Show ratings & reviews for

3.6 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

6 People found this comment helpful

i have had chronic bronchial asthma since i was 14, i'm now 54. i have used proventil/albuterol this entire time. i've been admitted into the hospital only twice in all that time for severe breathing problems. i absolutely love the proventil/albuterol. now, they are taking the only medication that works for me off the market and given me a 'hfa' inhaler that gives me absolutely no relief whatso...

Shared reviews and ratings

Missy M | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
7/18/2012
Condition: Asthma Attack
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Living in AZ I rarely get asthma attacks, but two months ago, I did. The Proventil HFA inhaler barely touched my symptoms of shortness of breath and lack of energy that I had to immediately get a breathing treatment from my doctor so I could breathe again. My old regular Proventil Inhaler would have cured my breathing issues immediately. This HFA inhaler sucks and doesn't administer anything but a miniscule mist barely touched with even less medication. Who's this supposed to help, because it ISN'T helping asthmatics! Asthmatic's inhalers are NOT destroying the ozone. The world societies have done that job all by themselves!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Hlehman | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
9/23/2009
Condition: Asthma
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I miss the real albuterol. I was recently hospitalized for the first time due to my asthma and it's getting ridiculous. I've been going downhill since we went CFC free. Seriously, the asthmics of the world aren't putting a huge whole in the Ozone layer. Give us back our medication!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
frenchy 1930 | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
6/13/2009
Condition: Emphysema
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I use this medication as a rescue medicine,my regular medication is once a day inhaler spiriva

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/31/2009
Condition: Emphysema
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Is nowhere near as effective as the CFC inhalers.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
laskeely | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/23/2009
Condition: Asthma Attack
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The HFA product works more efficiently than earlier Proventil products. The mist seems finer and appears to penetrate farther into my lungs.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
[email protected] | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/9/2008
Condition: Bronchitis
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

great med easy to use

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
3/2/2008
Condition: Asthma
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have severe asthma that I treat with daily preventative medication, as well as my as-needed "rescue" inhaler: Proventil/albuterol(which I've been on for over 20 years.) I'm so happy to make the switch to Proventil HFA! The medication seems to work faster, the mist is lighter & more easily inhaled, rather than absorbed like the previous version. I also like the fact that it's a smaller inhaler. Best of all, I haven't had to go to the emergency room for asthma-related treatment since making the switch!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
princessbratke521 | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
1/30/2008
Condition: Asthma
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i have had chronic bronchial asthma since i was 14, i'm now 54. i have used proventil/albuterol this entire time. i've been admitted into the hospital only twice in all that time for severe breathing problems. i absolutely love the proventil/albuterol. now, they are taking the only medication that works for me off the market and given me a 'hfa' inhaler that gives me absolutely no relief whatsoever. foradil, serevent and advair i cannot take because of other health problems. i have no idea what i'm going to do come december of 2008 when proventil/albuterol goes off the market. i really wish they'd think twice about taking this off the market. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More