for four more days. I slept better each night, but was groggy the next day. The scary thing was my moods. I went from stable, even tempered and patient to irritable, argumentative, easily enraged and had a brief thought of suicide. Stopped the Seroquel immediately, and started feeling better the next day. Was back to normal within two days of stopping. Our 15yo daughter is also on Lamictal for mood disorders, and had been on Seroquel for anxiety/sleep for several months. She was moody in the mornings, and I had a hard time getting her up for school. We thought she was just a typical teenage girl being forced to get up at 5:30am for school. Her dose was quadruple mine. When we realized what had happened to me, we started weaning her off, with her doctor's okay, over the course of a week. Wow. The change was immediate. She was happier, easier to get up and going for school, mentally and emotionally in a much better place. I have a feeling we are the exception to the efficiency of this particular drug. Maybe it was just us. Maybe it was the Seroquel in conjunction with the Lamictal. Who knows. I'm just glad we figured it out.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
tjoceans | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
10/13/2021
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is hard to rate as there are things that need to be discussed. I have been on Seroquel for about 10 years now. I often sleep too long, but I don't have any side effects other than not being able to jump out of bed. I recently took Seroquel from the Ascend manufacturer and found that I jump out of bed the next day and feel great and I get perfect sleep. Just when I figured that out, Walgreens stopped carrying it. It is the Ascend manufacturer. We need to really pay attention to this detail as does the pharmacist. Sometimes I was going there and they had filled the wrong manufacturer and I would have to take a different one, maybe the Ascend was very popular, but now Walgreens pharmacy did not renew their contract with Ascend. I am looking everywhere for it now.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Miss_Sommelier | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
10/10/2021
Condition: Bipolar I Disorder with Most Recent Episode Mixed
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking seriously since 2018 after such a long time of depression , I’m bipolar type 1 mixed also having anxiety and borderline disorders. I have been trying everything in the past 13years, I was on trittico for many years which I thought was helping but it just ruined my life in the end and was not helping at all. I’m so thankful for a random emergency doc who came to me when I had a panic attack and gave me 5 pills of seriously and said.. try it out and see and after I proposed it to my psychiatrist and I started with 50mg, then went up to 100 and stayed on it for years. I’m not cured because I’m always gonna be myself, but I have never ever been more productive, balanced and happy in my life as I am now. I now take 150mg at bedtime as I have a diagnosed chronic insomnia too - I fell asleep after an hour and sleep like a baby , can wake up after 6hours and be fine but sometimes can also sleep 12 , but I have no problem with that at all! After I wake up I’m a bit tired but it takes 2 coffees and 15-30 mins and I’m perfectly fine. I have actually lost weight on quetiapine but I worked out a lot in the beginning. Now I eat like crazy and still weight like always, 53kg. Best medicine for treating bipolar disorder for me. Lithium is killing people! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kiwi | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
9/10/2021
Condition: Manic-Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have nothing bad to say about Seroquel. I have been taking Seroquel coming up to 14 years. Before that i was a was on a path of self destruction and feared the outside world. Since then I have a Bachelor degree in Bicultural Social Work. I am a registered social worker and facilitator. And work in the justice system. My fear is coming off Seroquel, when and if that happens.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
NovelReader | 45-54 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/6/2021
Condition: Mental Disorder with Loss of Normal Personality & Reality
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After 20 years of battling major depression I was finally put on a medication regime that works. Part of my regime is Seroquel. My insomnia, depression, and apathy are gone. Completely gone! I do recommend taking this medication at night and getting a full 8 hours of sleep. I don’t use the extended release version because this medication does cause me to fall asleep.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Dontcomeforme23 | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/29/2021
Condition: Mania associated with Bipolar Disorder
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Had very bad nightmares on it. I would be spaced out. Caused an overall hung over feeling the following day.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Drew | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
8/3/2021
Condition: Mania associated with Bipolar Disorder
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I can attest wholeheartedly to the effectiveness of this medication, once I got sober. Still have slight mania and depression, but they are not life threatening episodes as they have been in the past. There is no magic pill, but after searching for something, this has given me the ability to function “almost human-like.”

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kathrin Cole | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/6/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was suffering from mild depression. Asked nurse-practitioner for Lexipro, which had helped my brother. She refused and insisted that I take Seroquel and gave me free samples. It made me sleep, but turned me into a zombie almost immediately. Lost all touch with reality, paced all day. Went back to dr.'s office, she saw that it wasn't working and insisted that I take increased dose. She had my husband administer more and more seroquel until she said it was the maximum dose. My condition continued to get worse. Seroquel ruined my life for 4-5 years. Worst medication I can imagine. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Abby | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
6/9/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I began taking this for both MDD, anxiety, insomnia, and a few other symptoms such as issues with dissociative episodes and hallucinations, and difficulties with suicidal thoughts and self harm. Taking this medication in combination with therapy has turned my life around, and I genuinely believe I would still be struggling if I had not started taking it. I tried other antidepressants and antipsychotics but this is the only one that worked for me without major side effects. I am only on the 25mg due to being really sensitive to medications, but that has worked well for me. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sam | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/2/2021
Condition: Repeated Episodes of Anxiety
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Im sleeping and my anxiety is no longer a massive issue. It seems to have just disapeared thank god.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Rebecca in Ky | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
5/28/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'm a manic depressive, bipolar, anxiety thats through the roof, PTSD, insomniac. I take 100mg in the morning, and that curbs my anxiety most of the day. At night I take 200mg. I literally had forgotten what sleeping longer than an HR or 2 felt like. This medicine has helped me out with most of my issues. Thanks to the manufacturer, 2 thumbs up! I've not experienced any weight gain with this medicine, not has my appetite increased. I've not experienced any weight loss either. But I love this! It works GREAT for me!! Thank you. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Cantabuseaplant | 13-18 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/12/2021
Condition: Repeated Episodes of Anxiety
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Made me very sick and projectile vomit quit taking after 2 days

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
NB.Mommaof4 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
4/21/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had a borderline heart attack in 2014 and I ended up finding out I had fibromyalgia right after. It all caused me to have extreme insomnia and chronic anxiety. Also before this I could never find a medication for my BPD, OCD and PTSD, so the doctors started me ok Ativan and trazodone. After feeling horrible on it and getting a new doctor I was switched to seroqual. I never felt better and I slept so good, but the weight I gained in such a short time caused other issues. I ended up gaining over 100 lbs and no matter what I did the medication wouldn’t help. I’ve been off of it now for almost two weeks. I miss sleep but I now know that I’m better off. I was never able to loose weight that kept gaining, and now it’s coming off. I can find other ways to sleep like taking Gravol, benydr or working out before bed. Still taking Ativan for my anxiety and MY OCD has gotten bad but managing. I can tell you NEVER use this drug. The itching and withdrawal is terrible and not worth it. I miss how I felt before ever touching this. Like I said great for sleeping if you need it but not worth the side affects !!! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
4/17/2021
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I need this medication! I started on 200mg 11 years ago (for anxiety?) and was not informed of the side effects. I have also taken 400mg of Lamictal for 14 years. I had two young children at the time and after the first night taking it, I could hardly open my eyes in the morning to get them off to school. But, it allowed me to sleep (I just needed to adjust my sleep schedule/routine) and really turned down the volume on my ruminations. I didn't gain weight, I lost it, but I think that had a lot to do with some major life changes I was going through. I took that dose for several years before reducing to 50mg, and a couple of years ago I stopped taking it. (I of course discussed it with my doctor) I thought I needed to learn to sleep naturally, instead of being basically sedated every night of my life. What followed was a downward spiral that led up to suicidal ideations and insomnia about 9 months ago. I started therapy which has been life transforming, but my suicidal thoughts and sleeplessness increased to a really dangerous level about 4 months ago. My doctor convinced me to give Seroquel another chance. His argument--"do you smoke marijuana before bed?" Touche. (He doesn't necessarily approve my weed smoking but respects me) I have been back on Seroquel since and I'm sleeping through the night. My ruminations have quieted down to something that I can manage. Admittedly it does make me feel more dull. I'm groggy in the morning. I am going to fall asleep an hour after taking it so that takes some planning. I don't weigh myself but I have remained active and all my clothes still fit so that's a good sign. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More