Show ratings & reviews for

3.4 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

40 People found this comment helpful

As a RA patient, my doctor and I looked at many scrips for this disease, didn't like the chance of all the side effects of some, this seemed easy to use with the least amount of side effects. After taking the meds for 3 years, my doctor pronounced me : In Remission : and told me to come back in 6 months. All I heard was the words, In Remission, and then quit taking the meds that day. I went alo...

Most voted negative review

6 People found this comment helpful

Just started today. Hope it works! I read some of the previous comments. Scarey!!!! Hope I don't experience their side effects, especially the hair loss.

Shared reviews and ratings

June | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/10/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

For poly arthritic inflammation. 200 mg day. 10 days in bad face , all over body rash.... Treated with methylprednisolone and stopped hydroxy. Rash stopped, but came back worse 12 hours after last prednisolone pill. Allergic hives all over, and itchy. So taking second 6 day course of methylprednisolone.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ladyling | 65-74 | Female | Patient
2/28/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I find it doing anything for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
5qa8 | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
9/14/2020
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Been on this treatment for 7+ years! No side effects of this drug. It has given me my life back! It is a very safe drug.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Watchcrow | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/22/2020
Condition: Rheumatoid Arthritis
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Caused a severe allergic reaction called Stevens Johnsons Syndrome which resulted in all of my skin to severely blister and peel off. I also had hair loss and nail damage.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ane | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month |
3/29/2020
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Dr. wanted to see if this med would help with poly arthritis symptoms. It didn't. Increased the over all pain in extremities and lower back and hips.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Monique | 55-64 | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
3/21/2020
Condition: Systemic Lupus Erythematosus
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Have been taking 200mg/day for almost 20 years. It took about 3 months to feel the benefit of the medication: reduced inflammation and joint pain, eliminated rashes, reduced fever significantly, overall improved quality of live and no impact on vision so far (vision tested annually).

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/12/2020
Condition: Rheumatoid Arthritis
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My joint & swelling pain has nearly all gone! Been in treatment for 2 months now. Makes my everyday life more manageable

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/21/2019
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been taking this for 4 months and my hair is thinning significantly. I wouldn't have started this had I known this. My eyes are changing and I plan on stopping this

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Nancy | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/22/2019
Condition: Rheumatoid Arthritis
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Started taking this 7 months ago for RA. Swelling in hands has subsided. Stiffness has also subsided. Pain has subsided. Almost don't know I have RA.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Nena | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/18/2018
Condition: Rheumatoid Arthritis
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Constant upset stomach, vomiting, blurred vision, mood changes and also affects my CHF. Have not felkt this bad in a long time.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/30/2018
Condition: Rheumatoid Arthritis
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The only side effect I have experienced is nausea when taking med and during the day. Goes away after about 30-45 minutes.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Rae07 | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/4/2018
Condition: Rheumatoid Arthritis
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Just started today. Hope it works! I read some of the previous comments. Scarey!!!! Hope I don't experience their side effects, especially the hair loss.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tommy | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/11/2018
Condition: Rheumatoid Arthritis
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i have taken Hydroy for 4 months,, i started getting worried about the side effects, got my eyes checked everything was fine, but i stopped it anyway,, several days after i stopped i got hives and itching on my back, then Bursitis in my left elbow and left knee,, i started again at my regular 200mg dose twice a day and will see if the poppy elbow goes away

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Judyvv3xwo | 75 or over | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/7/2017
Condition: Rheumatoid Arthritis
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Got Stevens/Johnson (ten) Syndromecould have been fatel / rash all over my body blisters itching had to use ice pacs to cool body/ was hospitalized got bags of cooling substance/ after blisters went away then my skin peeled off all over body chest/back/legs/ feet eyes also lost about I did get new skin but horrible! 1/2 of my hair had blisters on scalp/ IT WAS THE MOST HORRIBLE THING that ever happened to me/ I was so sick! oh also lost some toenails/ skin peeled off in sheets

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jdcollects | 45-54 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
8/7/2017
Condition: Systemic Lupus Erythematosus
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My doc put me on this for Lupus like symptoms. I have osteoarthritis and fibromyalgia and severe joint pain. I haven't gotten any pain relief. The worst side effect is the hair loss! I had very thick hair but it's now thinner than when I used to thin it plus I'm going bald at my temples!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Terri | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
1/26/2017
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Was prescribed for Sjogren's Syndrome, borderline lupus. now have RA after 6 years on med. I can only tolerate 300mg a day, was told sb taking 400. I am sure it helps, but I can't take anti-inflammatorys or steroids, so get alot of flare ups, pain

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Author | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/15/2017
Condition: Joint Inflammatory Disease in Children and Young Adults
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had the diagnosis of JRA at 11. The pain was disabling for much of my life. Cannot take NSAIDs or aspirin, though I had been put through trials of NSAIDs despite having ulcers, GERD & IBS....even tried gold compound. Was always poor due to disability and pain, so had to depend on Medicaid clinics, etc. Finally got a rhuematologist who wantedme to have Fibromyalgia, when I insisted I did not(no trigger points, no fatigue) and pointed to the native on her wall that assured "adult patients who had JRA will be treated for RA". Placquinel was her compromise. And it seems to be working a little after 3 months. Joint swelling noticeably reduced and my hands don't hurt as much. I am also on Voltaren gel (which smells) but seems to help. So, I am hopeful and optimistic that, even though we don't really have diagnosis, we could get some reduction of pain and symptoms. :)Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
mamaLiz | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/6/2017
Condition: Rheumatoid Arthritis
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Just recently diagnosed with RA. Have been on the med for a few days now and don't notice any changes. I have had periodic head aches and slight dizziness the first time I took it. Doctor said at least 3 months to see a difference. Will keep you posted.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
littgaia | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/4/2017
Condition: Rheumatoid Arthritis
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Within 2 weeks of taking this med. I had a toenail distort severely due to a new arthritic burl, on the joint below it, forcing removal of the nail. Knot reduced as toe healed and no med. taken.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tostig | 45-54 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
6/14/2016
Condition: Systemic Lupus Erythematosus
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have a very sporadic Lupus - only 3 attacks in 12 years. However, each one has been serious (life threatening). Each time, I was put on plaquenil for a year or two. Each time, the drug completely obliterated the problem over a period of a few weeks, and then put me in full remission over a few months. The last attack, my dr told me to stay on plaquenil for life, and I have not had an incident since. For me, this is a life-saving wonder drug that has given me more and better life. I honestly feel I would not be here today without it. I am very fortunate that this simple, first-line drug has 'solved' my Lupus issues; I am all too aware that for many people plaquenil is just a starting point and they must also take more heavy-hitting immunosuppressants. It just depends on the person and the Lupus. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More