Show ratings & reviews for

2.9 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

16 People found this comment helpful

I rarely have yeast infections, and used to (like many women) confuse bacterial vaginosis with yeast infections. If you have a bacterial infection, you will experience SO much pain using Monistat. I made that mistake before and will never again. This time around I bought the vagisil tester kit to determine if it was yeast or bacterial. This time it was yeast and the Monistat didn't burn at all. I ...

Most voted negative review

7 People found this comment helpful

I've used Monistat 7 for years and it worked great. When I got a yeast infection recently, after 15 years of not having one, I tried Monistat 3. It burned terribly and didn't cure my infection. A week later, I tried Monistat 7 and it burned so bad I was crying. I then spent 6 frustrating months trying various cures prescribed by my doctor and from what I read on the internet. I even tried Mon...

Shared reviews and ratings

Alexa | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
9/25/2021
Condition: Yeast Infection of Vagina and Vulva
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Please ignore people’s comments. If u have a yeast infection this stuff works. If your yeast infection is bad cuz it wasn’t treated for a while, it might be more irratated and itchy for about an hour. By the second dose, you are feeling better! 100% works

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
YoungMother27 | 25-34 | Female | Patient
9/14/2021
Condition: Yeast Infection of Vagina and Vulva
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was so confused when I started experiencing the symptoms of a yeast infection! Especially since I never had one before, after some research ( because it was nearly impossible to get a doctors appointment during Covid times ) I realized that I had a yeast infection. Instantly I was searching everything possible for a cure. The itching and burning and mild swelling was driving me insane! Even though I read the reviews of Mona stat I still gave it a try. I didn’t want to do the one day one, it seemed to risky and seven days seemed a bit long! So I picked the three day one. The first night was hard, I cramped up and the itching got worse! I thought this was a fail.. but the second day, it was smooth sailing with now mild itching. I’m on my third day and I’m hoping that my symptoms finally clear up! Or I’ll be moving onto monastat 7, anyways! Don’t always be scared of the reviews, everyone’s body is different! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ky | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/10/2021
Condition: Yeast Infection of Vagina and Vulva
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

So I’ve had a YI once before so I knew that what I was feeling was pretty much valid. I happen to be on vacation far away from home and going to Walgreens was my only resort for the week. Before it got worse I wanted to get rid of it. I didn’t have any terrible symptoms just a little tenderness in my area and mild itching. When I got the monistat 3 I figured this would do the job I didn’t even read reviews. But we all know how I ended up here…hell with this product. I inserted this around 6pm when I got out of the shower and it’s now 2:17 in the morning. I had the worst burning and itching it made it all worse for about an hour…but then it went away. I figured maybe it went in there and attacked all the bad stuff, so i sucked it up. Fine with it. But now I have diarreah. And my mouth is bone dry. Wtf is that about. I looked up side effects and sure enough it’s loud and clear on there. I hate taking anything with any kind of nauseating side effect. I wish I did my research before I stuck this junk up my area. Next time, I’m gonna stick to vagasil anti itch wipes until I get home. Don’t buy it. Just go to the damn gyno. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lane | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/9/2021
Condition: Yeast Infection of Vagina and Vulva
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Dealing with my first yeast infection and using monistat 3. Haven't had any burning or discomfort, after using the first day I immediately felt better and just had some itching and mild discharge. On my 3rd dosage tonight and feeling great.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
bh | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/7/2021
Condition: Yeast Infection of Vagina and Vulva
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was nervous to try this product after seeing all of the negative reviews but I recently had my first yeast infection and just wanted to get rid of my symptoms asap. I didn’t experience any burning/pain and my symptoms improved a lot just after the first dose!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Liv | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/4/2021
Condition: Yeast Infection of Vagina and Vulva
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had to scoop it out of me that’s how much it burnt. I’ve never had a yeast infection before and it wasn’t even all that bad just had a rash and little burning. I use monstat 7 for the first time and at first it wasn’t bad. After 20 minutes I had to rush to the washroom to scoop it out of me. The burning was unbearable and itching like crazy. I had to take a bath to sooth my vagina after that 0/10 would not recommend

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Should'veTakenPill | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/3/2021
Condition: Yeast Infection of Vagina and Vulva
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I wish I had read these reviews Before I tried this product. I thought nothing of it since years ago I used it without problems. I had the cream applicator and it wasn't attached well. I stuck it back in the tube pushing some of the cream out and down the sides. I thought it may help and start calming things down quickly. You know.. Like coat the whole canal....Boy oh Boy was I Wrong!!! I have a relatively high pain tolerance. I don't feel like I'm gonna die but it's Very uncomfortable and worse than it was before I inserted it. My whole lower half feels affected. I read a review about taking Tylenol or the like. At this point I'm too scared to risk getting up and having more slide out. I'm just laying here after 4am and the only thing to comfort me is reading the reviews of all my fellow warrior sisters that have walked through the flames. Strength and Courage my sisters!!! Strength and courage!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
LizG | 25-34 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
7/29/2021
Condition: Yeast Infection of Vagina and Vulva
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I self diagnosed I suspected it was a yeast infection! I bought monsistat 3 The 1st time I applied it wasn’t so bad it did burn but I could still sleep the 2nd night was HORRIBLE I did not sleep! I got extremely dry down there and it was hard for me to insert applicator up there in my private. It was also sensitive and tender. Whole night it burned! 3rd night is tonight and it definitely burned and itched but not as bad as light night hopefully it stays that way. I think the reason why it burned so much the 2nd night was because it was coming out from my private part so I think it irritated me Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/24/2021
Condition: Yeast Infection of Vagina and Vulva
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Worst feeling after using the 3 day monistat. Literally in tears and regret of trying this medication. Why would anybody make this cream to make so much discomfort

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
cryingcoochi3 | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/22/2021
Condition: Yeast Infection of Vagina and Vulva
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I may be in the most pain I have ever experienced on my life. My vagina feels like it is being torched from inside out. I’ve taken Monistat 3 before and always got consistent COOLING relief. Within 10 minutes of inserting the ovule and applying the cream this time, my entire vagina and my vulva began to burn more intensely than the yeast infection which woke me up. I started sweating, feeling like I needed to pee flames, and thought I was going to vomit and faint. The mild cramping in the abdomen was also a nice surprise. It’s currently been one hour since and although I no longer feel like I’m going to collapse, my vag is sizzling- I’m in the middle of an 8 hour car ride so pray for me that I don’t have chemical burns. The only plus side is that I am in such agony that I feel have disassociated from waist down and can’t even remember the discomfort that made me use this torture egg in the first place. WILL NEVER USE AGAIN. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
kathy | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/17/2021
Condition: Yeast Infection of Vagina and Vulva
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It was awful. Like one women wrote on here, it was like 1000's of fire ants crawled up my area. If I could of take a round bristle brush and and shoved it up there I would of. It was the worst pain I have ever had. I would never recommend this product. I was very close to calling the ER, the pain was that bad.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
i hate monistat | 13-18 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/4/2021
Condition: Yeast Infection of Vagina and Vulva
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

my poonani can best be described as being embodied in a 78 year old woman covered in paper cuts while she embraces the fact that she is about to die from the pompeii volcano as it rains lava, lemon juice, tajin, takis that have been laced with black tar herion, and hot sauce from a rednecks crawfish boil. I am currently in the fetal position without pants as i cry to god because now i am a christian praying to be saved from this devil inside of my moldy muffin.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
kyladonell | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/18/2021
Condition: Yeast Infection of Vagina and Vulva
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

BEWARE!!! DO NOT USE THIS PRODUCT!!! This product should be taken off the shelves. It did nothing but make the pain excruciatingly WORSE!! It truly felt like my vagina was on FIRE with little red ants going around biting and gnawing on my female parts. It was ABSOLUTELY MISERABLE. I was up all night with pain and burning trying to get the product out of me. The only relief I had was putting ice inside me to numb everything. It was hell in a tube. I read other reviews after feeling the pain and thinking that there had to be something wrong. Many other women have said they didn't have issues with this product prior to 2019, and some believe there was a change in the ingredients since then so it doesn't feel the same as it used to when it did help them. So, beware if you used it in the past and want to try it again. It's apparently not the same. This product doesn't even deserve one star - it should be negative stars. I wrote this review to help save someone else from the pain. Go to your doctor or late night urgent care instead of using this product. It was the most pain I've ever felt in my life, 100 x the yeast infection pain. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Dee | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/18/2021
Condition: Yeast Infection of Vagina and Vulva
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Ok, I must admit I was so cared to try this product once I started reading all these horrible reviews. I had already purchased ve product so decided what the heck I’ll give it a try. Not everyone’s experience was bad and I might get lucky. Instructions were clear and easy to follow. I applicated the product as instructed and waited for the horrible burn and itching but nothing happened. After like 3 mins I felt a bit of a tingly sensation but that was the worse of it. I did use a pad just in case but didn’t experience too much leakage. I am feeling so much better this morning so it’s working!!???? I will be applicating the second dose tonight and will let you know how that goes. Don’t be afraid to try this product, everyone’s body is different. What doesn’t work for other might work for you. Good luck everyone??Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/11/2021
Condition: Yeast Infection of Vagina and Vulva
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This was my first yeast infection so I did freak out a bit. I bought the monistat 3 day treatment that comes with the itch cream. I read the reviews before trying it and was so scared because of all the horrible reviews I read. I went ahead and just used it anyways, I experienced no pain whatsoever super easy to use and I do recommend wearing a pad or liner because it can get messy. I am on day 3 and feel so much better already!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Eveapple | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
4/16/2021
Condition: Yeast Infection of Vagina and Vulva
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

To those saying the product burns been there before don’t know why it happens but it works well so I continue to use. Last two times I did not burn at all only relief.. I guess it’s hit or miss or depends on how severe infection, I use one day and pill only. Tried cream in past messy and burns for sure.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/24/2021
Condition: Yeast Infection of Vagina and Vulva
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Feels like acid inside and out immediately after using this product...although it did work, I will never use this again. I’ve used Monistat years ago and never had this type of pain and itching with use.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
CLL | 45-54 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/15/2020
Condition: Yeast Infection of Vagina and Vulva
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This product should be removed off the market immediately. It is unsafe and horrible to use. The FDA needs to investigate this product. I ended up in Urgent Care due to the Burning, Swelling, etc. that was intolerable and made my yeast infection worse than before. Do not buy this product, go to the Doctor.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jess4324 | 35-44 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/13/2020
Condition: Yeast Infection of Vagina and Vulva
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Used all three doses. Horrible product. Burned like hell. Do not use!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 0-2 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/6/2020
Condition: Yeast Infection of Vagina and Vulva
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Absolutely never using monostat again. I had a very mild YI, just took this to clear it up quicker but my whole body is on FIRE. It feels like I poured acid down there. I’ve used the egg ovules but never the cream and the pre-filled cream applicators are the WORST.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More