Show ratings & reviews for

2.9 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

6 People found this comment helpful

Good drug with no side effects. My UTI was better in a few days.

Most voted negative review

2 People found this comment helpful

The week of Thanksgiving my 11 yr old daughter was prescribed this for a urinary tract infection. 2 days later her vagina had huge ulcers all over it and she screamed nonstop from the pain, I took her to the E.R. and she was diagnosed with Steven Johnson Syndrome. She stayed in the hospital for 3 days on IV's because she refused to drink, (she was too scared to urinate due to the pain). She had to...

Shared reviews and ratings

Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/3/2013
Condition: Skin Infection
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed this medication for acne. After the first two days of treatment, I began to get terrible headaches that caused me to discontinue the medication after five days of treatment. The headaches were debilitating and I never get side effects from medications.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Cartiere | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/20/2012
Condition: Sepsis Caused by Bacteria
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had no noticeable side effects. Been on one pill a day for two months. Seems just fine.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/20/2012
Condition: Urinary Tract Infection due to E. Coli Bacteria
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Was prescribed the generic version of Septra, Sulfamethoxazole-TMP DS, one tablet twice a day. Experienced extreme joint and muscle pain, headaches and insomnia. On fourth day of treatment, I began running a fever of 101 and was advised by my doctor to discontinue taking this because I was likely having a reaction to this drug. Fever disappeared next day after stopping this medication. Awful side effects - never take again.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
djg007 | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/16/2011
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was told by my doctor to take Sulfamkthoxazole-TMP DS T 20 TAB The soft tissue infection under my arm subsided after the 10th day of use. I drank lots of water and always do. I felt listless, chills, fever, sweats and nausea. I would not recommend this drug for anyone. Find a different way. Also with any drug, (and I should know better) If you believe you are having an adverse reaction, stop the drug and revisit the guy in the red floppy shoes that prescribed it to you in the first place. Whoo haaaa. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/20/2011
Condition: Sinus Irritation and Congestion
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

after about the 4th pill, my mouth, tongue and glands were so swollen and painless..not for me

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
scaryshari | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/8/2011
Condition: Urinary Tract Infection due to E. Coli Bacteria
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed Bactrim (a.k.a. Septra) at the 800/160 dosage for a mild UTI. It worked fast to eradicate my infection. I was supposed to take it for 10 days, which I now realize was way overkill. I only took it for 7 days tho, then I had to quit. See below. I NEVER want to take it again, as it gave me SEVERE intractable constipation for 4-5 days! And I was even taking regular probiotic supplements, consuming extra fiber, drinking extra water and exercising more often. NOTHING helped!! It was like my whole intestinal/bowel system shut down. Very strange & frightening. By day 4 or 5 I'd become extremely fatigued, irritable & shaky; I strongly believe I was becoming toxic due to my inability to have a BM in 4-5 days, especially while taking a toxic drug that needed elimination! Bactrim (Septra) worked well & gave me NO other side effects, which I'm grateful for after hearing of the horrid side effects many folks get. But despite its positive attributes for me, its one NEGATIVE one for me far outweighs them. So, I will *never* take this drug again unless it's the absolute last choice available! :( Please be warned of this side effect, because 99% of the literature I've found online & offline about Bactrim does NOT mention severe constipation, only diarrhea. Sincerely, ShariRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
clocker87 | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/30/2011
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed this drug for what I was told was a UTI (abdominal pain, fever, cramping, plus some other symptoms), though it turned out not to be a UTI at all, and whatever it was is still a mystery. I took the medicine twice daily for 3 days and experienced crippling headaches late on day two and all day on day three, despite drinking 40-60 ounces of water a day. I also had some chills, but I don't know for sure if they were related to the medication or not. Now that I'm done with the medication, I'm taking plenty of probiotics, but I'm still experiencing stomach cramps, severe nausea when hungry, and really miserable constipation. For me, this medication caused far more problems than it solved, and I wish I'd had the presence of mind in the doctor's office to say no to the prescription.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
hangmaster | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/24/2010
Condition: Skin Infection
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication is a tough one to start, BUT...if you can make it through the first 3 days my side effects all but disappeared, maybe because it's working? I had severe nausea my first day, black stool the next, by the 3rd day all subsided and I am feeling better. Although, do stay out of direct sunlight because your skin is way more suseptible to burning completely through your treatment.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
dr1944 | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/23/2010
Condition: Skin Infection
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had infection on eyelid. I took drug for 4 days before getting reaction. Day 4 got fever 104 headache. Day5 stopped drug still got high fever,headache,than terrible rash all over. Day 8 haven't taken drug since day 5 still have terrible rash but doesn't itch anymore. Taking allergy drug precribed. Am having some breathing problem but not to bad. Am having some eye problems. I don't take any other drugs for anything so there should not have any reaction because of that or had any other health problems until taking this drug. I would never recommend to children or babies after my experiences and I am 65 yrs old.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jean | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/23/2010
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Bad headaches - drink water all the time.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/17/2010
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had a severe reaction, causing short hosptalization. Had to get an IV to flush the septra out of my system. Had a bad infection of mastitis in my breast due to nursing, not a fun experience!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Healedbyhisstripes | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/22/2010
Condition: Sinus Irritation and Congestion
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Sinus infection, received relief after about 1 week, prescribed for 14 days 2x a day. Experienced no side effects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/25/2010
Condition: Continuous Bacterial Inflammation of the Prostate Gland
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had a prostate infection for a long time. Anything to cure this problem is well worth it. It does cause nausau and I don't feel that great while on this medication,but still worth it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ga charger | 35-44 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/31/2010
Condition: Sinus Irritation and Congestion
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

this is the slowest working antibiotic i have ever experienced. 3days later just feeling slightly better. i asked dr to give me the cheapest one because my insurance stinks. guess it's what poor folks get.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
cannons98 | 7-12 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/12/2009
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The week of Thanksgiving my 11 yr old daughter was prescribed this for a urinary tract infection. 2 days later her vagina had huge ulcers all over it and she screamed nonstop from the pain, I took her to the E.R. and she was diagnosed with Steven Johnson Syndrome. She stayed in the hospital for 3 days on IV's because she refused to drink, (she was too scared to urinate due to the pain). She had to urinate in a tub of water to ease the pain for her, then shower off each time. She had to take Oxycodone for the pain it was so bad. I know that this is a rare condition, but it was the most horrible thing that child has ever had to go through. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
LMBH | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/1/2009
Condition: Urinary Tract Infection caused by Klebsiella Bacteria
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

AFTER TAKE THIS AT THE END RAN A FEVER OF A 101.5 AND BROKE OUT IN A RASH OR HIVES FROM HEAD TO TOE. IT GOT REID OF MY UTI.BUT CAUSED SOMETHING ELSE

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jaques | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/20/2009
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

On occasion (once per year) I experience a UTI Bacterial episode. (Bladder Reconstruction and Prostate surgeries 1960). I have used this prescribed drug many times with the same positive effect! Recently, I have experienced problems with arthuritus in both shoulders. For some unknown reason, when I was taking Septra my shoulder pain was eliminated! A few days after I stopped using the Septra the shoulder pain returned? My Urologist, Pharmasist, and Family DR's have all told me that the Septra would have no relation to the authuritus relief...! Living with shoulder discomfort in Michigan... Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/23/2009
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had immediate nausea and vomiting and sharp abdominal pains at night, I had to take medication for nausea in order to continue taking it. Caused extreme constipation and impaction even with eating bran and using stool softener.Now that I am not taking it I continue to feel nauseated when hungry, and my bowel movements are still an issue. I continue with the sharp stomach pains 4 days since my last dose. The prescription was one twice daily x 10 days.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Maxine | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/16/2009
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was given the generic version of Septra DS which is Sulfamethoxazole/TMP DS to clear up my acne. After about a week on the medication I came down the what appeared to be the flu, with a 104.4 temperature. The Dr. had put me on another antibiotic and was told not to take the Septra while I was on the flu antibiotic. As soon as I went back on the Septra the flu symptoms came back within 2 days with a 102 fever... We beleive it was a reaction to the Septra. I stopped taking them yesteray and I am already feeling better and the fever has gone down.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
K Emison | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/1/2009
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took Septra for a spider bite that was large, red and hot and made me sick. After about 6 days on the Septra I developed a hive-type, very itchy rash on various areas of my body.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More