Show ratings & reviews for

3.6 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

8 People found this comment helpful

I get frequent upper respiratory infections and when my coughing interupts my sleep this is the only medicine that is effective at stopping the cough and allows me to rest. It starts working in like 15 minutes and allows for a cough-free night. I would suggest taking it during the day for the first time so you know how you will react to it. You MUST take it with at least one full glass of water...

Shared reviews and ratings

grandmar | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/1/2012
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication did not help at all. My pharmacist said it helps some people and others it doesn't help at all. My cough was controlled by something the pharmacist gave me that was OTC but behind the counter.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/21/2012
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had pneumonia with a terrible cough. Every time I fell asleep the coughing would wake me up. This stopped the coughing and wheeziness. Great medication. But, I have a great doctor also. She is the best.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 75 or over | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/28/2012
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/13/2011
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This product did nothing for bronchitis

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
dnlkell | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/28/2011
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i was on this medicine for 8 days had an severe allergic reaction to this medicine. its has been 10 days since my reaction and i still have hives and itching now needing to see an allergist

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/31/2011
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/21/2011
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Does nor work. Cough persisted.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
kmcgraw48 | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/1/2011
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

They really help the tickle uncontrollable coughing attacks. And it helps my lung.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
dillydally | 55-64 | Female | Patient
4/26/2011
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Always eased coughing

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
timidthy | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/7/2011
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had a negative side effect to this drug. Abdominal pain and constipation.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
JPage | 35-44 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/14/2011
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Had been coughing for almost 2 weeks along with a bad head cold. My cough was a dry cough. I saw results in 2 days. I completely stopped coughing after about 4-5 days. Wonderful experience with this medication. Would definitely recommend it to someone with what I had.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
m0lleybr0wn | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/24/2011
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I hace COPD along with one bad lung. I had the flu and took this for the first time. It work like a charm. I'ce been sleeping all night if taking properly. Very easy to swallow and I will use these again if needed. I've had a cough for over 4 years. WORKED GREAT!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/23/2011
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Didn't work for me. Had to go back and get another medication

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
BamaBronchial | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/9/2010
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Had been aggravated for 3-4 weeks with leftover cough from bronchitis. Lortab elixir worked v. good. OTC cough relief medications (eg-theraflu, cough syrups, etc) were only marginally effective and were absolutely vile to take orally. Went back to Lortab elixir, worked v. good. Then back to OTC, not great and just plain nasty. Dr. then prescribed Tessalon as cough was still persisting. May as well have prescribed sugar pills. I believe I could have likely taken the whole dang bottle without any ill effects. Waste of money. Lortab elixir was less $$ and far more effective. I'll never let him prescribe this crap for me again. May work for you, but did absolutely nothing but take my money. Total waste.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/26/2010
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Medication did not effectively treat cough. May have caused mild bronchospasm causing increased coughing epidoses.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
RandiZ | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/4/2010
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had a persistent cough which was getting worse in severity and the number of coughing fits. After 2 weeks during which antibiotics and cough syrup with codine didn't help, my dr. prescribed tessalon bedes. It really helped supress the cough to the point that I could work during the day. It turned out that I had whooping cough which is starting to clear up four weeks later. The only warning I would give is that I had some insanely strange dreams, and i normally don't dream at all.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
just deb | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/15/2010
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ari's Mom | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/17/2010
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It definitely stopped the cough but taking it at night caused me to sleep like the dead and wake up feeling dizzy and queezy. I also had terrifying nightmares and even a feeling of smothered. I also had taken Claritin so maybe the two caused the side effects. I did read that it's not to be taken with an antihistamine, I wish I'd been more careful and not self-medicated the additional Claritin. I should have checked with the pharmicist first. I've only taken two doses and I think I'll go back to the cough syrup. I am going to call the pharmacist…a little proactive too late! Shame on me. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ke' | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/23/2009
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
helpout808 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/2/2009
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

need advice, took the med about 6pm and have been hyper evey since, i also take anxiety meds and took them about 8pm and they usually knock me out, not this time, I feel hyper! those were the only things i took diff today, no other meds. I've taken it before but earlier in the day so I did not notice the hyper effect. but the fact that i took 2 ativan AND a 0.5 xanax and im still wide awake all I can think is this drug made me hyper. can someone let me know if has happend to anyone else?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More