Show ratings & reviews for

4.0 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

48 People found this comment helpful

I have been to 2 rehab facilities, and 2 ER visits for my alcoholism. This last visit to the ER was for pancreatitis. I was in for a week, and was prescribed Librium for 2 weeks, with a slow taper towards the end. It did what it was meant to do. Cut down anxiety, lessened cravings, and gave my body time to recover. What some people on here don't understand, is it isn't a drug to stop us alcoholics...

Most voted negative review

4 People found this comment helpful

it helps but dose not work

Shared reviews and ratings

Jordanlainier27 | 25-34 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/9/2019
Condition: Severe Anxiety
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was given this medication by an er doc because i was going through ativan withdrawals. long story short I moved and couldnt get a doctors appointment for a week to get a new prescription of ativan and my old doc wouldnt prescribe me just enough to get my by until I was seen by my new doctor because I was no longer his patient. I was prescribed with severe anxiety/ panic disorder 5 years ago. I was given librium at the hospital. It helped the first day I took it. I was instructed to take 2, 25 mg (twice a day as needed) for three days until my doctors appointment. Second day I took them I was fine then it started wearing off. So i took another around 9 hours after taking the 1st one and starting going into severe panic mode my heart started racing. Today will be my third day taking the medication. This medication doesnt help with anxiety at all in my experience! Ive experienced hyper activity, the "jitters", faster heart rate, confusion, forgetfulness, more irritability, going all day in a dream like state, I have trouble falling asleep, i can't sit still it makes me bounce off the walls almost as if im on speed,It has made my anxiety worse and this medicine scares me "Sh**tless" STAY AWAY FROM THIS STUFF! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
detoxer extraordinaire | 35-44 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/24/2017
Condition: Symptoms from Alcohol Withdrawal
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Librium stays in your system a long time. I noticed a week after i got out of detox i started going into withdrawals. I had felt great and didnt know what was going on. I realized it was the librium going out of my system. Treatment places need to have a much better tapering program.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
djowen | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/14/2015
Condition: Psychosis caused by Sudden Alcohol Withdrawal
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I used Librium to help with alcohol withdrawal. It took away the shakes, bed sweats, hallucinations and the deadly DTs….I had to go through a second round of the drug after relapse….Don't quit cold turkey if you have been drinking heavily….see a doc and get the librium…the Dt's can kill you….and ask about Campral to reduce cravings….please don't go it alone.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Knuckles | 35-44 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/14/2015
Condition: Symptoms from Alcohol Withdrawal
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been to 2 rehab facilities, and 2 ER visits for my alcoholism. This last visit to the ER was for pancreatitis. I was in for a week, and was prescribed Librium for 2 weeks, with a slow taper towards the end. It did what it was meant to do. Cut down anxiety, lessened cravings, and gave my body time to recover. What some people on here don't understand, is it isn't a drug to stop us alcoholics from "wanting" or "craving" alcohol. That is up to us individually to do. There isn't a miracle drug out there that will stop us from thinking the way we think. It's a constant battle to stay sober for many of us. Even though I am an Atheist, I still attend AA meeting so that people of like minds can help give me the tools to stay sober. It's just as much mental, as it is anything else. Librium helped me once I fell off the wagon, and had to go to the hospital when my pancreas swelled 4 times the size it is, but I took my last pill two days ago, and with the tools I learned in rehab, and the support of family and friends, I haven't had one craving. We alcoholics will never stop being alcoholics. The "Just one." mentality doesn't work for us. If you want to be sober, there is support and understanding out there, but it won't come in a pill form. This pill did what it needed to do. Cut down on my shakes (as an alcoholic, most of us think that if we have a couple of drinks to get rid of the shakes, we will be fine, but when does it ever stop at "Just a couple."?) I take Citalopram, Trazadone, Hydroxazine, Zofran, and formerly Librium. Some to battle depression (also a cause/side effect of alcohol), but nothing will stop the cravings except my own mind. So, stay strong. Keep the path, and don't "rely" on medicine to fix you. Work on fixing yourself.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
6/23/2015
Condition: Severe Anxiety
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jturs07 | 65-74 | Male | Patient
12/2/2014
Condition: Symptoms from Alcohol Withdrawal
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

causes constipation..will wean off gradually via doctors advice..

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bree | 35-44 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/26/2014
Condition: Symptoms from Alcohol Withdrawal
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I wouldn't have been free of alcoholism without taking Librium.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
PTSD on Librium | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
10/18/2014
Condition: Severe Anxiety
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have PTSD (since early childhood-not diagnosed as a child due to doctors not knowing what it was)and this medication has worked for me for the past 51 years. During that time I was off of it periodically (pregnancies). I do not have to take it every day as in SSRIs and have had no side effects whatsoever. It has no addictive qualities for me as some medical communities predict. It is a great drug if you need to be able to function normally when you have high anxiety. I also am able to think clearly when stressed.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
dorothyduffnergmail.com | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
6/28/2014
Condition: Anxious
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

have taken librium over 20 years, seems to calm me down, have a lot of anxiety.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | Patient
9/20/2013
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

A great help with the cramping from irritable bowel - severe. Some grogginess but manageable.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
speedy | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month |
6/10/2013
Condition: Symptoms from Alcohol Withdrawal
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

after taking for alcohol I still the shakes

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
none | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
6/5/2013
Condition: Anxious
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

takes the edge right off. helps to calm my adrenaline. however after reading the side effects and going through another very difficult time i think some of the negative side effects are increasing as i use the drug.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/28/2013
Condition: Severe Anxiety
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Pagets | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
5/24/2013
Condition: Anxious
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was started on this medication because it was supposed to work along with my Alprazolam. i.e., 2mg NTE 4bid. for sleep, I was more than excited to use it. Plus it may help with ringing in my ears (Pagets disease). After being on it for over 18 mos. I feel its just another Benzo that's harming my kidneys; so I decided to go off of it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kitnb | 25-34 | Female | Patient
4/10/2013
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Took to help sleep, did nothing!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
dan | 25-34 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/27/2012
Condition: Severe Anxiety
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

not workinghing at all ive been taking xanax for 7 years

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
librium | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/14/2012
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i do not have an alcohol problem,but have an opiate problem, i feel this medication is not for my problem.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Caring one | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/25/2012
Condition: Severe Anxiety
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is not a drug you should take while receieving methadone treatment it can put you in a state of mild stroke like symptoms I took 2 doses in two days for anxiety and it almost killed me I told my doctor I was on methadone and he gave me a prescription of 10 mg an it did not agree with me so be careful an always question any medication when taking different medications together because it can do serious harm to you

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
11/1/2011
Condition: Tension Headache
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
LeeGStLMO | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/22/2011
Condition: Psychosis caused by Sudden Alcohol Withdrawal
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have used Librium more times than I should have for alcohol withdrawal but I'm very alcoholic. This is the first time however that I have been prescribed Librium for high anxiety and depression after enitial treatment for alcohol cessation. It has always been Xanax or Valium. I personally compare 25 MG Librium to 1 MG Xanax or about like 10 MG Valium as for anxiety relief to be pretty much the same. But I believe the Librium has been longer lasting per dose for me and has (for the time at least) totally removed alcohol from my thoughts. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More