Show ratings & reviews for

2.8 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

16 People found this comment helpful

I rarely have yeast infections, and used to (like many women) confuse bacterial vaginosis with yeast infections. If you have a bacterial infection, you will experience SO much pain using Monistat. I made that mistake before and will never again. This time around I bought the vagisil tester kit to determine if it was yeast or bacterial. This time it was yeast and the Monistat didn't burn at all. I ...

Most voted negative review

7 People found this comment helpful

I've used Monistat 7 for years and it worked great. When I got a yeast infection recently, after 15 years of not having one, I tried Monistat 3. It burned terribly and didn't cure my infection. A week later, I tried Monistat 7 and it burned so bad I was crying. I then spent 6 frustrating months trying various cures prescribed by my doctor and from what I read on the internet. I even tried Mon...

Shared reviews and ratings

RJM2022 | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
4/27/2022
Condition: Yeast Infection of Vagina and Vulva
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been having yeast infection symptoms for a couple of weeks now and I did not know that is what was going on (I thought it was a UTI) until I had a consult with a urologist and he recommended Monistat 3 for the treatment. I was already experiencing pain, burning, and itching as a result of the yeast infection prior to using Monistat. The cream for damaged skin around the vagina has actually been very helpful and soothing. I must admit I am only on day 1 of the 3 day treatment and it was a bit difficult to get the suppository inserted since I was experiencing the most pain and burning on my skin at the insertion point. What I did that really helped me be able to insert more easily was I rubbed a small amount of vaseline around the applicator tube to act as a lubricant This worked wonders and I was able to easily and almost pain free insert the applicator and release the suppository I kind of have short arms so the hard part for me was pushing the bottom part of the applicator to release the suppository. I am not sure how Monistat could possibly reconfigure their applicator to make it easier to release. After this first day, my itching and burning has actually decreased and I am experiencing some relief from my yeast infection symptoms. to those with bad reviews I would say ti make sure you are not allergic to anything that is in Monistat's medication. this is probably why they have experienced burning severely etc. I am hoping for the next 2 days to go well too.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Vee | 55-64 | Other | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/15/2022
Condition: Yeast Infection of Vagina and Vulva
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had yeast infections before but it's been a few years since my last one. I have been going crazy with this recent one I've had it going on 2weeks tried hime remedies at first then finally called my doctor who prescribed fluconazole It's been 3 days since I took the F pill and I am still itching and burning down there. It's sore and gets swollen at times I can't sleep don't want to eat because I'm so uncomfortable. I have become a beast to live with. Well I decided to try monistat 3;as this product had helped me in the past OMG!!. Worst decision ever! First I couldn't insert the darn thing in my vag it caused some pain I don't know if being menopausal and having vaginal dryness made it more difficult. I could barely get it in and then the little grabby things that hold the oval pill scraped me up pretty bad. I couldn't even get the darn thing in so the pill just got stuck at the entrance I pulled it out because it caused me quite a bit of pain. I got the courage to do it again and managed to get it in BIG MISTAKE! I like others experienced excruciating pain and burning I said to myself what have I done! I a 60 year old woman was crying from the pain Needless to say it did not ease any symptoms. I wish I had seen these reviews before buying this medication and it's not cheap and now I have to dump it in the trash. It makes me so mad that these companies would put out a product that clearly doesn't work for most and actually hurts you more than helps. You guys should be ashamed of yourselves. Do more research and scrap this product. like I said before I had tried this product in the past the 7;day one and it didn't hurt or burn or cause itching. I really hope you listen to the women on this post who are so dissatisfied with Monistat 3. But I'm sure you will just go by the handful of women that this product actually helped. Your product is TERRIBLE!! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
serina | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/11/2022
Condition: Yeast Infection of Vagina and Vulva
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

ok so ima give it to you straight, i had a whole anxiety attack after reading a lot of the bad reviews and ended up completely scaring myself into thinking i would have a bad experience. i was TERRIFIED after reading TONS of bad reviews 10 mins after taking it. but i did not have any horrible symptoms at all. the medicine works fine. there is A LITTLE bit of burning/itching that i experienced but nothing like other reviews explained. PLEASE DO NOT BE AFRAID TO TAKE THIS. it works great, just wear a panty liner for leakage and take some pain killer if you’re feeling uncomfortable. a lot of these women i think are allergic to something in it, but that was not the case for me. i am completely fine after 24 hrs and have had no bad reaction. would i take it again? no. i would resort to the 3-7 day treatment but overall i would not be scared to try this. please don’t let these reviews scare you. consult with your doctor first if you’re concerned. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
AC | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/18/2022
Condition: Yeast Infection of Vagina and Vulva
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Well here I am… up late in the middle of the night with the same burning sensation everyone else mentioned. I really need to start reading reviews before I spend money foolishly. I wanted to treat my YI quickly before leaving for vacation, but am bailing after after reading reviews of gals getting sick post-treatment. It truly is worth it to go to the doctor. Please don’t waste your money. Go spend it on a bunch of ice cream instead.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
NoInsurance | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month |
3/15/2022
Condition: Yeast Infection of Vagina and Vulva
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This works. Unbearable burning/fire and next level itching is the result of a secondary skin infection or skin abrasions/lesions in my experience. If you can deal with the yeast infection, treat the skin problem first (if you have no insurance like me, I used Benadryl cream and triple antibiotic over that for about a week until it healed up). Then I retried Monistat 3 along with generous amounts of anti itch cream and everything was incredibly bearable. Very mild burn and an annoying itch that went away with the itch cream. This time I used Monistat anti itch which works well, but can burn a lot for first few mins but worth it considering. I don’t suggest Monistat anti itch if you have a skin issue…too strong.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/20/2022
Condition: Yeast Infection of Vagina and Vulva
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I wish I would’ve read the reviews before wasting my money on this bullsh**. I felt a very mild yeast infection coming on, I had little to no itching mostly just a little burning and discomfort. My friend recommended I use Monistat and she told me how it would burn… but she didn’t say it would burn like a million suns and make you itch more than any yeast infection I’ve ever had!!!!! As soon as I inserted the cream it made my vagina feel like a war zone. I tried to tough it out and lay down, but nopeee it was horrible. Please do not waste your time and money on this just go see a doctor. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
T | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/13/2022
Condition: Yeast Infection of Vagina and Vulva
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Buyer's Beware!!! I started to feel a yeast infection coming on so picked this one up I usually use the off brand and it does it's thing but they didn't have any ok no biggy so I thought. Now I regret not looking up reviews on the green box because after using the first dose, I laid down for bed every thing was fine until 3am I woke up to literally feeling like I was on fire from top to bottom down there totally discomfort started to itch real bad. The worst feeling ever I had to go take a shower to rinse as much off and just wait a few hours for the pain and itch to subside. Bump this crap I'm not about to use the last two Hell No!! I threw them straight in the garbage where this crap belongs! Never again will I use this!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
#donotbuy | 19-24 | Female | Patient
12/22/2021
Condition: Yeast Infection of Vagina and Vulva
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I never write reviews but here I am laying in bed with an ice pack on my vajeen in serious pain. Save your save the chemical burns and Do not buy!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/12/2021
Condition: Yeast Infection of Vagina and Vulva
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’ve had one yeast infection previously, so when the same symptoms started I felt pretty confident to try and diagnose and treat the issue myself. So I decided to not go to the doctor and instead but Monistat. I used the cream the first day which did not seem to do anything. Then that night before bed, I tried the ovule part of the treatment. It is now 4am as I am writing this and I AM IN SO MUCH PAIN. I woke up in extreme discomfort with the itching and added burning sensation being so much worse than the actual yeast infection itself. I got up and took a shower to try and get some relief, but that did nothing. I’ve been debating going to the hospital for a while and if nothing else will definitely go to urgent care when it opens. My one slight, temporary relief is reading all these reviews and knowing I’m not alone in this struggle. Basically, do not buy this product!! Go to the doctor and have them prescribe the correct medication.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
GratedBits | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/24/2021
Condition: Yeast Infection of Vagina and Vulva
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I wish I would have read the reviews. My muffin hurts sooo bad from this stuff. I wish I could sue them for selling me something that I used to be able to count on to help me, but replaced it with siracha sauce from hell. Day 2 today, and I’m experiencing heachache, cramping and WORSE pain than the actual yeast infection. Wtf, Monistat? If you want to feel like your coochie was getting cheese grated, go ahead and use this. If you want to have the hangover and the sore lady bits without the fun night out, again, Moni is your gal. Ugh. So disappointed and dissatisfied. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
DontUseThis! | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/14/2021
Condition: Yeast Infection of Vagina and Vulva
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Okay, it's been like 5 years since I've had a yeast infection but it was clear recently that one was coming on. I grabbed the Monistat and oh. my. god. Oh my god! It was literally the worst experience of my life. About 10 minutes after insertion I started to feel the burning everyone talked about and it took an hour before it started to subside. I literally had to sit on an ice pack. It was terrible. Monistat, what changes did you make to your product in the last few years and WHY ARE YOU TRYING TO TORTURE WOMEN? We already have it hard enough. Just, no. No. No. No. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 0-2 | Female | Patient
11/3/2021
Condition: Yeast Infection of Vagina and Vulva
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am a 60 year old Menopausal Woman for 11 years. I once in a while get a yeast infection, from antibiotics. And, have used Monistat before it has always worked with minor side effects. The time around OMG! The burning was bad, But on the last day of treatment I had a pink discharge!!! I have not had any discharge like this after Menopause. I Freaked Out!!! I said look to myself calm down and, look to see if anyone else has had this experience, well Hundreds of Women said they experienced the same thing! This lasted a day minor but, scary. They need to put this as a side effect so women don't get themselves in a panic! Never again! Next time Diflucan for me. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
What the hell | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/25/2021
Condition: Yeast Infection of Vagina and Vulva
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The burning is off the charts! Not worth it, see your doctor or midwife for some real medication.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Marlene | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/20/2021
Condition: Yeast Infection of Vagina and Vulva
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The ovule seemed like it turned to water in the night and ran out everywhere. Stained bedding, soaked underwear and liner. Terrible mess. It burned like crazy and showed no results. I called the 1-800 number and they don't stand behind their product for a refund. Will never buy Monostat again. Will be getting Canisten if needed.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Monistat 3 | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/13/2021
Condition: Yeast Infection of Vagina and Vulva
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I purchased the Monistat 3 from Walmart on 9/30/21 due to me having all the symptoms of a yeast infection. I'm a very intelligent lady but even if I wasn't it doesn't take a rocket scientist to used this product. I followed the instructions carefully for 3 days. I did get some relief but after the 5th day the symptoms were still there. On the box it did say it would take up to 7 days to work but by the 6th day I simply couldn't take it anymore. I went to my Dr. He said it didn't work. He took care of me. This Monistat product need some work. Revamping. I called your customer service # to have them to refund my money that I waisted on this product and was told because I got some relief they couldn't refund my money. Wow!! I didn't purchase this product to get relief I purchased it to take care of my issue. Consumers do not buy this product. It doesn't work.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Alexa | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
9/25/2021
Condition: Yeast Infection of Vagina and Vulva
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Please ignore people’s comments. If u have a yeast infection this stuff works. If your yeast infection is bad cuz it wasn’t treated for a while, it might be more irratated and itchy for about an hour. By the second dose, you are feeling better! 100% works

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
YoungMother27 | 25-34 | Female | Patient
9/14/2021
Condition: Yeast Infection of Vagina and Vulva
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was so confused when I started experiencing the symptoms of a yeast infection! Especially since I never had one before, after some research ( because it was nearly impossible to get a doctors appointment during Covid times ) I realized that I had a yeast infection. Instantly I was searching everything possible for a cure. The itching and burning and mild swelling was driving me insane! Even though I read the reviews of Mona stat I still gave it a try. I didn’t want to do the one day one, it seemed to risky and seven days seemed a bit long! So I picked the three day one. The first night was hard, I cramped up and the itching got worse! I thought this was a fail.. but the second day, it was smooth sailing with now mild itching. I’m on my third day and I’m hoping that my symptoms finally clear up! Or I’ll be moving onto monastat 7, anyways! Don’t always be scared of the reviews, everyone’s body is different! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ky | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/10/2021
Condition: Yeast Infection of Vagina and Vulva
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

So I’ve had a YI once before so I knew that what I was feeling was pretty much valid. I happen to be on vacation far away from home and going to Walgreens was my only resort for the week. Before it got worse I wanted to get rid of it. I didn’t have any terrible symptoms just a little tenderness in my area and mild itching. When I got the monistat 3 I figured this would do the job I didn’t even read reviews. But we all know how I ended up here…hell with this product. I inserted this around 6pm when I got out of the shower and it’s now 2:17 in the morning. I had the worst burning and itching it made it all worse for about an hour…but then it went away. I figured maybe it went in there and attacked all the bad stuff, so i sucked it up. Fine with it. But now I have diarreah. And my mouth is bone dry. Wtf is that about. I looked up side effects and sure enough it’s loud and clear on there. I hate taking anything with any kind of nauseating side effect. I wish I did my research before I stuck this junk up my area. Next time, I’m gonna stick to vagasil anti itch wipes until I get home. Don’t buy it. Just go to the damn gyno. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lane | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/9/2021
Condition: Yeast Infection of Vagina and Vulva
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Dealing with my first yeast infection and using monistat 3. Haven't had any burning or discomfort, after using the first day I immediately felt better and just had some itching and mild discharge. On my 3rd dosage tonight and feeling great.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
bh | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/7/2021
Condition: Yeast Infection of Vagina and Vulva
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was nervous to try this product after seeing all of the negative reviews but I recently had my first yeast infection and just wanted to get rid of my symptoms asap. I didn’t experience any burning/pain and my symptoms improved a lot just after the first dose!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More