Show ratings & reviews for

4.0 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

17 People found this comment helpful

Sudafed has been a life-saver in relieving my sinus and ear congestion on long flights. Without Sudafed my flights would be miserable as the sinus pressure is unbearable.

Most voted negative review

4 People found this comment helpful

I had a terrible cold and only picked up the 12-hour version because the pharm was out of the regular. It cleared me up ASAP, but by the second dose, my heart was racing and beating weird. At one point, I stood VERY still for a long time trying to catch my breath as I could feel my heart beating strangely. I won't buy it again, but it DID work well. I currently experience a racing beat with alcoho...

Shared reviews and ratings

Nancy | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/27/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

If you have any sort of history of anxiety or panic attacks I strongly suggest reconsidering taking this medication. It kept my sinuses clear but it made my heart rate skyrocket, kept me from sleeping, and made me feel like I was constantly having a panic attack. If you are like I was and you took this and you are now reading reviews desperately trying to figure out if you are losing your mind- you aren't. Stop taking the medication and give it a couple days to return to normal. My doctor prescribed a small dose of a beta blocker (propranolol) for a couple days to help with the fast heart rate and it worked amazingly to help to get it under control. After about a week I'd say I was completely back to normal. If you are sensitive to stimulants (ex. caffeine) or have anxiety/panic attacks I would try not to take this medication unless absolutely necessary and be prepared for the side effects. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sudafed doesn’t work | 19-24 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/21/2020
Condition: Stuffy Nose
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My nose is still stuffed, after using it for almost a month my nose is still stuffed and I’m unable to sleep because of it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Blessed | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/19/2018
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I would never take this medicine again and i would not recommend if you have anxiety or if you plan on sleeping and or relaxing. I took it before bed and could not sleep AT ALL and felt very anxious with heart palpitations that i went to the ER for. WILL NEVER TAKE AGAIN

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Christine | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/1/2016
Condition: Stuffy Nose
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

First time taking and I'm impressed with how it's cleared me up after only 1 dose. Definitely recommend.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jill | 45-54 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
9/25/2015
Condition: Runny Nose
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Sudafed,12Hr.120mg. Generic doesn't help me as well. I take one every am. It stops my nose from continuously draining all day long. If I'm very active outdoors, is the only time this isn't enough. I wish there was a 30 pill pack.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/28/2014
Condition: Runny Nose
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Effective only for the first 5 hours, then the rubby nose starts all over again

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Guest678 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/22/2013
Condition: Ear Congestion
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Congested in my ear, painful..lot of pressure. Could feel the medicine starting to work 15-30min after I took it. Cleared up my ear for 12 hours. Also cleared up congestion in my nose.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
possum | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years |
11/10/2012
Condition: Stuffy Nose
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

good

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tturbiasz | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/12/2012
Condition: Ear Congestion
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am currently expecting and was told to take this along with Zyrtec for severe allergies. My ears have been popping for weeks due to fluid build up. This cleared it up in less then an hour! I can finally hear again and my headache has gone away. Would recommend to anyone.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
saiphyn | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/12/2011
Condition: Stuffy Nose
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had a terrible cold and only picked up the 12-hour version because the pharm was out of the regular. It cleared me up ASAP, but by the second dose, my heart was racing and beating weird. At one point, I stood VERY still for a long time trying to catch my breath as I could feel my heart beating strangely. I won't buy it again, but it DID work well. I currently experience a racing beat with alcohol/lack of sleep/stress. I've also been diagnosed with PVCs (Pre-Ventricular Contractions). I am probably one of those "predisposed" people mentioned in the label. Again, this totally cleared up my completely stuffed up nose. I couldn't breath through my nose until I took this stuff.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
DEBBINURSE | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
4/4/2011
Condition: Stuffy Nose
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

RELIEVES SINUS PAIN AND CONGESTION WITHIN THE FIRST 15 MINUTES AND RELEIVED THE PAIN FOR APPX 12 HOURS.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Pippin | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/30/2009
Condition: Stuffy Nose
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Whenever I have a cold, I always take Sudafed 12 hour. I like the fact that I only have to take one pill twice per day. Sudafed 12 hour works to completely uncongest my face - but the downside is that I can't sleep. It makes me wired and I end up unable to sleep more than 1-2 hours per night.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/24/2009
Condition: Ear Congestion
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've used the CVS generic version of Sudafed 12-hour. It has helped clear up my ear congestion and post-nasal drip considerably. I've experienced side effects related to tightening of the prostate - reduced urine flow, inability to empty bladder, and intense ejaculation - as well as occasional jumpiness and decreased appetite.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
micjasbro | 25-34 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/24/2009
Condition: Runny Nose
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

medication seemed to give me relief. it didnt make me feel wide awake but did keep me from sleeping well. Also noticed trouble urinating and weird sexual ejaculation experiences. would ejaculate without really feeling orgasm and was somewhat painful with an orgasm. but it made my cold feel better!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jason | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/26/2009
Condition: Ear Congestion
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

opened up my sinuses and subsequently opened my ears. I now breathe well & hear well. I did experience an increased production of larger dry boogers in my nasal passage.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
sheliacat2 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
9/7/2008
Condition: Stuffy Nose
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

works great for my stuffynose

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
frequentflyer | 25-34 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/18/2007
Condition: Ear Congestion
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Sudafed has been a life-saver in relieving my sinus and ear congestion on long flights. Without Sudafed my flights would be miserable as the sinus pressure is unbearable.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More