Show ratings & reviews for

3.7 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

80 People found this comment helpful

This drug has saved my sanity. I have been on and off Effexor 3 or 4 times. If you do not go off of this drug slowly it can cause terrible side effects. If taken as the doctor prescribes, it is great.

Most voted negative review

18 People found this comment helpful

I started out with 37.5 mg as recommeded by my Doctor for a week. Then upped the dosage to 75mg as directed. After I would say 6 months I wanted to cut back down to the 37.5 dossage. I went off the charts. I went back to the 75mg, and since now I am at 150mg. I hope that someday I will not have to take this anymore, but at this time it seems unlikely.

Shared reviews and ratings

#SLUMADIAN | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
2/5/2023
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It was a nightmare, I felt the side effects immediately, started writing about what I was suffering through, and immediately went to my doctor, unfortunately, the doctor who prescribed this medication, kept telling me to stay on the medication and would increase my doseage. He ignored the information I was providing him, - it was causing me more delusions and I became very timid (so much so that any sound would startle and immediately caused panic attacks) I went to a walk in clinic to ask how to help me, because I believe my Family doctor, took advantage of my treaty status rights, and continued to prescribe me terrible medication Triazadon was another medication prescribed wrongfully. The Walkin clinic doctor helped me understand the effects, and explaimed how to tapper down from The maximum doseage (300 MG a day) It took me over a year to feel "normal" less anxious and frightened, I believe it gave me ptsd. I am grateful for my current doctor, she has bettered my life from day one. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
CFS | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/4/2023
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was on this medication for less than two weeks, on 37.5 and never went beyond that. I can't say I had withdrawal symptoms, though the very short amount of time taking it could explain that. I didn't notice an improvement in my depression, but to be honest I couldn't really tell because it made me feel just weird. It gave me a bit of a high, but like I was in a trance, like everything was happening to someone outside me. I would look in the mirror or just look at my hand, and I would think is that really me? This hand is part of my body? It felt like it was someone else's or something, it's difficult to describe. I think it is what is called "depersonalization". It also made me almost unable to achieve orgasm. Other than that, I didn't have any horrific side effects, but the way it made me feel wasn't right, so I went off it. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous |
1/30/2023
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It helps with my vestibular migraines and makes me more even keel on a daily basis. I've used for 2 months and I love it! first 2 weeks nausea and if you miss a dose its like going to hell and back.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
KASFDMJML | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
1/26/2023
Condition: Anxiousness associated with Depression
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I think this medication has worked very well for with the least side effects. My body is VERY SENSITIVE to medication! I felt like it helped well overall with managing my severe anxiety and mild depression I experience. HOWEVER, this medication made me GAIN SO MUCH WEIGHT. I”m the heaviest I’ve ever been! Even with good diet and exercise, it’s hard for me to loose the weight I’ve gained! I know most psych meds will cause gain unfortunately, but having all this weight just brings more anxiety.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bobbi | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
12/28/2022
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on Effexor XR at the same dose for 15 plus years, I take 300mg in the morning. My medical diagnosis is bipolar depression with Borderline personality disorder with schizophrenic tendencies. I also have anxiety and panic disorder, c-ptsd, and ADD. I’m also in recovery for alcohol and drug addiction. so needless to say this isn’t the only medication I take. I also take ativan, seroqel, ritalin, wellbutrin, clonidine, and other medications for different health issues i’m dealing with. At first this medication was a game changer. Mind you, that was a long time ago. i’ve been on it so long now i don’t know if it still has the same effect because of everything else i’m on and the abuse I did to myself with my alcohol and drug addiction. Even through my addiction I made sure to still take my medication, if I don’t take it within an hour of my scheduled time I would start to get a headache and have major side effects within hours of missing a dose. If i don’t take it at all in a day, the next morning my body is completely seized. I would literally have to get help to get up. I don’t even know if this medication is even working anymore but I definitely don’t miss a dose. I’m scared to decrease my dose in order to come off it because the side effects are so severe. I wish there was something I could take to ease the side effects while coming off this medication. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jon | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/25/2022
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was recently diagnosed in May 2022 with bipolar 1. It seems that I have been prescribed anything and everything. Nothing has worked very good. Doctor prescribed Effexor 150mg to be taken 3x day in September. After a few weeks, I was going absolutely crazy and thought I was crawling out of my skin. We made a few adjustments but not much. In late October, I blacked out and crashed my Honda Accord into a box truck. I came to when the accident happened. In November, I thought people were coming after me. I saw people and spent two full days chasing cars and trying to get away from them. Thankfully my ex-wife was called to get me and take me to the hospital. I tested positive for PCP at the hospital to which law enforcement were notified. The test later confirmed it was the Effexor. The two days in the ER - I didn't sleep any because I thought the nurses were going to gag and bag me. Regardless of the sleep meds they gave me, I fought like hell to not go to sleep. At some point, I fell asleep and woke up in the back of a constable's vehicle. My hands and legs were tied up. I freaked out. Quickly, the constable told me he was taken me downtown to a hospital. That eased my mind. As soon as I was in the psych ward, they took away the Effexor. I will never take this medicine again. I'm sure it works for many but the psychotic behavior I experienced has not escaped my mind because it was so scary. The meds they have me on now seem to be working along with a lot of prayer. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Emily | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/26/2022
Condition: Anxiousness associated with Depression
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication sucks. I can’t lie it took away my anxiety for the most part and helped my depression a little, but not worth it at all. I felt more numb not happy and connected to life. I am tired all of the time but when I try to sleep at night I have the worst insomnia ever. It made my appetite insatiable I literally have gained so much weight in just three weeks on it. I now have stopped taking it two days ago and I feel so out of it like I’m on drugs, extreme tiredness and fatigue, and feel like I have the flu. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Venlafaxine XR | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/21/2022
Condition: Panic Disorder
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was on 37.5 mg of venlafaxine xr to start for anxiety and panic attacks and it did make really tired but I was calm. I adjusted to 75 mg 2 weeks in. This medication made me very unmotivated, tired, intimacy issues and I was constantly turning my partner down. 4 weeks in altogether I started to sleep better but woke up once a night. So I switched to taking this at night time under my psychiatrists order due to how it was effecting me (it effects everyone differently and cab be advised to take at night under docs orders) I just skipped morning dose and started taking at night. I'm 9 weeks in and I had to go back to 37.5 mg for 1 week and I'll be starting sertraline the following day after my last day of venlafaxine. Has anyone switched from venlafaxine to sertraline I'd love to hear how this impacted you! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Dan L | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
10/24/2022
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have suffered from PTSD, severe depression, and anxiety for literally decades. My medication history is as follows: 1997-1998 Zoloft 2002-2004 Paxil 2004-2006 Wellbutrin 2009-2013 Cellexa (gained 40 pounds) 2016-2021 Trintellix 2021 - present Effexor I had almost suffered to the false reality that I was beyond help. I did everything the doctors told me to do: eat right, exercise, spirituality, support groups, etc. Nothing seemed to help until January 2021 when I was placed on Effexor. I can’t find words to explain how much better I feel. I don’t flip and have panic attacks. I don’t find away for months on end. I finally know how it feels to be normal. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sue | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
10/16/2022
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking this medication for almost 20 years. I don’t feel it has helped my depression but due to horrific withdrawals I have been unable to get off of it. I have recently found out I have Cirrhosis of my liver and being a non drinker this was a huge shock for me. I have had test upon test and so far there is no explanation as to how I got this terrible disease. I thought I would Google the effects of Effexor XR on the liver and what a surprise! This drug is known to cause serious liver damage! I wasn’t in the right state of mind to Google the effects of it when I first starting taking it and I feel my doctor or the makers of it should make this VERY CLEAR when it’s prescribed! How many other people are in the same position as me and have no idea what this drug can do to them. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Roxanne | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/1/2022
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I know everyone is different but for me it has helped my add so much. I had trouble focusing and paying attention but now I'm doing so well in college I'm making As and Bs now. There have been times when I couldn't afford the medicine but I have never suffered any side effects when I didn't have it. For me it is the most amazing thing but just remember you are the judge of what's best for you.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Dal | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
9/30/2022
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

About ending the medication. I did not experience bad feelings by reducing myself the number of bowls contained in the pills. You can ask some pharmacies to prepare it i think (tbc). Effexor helped me to deal with depression and anxiety. Quiting a madication must be very slow, take more time to make it safe, there is no emergency.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Poemmommy1 | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
9/29/2022
Condition: Posttraumatic Stress Syndrome
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was a terrible car accident caused by a drunk driver and suffered severe PTSD and Depression. I was on Zoloft for a while and it kept me sane but i struggled with finding joy in life. Effexor has really helped, I started getting back in the gym and just enjoying the small things like the wind on my face. It has helped me feel normal again. i will continue to use this medication. Now the WITHDRAWAL is intense and awful. Within a few hours of missing a dose "brain zaps" are every few minutes, the intense lethargy kicks in and it feels terrible. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Horrible drug | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/21/2022
Condition: Posttraumatic Stress Syndrome
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was put on Effexor for a few months and it says his side effect is rage. Rage isn’t what I went through I wanted to fight everybody. I carried a bat in my car. My daughter wouldn’t answer my phone calls because I will be mean to her all the time. I went over 100 miles an hour in my car and really started getting out of control. Call my doctor and he had me get off of it real quick. But I had withdrawals for five weeks. They should get rid of this medicine. I’m just lucky that I’m not in jail or dead.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Christopher | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
9/19/2022
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Effexor is by far the worst medication I've ever taken. If you miss a single dose by couple of hours you're done for the rest of the day. It also took me 4 months to get this out of my system. NEVER AGAIN!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Stacie | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
9/18/2022
Condition: Anxiousness associated with Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on Effexor XR 150 mg for over 15 years. Would I have withdrawl symptoms if I would stop taking it? Probably. Am I going to stop taking it because of that? No. It took 6 different medications before my doctor found one for me where I felt like my normal self. Effexor is my savior for anxiety and panic attacks.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Peter | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/11/2022
Condition: Posttraumatic Stress Syndrome
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Horrible drug. Horrible. Cant believe this drug is legal. Our system is so broken. Worst side effects. So hard to get off. Dont waste your time taking this horrible drug.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Extreme Caution | 65-74 | Other | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
9/1/2022
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

There is a definite withdrawal problem with Effexor XR due to its short half life. The company should either fix this problem or take it off the market as ti is too dangerous. Neurological problems as dizziness, altered gait, and feeling of rage are significant. Pfizer need to acknowledge it and fix this or give it up.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jek | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
8/29/2022
Condition: Anxiousness associated with Depression
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It seemed to work okay, until I decided to wean off it. WOW. Took 4 MONTHS. Horrible dizziness, vertigo, and the random "electrical shocks" to my muscles were impressive. It's been several years now and I still have "brain stutters". This is when I move my head too fast, it takes a second for my brain to catch up. Any doctor prescribing this med should be required to take it first. HORRIBLE drug. Should be yanked off the market.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
beangirl420 | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
8/26/2022
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Effexor saved my life. I struggled for years between different SSRIs and stimulants and despite the absolutely awful withdrawal symptoms that have caused such severe nausea and head pain I’ve been admitted into the emergency room, there’s absolutely nothing I’ve found that works as well. My emotions are a lot more regulated, I struggle less with motivation and daily tasks, I have less frequent episodes and outbursts, my brain fog greatly reduced etc. This is definitely a scary antidepressant but it’s worth the risk in my experience. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More