Show ratings & reviews for

3.7 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

80 People found this comment helpful

This drug has saved my sanity. I have been on and off Effexor 3 or 4 times. If you do not go off of this drug slowly it can cause terrible side effects. If taken as the doctor prescribes, it is great.

Most voted negative review

18 People found this comment helpful

I started out with 37.5 mg as recommeded by my Doctor for a week. Then upped the dosage to 75mg as directed. After I would say 6 months I wanted to cut back down to the 37.5 dossage. I went off the charts. I went back to the 75mg, and since now I am at 150mg. I hope that someday I will not have to take this anymore, but at this time it seems unlikely.

Shared reviews and ratings

Advocate | 65-74 | Female | Patient
8/12/2022
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I take only 37.5 mg daily for years on and off. I think it is a dangerous drug for me. it causes tachycardia, brain zaps. When attempting to get off of it, I have dizziness, brain zaps, ataxic gait. I think it would be terribly unsafe to be driving if having withdrawal effects. It would cause accidents. A large amount of weight gain can be experienced. If I forget a pill, I can have withdrawal effects. This is an unsafe drug for me. As more and more people have difficulties who are on effexor long term I wonder what will happen to sales? The FDA must be aware. And for those who take it for pain, the doctor can tell you it is for pain. The drug company is not to make this claim. Some studies show it doe not decease pain. It was not designed to decrease pain. With the anti-opiate stance, some physicians have ordered it for pain. I don't think it works for this. One can make arguments that because you have less depression, you may have less pain. One really has to sort that out if it is logical. I would argue it is sort of a sham but this may be too strong a word. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ashley | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Caregiver
8/5/2022
Condition: Anxiousness associated with Depression
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Prozac made me so tired I couldn’t stay awake at work. Lexapro made me suicidal. This is the only medication that I’ve been happy with and I take it with Wellbutrin. The dry mouth makes me drink more water, so it’s not a big deal to me. I have an actual sex drive (didn’t have one on the last 2 meds). My biggest complaint is the nausea. I feel sick more than I don’t, but it’s mostly in the afternoon-night. Eating plain food and ginger (tea, soda, candy, etc.) helps. I have no trouble sleeping on this, but I’ve always been a napper with no trouble sleeping anywhere at any time. Most importantly, I feel happy and in more control of my emotions. I haven’t felt this way in 10 years. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ac | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
7/30/2022
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’ve been on Effexor for over 7 years. When I first was prescribed it at 18, I was on 150mg/day. It made me an emotionless robot- so i tried to switch to wellbutrin but it made me angry/irritable. Switched back to effexor and have been on 150mg ever since, for about 6 years. But it no longer works for me anymore- at all. My main side effect is SEVERE sweating. I’ve been really depressed and motivation-less, so my doctor upped me to 225mg. The sweating is worse and I don’t feel better. I’m going to taper off of it now, slowly, and hopefully by the end of year I’ll be off of it entirely. I’m too afraid to try something new. I don’t know who I am without this medication because it has been too long. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jenna | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/26/2022
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’ve seen a lot of reviews on here describing the awful withdrawal but I think if you can take these consistently and have depression/anxiety severe enough to warrant this like I did it can really change your life for the better. I do miss doses occasionally because you do have to take these with food but that is my only complaint with this medication.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jade | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month |
6/14/2022
Condition: Posttraumatic Stress Syndrome
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Within a few hrs of taking 37.5mg of this for the first time with a meal i became more intoxicated than i have ever been in my life. (Dizzyness,nausea,slurred speech,loss of coordination,total floppyness,vomiting,sweating) The following day i couldnt open my eyes and was on the nod Diarrhoea galore

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kathryn | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
6/8/2022
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started taking 37.5 mg xr in November 2021, and increased to 75 mg for a couple months until I felt myself reverting back towards some of my depressed manners, and have been on 150 mg xr since Feb/March 2022. I'm having the same issues again - struggling with sleep & motivation, so my doctor and I decided that I should try 225 mg xr. It seems to help tremendously for a few months until it just doesn't. I don't plan on increasing my dose after this due to the withdrawal side effects I'm already going to have to experience if I ween off it. The side effects the first month of taking the medication (night sweats, nausea, insomnia, dry mouth, headaches, etc.) weren't fun, so I'm keeping my fingers crossed this time. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jessica | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Caregiver
6/7/2022
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My daughter has been on Effexor now for 2 months and it has helped her but she stays so sleepy she can hardly function. Has this happened with anyone else and if so will it get better?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
6/5/2022
Condition: Panic Disorder
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Have no symtoms since Bern on this medication.. it's only a low dose 37.5 MG. But takes the edge off my anxiety

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
silvrado | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
6/4/2022
Condition: Major Depressive Disorder
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

If you are here to read the positive or negative side-effect of this medication, let me tell you it's different for each patient, I know what I will type is look wired. Still, I don't know how to describe my feeling after more than two years of using Effexor; what I can say is I am still alive . in the end, I have to tell you " you have to take care of your health to die with good health " lol

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Noura A | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
5/30/2022
Condition: Major Depressive Disorder
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I made the biggest mistake of my life by taking this medication. In fact, it was the worst decision I ever made. The worst nausea and sickness I have ever experienced, I wake up in the middle of the night feeling sick to my stomach and I use ginger to relieve the symptoms. While using this product, I developed bad motion sickness, and I have never experienced this before while riding in a motor vehicle, but after discontinuing use of this product, I developed serious motion sickness. Walking for a long period of time also causes my foot to get red and hurt a great deal, almost like a nerve injury. Then there was the constant shackling of my hands, so that I was incapable of writing using a pen, or even squeezing a lemon. Further, I was unable to focus on anything and was so sleepy most of the time that I could sleep at any time of the day. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Nic | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/20/2022
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Started out with a hospital stay and was given a dose of 150mg XR for depression...noticed a slight improvement but few weeks later started feeling depressed again (situational) and went back into the hospital. This time i'm up to 300mg and for the fist time in a long time dare I say I feel kinda normal. I can feel emotion and don't feel like a zombie. I also take 6mg Vraylar and 1200mg Lithium daily for Bipolar.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
AnxiousMomma | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/19/2022
Condition: Repeated Episodes of Anxiety
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I loved this med BUT I gained weight on it and gained another 5 pounds after stopping it. I also couldn’t orgasm without battery operated help which is crazy because I orgasm very easily. Other less annoying side effects: unmotivated and lazy. Good things: anxiety was gone, happier, more laid back, could still cry (unlike some meds I’ve been on that made me feel flat)

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Npnfeef | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
5/13/2022
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The Good: Depression/anxiety are manageable on Effexor. Relatively few physical side effects AS LONG AS I TAKE IT. (Miss a day, gonna have a bad time) The Bad: After several years on 150 mg of extended release I felt like it was becoming less effective. Bumping up dose to 225 did not help and caused side effects like jaw clenching/TMJ problems that I'd had before with Lexapro. Went back down to 150 and jaw clenching went away quickly. No sex drive. It doesn't bother me much but it bothers hubby. :-( I didn't have a problem sleeping but I did have a problem getting up/general fatigue and lack of motivation. I tapered down under my doctor's supervision, with a low dose of Prozac near the end to hopefully smooth the last bit out. It wasn't as wretched an experience as many others have had, but I was definitely irritable, and the depression and anxiety came roaring back. It was weird though because I was able to motivate myself to do things/get things done that I hadn't been able to while on Effexor. I got the Genesight test done and turns out Effexor is on my "probably less effective" list. Its cousin Pristiq (desvenlafaxine) is on my "more effective" list, so I'm on that now. However, my genotype also apparently indicates that SSRI/SNRI meds will probably never be more than mediocre for me, so I am going to start transcranial magnetic stimulation therapy to see if that helps. I am definitely having some of the same effects I had with Effexor on Pristiq (low motivation, my get up and go got up and went, no sex drive) but again, it has kept my depression and anxiety manageable. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Patrick | 35-44 | Male | Patient
5/10/2022
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Can't sleep this is a horrible side affect I find that I am worse with this treatment

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Leah | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/29/2022
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

BEWARE: I really wish I could give this drug -1000000000. At first, life was great, I didn’t know any better that I was in the works for a living nightmare that is, Effexor. If I missed my dose by even 10 minutes, I would get the WORST withdrawal symptoms. I went on a trip for a week, and forgot all my Effexor, easily the worst week of my entire life. Extremely bad brain zaps, bad diarrhea, vomiting, and over all flu feeling. Along with all that, it honestly felt like someone was tazing my legs…. So horrible brain and leg zaps. I was so beyond sick, I spent the majority of my vacation in the bathroom. As soon as I got home and took my missed dose, I started to feel completely normal within 2 years. I BEGGED my psychiatrist to take me off of this because the withdrawal was so severe for me. DO NOT TAKE EVER! RUN FROM THIS!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
J. Johnson | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/28/2022
Condition: Posttraumatic Stress Syndrome
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been on several medications to help with my PTSD, depression and anxiety. (Celexa, Zoloft, Prozac, Minipress, Buspar, Khlonopin) None of them worked and I would have terrible side effects, especially on the Prozac & Celexa. Effexor is truly amazing! It started working so fast! a complete 180 from where I was. The only slight issues I've had is decreased sleep and appetite, but its slowly going back to normal. I've always had some sleep issues anyways. My appetite has gone nearly back to normal, if not better than before now that I've been on it for about a month. Nothing can completely take everything away and there is no fix all but man has this medication helped. I also take it with Vistaril sometimes and the two compliment each other with no side effects with my body chemistry. Everybody is different and some medications don't work for some people, while working tremendously for others. DONT GIVE UP!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
J | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/21/2022
Condition: Anxiousness associated with Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was very nervous to start this medication due to reviews - I have tried so many medications for my anxiety, depression and PTSD and I cannot put into words how much this medication saved my life - I have no side effects and I finally have a noticeable difference - life feels like a breath of fresh air. Old medications I used to get suicidal thoughts way more, no sex drive, and it just in general didn't feel like it worked no matter the dosage or medication but this is the first medication I've used and I have pretty severe anxiety. I started at 75mg and after two months went up to 150mg. This is a medication I would be okay staying on forever if needed. Even if I go off and the withdrawals are as bad as the reviews, it will be worth it for the clarity it has given me. A lot of reviews say the withdrawals aren't bad as long as you go off slowly - which is common for any medication. My doctor recommended taking it before bed. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ainsleyn | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
4/5/2022
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Effexor did not do much for me which is not surprising since i’ve tried seven antidepressants from different categories and none have worked. I’m in the process of getting off the medication and it has been hell. The withdrawals have been unbearable and Ive been in pain 24/7. No matter how slowly I lower the dosage, I am met with terrible symptoms. Unless you are very sure Effexor will work for you, it is not worth the side effects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
KittenRiley | 35-44 | Nonbinary | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
3/31/2022
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This was the worst medication I've ever taken. I got crazy mood swings and the Doctor thought my dose needed to be increased. After the increase I became suicidal, aggressive and started blacking out. Coming off of this medication wasn't any easier either, it was a horrific experience with horrible withdrawals.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Smurfette0508 | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/27/2022
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Update. I’m in my 5th week of 150mg’s Venlafaxine XR. I’m feeling more like myself. The severe anxiety/panic and depersonalization is almost non existent. The first 4 weeks were hell. Nausea, dry mouth, severe sweating, flushing neck/face, heightened anxiety and panic but now all of these are gone. I would highly recommend this med, it is giving me my life back. Praise God for giving me the strength to make it through the first 4 weeks.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More