Show ratings & reviews for

3.1 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

12 People found this comment helpful

Subjet was having problems with diarea and weight gain 27% 0fnoriginal body weight. We could never correlate it with just milk. It turned out, most prepared foods contain milk products, whether a hamburger from a restaurant, or rice-crispy treats from a store. The diarrhea was somewhat under control by restricting milk, however, there was a persistent soft stool and sort of a runny nose out the...

Most voted negative review

8 People found this comment helpful

Nothing listed

Shared reviews and ratings

worried mom | 13-18 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
4/2/2015
Condition: Inability of Body to Handle Lactose or Milk Sugar
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It worked the first 3 times I took it. The next time I was vomiting uncontrollably and had severe stomach pain. Was not sure it was the medicine until the next dose did the same thing! I took the generic brand but will not risk trying either again.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
TENJAO | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years |
8/20/2014
Condition: Inability of Body to Handle Lactose or Milk Sugar
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

for me Lactaid works well but for only small amounts of dairy... In my experience one lactaid has not been effective on more than 2 oz of dairy in a product and not effective of more than 1 oz of actual milk or icecream...

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lorilit | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/28/2014
Condition: Inability of Body to Handle Lactose or Milk Sugar
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Don't know what is going on with my body. I am definitely lactose intolerant and have become worse with age. I have taken a "generic" version of Lactaid Oral and have had 2 severe reactions - vomiting and severe runs. One which sent me to the ER. Has anyone had that severe a reaction to a Lactaid generic?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
imisscheese | 35-44 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/7/2013
Condition: Inability of Body to Handle Lactose or Milk Sugar
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Taking one pill each meal or snack containing dairy has stopped the diarrhea and cramps, however some gas is still present. Two pills (as directed) may help further.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
mcgeen | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
8/12/2012
Condition: Inability of Body to Handle Lactose or Milk Sugar
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Cannot take this enzyme more than once a day, or I lose almost all sense of taste. Can this be avoided? Why does it happen?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
geowize | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year |
7/31/2012
Condition: Inability of Body to Handle Lactose or Milk Sugar
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I always got a lot of bloting from using milk and things made with milk. Never knew I was Lactose intolerant. A frined of mine told me to try Lactaid and it gave me releaf from the bloting. I have been using this for about 10 months now and am very happy with it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
fuji | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
7/11/2012
Condition: Inability of Body to Handle Lactose or Milk Sugar
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Being on antibiotics long term causes sensitivities to many foods. lactaid helps with dairy.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/10/2012
Condition: Inability of Body to Handle Lactose or Milk Sugar
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

vomitting, diarhea, and rash

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Edward | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/4/2012
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

awsome change when the use this drug as dietary supplement after the ingestion of dairy products

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Eli | 45-54 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Caregiver
4/30/2012
Condition: Inability of Body to Handle Lactose or Milk Sugar
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Subjet was having problems with diarea and weight gain 27% 0fnoriginal body weight. We could never correlate it with just milk. It turned out, most prepared foods contain milk products, whether a hamburger from a restaurant, or rice-crispy treats from a store. The diarrhea was somewhat under control by restricting milk, however, there was a persistent soft stool and sort of a runny nose out the rear. In addition, the subject had gained about 40 pounds. We thought this person was becoming a normal weight as this person was very skinny before becoming lactose intolerant. After taking lactase pills 9000mg, the digestion problems disappeared. Also, the weight was lost very rapidly. This person also had high colesterol which went down to normal as the weight went down. The most rapid wieght loss occured when the subject took the lactasej pills on an empty stomach and inbetween meals.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
hei | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
7/19/2011
Condition: Inability of Body to Handle Lactose or Milk Sugar
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

didn't help. i am severely lactose intolerant and i took up to 14 at a time and it didn't help

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
asrealascanbe | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month |
3/7/2011
Condition: Inability of Body to Handle Lactose or Milk Sugar
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

thus far has been effective with Diareaha when drinking milk and other dairy products

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Caregiver
9/22/2009
Condition: Inability of Body to Handle Lactose or Milk Sugar
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Nothing listed

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More