Show ratings & reviews for

4.1 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

18 People found this comment helpful

I have been on this medication approx. 25 years. Like any medication the dosage goes with your weight, so as you gain or lose weight the medication would need to be adjusted. I have had no ill side effects. This medication gave me my life back instead of being in bed most of the week. This medication doesn't work for all types of migraines. My daughter also has migraines. She was diagnosed with...

Shared reviews and ratings

Judjohns | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/7/2017
Condition: Essential Tremor
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have essential tremor and am a nurse practitioner. I used this drug when I worked in the hospital and had to start IV's, insert catheters and draw blood, etc. For many years as an NP I didn't take treatment due to the side effects of this drug but just decided to go back on it. I am probably not going to continue it. It does help the tremor, but I have had to quit swimming and karate due to sheer exhaustion and have had constant diarrhea for two weeks since I started it. I cannot give up my sports and am scared to death of gaining weight and becoming a couch potato. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jane | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years |
7/22/2015
Condition: Migraine Prevention
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The drug has effectively curbed my migraines but not prevented them entirely. The worst side effect is uncontrollable hunger, which I try to drink water and chew gum to alleviate.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
elways77 | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
10/7/2014
Condition: Migraine Prevention
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I love this medicine, my life is so much better, my migraines have gone away for good it seems after getting two a month. happy happy

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
?????? | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
3/15/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Was given Inderal la for rapid heartbeat, Mitral Valvue prolapse.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Joe | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
1/28/2014
Condition: Migraine Prevention
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Very effective preventing migraines but difficult to deal with life style of constant tiredness. Also, if taken before working out in the gym, I become very nauseous , sweaty, and dizzy. Because of the side effects, I stopped taking the drug a couple of years ago but now that the migraines have returned (average of 5/per month), I am reconsidering. A regimen of magnesium/B2 for several months does not seem to be effective as an alternative to prescription drugs.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
sandymac | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
8/26/2013
Condition: Essential Tremor
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking Inderal LA for more than 20 years for a head tremor, which I found very embarrassing for teaching school and having a social life. Having asthma and using this drug is possible, but at times a problem.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
[email protected] | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
8/3/2013
Condition: Ventricular Rate Control in Atrial Fibrillation
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Irregular heart beat

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
dulcinia1 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
7/7/2012
Condition: Essential Tremor
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

tremors still affecting daily living

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Reddragon5744 | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
11/21/2011
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Easy to take - minor side effects. Blood pressure lowered from near critical to healthy range. Also taken care of minor tremors I had.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mike | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
11/4/2011
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Was prescribed this drug in 1984 for high blood pressure and experienced impotence and trouble sleeping after about 2 years. My doctor helped ween me off the Inderal LA. The high blood pressure went away but the impotence remained as did the insomnia. In 2009 I developed Peyronies disease. I noticed that all of these conditions are somewhat rare side effects of Inderal LA.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/15/2011
Condition: Migraine Prevention
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started this drug about 3 weeks ago and my Migraines hav improved dramatically. However, I feel tired and sleepy next day .....

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
tsalam | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
4/30/2011
Condition: Essential Tremor
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been using Inderal tablets for more than 15-years for hand tremor and getting good effective results, best taken before breakfast. Noticed that regular use reduces effectiveness, but declined increasing the 40mg per day dose. Read on this site that it shoudn't be taken for low blood sugar patients!? which is my case...? medical clarifying feedback appreciated.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/5/2011
Condition: Essential Tremor
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
DESTINY789 | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
9/15/2010
Condition: Migraine Prevention
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on this medication approx. 25 years. Like any medication the dosage goes with your weight, so as you gain or lose weight the medication would need to be adjusted. I have had no ill side effects. This medication gave me my life back instead of being in bed most of the week. This medication doesn't work for all types of migraines. My daughter also has migraines. She was diagnosed with basular migraines when she was 10 years old. A migraines specialist in Washington put her on Varapimil (calan). She was the 2nd child that had even been put on the blood pressure medication for migraines. She had to have her meds increased as she gained weight but she hasn't had anymore problems with kidney failure, heart failure or black outs since. These are problems yoou can ahve with her type. These medications have been a god send. I don't understand why doctors don't try these medications before all the anti depressant meds that have such bad side effects. I hope this helps someone.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
3/16/2010
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I take this first thing in the morning. I started many years ago when my BP went up and I was getting headaches. I also had mild angina (or similar). It has worked for me. Most of my doctors over the years have tried to get me to take something else but I have no side effects and it works so I am not about to change. Because of change in insurance, I had to go to a generic. Be careful, they are not all the same. I believe there are 3 generics for this. I tried one and it did not work at all. The druggist said it could be the delivery system. I now take a yellow pill called propranolol 80mg ERCAP AC. It is one of the generics for Inderal LA. I like to take only one pill a day. I once was on a higher dose for a short time but it caused me problems. When I lost a lot of weight, I was able to go off of the drug totally, but do it gradually. The doctor took me off cold and I had bad reactions but they did go away. In the last 5 years HCTZ 12.5 M has been added and recently that has been removed but I think I may start again since a noticed a small increase in BP. Hope this helps.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/15/2010
Condition: Osteoporosis
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

this treatment is awsome. I love drugs.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
wolfhound | 55-64 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/6/2010
Condition: Essential Tremor
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was recently given Inderal LA 60 mg to take once a day. It was prescribed by tremors in my hands that my be caused by taking zoloft. I have been taking the meds for about a month now and I still have shaky hands. I am seeing my doctor in a few days to see what is going on. I would say this medication is not working for tremors. Has anyone had a similiar experience using this drug.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/19/2009
Condition: Migraine Prevention
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started taking this medication 2 weeks ago for migraine prevention and so far I have had only 1 headache. I takemy 60mg dose at night and it does put me to sleep and around noon I get hit with a wave of sleepiness. Plus, I have been eating uncontrollably, however I went off of Cymbalta at the same time I started this medicine, so I am hopeful that my appetite will decrease without the need to staple my mouth shut!! Having no headaches is worth most side effects so I will definitely continue to take it. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Male | Patient
9/27/2009
Condition: Migraine Prevention
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
tinkerbell99 | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
8/17/2009
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed this medication about 9 years ago for a rapid heartbeat. It worked for several years then had to increase the dose because symptoms returned. EXTREME HAIR LOSS was a problem for me. Common for beta blockers i found thru research.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More