Show ratings & reviews for

3.9 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

46 People found this comment helpful

I was diagnosed with Rosacea 4 weeks ago. I had painful pimples all over my face. My dermatologist prescribed Metrogel to be used once each day, with an oral antibiotic, Doxycycline 100mg, twice each day. Today ws my 1 month check-up and my face looks so much better. I have to continue using Metrogel daily.

Shared reviews and ratings

AllClear | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/2/2021
Condition: Acne Rosacea
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

64 year old male with no previous history of skin problems. Tried this very expensive prescibed gel for three months (three tubes). Experienced a reduction in lesions but no reduction in rash. Symptoms reappeared quickly when I stopped use. There are treatments available that actually addressed the cause of my rosaecea and have proven effective for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
noname | 45-54 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/20/2020
Condition: Acne Rosacea
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Had untreated rosacea for about 6 months before seeing derm and having it diagnosed. Tried metrogel and ALL symptoms cleared within 3 days! noticed huge difference on day 2. Miracle drug for me. And super cheap too! Wish I knew about this 6 months ago. Cannot recommend enough.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jenna | 35-44 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/15/2020
Condition: Acne Rosacea
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Prescribed for early onset rosacea, never had skin problems in my younger years other than a pimple here and there, I noticed little bumps on forehead and cheeks at 39 and just thought adult acne, seen derm and diagnosed rosacea, prescribed the 1% gel and started seeing results in just two days!!! I was worried based off other reviews, I was lucky to have insurance coverage with only $15 copay. Overall, I am satisfied with results.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Red in the face | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/4/2019
Condition: Acne Rosacea
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had rosacea for years. I have kept it under control with an off the shelf product called prosacea. During a recent flare up I had happened to be at my doctors for another matter. She noticed my face and prescribed Metrogel. It was useless for me. It made no difference. I even tried, for 3 weeks, on only half my face, and I could see no difference between the two sides. At $140 a tube (Canadian), it was a big waste of money.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
rickem8 | 65-74 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/10/2018
Condition: Acne Rosacea
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had a red/purple nose with acne as well as a red (rashed) forehead and cheeks. The results were immediate...I no longer have skin problems. I wash my face in the shower with water only...and apply metrogel cream right after. I am male and very happy with the results.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/17/2018
Condition: Acne Rosacea
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This drug is useless. Leaves face feeling like you have a mask on all the time. Not easy to use, pump either gives too much or not a lot. This medication should be taken off the shelf.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Margawil | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
12/10/2017
Condition: Acne Rosacea
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This product has helped me clear my skin and get rid of redness and pimples due to rosacea. I use generic but only in cream form since the gel does not work for me. Have been using it twice daily for the last 7--8 years with no side effects. I am a 64 yr old female.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
yvette | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/16/2017
Condition: Acne Rosacea
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This product is great i got rid of my facial problems but paying $213.00 for it is hard to take ,,it only the size of a small tube of toothpaste. my drug plan does not cover this cost..

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MrsMack | 65-74 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/11/2016
Condition: Acne Rosacea
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am told it is rosacea but I don't have the acne type pimples, just bright red hot blotches mostly on the cheeks and sometime down the side of my neck, I try to stay out of the sun and wind, the hot flashes make it much worse. this calms it down maybe 50% and it has a generic where others do not.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous |
6/14/2016
Condition: Acne Rosacea
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It started to work in reducing pustules after about 30 days but caused a yeast infection. OB Gyn said this was definitely the cause. Not worth it!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
lorri | 35-44 | Female | Patient
6/13/2016
Condition: Acne Rosacea
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After another visit to my GP in tears with the skin of a teenager (I'm 41). She precribed metrogel. Took a few weeks but now my skin is blemish free and soft. I've been prescribed it on repeat prescription which in Scotland is free. Amazing.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/8/2016
Condition: Acne Rosacea
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was in tears at my doctor appointment, my was so bad. she gave me the metrogel and i actually saw a huge difference within two days. Ive been using it for 4 weeks now and still amazing.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Linda P | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
1/21/2016
Condition: Acne Rosacea
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have perfectly good health care, but a few yrs ago, all of a sudden, my copay NOW COSTS OVER $200!!! IT'S OUTLANDISH AND INFURIATING! Who do they think they are, any way. I can't afford it now and my face looks horrible.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/19/2016
Condition: Acne Rosacea
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After suffering with quire severe rosacea for 10 months and trying several over the counter gels I finally gave in and went to my doctor. He prescribed metrogel 3 weeks ago and the results have been nothing short of miraculous. All of my p and p's have gone and and I now just have a small area of redness which is fading. Metrogel has literally been life changing for me

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/6/2015
Condition: Acne Rosacea
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Dermatologist prescribed this and it's awful. It burns my skin and feels like putting on gelatinous fire than an antibiotic cream. It seems to make the Rosacea worse. It is also very expensive.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lorraine | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
4/23/2015
Condition: Acne Rosacea
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
diane | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/21/2015
Condition: Acne Rosacea
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

.... had rebound , was horrible , my face was RED !!! ..... hot , very uncomfortable , looked horrible

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
diane | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/21/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

.... had rebound , was horrible , my face was RED !!! ..... hot , very uncomfortable , looked horrible

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
fencer | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
3/3/2015
Condition: Acne Rosacea
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

VERY, VERY EXPENSIVE! Must be made of gold.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
1/18/2015
Condition: Acne Rosacea
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I found this gel to be drying of my skin. I actually made my rosacea look worse.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More