Show ratings & reviews for

3.9 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

27 People found this comment helpful

calming, yet drowsy.I take at bedtime to help calm my hypertention. I also have frequent trips to the bathroom at night and this helps me sleep all night. I suffer from Interstitial Cystitis (cronic bladder infections) I weigh 116 lbs and take one pill 25mg .

Most voted negative review

5 People found this comment helpful

Actually, my son was given this med for hives and he almost died from multiple seizures and the hospital staff overdosing him. Now my Dr. prescribed it to me for nausea and it plainly states a side effect is nausea. I think most Dr.s' just don't give a rat's behind.

Shared reviews and ratings

Atarax | 45-54 | Male |
8/27/2021
Condition: Allergic Conjunctivitis
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Ok super

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
rabeaaslamchi | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/5/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

her psychiatric language of abuse that continued after session oft times to muffle my plead for help

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
TiredOfBadMeds | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/2/2021
Condition: Inflammation of the Nose due to an Allergy
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Was given this to help with allergies. Instead it gave me severe wheezing attacks when exercising. I did not have this problem before taking this drug. When I stopped taking it the wheezing attacks stopped. Very dangerous.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
RahuelP | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years |
5/12/2021
Condition: Itching
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
James S | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
9/25/2020
Condition: Itching
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Stopped my itching within 15 minutes only downside made me sleepy

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Chris Miller | 19-24 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/11/2020
Condition: Anxious
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Heavy metal Poisoning from Titanium Dioxide and Iron oxide. Clear correlation. Opadry is a company that big pharma uses for psychiatric meds. Developed schitzophrenia after 1 month of use. Please do you research into PRIMARY (not alternative) natural medicine. Big pharma and commercial agriculture is poisoning the planet. Why take negative side effects from atarax when an herb will be more effective with no side effects. Solution: -Copious amounts of vitamin C (liposomal is best) combined with MSM (2,000mg) -Drink tons of water and exercise to sweat to excrete wastes -Sauna or steam room or sweat toxins -Dr. Christopher’s blood stream formula (first school of natural medicine in the western United States) used to treat for heavy metal poisoning. -Dr. Schulze potent detox herbs -frequent Epsom salt baths in distilled water -Cilantro and Chlorella (very powerful removing heavy metal poisoning) concentrated tincture -Vitamin B12, Vitamin B1, folic acidic. Neuroprotective. Chia seeds, hemp seeds, flax oil, neuro nourishing. -Vitamin C injection if severe -Eat only organic foods, lots of vegetables, fruits. Organic blueberries are high in anti-oxidants. -Eat balance amount of fats. Chia seeds, non-lignan flax oil, hemp seeds are most effective. Fats are very important for brain health. -Drink tons of water. Reverse osmosis or distilled water with trace minerals added, spring water is OK. -Tap water is Southern California is hard and municipal water supply contains toxic chemicals -Culligan charcoal water filter attaches to vitamin C filter (found on amazon) -Ginger, Tumeric with food -Chinese medicine doctor, Naturopathic doctor ND, DO, for herbs.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/18/2019
Condition: Anxious
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
6/1/2018
Condition: Anxious
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I can take just 10 mg and the anxiety is gone within 30 minutes with no bad side effects other than being drowsy.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
insomnia_remedy | 55-64 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/24/2018
Condition: Additional Medication for Calming
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had difficulties falling asleep (not sure why) and could go a few nites with very little sleep. I tried magnesium tablets (for calming effects) but it does not really work. Doc prescribed Atarax (25mg per nite) and it had help me to fall asleep easily and increase the hours of sleep every nite. I had been taking it for up to 4 months without any increase in dosage.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Larry | 25-34 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/18/2017
Condition: Allergic Conjunctivitis
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had massive hay fever for more than a decade which triggered inflammations in my respiratory tract. Even Atarax makes me sleepy it is the only medication which can fight back all symptoms and the inflammation. Unfortunately my health insurance does not cover it (to old) so I'm forced to buy it online. One way to find fair priced medications is: Drugeo.to which I can recommend to anybody.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Debbie W | 55-64 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
11/9/2016
Condition: Itching
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Taken for rash and hives, which also caused severe itching in my eyes. Prescribed by dermatologist who suggested taking at night. 25mg up to 3-4 times a day as needed. Well I only use at night, which help me tremendously with the itch, as well as sleep. It also help me the next day and only had to take it at night again, Rash began to subside the first day and was gone completely in 4 days. I have been diagnosed with dermititis and eczema which have caused outbreaks often. I keep my pills handy.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
moch45 | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
5/17/2016
Condition: Anxious
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
treatment | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/19/2016
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Iw had sleeping problems for over a a year. I fall asleep easely but wake up after about two hours and feel like I don't fall again into deep sleep. After starting taking Atarax I maybe wake up once a night but fall immediately asleep again. I feel a bit drowse when waking up but its worth it for a good night sleep.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
liz | 35-44 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/29/2016
Condition: Inflammation of Skin caused by an Allergy
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was given this medication because I broke in hives all over my legs, I suffer from an autoimmune skin and muscle disorder. it relieved my itching immediately. I took this medication Friday night and have been sleepy for the last 3 days. It has been very hard to keep myself awake. I also feel like I can't get enough food in me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Alp | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/25/2015
Condition: Itching
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I suffer from endometriosis. When my endo got worse I started itching really badly for episodes that would last up to 10 min. My doctor told me to take Atarax when needed only, which so far it's every 6 days. The first time I took it it made me very sleepy, but in a nice calmed way. After that first day I haven't been sleepy drowsy or anything alike.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
TC | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/8/2015
Condition: Anxious
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medicine affected me the opposite, made my anxiety worse and made me feel so weird. My whole body felt like I had icy hot on. It was so scary I couldn't wait for it to pass. It eventually made me fall asleep but didn't stay asleep, and felt like I had a hangover the next morning.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/2/2015
Condition: Inflammation of Skin caused by an Allergy
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

BROKE OUT WITH A RASH, WITH SEVERE ITCHING. DR PRESCRIBED ATARAX GENERIC ALONG WITH A CREAM FOR ITCHING. CREAM HELPED WITH ITCHING - RASH STILL THERE, NOT AS BAD BUT OVER A WEEK OLD. WOULD NOT RECOMMENT.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Gasitch | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
1/6/2015
Condition: Sneezing
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Take it at first sign of sneezing, itching or runny/ stuffy nose. Usually I get a relief within 24-48 hours.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
BarberRus | 45-54 | Male | Patient
12/2/2014
Condition: Anxious
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Very effective calmative and no horrible side effects. People often analogize Atarax with Benadryl (diphenhydramine), because both are sedating anti-histamines. But I find Atarax less 'harsh' than Bendaryl, side effect-wise. Indeed Atarax's chemically a different type of anti-histmamine than diphenhydramine is. The onset of Atarax is rapid too. However I personally wouldn't take Atarax too often as it'd probably lose it's charm. Save for extreme emergencies only. As long as you don't have a huge drug tolerance (e.g., high doses of Xanax, etc., everyday)I think you'll also find Atarax very effective - when it's absolutely needed. I'd imagine that Atarax could be effective for stopping panic attacks too, as well as for very low-level drug withdrawal.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Amanda Paige | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/20/2014
Condition: Hives
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Worked well for hives. Also made me very tired. ended up sleeping about 12 hours.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More