Show ratings & reviews for

4.4 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

21 People found this comment helpful

I started to use it, and let me tell you I am one of those persons that get really nervous about taking weight control pills. The fist day I guess it was more excitement than anything else but, I felt a little hyper my heart was beating faster than usual. The next day I did not have any symptoms. It is my second refill and I have lost 10 lbs. My cravings that I would usually get are gone. Ove...

Most voted negative review

1 People found this comment helpful

I started taking this medication to lose weight. Unfortunately, my appetite did not decrease at all. Instead, I was anxious and nervous all of the time, my palms were always sweaty, my mood changed drastically. The side effect that bothered me most was the insomnia- I literally didn't sleep for days, and when I did, it wasn't a solid sleep.

Shared reviews and ratings

Heiler | 35-44 | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
4/9/2018
Condition: Overweight
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've tried all available meds for weight loss.. Sibutramine is the only one which consistently lower my hunger and raise my metabolism.. I say "consistently" because I've been on and off it many times and it always work. The only side effects are dry mouth and a bit poundy heart sometimes. It isn't a miracle drug, thought.. You have to do a bit of exercise and try to eat less. Sibutramine will make you feel full with less food. I took it for ~4 years.. stopped and I'm on it again.. Being obese is like having diabetes or high blood pressure, you'll have to be on meds everyday if you wanna keep the hunger away! I really can't understand why the heck it was banned on some countries. If one's health isn't already screwed up, it seems to be a totally SAFE med to use. Maybe big pharma wants everybody to be fat (to sell more diabetes, pressure and cancer meds?)Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Llysa | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months |
7/17/2013
Condition: Overweight
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i lost my weight even though I eat to much!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ems714 | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/26/2011
Condition: Overweight
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

First, let me tell you about myself. I am 5' 3" and I WAS 150 pounds which according to BMI charts, I was considered overweight. I had an immense appetite and didn't exercise much. I had also taken Phentermine in the past and was admitted in the hospital for cardiac arrhythmias and anxiety. After the phentermine experience, I was a little apprehensive about weight loss meds. I retrieved Sibutramine in Mexico by a pharmasict who boasted NO side effects and guaranteed weight loss so I figured I'd give it a shot. I LOVE THIS DRUG. I went from 150 to 135 pounds in 2 weeks. This medication helped me eat smaller portions at mealtimes and decreased my desire for greasy fast food. I did however experience a few very minkr side effects that do not interfere much. After taking this medication, my bowel habits went from 4 a week to about 2 a week, i do experience very minor almost unnoticeable palpitations and in the beginning, i had a few episodes ofinsomnia. Along with cutting the junk food, i stopped eating after 7pm and increased my water intake. I think if you really are looking to lose weight, you should try this medication especially if you don't want the trembly shaky feeling you get with other meds like phentermine or other stimulants. Good luck and hope this helps!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/19/2010
Condition: Overweight
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
G. WALKER | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Caregiver
6/18/2010
Condition: Overweight
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

THIS MEDICATION MAKE ME LOOSE A LOT WEIGHT.BEFORE I TRY EVERYTHING EVEN EXERCISING I WAS FEELING FRUSTRATED,BUT WITH THE SIBUTRAMINE I LOOSE LIKE 50 POUNDS A READY. NOW I HAVE ONE PROBLEM, MAYBE BECAUSE THIS MEDICATION.MY SYMPTOMS ARE :SOMETIMES ONLY, SOME PART OF MY BODY I FEEL LIKE ARE TREBLING,OR SHAKING, OR VERY OFTEN I GET DIZZY,SOMETIMES I DON'T FEEL MY TOES AND MY HANDS ARE VERY COLD. THE PROBLEM IS NOW I DON'T HAVE INSURANCE. I HOPE SOMEBODY CAN HELP ME.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/15/2010
Condition: Overweight
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I love this drug, i have been on it for 19 days and i have lost 15 lbs. It is great. I have had dry mouth and a little bit of dizzyness and tiredness.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
miss30865 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/24/2010
Condition: Overweight
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

today is my first day on this med. i got it in mexico highly recommended by the pharmacist and other people who have used it.... we will see. i do have a funny taste in my mouth and i am thirsty. my vision is a little blurry, but other than that nothing too serious..

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
angienv | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month |
1/10/2010
Condition: Overweight
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

been on it for two weeks lost 8 pounds and am loving it .

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
inthenavy | 19-24 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/5/2009
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have a question regarding this drug. Does anyone know if this drug will make you test positive for amphetamines on a urinalysis? Some other site reviews state this but I cannot find if its true. I am taking it but I will be joining the Navy and do not want to appear like a drug user.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Nena | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/2/2009
Condition: Overweight
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
sweetapple | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/27/2009
Condition: Overweight
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been on alot of diets, but nothing has worked but, this has really worked for me.. I've been on this for 3 months and I've lost 42 pounds and I workout 3 times aweek. I haven't had any side effects. and I'm so proud of myself cause this is something I'm doing for myself and for my health. I've learned that diets don't work. But healthly ,eating does and this is a life choice, eating health everyday.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MELIHDZ | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/22/2009
Condition: Overweight
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been using this medication for about a month now and have lost 10lbs. Of course with a watchful diet and exercies. I a very happy with my results and no longer have the hunger I use to have. I have lost 9 inches around my waist. I feel great, but usually have dry mouth and mild head aches after I work out. Nothing a little water and asprin can't cure.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
NVU | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/8/2009
Condition: Overweight
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Since starting this drug, I've had to visit the ER for extreme dizziness, migranes, and heart palpitations. Felt like I was going to have a heart attack.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Minnie | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/24/2009
Condition: Overweight
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication was giving to me by a Mexican doctor and at first i was a bit scare since previously tried another brand and got severe side effects but since my weight was getting to be on the danger zone I started taking it hoping this time will work. Side effects do change by day. sometimes i have dry mouth and funny taste others, may be hearth palpitations but overall i feel great, I no longer have the cravings i used to have and i already lost 10 pounds in 22 days taking this medication.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Consmo683 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/23/2009
Condition: Overweight
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been using it for 5 weeks now, i'm diabetic, i have high cholesterol, and i was weighting 204 when i started; now i'm down to 186Lbs. I'm only taking 10mg, and i'm fallowing my Dr's instructions, I'm very happy with the results

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Happysocks | 35-44 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/6/2008
Condition: Overweight
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

of course everyone is different and will have different reactions, but for me it has been rgeat. i have not had any side affects. My craving for food has gone away to the point where I forget to eat sometimes, which then I might get a headache which for me is normal if I dont eat. Ultimately it all comes down to determination and will power. No pill will ever be the solution, but it can help.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/25/2008
Condition: Overweight
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started taking this medication to lose weight. Unfortunately, my appetite did not decrease at all. Instead, I was anxious and nervous all of the time, my palms were always sweaty, my mood changed drastically. The side effect that bothered me most was the insomnia- I literally didn't sleep for days, and when I did, it wasn't a solid sleep.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/22/2008
Condition: Overweight
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

one day left side of face was swollen left side of chest hurting.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
1/10/2008
Condition: Overweight
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took Meridia under the advice of my physcian and lost approximately 45 pounds in about 8 months. I also added exercise about 5 days a week. This totally curbed by hunger. My only complaint is that when I stopped taking it, my hunger returned and it is very hard to maintain my current weight now! I am still exercising, but I am hungry all the time!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Razen | 35-44 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/2/2007
Condition: Overweight
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been on Sertraline for more than 8 years and Paroxetine for nearly 1 year.And i've also been through regular exersise since 8 years,3-4 days regularly a week jogging for 5 kilometers in the treadmill.But i can't reduce my weight. I'm 85kg or about 170 pounds for 5'6" hight.But i can't get away from binge eating, i crave for loosing my wieght.I'm planning to starting on with Sibutramine. How helpful and how risky would it be with my above mentioned status, kindly please advise me.Though i've not started with this medication i've put 'overweight' in the select a condition box, marked all the stars and chose to put 'less than 1 month' in the 'Time on Medication ' box only because i couldn't complete without filling these to post, sorry for the inconvinience.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More