Show ratings & reviews for

4.6 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

28 People found this comment helpful

I discovered Loperamide by accident after several years of not being able to travel or go anywhere for an entire day. I take two 2mg tablets each morning after breakfast and one 2mg tablet after dinner each night. I am back to living a normal life and traveling. I used to be afraid to go anywhere at anytime. I use generic brands from the local pharmacy or grocery store.

Most voted negative review

4 People found this comment helpful

For whatever reson, this drug seems to take 2 days to show any results. When you have diarrhea, dehydration sets in long before this medicine works. I have had better luck with Pepto Bismol.

Shared reviews and ratings

CJ | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
2/22/2021
Condition: Diarrhea due to Inflammatory Bowel Disease
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Was prescribed by my doctor for IBS. Was told to take one a day or as needed. It has significantly helped my bathroom problems and I feel like I don't have as many emergency bathroom visits.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Patrick B | 45-54 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/13/2017
Condition: Diarrhea
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Every couple years I get the stomach flu and when I do I take this drug and it is literally a miracle drug I was throwing up had diarrhea every 5 to 10 minutes I start off and take for 4mg of loperamide and then everything goes away like nothing ever happened

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
me | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/7/2017
Condition: Diarrhea due to Inflammatory Bowel Disease
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
iWeb ebb | 75 or over | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
3/27/2017
Condition: Diarrhea due to Inflammatory Bowel Disease
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Cannot determine the use as a preventive 1/2 a day or two a week or only after exposed of bowel explosion

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Des | 65-74 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
2/27/2017
Condition: Diarrhea caused by Chemotherapy
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Easy to use, very effective. Exceptionally easy to adjust the dosage.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/27/2016
Condition: Diarrhea
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Take as directed and it puts a cork in it!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
6/19/2016
Condition: Diarrhea
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have severe diarrhea due to lactose intolerance, when the meal contains milk, butter or cheese. This causes severe loose watery stool with extreme pain feeling like tearing of the muscle during bowel movement. I had 3rd stage rectal cancer 15 years ago, so I was wondering whether cancer was coming back. But every check by the doctor said no cancer. The doctor suspected loose watery stool may contain too much stomach acid, which can burn the skin tissue (that is how digestion of meat works!). This medicine works wonder when this happens. Usually I have to take 4mg at a time, and take 4 doses to stop loose stool, and the tearing pain during bowel movement disappear. Every time I travel, I need this when I accidentally eat food containing diary products, which seems to be in most hotel and resturant foods. I am very glad this drug exists.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
5/20/2016
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I suffer from IBS-D. As soon as I feel the cramping/burning, I take the first dose of this. I've never had to take more than two to soothe a flare up.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year |
4/27/2016
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I ACTUALLY CAME TO KNOW THIS MEDICATION WHEN INWAS WITHDRAWING FRON PAIN MEDICATION. I WAS TOLD TO TAKE 60 PILLS( I KNOW THAT SOUNDS CRAZY) BUT IT REALLY HELPED MY ANXIETY . THE PROBLEM IS I CONTINUED TO TAKE IT FOR A LONG TIME NOW I AM EXPERIENCING EXTREME WITHDRAWAL SYMPTOMS,COULD THIS BE FROM THE LOPERAMIDE ?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
10/18/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Cancer had a LAR causes very greasy stool. Have no bowel control with lose stool. Worked great for a while, 8 months, was oked to take up to 15 a day. If it works great drug but it stopped. Need to find something else. Skin is about ready to fall off cause I go in my sleep and don't always wake up in time to wash off. So It did work very well but stopped. Its definitely worth trying.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
les | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
8/18/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

83 yrs young. Had 7 inches of lower intestine removed for divertiuos 15 years ago. Have used it ever since to stop the runs. Also use citracel each morning. Take heaping spoonful with 2mg loperimade.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Maryjane | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
2/15/2014
Condition: Diarrhea due to Inflammatory Bowel Disease
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I actually have had IBS with diarrhea and let me tell you this medicine is nothing short of a miracle drug! I had taken a drug called hyoscyamine for avery extended period of time. It failed to help with the IBS, so I stopped that drug cold turkey and began with the Loperamide. My PCP okayed it. I still am using this drug for treatment and am no longer imprisoned in my bathroom! Free At Long Last!!!!!!!!!!!!! Another benefit is that I can go back to drinking coffee and can consume salads and all the foods loved in pre-IBS days. I also am reaping the benefits of my food remaining in my system long enough to to derive nutrients from! Am feeling so very much better now AND with absolutely no side effects! I wish all of you the best in your individually unique situations. Please talk with your physician about Loperamide giving you a much better quality of life! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
[email protected] | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/25/2013
Condition: Diarrhea due to Inflammatory Bowel Disease
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have suffered IBS for 6 years.I have taken all known medical test and all test have been negative. This is my last resort. Have taken 2 mgs daily for 9 weeks . so for no reoccurring .

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
healthly henry | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/19/2013
Condition: Diarrhea
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

serveral days of diarrhea

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Flower | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
2/2/2012
Condition: Diarrhea
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I got very sick with diarrhea and stomach pain, and my doctor prescribed Loperamide to me and the diarrhea stopped almost immediately. Now and then I get diarrhea and I take Loperamide and it goes away.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
hanras | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/29/2011
Condition: Diarrhea
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have colitis and had my gallbladder out and had a tubal. Have severe diarrhea and this helps somewhat. Have taken an oral powder and this worked better.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
shelby510 | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
6/22/2011
Condition: Diarrhea due to Inflammatory Bowel Disease
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had IBS for years and taking this drug daily along with eating small meals has greatly improved my life. I take one 2mg generic loperamide hydrochloride tablet daily and it has regulated me very well. I only have diarrhea now if I eat a very large meal.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
7/29/2010
Condition: Diarrhea
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Had my gallbladder out and began suffering from diarrhea all the time. This is the only drug that has worked for me. I take 5 2mg pills each morning and it works great.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Stubby | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
5/9/2010
Condition: Diarrhea
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Get a Rx from doc so you can buy in 100 ct bottles and insurance will pay for it. Drug works well at hiding the symptoms but I'm looking to eliminate the root cause. This might be connected to the CA surgery I had 3+ years ago. Nobody seems to know.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
pqjp2u | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/11/2010
Condition: Diarrhea
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Did not receive any benefits from this drug and it caused stomach upsetness and gas movement

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More