Show ratings & reviews for

3.5 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

57 People found this comment helpful

PLEASE BEWARE OF THE HORRIBLE WITHDRAWL SYMPTOMS OF THIS MEDICATION WHEN/IF YOU DISCONTINUE IT. I AM GOING THROUGH MAJOR, SERIOUS WITHDRAWL SYMPTOMS FROM ABRUPTLY STOPPING THE MEDICATION AND IT IS AT TIMES UNBEARABLE TO DEAL WITH. I HAVEN'T SLEPT AN ENTIRE NIGHT THOUGH IN OVER 13 DAYS NOW, THE HORRIBLE HEADACHES, VERTIGO, SHAKING, RAPID HEARTBEAT/TACYCARDIA, HORRIBLE SWEATING (I AM HAVING TO CHANG...

Most voted negative review

7 People found this comment helpful

I have just taken it for one day.

Shared reviews and ratings

Ed | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/30/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My ENT advised me after 8 months Vertigo from a Vestibular Migraine to take Venlafaxine ER 37.5 mg capsules. I took one and 2 hours later my vertigo was 80% gone. On WebMd they do advise to watch your blood pressure.. 16 hours later at 2am I woke up with a blinding headache. I checked my blood pressure and it was at 196/121. Off to the Emergency room I went. After they gave me one Clonidine 0.1mg 1 hour later my BP was at 115/74. I think I'll take the vertigo over a Stroke.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sophie | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/14/2022
Condition: Major Depressive Disorder
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

An absolute nightmare. It causes severe apathy, lack of any sort of creativity and insomnia. Furthermore, it makes you feel like you're going literally insane, my mind was reeling and screaming 24/7 and I came close to ending it or self admitting numerous times. Would NOT recommend. Hell drug.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
VanFL76 | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
9/27/2022
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'm not sure if 37.5 mg of Effexor actually helped me, and I was on it for years. I take it with Wellbutrin. Well, I'm an artist, and began to struggle with creative block--so my doctor recommended that we taper off the Effexor. (He assured me that it has an effect on creativity) I'm taking 25mg for 30 days, then will take 12.5mg for 30 days before stopping completely. I'm nervous about this, because I get withdrawal symptoms within just an hour of missing my dose. Brain zaps are NO. JOKE. I've been crying a lot these past 2 days, and feel absolutely worthless. My husband and daughter are oblivious. I hope this sadness goes away. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Beth | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
9/18/2022
Condition: Repeated Episodes of Anxiety
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Been on this for 3 years to deal with anger it works!!!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ed | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/29/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My ENT prescribed this to me for vertigo that I have now had for 7 months which is slowly getting better. I just finished reading all the side effects of this medicine. You have got to be kidding me. Thanks anyway.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Soph | 35-44 | Female | Patient
8/26/2022
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’ve only been on this a day and for the first time I did not at any point in the day feel that dark cloud, have sad scary self defeating thoughts , simply god sent

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
chris | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
8/15/2022
Condition: Anxiousness associated with Depression
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I think we are looking for that wonder drug that will take away the pain of depression. Effexor XR have helped me adapt to when I have a depressive episode happening. It dosent slove the issue of depression but allows for my body to be able to calm down. I have been on it for 20 years if not more. I like it as it is something that allows me to still feel the low feeling, now I just can handle the situation better. I also work with a counslor 1 every two months. We all have to remember that our GAD or MDD is a gene and nothing wrong with having it. It is controling it. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Julie | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/13/2022
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is only my second weak on the medication and I'm so tired, a bit nauseous, a bit off balance, headaches, every symptom that was mentioned. I was told about this so I'm not too worried. I'm more agitated and anxious. I'm going that goes away soon. Any suggestions?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
miracle med | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/12/2022
Condition: Repeated Episodes of Anxiety
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Holy wow! Listen. I have had terrible reactions to Wellbutrin and Cymbalta. Both going on and off the medications gave me such bad side effects that I developed an aversion to taking antidepressants at all. I've been suffering from fatigue, mood swings, depression, and crippling anxiety/panic attacks. It got to the point that I could barely have a cup of coffee every morning because the caffeine was too much for my nervous system. I tried some anti-anxiety meds such as clonazapem and buspar, but had dizziness and brain zaps (with the latter). And they didn't give me that "good" feeling. That "I'm normal again" feeling. I've been on this medication for a week and just went up to the 75 mg this morning. On my way to get lunch I was like "Oh my goodness - the last time I felt like this was when I was a teenager." I'm almost 30. The anxiety is almost muted out. I had a cup and a half of coffee yesterday for the first time in a decade. I feel amazing - happy - and energetic. I feel like I want to do things again. I feel like I did when I was a kid - excited just to be alive. Side effects wise I can't really offer much because I'm taking anti-nausea meds to beat the nausea that this antidepressant causes. That's doing the trick for me. I will say that my appetite has decreased. Amazing because I also deal with binge eating. I haven't had a true binge since starting this medication and have started eating/ordering smaller portions. I'm hoping to lose some weight. Overall my experience has been excellent. I'm sure the withdrawal will be difficult, but with the way I'm feeling now I'd say that it's worth it. Never want to go back to the way I was. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ed | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/11/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My NET prescribed this medicine my Vestibular Migraines. Basically I have had vertigo for now going on 7 months. Did not know what this was until I looked it up on this site. After reading these comments there is no way I'm taking this drug. This has nothing to do with helping with vertigo, unless he just wanted me to not care that I occasionally spin out and fall. Yeah thanks no thanks.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Heather F | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
8/10/2022
Condition: "Change of Life" Signs
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Going into menopause, I had horrible hot flashes to the point that I could time them--sometimes every 15 minutes. This disrupted my workday and was difficult to manage. My doctor advised me that Venlafaxine, used to treat depression and anxiety, was very successful treating hot flashes. I am so happy with this, and it also helps with some of my anxiety symptoms. I do not like to take medication unless absolutely necessary. My life has improved 100 percent, thanks to Venlafaxine.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Effexor | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
7/29/2022
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Life presented me with issues that caused me depression and anxiety and perhaps my own brain chemistry contributed. After 15 or so years on Effexor, I decided that I did not need it anymore. My doctor did not do enough research into tapering off of this medication and suggested the wrong approach. and I had no idea what I was in for. After 6 weeks of an incorrect taper, and after 5 days of stopping, I became mentally ill. I cried at everything and with anguish, had some euphoria and later on became very irritable. had serious brain fog. My body temperature would drop at night would shake, particularly my solar plexus. There is more to share but this is the worst of it. I stopped the drug 3-1/2 months ago and still have some symptoms. This has been a nightmare.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Vince | 13-18 | Transgender | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/22/2022
Condition: Anxiousness associated with Depression
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Well for starters, this pill did absolutely nothing positive for me. Now to be fair there was only one negative side affect that I know of (nausea) and no withdrawal symptoms, but it still did nothing. Now whether this is because the medication doesn't work or I was misdiagnosed (I was) I'm not 100% sure, but this medication is not worth it (at least for treating, to quote my psych, "anxious thoughts and paranoia") One upside though is that the pills I got sound like maracas when I shake them. Horrible going down the throat though.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
220628Commenter | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
7/1/2022
Condition: Posttraumatic Stress Syndrome
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication helped me with my PTSD, anxiety, and panic attacks. However, I gained about 30 lbs in 2 years. For context, I do have a thyroid disorder that is under control and I do weights 3x/wk and run at least 2 miles 2x/wk, and I still gained weight. Now here is the horrible part. I ask mu doctor to change Venlafaxine to Wellbutrin, because now my triglycerides and cholesterol are very borderline high. If want to stop using this medication, make arrangements to take a leave of absence or sick leave for a week or two. The withdrawal syndrome is extremely debilitating. My dr decrease my dose for 2wks to wean me off venlafaxine and it's been hell. The 1st 3 days after I took my last pill I felt fine, I experiences nausea, vertigo, and dizziness on days 4 and 5. On day 6... horrible a 2-hr panic attack that sent me to the ER. I have been taking 25mg of hidroxizine every 8 hours and it has helped me control my panic attacks and my anxiety, but I am drowsy all day. DO NOT Quit this medication cold turkey. I recommend making arrangements with your dr for partial hospitalization to help you get through. It is that badRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Amethyst | 13-18 | Nonbinary | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
6/27/2022
Condition: Panic Disorder
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Terrible, I was out of it everyday and still having panic attacks

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
RgR | 19-24 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
6/24/2022
Condition: Posttraumatic Stress Syndrome
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Was having difficulty swallowing and tightness in the throat which would lead to panic attacks. Didn't think I was depressed so wasn't sure if this was the drug for me, after about 8 weeks it all but went away. Noticeable side affects at the beginning was jolts of electricity, some dizziness when standing up abruptly, and inability to ejaculate (though I'd say that pleased the wife with longer sessions, slowly went back to notrmal). Caught the flu and an infection once, didn't heed the warning of stopping it cold turkey, but felt I shouldn't be taking tylonel, motrion, antibiotics, AND this pill all at once, after about 2 days the pain you get from body aches during the the flu was getting BAD and I doubled up on tylonel and motrin together thinking it was the flu getting worse and didnt do ANYTHING to the body pains, took half a dose of this and it all went away in 30 mins, woops. Gained weight, but I'd attribute it to not having any more swallowing issues. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anna | 19-24 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
6/18/2022
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Venlafaxine has been a literal lifesaver for me. I love it. It has allowed me a quality of life I never thought I could have. I went from being suicidal and having multiple panic attacks a day to completely functional — I feel "normal". The first week or so of taking it were rough: I had a pretty bad tremor. That passed, though, and I have no other side effects except a very low alcohol tolerance. My only issue is that I have to take my 225mg dose exactly on time — even 20 min late results in feeling dizzy and I get a headache. For me this is a minor inconvenience, though, and well worth it.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jenna | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
6/7/2022
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’ve been on venlafaxine for just over a year. I was on sertraline for around 6 months prior to that. When life feels this bad it’s hard to know when it’s your depression or a bad reaction from medication. I was on the highest dose of venlafaxine they offer and it didn’t help at all — at least in any noticeable way. I don’t think I got worse and I don’t think I’ve had any bad reactions from the medication. It just did nothing really. My depression symptoms include pretty bad fatigue, social avoidance/anxiety, sleeplessness and oversleeping, a consistent state of joylessness, apathy, and general feeling of futurelessness (not a word but a good descriptor). In some ways, I wish this medication had done something, even if it were a bad reaction. Having absolutely no reaction makes me feel like maybe this is just me? I’m trying Lexapro next and will be making a doctor supervised transition. Definitely nervous about the withdrawal from venlafaxine because I’ve heard it can be bad. Fingers crossed. Hope this review helps. Good luck!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
dbdbdbdb | 19-24 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/5/2022
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i understand that not every antidepressant is guaranteed to give you relief, but i can't overstate how much worse venlaflaxine made my condition. I was on it for about a month. The side effects were tolerable, but a little frustrating. The sexual side effects were particularly bad. However, venlaflaxine triggered deep suicidal ideation that progressed until I had to be hospitalized. I felt like I was going crazy on it. It pushed me into a state of heavy derealization and confusion, and I couldn't even tell that it was this med causing the bulk of it until i survived the withdrawal symptoms. I had to be monitored closely while tapering. Now that I'm off of it, I feel relief. Although my depression isn't treated just yet, I'm not living in a complete nightmare. All I can advise you to do is be careful with venlaflaxine. I've heard stories of it ruining lives, and now I understand how.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
E. | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/3/2022
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’ve suffered of depression, chronic pain and light adhs. After starting with the treatment with Venlafaxine I started to feel a general numbness, which I first found positive, because I no longer suffered from any stomach pain at all. For the last couple of years I’ve been suffering from chronic stomach pain after several stomach surgeries to treat hiatal hernias. Within days, the pain completely disappeared! Which was great. But, unfortunately, I started to get extremely tired and struggled more and more to get through the day. My doctor asked me to be patient and to try to go through with it a little longer and to take the medication at night instead of in the morning. This helped for a week. After that I felt more and more numb and like a zombie. I went from needing 6-7 hours of sleep to needing 10 hours at night and 3-4 hours during the day. Exercise would help me to feel awake for a couple of hours. Or loads of sugar and carbs. Within 3 months I gained nearly 5 kg. I was unable to concentrate and started to avoid social interactions as I found it tiring and frightening. Quitting causes a lot of stress, anxiety, sweating and headache.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More