Show ratings & reviews for

3.6 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

30 People found this comment helpful

I loved, loved, loved this one little pill. I could not believe the mobility and relief it gave me. I started taking in 97. Two years ago my Rhuematologist warned me and mentioned he had taken all his patients off Voltaren and would no longer subscribe for me. He said it was deadly. I didnt buy into his scare tactics. I contined to take through my family doctor saying nothing. Last year I sta...

Most voted negative review

5 People found this comment helpful

right eye swollen and painful

Shared reviews and ratings

Marilyn | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
3/11/2019
Condition: Arthritis
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Made my liver enzymes elevated, had to get off of it

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ANNOYED | 45-54 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/28/2019
Condition: Inflammation of the Tendon
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

DIAGNOSED WITH WRIST TENDONITIS. NO RELIEF FROM SWELLING, THEREFORE NO RELIEF FROM PAIN. IT HAS HOWEVER GIVEN ME SERIOUS STOMACH PAIN! DOING BACK TO DOCTOR FOR A DIFFERENT MED, HOPEFULLY ONE THAT WORKS!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
sunlori | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
8/8/2018
Condition: Rheumatoid Arthritis
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started on this drug in the early 1990s and have had no problems ! Maybe I have an iron stomach but 99% of the time I take it without food. I was on 50mg when I started and soon went up to 100mg of the extended relief pill which worked consistently and constantly. I was and am on methotrexate and embrel and the combination of the three keeps me pain free 99% of the time. When I reached my mid 60s I decided to cut down to 50mgs of voltaren because I read it could start affecting your kidneys as you got older and my rheumy agreed. I still got the same relief. About 2 years ago I cut back to 25mgs and that was still doing the trick. About 3 months ago I started using turmeric and went off the voltaren due to changes in my kidney function tests. I noticed a small increase in morning stiffness and overall discomfort. However my recent blood work showed several unexpected changes which concern me including my sed rate which is higher than it's been for many years. In my mind it's because I stopped the voltaren so I will be discussing this with my rheumy next week. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
rickyjo | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/24/2016
Condition: Inflammation of the Sac Surrounding the Joint - Bursitis
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

have been using meloxicam now for over 3 weeks with no relief in pain at all.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Pete | 55-64 | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
11/19/2016
Condition: Joint Damage causing Pain and Loss of Function
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After years of use and believing that careful monitoring every months would warn me of serious side effects, I was diagnosed with stage III kidney disease.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Dean | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/16/2015
Condition: Inflammation of the Sac Surrounding the Joint - Bursitis
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have a Frozen Shoulder and was taking 800mg of Advil 4 times a day with only limited relief. Voltaren relived 90% of the pain and I could sleep through the night for the first time 4 months. No side affects. Only negative comment is it is prescribed as a 12 hour drug. After approximately 8 hours effects start to wear off.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kat | 45-54 | Female | Patient
3/31/2015
Condition: Arthritis
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Condition: Arthritis in both hips due to Crohn's. I have been taking Voltaren for over three years. Most days it helps GREAT!!! Some days, eh, not so good. LOL - That's because I sometimes over due activities on the days when I am pain-free. Hey, when no pain, you feel more alive and you can now do the things you put off before :-) The only thing I recommend is to take this with food, preferably about 15-20 minutes after, as it can cause stomach upset.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Autumnh | 13-18 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/7/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed this medication and it has been very effective at reducing pain and swelling.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
TOTAL POISON | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/12/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

given for head aches which caused worse problems beyond repair of digestive system.i returned to doc &she doubled the dose causing kidneys liver pancreas bowel permanent life wrecking damage..permanent 24 hr fatigue and brain fog..25 ish yrs ago this happened and i am truly sure the doc knew what had made me sick as the list of side effects known were what i returned to doc complaining about over next few months ..only to be given more voltaren .. DONT USE..READ SIDE EFFECTS TOTALLY they are much worse than a few days resting your injury..REMEMBER TODAYS MEDICINES ARE ABOUT PROFIT NOT OUR HEALTH .. local drug dealers that turn away from the true damage they can do ... Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
sparklebilly | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/11/2014
Condition: Painful Periods
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

WOW I only took this medication 1 time. Almost instantly I was in a semi conscious state. I could hear people talking in the house but unable to open my eyes or talk. It relaxed me to the the point of inmobility. It does work.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
javamamaqp103 | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/11/2014
Condition: Arthritis
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Had to discontinue use due to swelling in feet and ankles.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Nic | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/13/2014
Condition: Arthritis
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have Arthritis really bad in my arms and shoulder enough that it keeps me awake at night with continuous pain. Once I use the voltaren rub treatment, the pain goes away and I go back to sleep right away. I cannot believe the difference it does.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 75 or over | Male | Patient
10/29/2013
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After 3 weeks of use, I found ALT and kidney function numbers out of whack. Stopped use immediately, and 2 weeks later, blood numbers were back to normal. Patrick

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
abita babe | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
10/14/2013
Condition: Rheumatoid Arthritis
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have ra, I had 3 frozen shoulders and had 2 manipulations to unfreeze. this last time new doc put me on voltaren. the 2nd time my shoulder froze up , even with the surgery it took a yr. to thaw. the 3rd time doc put me on the voltaren and within a week it started to thaw. I was SHOCKED AND HE WAS TOO! he said he had never heard of that happening before!! this condition usually takes a yr, even 2 yrs. to thaw out. this is truly a miracle drug. I wish I could have been on it for my other 2 frozen shoulders!! 7 months later my shoulder is permanently inflamed but it does help a tremendous amount and I am able to take 3 or 4 Norco a day instead of the 6. I am 58 and my ra is quickly getting worse in the last 7 months.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ditto | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/2/2013
Condition: Arthritis
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

tennis elbow, hip and lower back pain

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
bella | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/29/2013
Condition: Joint Damage causing Pain and Loss of Function
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I just started taking it my legs hurt every day I hope it works I know I have to give it time

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
DJD | 7-12 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
8/4/2013
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My 12yr old son had foot surgery & was taken this for swelling in his foot. While it was easy to use & helped w/ the swelling & pain, he had a bad allergic reaction to this drug into his 1st week of taken it. He broke out in terrible hives all over his body. After stop taken it the hives went away.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year |
7/29/2013
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took this medication for coastchondrysis.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bill | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
6/22/2013
Condition: Arthritis
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking diclofenac, 75mg twice a day for about 2 years for arthritis in my hip. My pre-op hip replacement lab tests have detected low hemoglobin, which I believe is connected to my use of this drug. The hospitalist is recommending postponing surgery until we fix the anemia. But, if I'm right and discontinue the diclofenac, the pain will be unbearable. Catch-22, huh?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
5/18/2013
Condition: Arthritis
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Have arthritis from head to toes. Have chronic pain. Medication works really fast. But you really need to make sure you do not over use.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More