Show ratings & reviews for

2.8 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

36 People found this comment helpful

bacterial skin infection (whole right side of face) ... immediate relief and improvement

Most voted negative review

21 People found this comment helpful

I don't know what everyone is complaining about. You are all just allegic to the stuff, quit bashing it cause your body can't handle it. I have been taking it and other than slight upset stomach and some huge farts it has not given me any bad side effects.

Shared reviews and ratings

Zach | 25-34 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/23/2022
Condition: infection
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Taking it for cellulitis of the arm. No side effects since I've been taking it or they haven't been noticeable.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ms17 | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/18/2022
Condition: Skin Infection
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Best antibiotic experience. I had no side effects except for a smelly pee after finishing the dosage. Took after eating food, which may have helped. This was prescribed due to a toe infection as a result of falling on pavement and cutting skin around toe open. My syptoms dissapeared within 24 hrs of starting Bactrim. Only negative was that the pizzl size was extremely large.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bactrim | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/11/2022
Condition: Urinary Tract Infection Prevention
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication caused full on body shaking. Never taking again

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lex | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/25/2022
Condition: Skin Infection
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'm on Bactrim for an infection in the incision of nail bed skin of my bilateral great toes after permanent great toe nail removal. The right great toe was infected with Serratia Marcescens and the left was MRSA. I have been on Bactrim for the last 6 weeks (four rounds, three 10 day rounds and one 14 day round with a day or two between rounds). Taking the medication, I had a few side effects. The first 2-3 days of each round I had diarrhea, stomach ache, and a slight headache, but those resolved relatively quickly. Throughout the entire time taking it, I was nauseous, dizzy, and just generally feeling a little icky, but I still took this because it was much better than the alternative. My alternative was IV antibiotics for 6-8 weeks and leaving a pic line in for the entire time. Overall the medication is great, but does have some not so great side effects, though I'd take the side effects over a pic line. I'm a day away from finishing my last and hopefully final round of Bactrim and I would take it again if necessary. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
tkemberling | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
4/1/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Bactrim ds is a miracle drug for me. I have been taking Bactrim ds daily for 20 years now. Without it my skin feels like its on Fire! This drug has given me life! No side effects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Whisky4Brekfest | 25-34 | Male | Patient
3/31/2022
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had some pain and discomfort while urinating along with the constant urge to need to urinate. Went to the Dr and while not as common for men, diagnosed it as a UTI and prescribed me Bactrim as an alternative to Cipro (I was not comfortable taking this one) the possible side effects from Bactrim also had me a bit worried but I didn't have a choice. (I think I gave myself anxiety over anything else) but now 7 days into taking it, I'm happy to report that I have not had any side effects to speak of. I think if you're not allergic to sulfa meds, you'll likely be just fine. My symptoms are gone. I'm just finishing the 10 day course. As always, speak to your doctor about your concerns but this drug has been great for me. On a side note, I have been taking a B complex vitamin and a probiotic daily about 4-5 hours after my first dose. The probiotic helps replenish good bacteria in your gut which can be affected by antibiotics and the B complex vitamin, I read can help reduce potential side effects due the drugs ability to possibly block/lower folic acid and thiamine levels. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ZZZ | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/13/2022
Condition: Urinary Tract Infection due to E. Coli Bacteria
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Currently on day 3 of 7 on this antibiotic for a pretty severe UTI, and while it's definitely working already, I'm noticing some side effects. Now this could be due to drinking coffee too soon after taking it or it possibly reacting with my other prescriptions I'm sure, but I'm feeling funky. I'm experiencing dizziness/spinning sensations, and nausea and loss of appetite. Not the end of the world, but the spinning sensation is particularly unsettling. I'm having to go into work late today because I didn't feel safe driving due to the severity of this effect. HOPEFULLY this where the the side effects end, but it's not pleasant so far.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jkeller0009 | 35-44 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/27/2021
Condition: Skin Infection
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Okay. So I’ve been an on and off IV drug user for around 10 years. Had two bad discs and that turned into lumbrosacral radiuculpathy L4, L5 and S1–I turned down surgery and began getting spinal injections of methylprednisolone and was put on 4 15mg oxy-ir’s a day and 60 Percocets a month for breakthrough pain—I started to have a break from my pain and because I tested for LESS oxycodone one my body than I should have—taking ALL of your pills apparently was/is a part of the contract that pain management clinics make you sign when they prescribe. ANYWAY—this is all to say that when they told me that they would no longer prescribe to me—I called up a buddy and asked him for some heroin to snort. But it wasn’t longer than 2 weeks before I started injecting, but when you overshoot your vein/miss it you will likely develop a strep or staph infection, depending on what all has touched the heroin OR if you reuse needles. This comes in the form of an abscess that can take on the size of a tennis ball—this has happened to me around 10 times to me—almost lost my right arm AND my left hand due to these abscesses. And the one where I almost lost my left hand I also had cellulitis running up my arm almost to my biceps…so each time this happened—well some of them I nursed at home, but each other time I went to the hospital and what did they put me on ALWAYS—BACTRIM DS!! And within 2.5 days symptoms were subsiding, by day 4 NO PAIN AT ALL. And by the end of each ten-day course, everything was all cleared up. The ONLY SIDE-EFFECTS that I had was some loose stool—nothing immodium couldn’t handle. So—BOTTOM LINE: if you’re not allergic to sulfa drugs and not a problem unless you’re allergic to it or have certain other illnesses which may interact with the bactrim—you see THIS IS WHY ITS SO IMPORTANT TO TELL YOUR DOCTORS EVERYTHING YOU KNOW ABOUT YOUR HEALTH *BEFORE* they prescribe. Dr’s aren’t fortune-tellers, you have to be honest about WHAT the problem actually is, your prior/current health problems and ALL DRUGS AND SUPPLEMENTS that you take—INCLUDING ILLEGAL DRUGS. The people on here giving this LIFE-SAVING/ARM-SAVING MEDICATION bad reviews likely did NOT do the things that I mentioned above.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ken | 75 or over | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/24/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Stopped taking bactrim. Was prescribed for a sinus infection. In retrospect, I had a slight peripheral neuropathy.(like my hands had gone to sleep) In my right hand yesterday and this morning. I'm so glad that I stopped taking this stuff. Let's see, after three days... Also vertigo so can't stand, tendinitis so can't walk, possible kidney stones so extensive pain, and neuropathy so can't feel. But I'll have a clean nose. Terrible...

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Trina | 45-54 | Female | Patient
9/5/2021
Condition: Urinary Tract Infection Prevention
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Went back to teaching and got the UTI from not being able to go to the bathroom most of the day. I'm 51 and have had no issues whatsoever taking this medication. I think we all have different experiences with any medication because our bodies can react differently. My infection was so bad (amount of blood in urine), I received an antibiotic shot first, and then this antibiotic. In 3 days, I'm almost back to 100% normal.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Marie | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/15/2021
Condition: Urinary Tract Infection due to E. Coli Bacteria
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

To be honest, I'm not sure Bactrim is working for me. It did in the past but all of a sudden I seem to be experiencing side effects. I started to notice my exhaustion by day 4. I experience sharp pains in my stomach on and off throughout the day. I've been constantly nauseous since day 3 and am having horrible reflux. I can't burp. It comes up as stomach contents. My neck became really sore and all my muscles feel weak and trembly. I can't think straight, like my head is in a fog and I have been feeling really lightheaded and unbalanced. I also feel grossly bloated (not hormone related) and have had a minor headache every day. I have reached out to my PCM and am hoping he switches my antibiotic ASAP because I'm struggling to do my job. I'm including my experience so others might see the possible side effects and know that they aren't the only ones feeling these things. I hadn't realized that I was experiencing side effects until I read a bunch of similar posts here, especially since I have used Bactrim many times over the past 40 years. It was effective when it worked for me but now these side effects outweigh any benefits. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Caregiver
2/2/2021
Condition: Infection of Urinary Tract due to Enterobacter Cloacae
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This drug is dangerous and webmd needs to do a better job of really Listing and checking the facts. Muscle weakness Lethargic overtired unable to get up and move loss of appetite and nausea. This Was BANNED in the UK and clinical studies show prolonged use compromises your immune system and the older you are the higher mortality rate when using! Update the true facts webmd or are you paid for big big pharma. The research is out there people this drug should be removed from usage.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/26/2020
Condition: infection
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Well it is 1:30 in the morning my jaw is killing me. Feels like it's stuck can barely open my mouth also my arms are very sensitive feels like I worked out 4 days feeling weak and dizzy don't like this drug

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Gvc | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/20/2020
Condition: infection
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

All the possible side effects I felt ....like I was going to die

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ljbrowning79 | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/3/2020
Condition: Skin Infection
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It cleared the infection in my hand.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/11/2020
Condition: infection
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed Bactrim for a staph infection following an axillary sentinel lymph node biopsy and wide excision of melanoma. Originally the infection started to heal much quicker than when I was on another antibiotic. Over about a week and half I slowly started to develop side effects - only I didn't know that's what was happening. First, I noticed that I was really fatigued. I assumed it was normal since my body was healing. Then I noticed muscle tightness in my neck and upper back. I assumed this was due to the removal of the melanoma since it was on my back and was about the size of a quarter. They removed a pretty good chuck of tissue. Then I started having random aches and pains in my arms and wrists and feet. Next I developed flu like symptoms - fever, chills, extreme fatigue, headaches, shortness of breath. I went in to urgent care and was tested for flu - negative. My blood was drawn and they tested my urine to check for other infection. My white blood cells were 8 - normal. Urine came back clear - with the exception of showing signs of dehydration. I was told to push fluids and that I likely just had a virus. The next night, the urgent care clinic called me to tell me that my blood smear showed I had low platelets - 40,000. I was told to stop batrim and get my blood tested again the next day. I also noticed that my mood was declining but I suffer from depression so I assumed it was a combo of that and my situation. The next day my platelets were 28,000. I was told that once they drop below 20,000 they recommend a blood transfusion. Finally a hematologist interpreted my labs and felt that the results are indicative of a reaction to Batrim. They are going to let my body try to recover platelets for another day before testing me again. I'm just praying I don't need a transfusion. Don't take this medicine if you typically have reactions to medication. There has to be something else out there that is effective and not as high risk.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Officialy Me | 13-18 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/12/2019
Condition: Pneumonia caused by Bacteria
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It worked well until I had a severe allergic reaction. Almost ended up in the ER. Just remember to tell your doctor about any side affects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/22/2019
Condition: Urinary Tract Infection due to E. Coli Bacteria
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Bactrim DS is a great drug with very few side effects, I’m allergic to many antibiotics but this one is relativity gentle. The worst I felt was tired and had a headache that went away after the first couple of days, it cleared my UTI infection after the second day. It works quickly and is a potent antibiotic would recommend for someone that is sensitive to antibiotics like me. You can be put on a 5 day regimen and be cured. Great antibiotic! Good first line for UTI’s.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/22/2019
Condition: Urinary Tract Infection due to E. Coli Bacteria
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was put on Bactrim DS for 5 days to cure a UTI infection. Itâ??s a great drug with little side effects, Iâ??m allergic to most antibiotics but the worst I got on Bactrim was a headache, tired and some stomach upset but not bad I still went to work. Itâ??s important to drink water constantly on this drug so it doesnâ??t make you nauseous. It cured my UTI within a couple of days and even after 2 doses I began to feel better! Itâ??s strong but it works! I also like that itâ??s scored in the center so I can break it in half since swallowing large pills is difficult for me. Itâ??s easy to Break. I would recommend Bactrim DS for an infection over Macrobid and Flagyl, those make me feel sick!! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/22/2019
Condition: Urinary Tract Infection due to E. Coli Bacteria
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was put on Bactrim DS for 5 days to cure a UTI infection. Itâ??s a great drug with little side effects, Iâ??m allergic to most antibiotics but the worst I got on Bactrim was a headache, tired and some stomach upset but not bad I still went to work. Itâ??s important to drink water constantly on this drug so it doesnâ??t make you nauseous. It cured my UTI within a couple of days and even after 2 doses I began to feel better! Itâ??s strong but it works! I also like that itâ??s scored in the center so I can break it in half since swallowing large pills is difficult for me. Itâ??s easy to Break. I would recommend Bactrim DS for an infection over Macrobid and Flagyl, those make me feel sick!! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More