Show ratings & reviews for

3.7 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

79 People found this comment helpful

This drug has saved my sanity. I have been on and off Effexor 3 or 4 times. If you do not go off of this drug slowly it can cause terrible side effects. If taken as the doctor prescribes, it is great.

Most voted negative review

18 People found this comment helpful

I started out with 37.5 mg as recommeded by my Doctor for a week. Then upped the dosage to 75mg as directed. After I would say 6 months I wanted to cut back down to the 37.5 dossage. I went off the charts. I went back to the 75mg, and since now I am at 150mg. I hope that someday I will not have to take this anymore, but at this time it seems unlikely.

Shared reviews and ratings

C | 13-18 | Nonbinary | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
10/2/2021
Condition: Posttraumatic Stress Syndrome
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

this medicine quite literally ruined my life - i had multiple violent fits, suicide attempts, and had to drop out of school. withdrawal was hell. do NOT take this.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Zaps | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
9/5/2021
Condition: Posttraumatic Stress Syndrome
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Do NOT take unless you plan to stay on forever. Used for 8 months-worked fine and was warned about how hard to come off but I'm a pharmacist and thought I could handle it. Was on 75mg ER caps-took to compounder and had liquid made (very $$$) to taper slowly-few mgs/month. Am off after 4 months but STILL have horrific brain/body zaps 2-3 times/week. Cannot function on these days, nothing helps. They may last for months. NEVER go on this med unless you don't plan on coming off. Works but NOT worth horrific withdrawl symptoms.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | Patient
8/11/2021
Condition: Repeated Episodes of Anxiety
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Has completely changed my life. I went from super highs and lows, now I feel like normal. I’m not numbed out like other ssri’s I still have feelings and feel normal. Didn’t take away my sex drive :) Also scared to get off it or miss a dose because of the headaches and nausea.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bunk | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
7/5/2021
Condition: Panic Disorder
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I want to start by saying this medication has worked tremendously for me for about 4.5 years. I developed panic disorder and GAD towards the end of 2015 when I was 29 and it completely through me off guard. It started out as general anxiety but the more I tried to control my anxiety the worse it got until I started having full blown panic attacks. This usually occurred at night when I would try to sleep and would have racing thoughts and I would end up sleepless and have more anxiety the next. Needless to say I was miserable. After a few days of generic Effexor (75mg) I started feeling better and it only improved each day until I was myself again. I didn’t have any rough side effects but I also take a supplement SAM-E with it which I was told curbs the side effects of SSRIs and SRNIs and so I assume that was a big part of it. I did have a slight loss of sexual function but that fixed itself after a few weeks and I’ve had no weight gain whatsoever. Overall I’ve had a very positive experience with this medication. My only regret is that I didn’t try it sooner, I refused to go on medication and suffered for around 6 months before I gave this a try. The reason why I’ve now decided to write this review is because I feel that the impact of Effexor is beginning to lose its effectiveness now (four and a half years later). I haven’t had any panic attacks but I feel my GAD is only mildly managed now since I have difficulty sleeping some nights due to worrying thoughts. As a result I feel like I do what most anxious people do (against our better judgement) and search for solutions on the internet. Often times we see negative reviews and not realize that the majority of people who do take these medications have positive outcomes but don’t report back to message boards. Since I’ve been on these message boards today I feel like it is worth sharing my positive experience with Effexor for many years. I may up my dose a bit or switch to something else, I’m still talking through this with my healthcare providers but for many years I was living my best with the help of this med.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
6/28/2021
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was on lithium for about a year before I was prescribed Effexor by a different doctor. Lithium helped with my depression but made me incredibly pukey and tired. As covid hit, I was able to realize that overall, I wasn't happy on Lithium so the change was made. It worked well and quickly for me. I felt so much better for a couple of months, no more pukey feelings. But as time went on, I have noticed that its just not as good as it was. My body seems to be fighting the benefits. I am up to about 113mg. My prescriber will probably up the dosage for now. All in all I'm very grateful for what it has done up to this point. I am almost back.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Caitlyn | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/20/2021
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

(No side effects, absolutely zero. )Well I thought this was working until it got worse and worse, which I think was from quitting Lexapro.I quit taking effexor a couple days ago after taking for three months (No withdrawal whatsoever, which obviously means it wasn't working) Quitting my Lexapro was harder than any medication I've ever quit and I have realized how good it actually does work for me. I was at the lowest I've ever been after completely tapering off of Lexapro. I wish all of you the best of luck!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
IndyMan2012 | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/26/2021
Condition: Major Depressive Disorder
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on this for about two months now. Started at 75, now at 150. Put simply, I am myself again. I haven't felt this composed in years. At this dose it doesn't take away the highs and lows for me, but it makes them bearable. It makes me feel NORMAL again.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Johnnie | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
5/26/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was on it for two years and it helped tremendously with my anxiety & anger dealing with a spouse with PTSD who has chosen for years to not follow his doctors guidelines. Abuses alcohol and now dementia setting in. But, about every 6 weeks I was having a UTI. Finally, decided to see when they began in relationship to my starting Effexor. Sure enough within 6 months of starting. Then every 6 months after taking a round of medication. Now having severe anger issues dealing with my spouse who could care less. Trying to decide what to do next. Tried Lexapro but diarreha was more than I wanted to handle. Trying to work it out. Effexor has done wonders for our daughter, but her weight gain has been an issue & recently diagnosed with Type 2 diabetes. BE YOUR OWN ADVOCATE!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Zach | 25-34 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/25/2021
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Words can't even begin to express how terrible this was. My life is a mess already, I took this once yesterday. Passed out, woke up with extreme anxiety, depression, my skin felt horrible. I was totally zoned out like I had been drugged. Any sound shot up my anxiety, like a bird or a car. I'm telling you, don't take this drug. All you want to do is die when you are on it. I could not sleep, my pupils were huge.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Scott | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/23/2021
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This drug was terrible for me. Started with 37.5mg and almost immediately had tremors. Going down stairs, legs wobbling..... stopped immediately.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Effexor | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/23/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

When I was put on this medication it worked wonders for my depression, anxiety, and OCD. The only issue I had, I started female bleeding. Has anybody else experienced this?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
n3wt | 13-18 | Transgender | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
5/20/2021
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

ive been trying medications since i was 10 and nothing really worked for me i was in a psych ward when they put me on this and honestly i felt great im on 37.5 but ive tried going up to 75 twice and both times my syptoms were horrible i would cry at the randomest thing i feel really good like i can still feel emotions unlike other meds but they arent as extreme :)

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Marie | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
5/9/2021
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started with 37.5 mg and eventually worked up to 150mg BID. I initially was given Valium and it did nothing. I ended up in a stress center. It was night and day, like a huge weight was lifted off my soldiers. I hadn't realized how much effort it took for me to manage each day. I took it for close to 15 years, but when I had to find a new new doctor she insisted I get off Effexor due to hypertension. It was the worst thing I ever did. I was given Welbutrine, Trintellix, even Lithium at one point. None of them worked. Eventually found a new psychiatrist who listened to me and put me back on Effexor. I've been back on it for about 2 years. It was the 2nd best decision I made behind my first decision to try Effexor almost 20 years ago. I'll never take anything else.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Alexandra | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/19/2021
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Good for depression but you better not forget to take it! I forgot it at home when I went on a weekend getaway and I felt like I was gin a faint all weekend, could barely keep my head up because it felt so heavy and I couldn't hold anything without dropping it. My heartbeat was through the roof and it felt like my eyes weren't following my head's movements and I couldn't see anything at times. Crazy side effects when you forget it!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jenibxo | 45-54 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
3/27/2021
Condition: Panic Disorder
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Firstly it put me in the ER WITH a heart rate of 220bpm. two meds to slow it down. Good luck if you want to get off effexor I doubt it. It was complete hell for me the brain zaps dizziness, very very dark thoughts vomitting, angry aggressive, very sick. Thank God I got off of it. Guess what I wasn't the same for 1 year. Brain zap, anxiety severe panic and I did go onto another anti depressent after I did a wash out of effexor. I wouldn't wish this drug on my worst enemy.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tproc | 19-24 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/6/2021
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am an addict in Recovery. that suffers from lack of interest in activity's and numb most the time. I just started Taking this drug this week. At first the side effects were pretty noticeable and strong. Felt sick a little bit and dizzy/couldnt sleep for a night. But after 5 days of taking it the side effects started going away and im feeling quite well! Have much more energy and Been Happyier been more intrested in doing things. My advice push through the first couple days the side effects will go away with Time. So far So good Im a male 24 Years old. 150mg XrRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
osh47 | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/6/2021
Condition: Posttraumatic Stress Syndrome
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

While I noticed a slight decrease in symptoms (hypervigilance, anxiety, repetitive behaviors), I started experiencing TONS of physical health problems almost right away. Chest tightness, high blood pressure, abnormal bleeding, sexual problems. The worst part is that a lot of doctors and nurses don't seem to know what it is! I've been in and out of different specialists trying to figure out what's wrong, and they can't figure it out; one thing they all have in common is not being familiar with the drug. I wish I never started taking it, because I have heard horror stories about how hard it is to discontinue. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bookmaster | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
2/3/2021
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

PLEASE, read the ratings of other patients below even the 3 star ratings. Notice the common denominators being the side effects from missing a dose (even by just a few hours) or how hard it is to get off the medication once the patient realizes how bad this drug truly is. I tell you with no reservation: this is an evil medication that should not be on the market and can potentially ruin your life in a relatively short period of time. I have tried many SNRI and SSRI's and this by far has been the very worst. A friend of mine that is a psychologist suggested that within the industry it has been nicknamed "Side-Effexor"Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
HKM | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/1/2021
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I recently started introducing Effexor, I have been on 20mg Lexapro (escitalopram) for about 1.5 years and instead of switching immediately I am tapering off the lexapro slowly while taking the equivalent does of effexor and so far I like it alot. No bad side effects or anything like I read on here before hand, I really phsyced myself out reading all the horror stories but so far I am glad I started it. I wake up with more energy, I still sleep really well but I take 15mg Mirtazapine at night. I would recommend this drug! Everybody is different and can react differently, give it a try at least before deciding.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
lanie1234 | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/10/2021
Condition: Anxiousness associated with Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Amazing. I felt like a prisoner to my anxiety before trying this drug. No SSRIs worked for me so my doctor prescribed me this and I love it. Been taking it for about 2 months now, no complaints whatsoever. I’m happy now.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More