Show ratings & reviews for

3.2 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

28 People found this comment helpful

The painful sinus headaches vanished. My sleep pattern was greatly improved (haven't slept well for years) and I was able to get 7 to 8 hours of solid sleep after several months of on and off taking it. MY COMPLAINT: After $1200 of doctor bills and tests I discovered my extreme knee pain was from taking this. My knees burned under the knee cap and felt very swollen inside, very painful just to wal...

Most voted negative review

6 People found this comment helpful

My hair used be be thick and curly and after 5 months of use it became thin, brittle and extremely straight and limp.

Shared reviews and ratings

Nick | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/26/2022
Condition: Inflammation of the Nose due to an Allergy
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

You have to be a safe cracker to open each of the tablet enclosures. At 67 years old I don't have enough time left in my entire life to struggle 14 times in an attempt to open ONE 1/4 inch pill. I'm moving to an alternate product.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
a | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/24/2022
Condition: Stuffy Nose
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

within an hour after taking this, I started to have formication/ paresthesia on my nose. it has been more than 12 hours and I’m still having crawling sensation on my nose. I couldn’t sleep well, still having dry mouth, and have been feeling anxiety and nervousness. as I’m typing this, i’m still having that annoying sensation on my nose. hoping it will fade away asap. PLEASE THINK TWICE BEFORE TAKING THIS. zyrtec did not make me have all these side effects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Weight Gain | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/3/2021
Condition: Persistent Hives of Unknown Cause
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Sudden episode of hives - cause unknown (so far...). Gave the combination of Claritin and Pepcid a spin along with limiting high histamine foods. Seemed to do the job OK, but noticed no matter what I did, I was gaining weight. This is new for me. I've kept up cardio and strength training for decades - so I'm no slacker. And I'm vegan. But with this drug ---- GRRRRR! --- I put on 9 pounds in 2 months! If you're a recovered anorexic like me, Claritin may be a nightmare for you. Pepcid seems to be controlling the hives fairly decently and does not have the side effect of weight gain. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 7-12 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Caregiver
6/2/2021
Condition: Allergic Conjunctivitis
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Manufacturers should be informed that persons with allergies need to know this has milk ingredients!!!! Should be labeled as food is. I have a daughter who is deathly allergic to milk in any form. I am angry to find the medication I give her is making her sick and this is why!!! Beware medication is not under strict regulations but I guess we knew that already!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bess | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/25/2021
Condition: Stuffy Nose
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started feeling lightheaded.....woozy, my stomach was upset. And now that I see these reviews, I'm convinced it's the Claritin. I've only taken 2 or 3, the remainder going in the trash.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/29/2020
Condition: Stuffy Nose
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been taking Claritin 10mg every 24 hours, for the past couple of weeks now. I have allergies, the first few days i felt i could breath, but now I'm still stuffy with nothing to blow out. My concern is, ive always had migraines but not like i been having them since i stated this medication. Im waking up holding my head in severy pain, that last all day to the point i had to go to the ER. I been also sleeping all day, everyday feeling really tired, when im up. I just decided to look up side affects, cause they told me none should acure, maybe a dry mouth. And reading the reviews, i can say i know my huge migraines and sleeping all day is this medicine. Tonight i stop Claritin, never again! I'd rather deal with my allergies and sinus headaches, and be awake then then being in pain and sleeping all day. I never thought it would be this till now. I never sleep like this, or cry from a migraine.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Cin | 45-54 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/29/2020
Condition: Allergic Conjunctivitis
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was told by my dr to take it for my allergies.I have never had any problems w any other drug but w this it hasnâ??t helped.It even made me feel worse w the side effects.I stopped useing it after 6 days and have been lightheaded and head pain off and on.In my case will never take again.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Willow | 25-34 | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
3/16/2020
Condition: Hives
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My son has joint pain, toes, wrist, leg pain, back pain, itchy all over. Headache stopped but other symptoms continue. Anyone else get over similar symptoms? How long?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Pickles | 55-64 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/20/2020
Condition: Sneezing
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My side effects from this drug started as having weird, dark thoughts and fatigue. Developed into severe knee pain,then on to hip and leg pain,back pain, and finally into all over body muscle pain. I was depressed, irritable and a feeling of malaise. I was about ready to go to the Dr thinking I had something terribly wrong with me as everyday I was feeling worse and worse with new symptoms. After almost a month of taking it everyday I had forgotten it one day. My symptoms had just about disappeared by the following morning. Coincidence, I think not. Started when I started the drug, disappeared when I stopped.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Carpetbagger | 55-64 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/8/2020
Condition: Allergic Conjunctivitis
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started taking Claritin at the start of allergy season (pollen) in Dec 2019. While it has been very effective at relieving my itchy, watery eyes, I have had a persistent sore throat near my right sinus area, as well as a slight cough. I now suspect this is due to the overall drying effect of Claritin, and compounded by my deviated septum, which forces most of my nasal air intake to come from my right nostril. I plan to stop taking Claritin to see if the irritation goes away and consult with my doctor during an upcoming regular appointment.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
awoldt | 7-12 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/3/2019
Condition: Stuffy Nose
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My 8 year old son was prescribed Claritin by his pediatrician for a stuffy nose and nighttime coughing. It worked great at resolving these symptoms, but he became extremely emotionally unstable, with numerous meltdowns each day over little things. He was ranging from sobbing to angrily throwing things. After a month of use, we stopped the Claritin to see if it would make any difference and he was back to normal within a few days. We initially thought the Claritin might have been interacting with a different med my son was taking, so about a year later when he had long since stopped taking it, we tried Claritin again. Once again, the emotional instability returned in a few days and was just as bad as the year prior. We hadnâ??t seen tantrums like this since the previous time heâ??d been on Claritin, and we are adding it to his allergy list. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/26/2019
Condition: Sneezing
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have taken it for two days for seasonal allergies as recommended by my Dr. Two nights of vivid disturbing dreams. I looked up side effects and it does cause vivid disturbing dreams.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Amber W. | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/2/2019
Condition: Allergic Conjunctivitis
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I initially took this medication to prevent my allergic reaction to dust I stir up while cleaning. When it started to work, I had a dramatic decrease in happiness. It was as if my mood was at an all time low. I had no urge to do anything and was unable to laugh and enjoy my day as usual. I was irritable. I was allergy free though. The side effects are too strong for me to keep taking this as a preventative before I clean.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Fred | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/15/2018
Condition: Stuffy Nose
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Works well to relieve allergy symptoms.. however since I started taking it, I realized it gave me extreme daytime drowsiness. I am lucky I did not get dismissed from my job, because it literally takes all my energy to not fall asleep while at work. It was so bad I was researching narcolepsy until I realized the symptoms started exactly when I started taking this drug. Beware.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
diddledeelynn | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
6/14/2016
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've had excess phlegm in my throat due to allergies. Claratin has cleared this up for me almost immediately. When I miss a dose, the phlegm bad again right away.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Gene in Bklyn | 65-74 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/18/2016
Condition: Inflammation of the Nose due to an Allergy
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been using this drug along with Flonase and get no relief from excessive mucus and coughing due to dust mites, dog

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Wade | 25-34 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/23/2016
Condition: Inflammation of the Nose due to an Allergy
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

never had memorable allergies...but moved to a new region and spring pollen was intense. instantly relieved sneezing, itchy throat, watery eyes.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
BobD | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/5/2015
Condition: Stuffy Nose
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I could have gotten better results eating vegetables than this drugs which didn't even slow my runny nose from allergies after a week. No refund from Claritin was forthcoming from contacting them.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
K | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/19/2014
Condition: Inflammation of the Nose due to an Allergy
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am prone to hives anyway but I got them when I took Claritin. However it helped relieve my allergies!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Claritin Withdrawal | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
6/28/2014
Condition: Inflammation of the Nose due to an Allergy
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

No problems related to taking Claritin daily for > 3 years. Allergies were related to dog; dog passed away. Doctor said I could stop taking Claritin. WITHDRAWAL SYMPTOM: excruciating headaches for 5 days, then I developed Bell's Palsy. Anyone else out there have this issue?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More