Show ratings & reviews for

3.3 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

57 People found this comment helpful

I have taken HCTZ 25mg for about 20 years in addition to other Rx for High BP. HCTZ has been the "magic bullet". Last summer I had an experience with gout-like pain: it's the thiazide; I also had a scary experience with a collapse at the gym. Beware moderate to heavy exercise: excessive perspiration creates a dangerous situation with HCTZ leading to preventricular contractions and seizure-like ...

Most voted negative review

7 People found this comment helpful

I have been reading all comments regarding this medicine and I'm TRULY SCARED to start taking this meds which were prescribed to me one day ago. None of the reviewers mention to say wheather they reported their negative side effects to the FDA. IT IS THE ONLY WAY THIS MEDICINE IS GOING TO BE TAKEN OFF THE MARKET AND STOP BEING PRESCRIBED. ITS GOOD TO SHARE THIS INFO WITH THE PUBLIC, BUT YOU MUST ...

Shared reviews and ratings

cdh | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
6/23/2022
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on Hydrochlorothiazide for one year with zero side effects and it keeps my bp at an even 120 over 80. Spent 2 years suffering through 4 other pills that made my life miserable. Lisinapril gave me constant coughing, losartan did not lower my bp, verapamil put my large intestine to sleep, and metoprolol made me so dizzy with crying jags. Finally found one that works and does not ruin my days. Really happy about that.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years |
4/19/2022
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Took this medication for hbp, I also take Irbesratan. After about a year, I started urinating blood. Turns out this medication was aggravating my bladder stones, which had never given me any problems. I also experience foggy head, blurred vision, slurred speech, poor memory. I am off this crap for about a week and I am back to normal. Will never take it again!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Pat | 65-74 | Female | Patient
4/18/2022
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I take Benaepril/hctz20/25 along with Hydrochlorthiazide 25 The druggist has cautioned me on it. Yet My doctor and my heart doctor say it's a good combination for me. I have complained about it to my doctor and she said take it just three days a week. Instead of every day. I have started doing that and it seems to help with no side effects. I also take a OTC Potassium 99mg on those days. If I don't take it my BP does seem to go higher on those days.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Chuck Ayers | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month |
2/25/2022
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Well doctor started me on this yesterday now I'm weary of taking medicines but took it at 11.30 am doctor didn't mention not to drink alot of water well this did not reduce my Bp number 2 I noticed my heart rate was beating over 100 finally after about 5 or 6 hours my heart rate came back down there has to be a natural way to get your bp down without taking these drugs I am a worry wort but will never take this again God is

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Uhmanduh | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/23/2022
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I only took this for a week but after a couple days I got stomach cramps, fatigue, felt almost depressed. I stopped taking it. Everyday I felt worse

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Other | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
2/3/2022
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have high blood pressure despite having a diet low in fat and sodium. This medicine is the only that works as the cause for my high blood pressure was extreme fluid retention. Within days and frequent annoying trips to the washroom my blood pressure dropped to normal. THIS IS THE ONLY MEDICINE THAT DROPPED MY BLOOD PRESSURE. I have had the side effects before and one thing that isn't discussed is that you have to keep hydrated and have a potassium rich diet. This medicine works by USING POTASSIUM in your body to make you urinate and you get the side effects from not having enough potassium in your body. So to anyone who is scared of the side effects: eat potatoes, bananas and other potassium rich foods... and drink water! Avoid dehydration and hypokalemia.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Christy | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/8/2021
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

4 days into this drug and I'm having severe stomach pains and dry mouth. Waiting to hear back from dr. to see what to do.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mazza | 65-74 | Female | Patient
5/21/2021
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My legs filled with fluid ,my eyes burned for weeks I even went to optometrist to have eyes checked.I had burning when passing urine little did I know it was causing mucous membrane inflammation.I had a squamous cell & basal cell carcinomas on my face that had been removed & grafted.One week later there were blistering around grafted areas .I believe I should have never been prescribed this drug.I tried to tolerate all nerve symptoms that were occurring as I was desperate to decrease my blood pressure which it didn’t do .I had a fine pin point rash all over abdomen which I know as a nurse it was interfering with my blood.I asked to pharmacists should I continue as my Dr was away & they both said discontinue.3 mths later I had a purple pink lesion come up on my forearm.Biopsied & another SCC .So my question as a health professional why do drugs have carcinogenic substances in them ? No wonder cancer is so prevalent.I’m not out of the woods yet being investigated for ? Uterine ,ovarian & bowel cancer. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Pat | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/16/2021
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Just started taking this since my blood pressure has been 190/110 lately, and this is while I'm on atenolol and lisinopril. The hydrochlorothiazide brought my bp down within a matter of hours, and it stays down pretty much until the next morning where it's on the high side, but goes back down after I take my meds.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Maria | 45-54 | Female | Patient
4/25/2021
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking this medicine for 7 days my blood pressure been good with no side effects

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Donna | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/9/2020
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

terrible medication. stopped using it after 5 days: migraine in left eye lasted 13 hours plus stabbing pain in my right leg.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Cool Water | 65-74 | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
9/15/2020
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have taken this drug for a very long time and have never had a problem or experienced any side effects. Gjh7z3

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mscarter09 | 35-44 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/5/2020
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Iâ??ve been on this pill for 4 days and havenâ??t noticed a significant change in bp. Take a 25 mg tablet a day and have been having constant headaches, dizziness, pressure on chest and lost of appetite! What should I do?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/23/2020
Condition: Prevention of Calcium-Containing Kidney Stones
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Took only 12.5 mg per day for prevention kidney stones. I have tendency for low normal BP. After only 15 days wasnâ??t feeling good and BP was averaging 86/53. My pulse which while resting runs 60-63 was running 56-60 . Called Dr and they took me off med. So be extra careful if your BP has tendency to be on the lower end of normal. I up my sodium intake ( already was drinking 64-80 oz H2O / day) and felt better. Disappointed!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jeh | 75 or over | On medication for less than 1 month |
1/11/2020
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on this drug 2 days. I has knocked my blood pressure down to 90/80. Can't get out of my chair. Dizzy and no energy and heart rate about 83 which is not normal for me (72-78 normally). This drug is not going to work. Tried Clononide before and was about the same. I take this drug along with Olemasartan BP 40 mg. I don't tolerate BP medicine well. None of it works for me, but, I feel this drug is not going to make it with me. Read most of the reviews and they are not good.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
12/31/2019
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

54 year old female with difficult to treat hypertension. 25mg HCTZ added to 80mg Micardis and 5mg Norvasc. My BP was never better ! 115/60! About 8 months in I started having extreme thirst and debilitating muscle soreness in my back and neck, my muscles in my legs were so weak I thought they would give out. I attributed the libido absence to menopause. DC’d the drug, went up on the Norvasc and I now have my life back.This drug was not for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lumpy | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
9/10/2019
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had existing seborrhic keratosis start growing thicker, and three squamous skin cancers that needed surgery, and smaller spots that needed burning. Stopped taking this drug and the skin problems stopped. Studies show it causes skin sensitisation linked to skin cancer.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | Patient
7/31/2019
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Worked great for six months then out of the blue I started to get very sick. I was dizzy all the time and felt like I was having a stroke. I started to experience severe facial tingling and felt spaced out. It took three ER trips before I realized it was this medicine. I went off and the issues disappeared. Thinking it was a fluke I tried the medicine again and the symptoms returned on the second day so I am done taking this.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MasterGraphicsPat | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
4/29/2019
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This drug is cheap. It is effective. It has been proven by decades of use. Since it is totally off-patent, no drug company promotes it. But is is proven. Yeah, you gotta pee more. That is the cost of not carrying excess water

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/1/2019
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

All I can say is that my body has not felt normal since i started this medication prescribed through the emergency room. I�m up all night, I use restroom more frequently, dehydration, and heart beat feels irregular. Not taking this medication anymore. I rather change my lifestyle habits, the best way to go !

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More