Show ratings & reviews for

2.4 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

1 People found this comment helpful

I was given injections to prevent miscarriage. Even though I gave birth at 7mos. I am thankful for this medication and the fact that I was able to have a healthy child even though he was still premature. He is now 33yrs. old this month.

Most voted negative review

2 People found this comment helpful

I have had 17 miscarages before my first child.In 1975 my ob gave me weekly injections of this drug, to prevent me from miscarrying this child. He did this well into my 8 th month. My child was born with respitory distress so bad she almost died. My doctor after giving me this drug said it could cause my child to be born with both sex organs. He failed to tell me the side affects of the drug befor...

Shared reviews and ratings

PatriciaASheek | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
5/17/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was given Delalutin at 37 weeks pregnancy to stop false labor in 1975. I was working as a nurse assistant in an OB/GYN office on my feet all day putting up patients. I never should have been given the drug, I didn't ask for it, and my baby would have been born healthy even if I had had her that day at 37 weeks. This doctor was just "drug happy", but I worked for him so I felt obligated to take the drug rather than butt heads with him. Two days later there was no heartbeat. The drug was supposed to relax my uterus, but it had also relaxed my baby's heart. I carried for 2 more weeks, knowing the baby was dead, before delivering her stillborn. The next year another nurse assistant in the same OB/GYN office was given Delalutin by the same doctor, also in her last month of pregnancy. Her baby also was stillborn. I told the doctor's (there were 4 doctor's in the office, that I wanted the drug taken off the market so no body else's baby would be harmed by this drug. The drug was taken off the market and the PDR (Physician's Desk Reference for medications) STATED that the reason it was taken off the market was because of the high risk of stillborns. Several years later I had had 3 healthy children, had acquired an RN license and was working in another OB/GYN office. At that office a patient with a history of miscarriages came in and the doctor ordered Delalutin. I was floored because I knew it had been taken off the market. Come to find out, it was taken off the market for two years, which is the statute of limitations for lawsuit, and then it was put back on the market. I even read an account on Google where people had asked about why Delalutin had been taken off the market and the reply was that there had been no bad reviews or complaints about the drugs when they took it off the market and they brought it back because there was such a high demand for it. I wrote a blistering reply and it was ignored and deleted. Now I'm reading about all these other patients who had bad experiences with this drug. Drug companies don't care how many people are hurt by their drugs as long as they are making money.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
sharon | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/1/2017
Condition: Risk Reduction for Recurrent Preterm Birth
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

was given delalutin in july 1975 for bleeding in my second month of pregnancy, son was born full term with pulmonic valve stenosis, had open heart surgery and died at four weeks old

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
FinnFam | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/25/2013
Condition: Risk Reduction for Recurrent Preterm Birth
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was given injections between 16-35 weeks of pregnancy.. I had a healthy baby girl at 37 weeks, before I had my son at 29 weeks.. I had no side effects.. I just began injections yesterday for my current pregnancy, and I am having some side effects already..

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Caregiver
10/24/2012
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Was given this drug in 1977 for prevention of miscarriage. Son was born with multiple abnormalities. Heart and Brain. My son died two years ago...deaf, wheelchair, no swallowing relfex, horseshoe shaped kidney, heart defect (2 open heart surgeries). All thought to be adverse effects of this drug. It was pulled off the market in 1977. Can't believe its back on

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
pat50 | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/18/2011
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was given injections to prevent miscarriage. Even though I gave birth at 7mos. I am thankful for this medication and the fact that I was able to have a healthy child even though he was still premature. He is now 33yrs. old this month.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ceyawinyan | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/14/2010
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had 17 miscarages before my first child.In 1975 my ob gave me weekly injections of this drug, to prevent me from miscarrying this child. He did this well into my 8 th month. My child was born with respitory distress so bad she almost died. My doctor after giving me this drug said it could cause my child to be born with both sex organs. He failed to tell me the side affects of the drug before giving it to me. I was one of the unforuntate ones who got this drug before they took it off the market. I hate the drug, my daughter has had nothing but health problems since she was born. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ME | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/24/2009
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
psheek | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/17/2007
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was 37 weeks pregnant in 1975 when I was given Delalutin IM for false labor. I was VERY hesitant about taking the shot as I was not in any pain and I had been very careful with diet and had taken no drugs during the entire pregnancy. Two days later there was no heartbeat. Two weeks later I delivered a stillborn. The cord was not around her neck and she had no evidence of abnormality. She was fully formed and I am fully convinced that the drug relaxed her heart. The next year the same doctor gave another patient in her last month the same injection. Her baby also died-stillborn. The drug company took Delalutin off the market for 2 years-the statute of limitations against lawsuit-then put it back on the market with the stipulation in the PDR that it not be given at any stage of pregnancy. It was ONLY used by obstetricians and ONLY for the purpose of relaxing the uterus to stop labor at that time. They KNEW it would still be used for that purpose and they didn't care because they were making money. In 1993, as an RN, I was ordered to give Delalutin to a pregnant woman and I refused.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More