Show ratings & reviews for

3.7 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

80 People found this comment helpful

This drug has saved my sanity. I have been on and off Effexor 3 or 4 times. If you do not go off of this drug slowly it can cause terrible side effects. If taken as the doctor prescribes, it is great.

Most voted negative review

18 People found this comment helpful

I started out with 37.5 mg as recommeded by my Doctor for a week. Then upped the dosage to 75mg as directed. After I would say 6 months I wanted to cut back down to the 37.5 dossage. I went off the charts. I went back to the 75mg, and since now I am at 150mg. I hope that someday I will not have to take this anymore, but at this time it seems unlikely.

Shared reviews and ratings

Poemmommy1 | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
9/29/2022
Condition: Posttraumatic Stress Syndrome
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was a terrible car accident caused by a drunk driver and suffered severe PTSD and Depression. I was on Zoloft for a while and it kept me sane but i struggled with finding joy in life. Effexor has really helped, I started getting back in the gym and just enjoying the small things like the wind on my face. It has helped me feel normal again. i will continue to use this medication. Now the WITHDRAWAL is intense and awful. Within a few hours of missing a dose "brain zaps" are every few minutes, the intense lethargy kicks in and it feels terrible. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Horrible drug | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/21/2022
Condition: Posttraumatic Stress Syndrome
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was put on Effexor for a few months and it says his side effect is rage. Rage isn’t what I went through I wanted to fight everybody. I carried a bat in my car. My daughter wouldn’t answer my phone calls because I will be mean to her all the time. I went over 100 miles an hour in my car and really started getting out of control. Call my doctor and he had me get off of it real quick. But I had withdrawals for five weeks. They should get rid of this medicine. I’m just lucky that I’m not in jail or dead.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Christopher | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
9/19/2022
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Effexor is by far the worst medication I've ever taken. If you miss a single dose by couple of hours you're done for the rest of the day. It also took me 4 months to get this out of my system. NEVER AGAIN!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Stacie | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
9/18/2022
Condition: Anxiousness associated with Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on Effexor XR 150 mg for over 15 years. Would I have withdrawl symptoms if I would stop taking it? Probably. Am I going to stop taking it because of that? No. It took 6 different medications before my doctor found one for me where I felt like my normal self. Effexor is my savior for anxiety and panic attacks.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Peter | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/11/2022
Condition: Posttraumatic Stress Syndrome
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Horrible drug. Horrible. Cant believe this drug is legal. Our system is so broken. Worst side effects. So hard to get off. Dont waste your time taking this horrible drug.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Extreme Caution | 65-74 | Other | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
9/1/2022
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

There is a definite withdrawal problem with Effexor XR due to its short half life. The company should either fix this problem or take it off the market as ti is too dangerous. Neurological problems as dizziness, altered gait, and feeling of rage are significant. Pfizer need to acknowledge it and fix this or give it up.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jek | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
8/29/2022
Condition: Anxiousness associated with Depression
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It seemed to work okay, until I decided to wean off it. WOW. Took 4 MONTHS. Horrible dizziness, vertigo, and the random "electrical shocks" to my muscles were impressive. It's been several years now and I still have "brain stutters". This is when I move my head too fast, it takes a second for my brain to catch up. Any doctor prescribing this med should be required to take it first. HORRIBLE drug. Should be yanked off the market.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
beangirl420 | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
8/26/2022
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Effexor saved my life. I struggled for years between different SSRIs and stimulants and despite the absolutely awful withdrawal symptoms that have caused such severe nausea and head pain I’ve been admitted into the emergency room, there’s absolutely nothing I’ve found that works as well. My emotions are a lot more regulated, I struggle less with motivation and daily tasks, I have less frequent episodes and outbursts, my brain fog greatly reduced etc. This is definitely a scary antidepressant but it’s worth the risk in my experience. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
AndrewO. | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
8/25/2022
Condition: Major Depressive Disorder
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was at 150mg and was lowered back to 75mg for a while due to manic symptoms. I started being unable to focus again so I decided to ask to get raised to 150mg again because the pros outweighed the cons of some manic behavior. This medication made me interested in normal activities again and able to focus on one thing at a time which used to be a problem. I’m grateful for Venylfaxine XR.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Advocate | 65-74 | Female | Patient
8/12/2022
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I take only 37.5 mg daily for years on and off. I think it is a dangerous drug for me. it causes tachycardia, brain zaps. When attempting to get off of it, I have dizziness, brain zaps, ataxic gait. I think it would be terribly unsafe to be driving if having withdrawal effects. It would cause accidents. A large amount of weight gain can be experienced. If I forget a pill, I can have withdrawal effects. This is an unsafe drug for me. As more and more people have difficulties who are on effexor long term I wonder what will happen to sales? The FDA must be aware. And for those who take it for pain, the doctor can tell you it is for pain. The drug company is not to make this claim. Some studies show it doe not decease pain. It was not designed to decrease pain. With the anti-opiate stance, some physicians have ordered it for pain. I don't think it works for this. One can make arguments that because you have less depression, you may have less pain. One really has to sort that out if it is logical. I would argue it is sort of a sham but this may be too strong a word. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ashley | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Caregiver
8/5/2022
Condition: Anxiousness associated with Depression
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Prozac made me so tired I couldn’t stay awake at work. Lexapro made me suicidal. This is the only medication that I’ve been happy with and I take it with Wellbutrin. The dry mouth makes me drink more water, so it’s not a big deal to me. I have an actual sex drive (didn’t have one on the last 2 meds). My biggest complaint is the nausea. I feel sick more than I don’t, but it’s mostly in the afternoon-night. Eating plain food and ginger (tea, soda, candy, etc.) helps. I have no trouble sleeping on this, but I’ve always been a napper with no trouble sleeping anywhere at any time. Most importantly, I feel happy and in more control of my emotions. I haven’t felt this way in 10 years. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ac | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
7/30/2022
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’ve been on Effexor for over 7 years. When I first was prescribed it at 18, I was on 150mg/day. It made me an emotionless robot- so i tried to switch to wellbutrin but it made me angry/irritable. Switched back to effexor and have been on 150mg ever since, for about 6 years. But it no longer works for me anymore- at all. My main side effect is SEVERE sweating. I’ve been really depressed and motivation-less, so my doctor upped me to 225mg. The sweating is worse and I don’t feel better. I’m going to taper off of it now, slowly, and hopefully by the end of year I’ll be off of it entirely. I’m too afraid to try something new. I don’t know who I am without this medication because it has been too long. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jenna | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/26/2022
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’ve seen a lot of reviews on here describing the awful withdrawal but I think if you can take these consistently and have depression/anxiety severe enough to warrant this like I did it can really change your life for the better. I do miss doses occasionally because you do have to take these with food but that is my only complaint with this medication.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jade | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month |
6/14/2022
Condition: Posttraumatic Stress Syndrome
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Within a few hrs of taking 37.5mg of this for the first time with a meal i became more intoxicated than i have ever been in my life. (Dizzyness,nausea,slurred speech,loss of coordination,total floppyness,vomiting,sweating) The following day i couldnt open my eyes and was on the nod Diarrhoea galore

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kathryn | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
6/8/2022
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started taking 37.5 mg xr in November 2021, and increased to 75 mg for a couple months until I felt myself reverting back towards some of my depressed manners, and have been on 150 mg xr since Feb/March 2022. I'm having the same issues again - struggling with sleep & motivation, so my doctor and I decided that I should try 225 mg xr. It seems to help tremendously for a few months until it just doesn't. I don't plan on increasing my dose after this due to the withdrawal side effects I'm already going to have to experience if I ween off it. The side effects the first month of taking the medication (night sweats, nausea, insomnia, dry mouth, headaches, etc.) weren't fun, so I'm keeping my fingers crossed this time. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jessica | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Caregiver
6/7/2022
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My daughter has been on Effexor now for 2 months and it has helped her but she stays so sleepy she can hardly function. Has this happened with anyone else and if so will it get better?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
6/5/2022
Condition: Panic Disorder
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Have no symtoms since Bern on this medication.. it's only a low dose 37.5 MG. But takes the edge off my anxiety

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
silvrado | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
6/4/2022
Condition: Major Depressive Disorder
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

If you are here to read the positive or negative side-effect of this medication, let me tell you it's different for each patient, I know what I will type is look wired. Still, I don't know how to describe my feeling after more than two years of using Effexor; what I can say is I am still alive . in the end, I have to tell you " you have to take care of your health to die with good health " lol

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Noura A | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
5/30/2022
Condition: Major Depressive Disorder
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I made the biggest mistake of my life by taking this medication. In fact, it was the worst decision I ever made. The worst nausea and sickness I have ever experienced, I wake up in the middle of the night feeling sick to my stomach and I use ginger to relieve the symptoms. While using this product, I developed bad motion sickness, and I have never experienced this before while riding in a motor vehicle, but after discontinuing use of this product, I developed serious motion sickness. Walking for a long period of time also causes my foot to get red and hurt a great deal, almost like a nerve injury. Then there was the constant shackling of my hands, so that I was incapable of writing using a pen, or even squeezing a lemon. Further, I was unable to focus on anything and was so sleepy most of the time that I could sleep at any time of the day. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Nic | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/20/2022
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Started out with a hospital stay and was given a dose of 150mg XR for depression...noticed a slight improvement but few weeks later started feeling depressed again (situational) and went back into the hospital. This time i'm up to 300mg and for the fist time in a long time dare I say I feel kinda normal. I can feel emotion and don't feel like a zombie. I also take 6mg Vraylar and 1200mg Lithium daily for Bipolar.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More