Show ratings & reviews for

3.3 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

57 People found this comment helpful

I have taken HCTZ 25mg for about 20 years in addition to other Rx for High BP. HCTZ has been the "magic bullet". Last summer I had an experience with gout-like pain: it's the thiazide; I also had a scary experience with a collapse at the gym. Beware moderate to heavy exercise: excessive perspiration creates a dangerous situation with HCTZ leading to preventricular contractions and seizure-like ...

Most voted negative review

7 People found this comment helpful

I have been reading all comments regarding this medicine and I'm TRULY SCARED to start taking this meds which were prescribed to me one day ago. None of the reviewers mention to say wheather they reported their negative side effects to the FDA. IT IS THE ONLY WAY THIS MEDICINE IS GOING TO BE TAKEN OFF THE MARKET AND STOP BEING PRESCRIBED. ITS GOOD TO SHARE THIS INFO WITH THE PUBLIC, BUT YOU MUST ...

Shared reviews and ratings

Dmhpkh | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
11/8/2022
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Overtime my lab results have showed a steady decline in my sodium level. I drink lots of water per day. Recently my sodium level dropped to 123. Changing to Losartan without HCTZ!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
10/19/2022
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This drug was prescribed for me years ago along with potassium and advice to stay hydrated. I also take Lisinopril now that I am in my 70's. Never have I had any problems associated with these drugs; they have proven very effective at managing blood pressure and fluid build up in my ears for which the HCL was originally prescribed many years ago. either interacts with other prescription meds that I am taking.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
India | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/9/2022
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i’m a 23 year old female and my pcp prescribed me this medication because i had high blood pressure at the hospital and in her office when i first started this medication i was weak, dizzy, lightheaded, i had a loss of appetite and i slept constantly i’ve been on hctz for a few weeks now and still having the same issues, i’ve contacted my pcp multiple times about this medication and she’s trying to put me on something that has worse symptoms then this one does, at this point i don’t know what to doRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kay | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/24/2022
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been taking this medicine *12.5 mg daily tablet) less than 3 months. In the last several days, I started developing a burning intense pain in my left breast. I feel lethargic and have a dry mouth all the time. I also have a hacking cough that worsens after I eat or drink anything. I never attributed it to the drug until I started to read reviews today about coughing as a side effect. Has anyone else experienced any of these symptoms? I'm going to discontinue and call my physician as these side effects are becoming more troubling each day.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Frederick | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
9/24/2022
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking this along with Losartan and they have kept my blood pressure in a normal range for over one year. I have had no side effects. (66 yr old male)

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Shelld | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/13/2022
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I recently was diagnosed with hbp. My Dr. gave me Hydrochlorothiazide and after 3 days I took myself off of it. I had stomach pains and queasyness, even if I ate something it was painful. I lost 4 lbs in 3 days from not eating right. I was nauseated and felt sick all day and night. Then I began a gas problem and this was embarrassing. To top it all off I was getting constipated. Never again will I take this med! Now I have been prescribed a new hbp med. Honestly, I read the side effects and am scared of that one too! I guess I have to try it but if it gives me one problem, I will take myself off it.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Caroline | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
8/22/2022
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’m been on this medication for years. I started noticing dark patch on the sides of my neck inching burning and other dark spots on my body I went to the dermatologist and with one look she told me it hydrochlorothiazide and women over 60 Should not be taking this med ? I’m 65 I went to my primary md he try to Look it up but could not find anything so rudely he criticized her stating she’s a Dermatologist I said omg why would you say that she a MD, he said continue with this medication. I refuse and stopped I feel so much better the dark spot are fading slowly slowly no more dizziness no heart palpitations no more rashes on my neck, now to find another md who doesn’t insult another md. I do check my BP regularly PS. This dermatologist said if I needed any cosmetic procedures she would not do them because of this medication because how we heal dark scaring it does matter on the color of the complexion. Wow Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ray | 35-44 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/10/2022
Condition: Visible Water Retention
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Took this medication to stop the edema that amlodipine gave me DIZZY ALL DAY CANT DRIVE HIGH ANXIETY NUMBNESS IN LEGS AND FEET CHEST PAIN FAST HEART RATE MUSCLE CRAMPS VERY CONFUSED AND CANT FOCUS AT ALL THE ENTIRE DAY

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
VancouverDavid | 75 or over | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/6/2022
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have borderline HBP (130/70), worse when I go to the doctor (white cost hypertension). On 12.5 mg of this med, my BP dropped within two hours to 110/60. Unfortuntately, it also caused dizziness, nausea and a screaming noise in my ears (tinnitus). I've had the same reaction to other BP meds. A case of the cure being worse than the disease?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/2/2022
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My doctor put me on this medication to take with amlodipine for high blood pressure. I didn’t really have any negative side effects right away. I started it about a month and a half after having Covid, so I didn’t realize my not being able to taste was due to the hydroclorothiazide. After 6 months of no taste I finally realized it could be the medication. I thought it was a Covid symptom. Went off the medication and my taste buds came back. Happy to be back to normal!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
cdh | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
6/23/2022
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on Hydrochlorothiazide for one year with zero side effects and it keeps my bp at an even 120 over 80. Spent 2 years suffering through 4 other pills that made my life miserable. Lisinapril gave me constant coughing, losartan did not lower my bp, verapamil put my large intestine to sleep, and metoprolol made me so dizzy with crying jags. Finally found one that works and does not ruin my days. Really happy about that.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years |
4/19/2022
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Took this medication for hbp, I also take Irbesratan. After about a year, I started urinating blood. Turns out this medication was aggravating my bladder stones, which had never given me any problems. I also experience foggy head, blurred vision, slurred speech, poor memory. I am off this crap for about a week and I am back to normal. Will never take it again!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Pat | 65-74 | Female | Patient
4/18/2022
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I take Benaepril/hctz20/25 along with Hydrochlorthiazide 25 The druggist has cautioned me on it. Yet My doctor and my heart doctor say it's a good combination for me. I have complained about it to my doctor and she said take it just three days a week. Instead of every day. I have started doing that and it seems to help with no side effects. I also take a OTC Potassium 99mg on those days. If I don't take it my BP does seem to go higher on those days.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Chuck Ayers | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month |
2/25/2022
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Well doctor started me on this yesterday now I'm weary of taking medicines but took it at 11.30 am doctor didn't mention not to drink alot of water well this did not reduce my Bp number 2 I noticed my heart rate was beating over 100 finally after about 5 or 6 hours my heart rate came back down there has to be a natural way to get your bp down without taking these drugs I am a worry wort but will never take this again God is

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Uhmanduh | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/23/2022
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I only took this for a week but after a couple days I got stomach cramps, fatigue, felt almost depressed. I stopped taking it. Everyday I felt worse

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Other | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
2/3/2022
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have high blood pressure despite having a diet low in fat and sodium. This medicine is the only that works as the cause for my high blood pressure was extreme fluid retention. Within days and frequent annoying trips to the washroom my blood pressure dropped to normal. THIS IS THE ONLY MEDICINE THAT DROPPED MY BLOOD PRESSURE. I have had the side effects before and one thing that isn't discussed is that you have to keep hydrated and have a potassium rich diet. This medicine works by USING POTASSIUM in your body to make you urinate and you get the side effects from not having enough potassium in your body. So to anyone who is scared of the side effects: eat potatoes, bananas and other potassium rich foods... and drink water! Avoid dehydration and hypokalemia.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Christy | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/8/2021
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

4 days into this drug and I'm having severe stomach pains and dry mouth. Waiting to hear back from dr. to see what to do.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mazza | 65-74 | Female | Patient
5/21/2021
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My legs filled with fluid ,my eyes burned for weeks I even went to optometrist to have eyes checked.I had burning when passing urine little did I know it was causing mucous membrane inflammation.I had a squamous cell & basal cell carcinomas on my face that had been removed & grafted.One week later there were blistering around grafted areas .I believe I should have never been prescribed this drug.I tried to tolerate all nerve symptoms that were occurring as I was desperate to decrease my blood pressure which it didn’t do .I had a fine pin point rash all over abdomen which I know as a nurse it was interfering with my blood.I asked to pharmacists should I continue as my Dr was away & they both said discontinue.3 mths later I had a purple pink lesion come up on my forearm.Biopsied & another SCC .So my question as a health professional why do drugs have carcinogenic substances in them ? No wonder cancer is so prevalent.I’m not out of the woods yet being investigated for ? Uterine ,ovarian & bowel cancer. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Pat | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/16/2021
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Just started taking this since my blood pressure has been 190/110 lately, and this is while I'm on atenolol and lisinopril. The hydrochlorothiazide brought my bp down within a matter of hours, and it stays down pretty much until the next morning where it's on the high side, but goes back down after I take my meds.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Maria | 45-54 | Female | Patient
4/25/2021
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking this medicine for 7 days my blood pressure been good with no side effects

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More