Show ratings & reviews for

3.5 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

13 People found this comment helpful

These reviews are depressing! While in college a friend recommended Loestrin to me and I've been on its generic ever since, over 10 years now. I had a child in 2005 and continued Microgestin awhile after that. I've been completely satisfied with the product. No weight gain or spotting, no extraordinary moodiness or nausea, very little cramps if I've been exercising and eating right, and my libi...

Most voted negative review

7 People found this comment helpful

My ob/gyn put me on this medication after taking out my IUD (mirena). I had the mirena for about 6 years and the last couple of years were pretty bad. So, I decided to change birth control method, so I got the Microgestin FE 1.5/30 prescribed. I thought it was gonna help with the acne and loss of sex drive that the mirena started causing those last couple of years, but since I have been on this pi...

Shared reviews and ratings

User789900 | 13-18 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/5/2018
Condition: Abnormally Long or Heavy Periods
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This has been the worst birth control Iâ??ve ever taken. My mood has just been sad all the time; I feel like Iâ??m walking around with an umbrella over my head all the time and I have been so anxious and moody. I have also had horrible stomach cramping.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ashley | 25-34 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
4/21/2018
Condition: Abnormally Long or Heavy Periods
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is the only birth control that has helped me with my periods. Since I was a teen my periods were super heavy and lasted a good week. I had horrible cramps throughout the entire time. I was skeptical at first as to how these would work for me but they have been a lifesaver. I have been taking these pills for approximately 8 months now. I could not live without these. From the very first month of taking these pills there was a drastic change. My periods were WAY less heavy. Every month has been better and better. Last month my period was non existent. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Caregiver
12/22/2017
Condition: Abnormally Long or Heavy Periods
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is the worst birth control ever. My daughter has been on it for 6 months and is having horrible mood swings. Either she is so sad she doesn't want to get out of bed or she is mad at the world. Having her Dr change it immediately.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Cora | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/13/2017
Condition: Abnormally Long or Heavy Periods
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been really sad ever since I started taking this. I've been breaking out which I normally do not. And I have been eating more as well. I started spotting a lot and just felt so tired all day long. This pill makes you feel insane. Do not take it. I do not recommend it at all.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anom | 13-18 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/11/2017
Condition: Endometriosis
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

First, the most important thing to remember with birth control is that you have to stay on it for a few months until you really know how it will affect you. Everyone responds differently! I have been on it for 6 months now and it has been good. I had nausea here and there for the first month, which can be expected, but it wasn't horrible. My periods got lighter, and I have no cramps what so ever during my period or before. I also noticed I had less mood swings. I don't have sex, but it has not stopped me from wanting it/changed my libido. I have endometriosis, IC (sensitive bladder), and possibly IBS. At first it seemed like it made my IBS worse, but I really have to watch what eat. Birth control, because it is changing your hormones, can effect your digestive system because it can change some of the enzymes you use to digest. Overall, it has been pretty good. It has also helped clear up my skin! Many people blame birth control for mood swings or loss of sex drive, but they really must also look at their circumstances in life. You can also easily trick your brain/body. If you tell yourself something, most likely it will come true. You just have to try it for yourself to see if it fits you. Everyone is different.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
1/8/2017
Condition: Painful Periods
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on this pill for a bout a year and a half and I have had the worst mood swings, breakthrough bleeding, headaches, slight weight gain, and signs of depression. I cannot wait to get off it and find another method that will not make me feel so awful. Also occasional pregnancy scares due to the lower effectiveness of the pill in general and irregular bleeding have been very unpleasant.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/11/2016
Condition: Abnormally Long or Heavy Periods
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I nearly died, landed in the ICU with Massive bilateral pulmunary embolisms after taking this medication for 2 WEEKS, thats all, just 2 weeks. i had tests ran afterwards to be sure i did not have a clotting disorder and it was confirmed that it was from the medication.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Dani | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/10/2016
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The day I picked it up from the pharmacy I went on the internet and did my research on it. I read a lot of bad things and not enough good things, which made me a bit nervous but I still decided to start the pack. Everybody is different and every single person reacts to drugs differently. I went in with an open mind but recording everything I felt and every single changed I noticed. The first day I felt a bit of nausea but not strong enough for it to be prominent during the day. Other than that, no headaches or sick feeling. I didn’t feel any harsh or strong cramps. I usually eat very healthy and I control my portions and the amount of times I eat during the day. I noticed that after starting birth control I ate more and less healthier. I have also noticed that instead of clearing my skin, I have been breaking out. The break outs are not extreme but they are more prominent than usual. I tend to break out a bit when I am on my period never in between periods, but I have been breaking out. I also never break out on my forehead but since taking Microgestin, three zits on my forehead. But the biggest thing for me and what worries me the most is not the breakouts or the weight gain. The biggest thing is my mood. I noticed that I’ve been feeling sad ever since starting the pill. This melancholic feeling takes over me out of nowhere. I am going to continue taking this for one more week, I want to see if this is just my body reacting to the hormonal changes. If in a week it gets worst, I am definitely talking to my doctor and changing the pill. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Gypsy72 | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
4/7/2016
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Considering I got pregnant while on this pill i would not recommend it!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
olivia | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/29/2016
Condition: Painful Periods
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Although I only tried this birth control for one cycle, I could not continue taking it. It made me incredibly moody and depressed, despite being a usually very happy person. My boobs did grow a little in the short amount of time from taking it, but I noticed no weight gain which is a plus. Overall, I did NOT like it, and my depression symptoms went away only two days after stopping the pill.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
12/24/2015
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been on this pill for over two years and it's worked well for me. Only complaint I have is that my periods are heavier towards the end of the placebo pills. Overall It does the job.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jennytay92 | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/1/2015
Condition: Absence of Menstrual Periods
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was recently diagnosed with PCOS. I have every symptom which includes severe acne and lack of period. I went almost two years with no period. Sounds like a dream right? My OBGYN put me on metformin and microgestin and two weeks in i started my period hardcore and it lasted 7 days exactly. Every month I start early but its been four months and every month i get closer to starting on the day its due. I dont think I had side effects with this pill. I started metformin at the same time which includes nausea and diarrhea. I had those for the first month so I don't if that was metformin or the birth control. I do have vaginal dryness pretty much every day. Even during sex which is kind of embarrassing. This pill however has very much helped my skin. My acne on my face and back have cleared up at least 50% and pores on my nose and forehead are smaller. Ill probably stay on this pill until i decide to have children. Its done wonders for me! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lily | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
10/10/2015
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was on this pill for almost six months. Every month was progressively worse around the week before my period. It got so bad that I was completely debilitated with anxiety and depression. After stopping my use of the pill I still felt the effects of anxiety. So bad that I am now on anti anxiety pills to help me function. THIS IS NOT a good pill for any one who may be prone to anxiety. STAY AWAY.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
7/14/2015
Condition: Abnormally Long or Heavy Periods
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been on this medication for almost 8 years now, and it's wonderful. I have yet to use it as a birth control, but it controls my periods wonderfully.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jalm337 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/27/2015
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My ob/gyn put me on this medication after taking out my IUD (mirena). I had the mirena for about 6 years and the last couple of years were pretty bad. So, I decided to change birth control method, so I got the Microgestin FE 1.5/30 prescribed. I thought it was gonna help with the acne and loss of sex drive that the mirena started causing those last couple of years, but since I have been on this pill I feel tired all the time, almost as if I could sleep all day long, no sex drive whatsoever, even if I want I don't have the energy to anything with my husband. I really don't know if it's the pill or residual side effects from the IUD. I am giving it one more month, but if it continues like this, I'll know it's the pill and I'll be done with it. I hate being tired all the time and not wanting sex.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kkmp5 | 13-18 | Female | Patient
11/6/2014
Condition: Abnormally Long or Heavy Periods
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've always had some acne, but this birthcontrol made my skin TERRIBLE. I broke out so bad with tiny little bumps all over my face and I also got a good amount if big red pimples. Not only that, but I started taking this BC to help with my heavy two week long periods, but once I started taking this my periods became insanely heavy and remained two weeks long. I was GUSHING blood all the time and a lot of my underwear and pants have blood stains now because my period just overflowed so soon. Somedays it was so bad I would change my pad or tampon and withing 40 minutes it would be overflowing and completely full. Also I have been very sad a lot if the time, but I'm not sure if that is the pill or a seasonal thing. I definitely did not like this pill and I switched to zarah. Hopefully I will have better results. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
8/18/2014
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have used this for years and have never had any problems.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | Female | Patient
8/13/2014
Condition: Painful Periods
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Heck no. I was prescribed this to lighten my periods and help with the horrible cramping I have had over the years. This medication has turned my world upside down. I bloated like crazy, gaining 6lbs in a matter of 3 weeks. My body kept trying to start my period, which meant 3 weeks of cramps, depressed mood, grumpiness, etc. Finally, I started my period and it has gone nonstop for 7 days when usually I only bleed for 3 days. The ONLY good thing I am taking from this experience is that I need iron pills. Which I am having my doctor prescribe. Other than that, I am stopping this pill and would rather put up with the awful cramps!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
JERZYGRL | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
8/12/2014
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I BEEN ON MICROGESTIN ALMOST 3YRS NEVER HAD A ISSUE I RECCOMEND THIS TO ANYBODY

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/6/2014
Condition: Abnormally Long or Heavy Periods
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking Microgestin for 3 months and it is the first birth control I have ever been on. I am 5'2 about 125 lbs and I absolutely cannot stand this birth control. My breasts hurt without me even touching them; They have swollen and my clothes are tight even though that is the only part of my body that has gotten larger. I have random headaches and I get very VERY moody and short with people, even though I am normally quiet and patient. I hate how this medicine has changed me and even made my acne much worse than before I started it. I used to experience a lot of random spotting as well. Overall, I dread taking this every night. I am trying to switch to another bc in order to limit some of these side effects.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More