Show ratings & reviews for

3.7 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

90 People found this comment helpful

I was on Premarin for several years and my doctor switched me to Estradiol (generic for Estrace) 1.5 mg and I have never felt this good. No more hot flashes, sad moods, headaches, etc. This switch was the best thing that ever happened for me! I know that everyone reacts differently to medication but I would highly recommend Estradiol if you are experiencing issues with your current medication!

Most voted negative review

6 People found this comment helpful

what effect is smoking while taking this drug

Shared reviews and ratings

Cheryl | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/29/2022
Condition: "Change of Life" Signs
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Within just a couple of hours of using the cream, I experienced severe burning and vaginal discomfort. This went on for almost three months, after only one use. I went to a couple of doctors when the pain lingered on with them saying it probably wasn't the cream. So now months later I tried the cream again and within a few hours there was burning and discomfort, including bad headaches. Never again!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sarah | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/9/2022
Condition: "Change of Life" Signs
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Three days after starting on this med, I could barely walk or stand any amount of time. Had to sit on the couch all day with a heating pad. Stretching/exercise hurt so bad I cried. Didn’t take my dose last night and already feel 75% better. Unbelievable.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mo | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/15/2022
Condition: "Change of Life" Signs
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Had been on Premarin for at least 10 years. Dr. switched me to 1mg estradiol which I took for 2 months starting having severe anxiety which quickly turned into depression. Saw my Dr. and he immediately put me back on Premarin. In 2 days I was back to myself. estradiol should come with a WARNING!!!! Now I just wonder how many women are feeling that depression and don't realize it's the Estradiol? Insurance companies need to be aware of the situation that is being created by NOT providing coverage for certain drugs Thus creating a more dramatic and costly health situation.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
m | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/9/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i was prescribed ovestin estriol pills 1mg for 28days following an early miscarriage for the pregnancy cyst on right ovary. It was 30mm and ovary itself is 30mm so the combined size was the source of my everyday pain. it did wonders, softened my skin, improved my hirsutism and cyst gone but doc wouldnt prescribe it again because i have my own estrogen and not post menopause. i got my estrogen level checked, and the low dose ovestin gone from my system in about 1-2weeks. i came to know from bloods i have naturally very low estrogen level that leaves me with no cervical mucus and almost fully dry vagina. day 3 it was 76pmol, 3 days before ovulation 287, and 7days past ovulation 182. i wanted to get back on estrogen on low dose like 1 or 2mg that just ups my level but not interfere with ovulation or cause cardiovascular issues. i tried ovestin as a cream because no prescription is needed for that but i dont like the discharge it leaves in the morning. then i got estrofem 2mg and i take half of it daily. it is definitely different, estradiol is not estriol. it feels stronger and more direct. i tried both half a pill at 1mg and the full pill at 2mg, but 2 is too much for me. it made me anxious and irritable so i went back to 1 and im fine now. the mucus is a lot improved i am no longer dry so im happy. i forgot to mention that i have thin lining for the past twentysomething years since i have had periods and i also have pcos. i am planning to recheck levels and lining thickness next cycle and i hope it improves that too, because i never measure more than 7mms on scans.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
A.S | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/16/2021
Condition: "Change of Life" Signs
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am 52. On 0.50 of estradiol for roughly 3 months along with progesterone pill. I have lost 7lbs, sleeping better (but not perfect) and no hot flashes. I do feel more tired at night, however. It has also helped my anxiety, but not removed it. My hair loss has stabilized (I lost a lot more hair when on premarian). The biggest issues for me was terrible insomnia, hot flashes and weight gain. The weight gain was depressing me. I could not lose weight no matter what I did, including a 36 hour fast. Now the weight is coming off, finally. I also take DIM, not sure if that is helping or neutral. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
10/4/2021
Condition: Postmenopausal Urethral Atrophy
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was switched from the Premarin cream due to insurance coverage. This medication did little to releave the vaginal dryness and painful intercourse. I experienced many headaches, sleep loss and an increase in hot flashes. Not impressed.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
sickofmyovaries | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/24/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The first week wasn’t too bad. However, after the first week, I experienced severe stomach pains and nausea. I was so bloated. My mood swings were terrible too.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Maria Thompson | 55-64 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/31/2021
Condition: "Change of Life" Signs
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I just started taking this pill which I love so far I’m waiting for it to fully work . I tried the vagina creamed hated it I already had the dryness and my skin is sensitive and just made me itch all the time . I suffer mood swings , headaches and sweats . I am a recovered colon cancer survivor so I was a little skeptical on taking this but dam I have been going thru menopause since I was 42 now 55 . I wish I would have been on this years ago . Thank you lord .

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Cheril | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
6/5/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was 22 when I had a full hysterectomy due to cancer taking over. After 5 years went by I noticed hot flashes were so overwhelming I would wake up drenched in sweat like I wet the bed my husband was so kind about it and changed them with me without hesitation. And would get me new clothes. I would sleep with towels under the sheets as well as between my legs just to calm the night sweats down. The mood swings and depression hit really hard for me... Being 27 years old was not fun at all with no hormones so I did something about it. I tried creams, lotions, patches... name it I tried it and then I tried estradiol and I have not looked back. I'm 36 now and there's been a few times were my insurance has lapsed and I couldn't get in to see the Dr so I went a month with out it and it was the worst mistake of my life! It stays in your system but when its out it takes forever to readjust again. I will never go with out again.... Its the first script I fill every month to make sure I have it. I take 2mg every morning and I'm right as rain. I do have vaginal dryness that's the only complain I have but its not all the time and just takes a little longer to get the juices flowing or a little help every now and again but its nothing major. I was 22 when I had a hysterectomy so I've grown accustomed to this life. Hope this helpsRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sable | 25-34 | Transgender | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
5/3/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Kind of wild that this article doesn't discuss estradiol's use by transgender women.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Desertgreen10 | 45-54 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
3/8/2021
Condition: Low Estrogen After Operation to Remove Ovaries
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Like a few others have reported, it triggered my psoriasis and the itching was intense. I also began to have tingling and numbness in my hands and feet after 2 months of continuous use. No one thought this may be the culprit so I was sent off to a neurologist. After 6 months of tingling and numbness it turned to severe pain in my hips. I went from a gym bunny to unable to get out of bed to let the dog out. I couldnâ??t even sit upright in a chair. After a year, my rheumatologist thought this could possibly be the problem. Symptoms came on fairly quickly after starting this, and lo and behold, after 3 weeks off this I was almost pain free. If you have psoriasis or any other disease that sends your immune system into overdrive, you may want to rethink this medication. At the least, you need to know every single side effect known. Hot flashes are only a minor inconvenience and nuisance compared to the chronic pain of psoriatic arthritis. I feared the pain would never go away, but luckily it did. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
finallyhappy | 55-64 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/26/2020
Condition: "Change of Life" Signs
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have tried estrogen patches, Evamist Spray, Femring, and none of them worked for me. And then, I tried the Estradiol 1mg pill and I noticed a difference after 6 hours! It was amazing. But 12 hours into it, I started to get my headache back, and the dr. told me to take the 1mg twice a day every 12 hours to keep a steady stream in my system. It worked like a charm! Anxiety, hot flashes, memory problems, aches and pains, depression were all gone! And this generic pill is so inexpensive!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ljane117 | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
7/25/2020
Condition: "Change of Life" Signs
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I suffered from sever hot flashes and moodiness, started on the 2 mg estradiol pills and OMG I could live again. I recently went off, and after 4 weeks I’m back on...can’t live without this during menopause! Love love love!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Cme | 55-64 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/18/2020
Condition: "Change of Life" Signs
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Extreme hot flashes and night sweats. Have been on this medication for about five months. Works great for the hot flashes and night sweats. Havenâ??t had any weight gain, however I think it might be causing sever mouth sores. My tongue swells just a bit and then I bite it. Once bit, I experience canker sores on my tongue. Now Iâ??m finding I have sores on the inside of my cheeks as well. Iâ??m on 1mg tablet three weeks with one week off. I have noticed my mouth will clear up two - three days after I stop for the week off. Then symptoms return within three days of retaking. My Dr doesnâ??t seem to think that it could be from this medication. Heâ??s given me herpes medication and steroid meds. Not sure if the herpes drug worked because of timing in taking it. So severe are these mouth sores Iâ??ve lost over 20 lbs. I look ten years older. I love not having hot flashes and night sweats, but canâ??t Handel not being able to eat. Iâ??ve tried just about every OTC products for my symptoms of menopause and nothing else has every even reduced symptoms I have experienced for over 10 years. Iâ??m stopping cold turkey in hopes I can eat again and against Dr orders. Terrible to have to choose between which of the two evils I have to live with. Hot flashes and night sweats, bring it on!!!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
carebear | 35-44 | Female | Patient
12/1/2019
Condition: Low Estrogen After Operation to Remove Ovaries
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medicine brought out my psoraisis. Severe itching, burning of my skin, severe mood swings. Messed with my bowel movements and caused horrible dry eyes. I have demanded my gyn get a prior authorazation to get back on premarian.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/29/2019
Condition: Low Estrogen After Operation to Remove Ovaries
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Tried medication for depression and it only made me feel worse, but the second I started taking this medication I felt like a different person. I feel emotional if I miss a dose.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Myra | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
8/1/2018
Condition: Low Estrogen After Operation to Remove Ovaries
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Complete hysterectomy at age 23 due to ovarian cysts and untreatable fibroids. Taking 2mg daily and feel almost normal. Slight swelling of breasts from 34B cup to 36C, but that's OK since not painful.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Griff | 75 or over | Male | Patient
5/2/2018
Condition: Cancer of Prostate that has Spread to Other Part of Body
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

No experience yet

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
KD | 45-54 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
3/15/2018
Condition: "Change of Life" Signs
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Tried Climara-pro patch, really liked it but had trouble keeping it on, donâ??t think I was getting the full dose. Was transferred to another doctor/surgeon for hematometra procedure, who put in an IUD (progesterone) at same time

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
SEB | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/13/2018
Condition: "Change of Life" Signs
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Immediate relief of hot flashes. No noticeable negative side effects. Inexpensive ($4/month) way to relief and improved sleep.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More