Show ratings & reviews for

2.5 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

23 People found this comment helpful

300MG 2x a day for 10 days I'm early at writing a review as I'm only four days into my medication, and I will be back to update. But I wanted to inform (WARN) you that this medication also causes bad gas from the southern hemisphere! Good Gracious!

Most voted negative review

7 People found this comment helpful

My husband was in the hospital for 3 days with pneumonia in both lungs due to an infectious organism. After being treated with IV antibiotics for the 3 days, he was doing well and both lungs were clear. On the third day, he was released with a prescription for cefdinir 300 mg twice daily for 9 days. He complained about being exceptionally tired, and could barely do anything without lying down to r...

Shared reviews and ratings

Blue | 13-18 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/30/2022
Condition: infection caused by bacteria
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It worked great, however the taste of the pills was absolutely horrible.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 75 or over | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/27/2022
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

took it on full stomach, I had no problems with digestion or diarrhea. Also did not drink alcohol while on antibiotic. In general my stomach is not overly sensitive. I sometimes take 6 ibuprofen a day, with no problem.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Hcar | 19-24 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/22/2022
Condition: infection caused by bacteria
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

First off, I was wrongfully diagnosed with chronic sinusitis based off of nothing but a headache at a care clinic. The first day I took the cefdinir I had to go to the ER because I felt like I was going into cardiac arrest. My heart was pounding in my chest and beating around 140 bpm (stopwatch count). The doctor told me it was my anxiety and to see a family doctor about getting anti anxiety meds. That night I tossed and turned in bed until the morning, it was impossible for me to get comfortable and for my mind to wind down. Next day I wake up with an awful headache and take my meds again. Fast forward to 6pm and I’m going to the ER again due to sharp abdominal pain and bloody, mucous-y diarrhea. They ran a blood test and a CT scan and said it was enteritis causing it and told me I can continue to take the medicine (this is after I have already told them I have no sinus problems and only side effects from antibiotic). Today is day 3 and I am no longer taking the antibiotic. My diarrhea has reduced tenfold and I’m only having mild versions of the previous symptoms. Please follow up with a specialist after being prescribed any antibiotic from an ER or a care clinic. I wouldn’t wish these symptoms on anyone. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ted | 19-24 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/20/2022
Condition: Strep Throat
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took two as prescribed and my stomach hurt so bad I wanted someone to punch me in the face to knock me out

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
#fuckcefdinir | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/17/2022
Condition: Bronchitis caused by the Bacteria Haemophilus Influenzae
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

So, I’ve had bronchitis for going on 8 months now. It doesn’t help that I have asthma and also vape, so that’s on me. This medicine was prescribed to me earlier this week as a “last resort” because I caught the flu, which turned my bronchitis into an upper respiratory infection. I know it isn’t going to go away until I can stop smoking, but y’all: I’d rather just deal with the bronchitis than ever take this antibiotic again. First of all, for the first 5 days of Cefdinir I had a migraine worse than any I’ve ever had, and I’ve had migraines since I was a kid. On day 4, I woke up with such a migraine that I couldn’t read. That’s right. I laid in bed and scrolled on my phone and literally could not comprehend any words on my screen. I could see the letters, but my brain was so messed up and foggy and in pain that I literally could not understand them, like I was reading another language. This terrified me, but I took some ibuprofen and slept it off after stumping to the bathroom and slurring my words to my boyfriend. I continued to sleep the rest of the day, and when I woke up several hours later my head still hurt very badly, but I could actually see and read again. After talking to my mom about my symptoms and doing some research on the side effects of Cefdinir, we are convinced I had a mild seizure in my sleep that I cannot recall. I’ve never had a history of seizures or epilepsy of any kind in my family, so the only explanation is the medicine. I stopped taking the antibiotic immediately, and haven’t taken it since. The migraine persisted for a couple of days after that, but what really got to me was the vaginal itching. I’ll be going to the doctor as soon as possible to get checked for a yeast infection, but this side effect has been almost as bad as the migraines. The vaginal discharge and severe swollen/itchy labia is something my doctor warned me about, but nothing could prepare me. I’ve never had a yeast infection or anything like this, but god it is awful. I can’t even move without severe burning sensations and I can barely resist the urge to itch. I’ve had to change my underwear multiple times a day because of the discharge, and I’m a pretty healthy person outside of this crippling bronchitis. If any doctor ever prescribed me Cefdinir again, I will simply say “hell no, anything else PLEASE.” Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
B | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/27/2022
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Not the best medicine to take the first week of college :/ I’ve been so nauseous that I thought I was going to puke in class…So far it hasn’t been as bad as some of these reviews make it seem. I just started having TERRIBLE diarrhea though and was hoping that I could avoid that, but I wasn’t one of the lucky ones. I’ve been taking it with a lot of water and eating with it and for the most part it’s been ok but annoying. Does make me feel a little exhausted. Hoping my BMs go back to normal and I would be able to tolerate this drug decently. Don’t listen to the reviews, it’s not as bad as it seems. The headaches it gave me stopped after the first day and I’m currently on day 3, out of 7. About half way through here! I would take it again, but I think there are better options. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
In Minnesota | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/12/2022
Condition: infection caused by bacteria
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'm on dose 12 of 28. Have suffered with Chronic Sinus Infections for 3 decades. Had surgery last November which improved drainage and air flow a lot...but fought problems all winter into summer. ENT had me try cefdinir which I never had before. So far, I'm pretty shocked. My sinuses are really calm and my sense of smell is back to what it was a LONG time ago. I'm taking 60 Billion CFU per day of a super high quality pro-biotic and so far no major gut problems. I do sense a bit of lightheadedness/dizziness here and there, but with bad sinuses, I'm used to it (sadly). So far this anti-biotic is the most effective I've ever taken and it has made me realize how mucked up my sinuses were. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jj | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/11/2022
Condition: Middle Ear Infection
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

For me Cefdinir was worse than the infection. It felt like my entire digestive system had been chemically burned from my throat to intestines and bladder. It didn't feel like a UTI it felt like a chemical burn. It gave me a headache, stomach pain, belly pain and pain urinating. I thought I had been poisoned. I believe if I would have continued to take it, I would have died. My stools looked like the lining of my intestines were affected. My physician sent a letter that he retired so I had to find another GP. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/10/2022
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Well I got a mid UTI a week ago and went to urgent care. I never had one before so I was pretty nervous. The doctor got me on this. It works fine but the diarrhea the first few days. The medicine killed my gut more than the UTI. Then I’ve had the worst headache of my life. Like someone is in my brain punching me. And just awful. So much I felt distorted and can’t think straight. Followed by blurred vision. Worst medicine ever side effects wise. I’m telling you it is awful. I don’t get why medicine supposed to help cause issues. Like it is so bad. I’m glad it helped but why 10 days like. I don’t feel like myself. I’m ready to be done. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/29/2022
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed 300 mgs of cefdinir twice a day for a 10 days due to a stubborn UTI that was unable to be cured via another antibiotic after the first dosage within 3 hours I had diarrhea which progressively became worse very watery and frequent by the third dose I suffered sharp stomach pains that were pretty severe bloating in the upper middle abdomen fatigue chills and headaches once I discontinued the medication after the third dose the headaches stopped the abdominal pain started to lessen but I'm still dealing with the diarrhea but not as often. Everyone's body is different but use extreme caution and be your own advocate stay away from the class of antibiotics called cephalosporins unless you have to take them there's high probability that you will suffer negative side effects good luck everyone!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
2Centexbears | 75 or over | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
4/17/2022
Condition: infection caused by bacteria
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My husband was prescribed this medication to prevent infection from a melanoma removal on his scalp. I noticed that he was a little bit off mentally and forgetting things really fast after starting this medication. Being experienced with C Dif., I started him on Greek Probiotic yogurt three times a day and a expensive probiotic pill to go along with the yogurt! C Dif, is extremely hard to get over. Once your gut gets out of wack, it takes a long time to get it back to normal. He had this once about a decade ago from too many antibiotics in the hospital and no one informed either of us about this issue. We found out the hard way! He had two different scalp surgeries and the second one was a lot more successful than the Dr. expected. He was on this medication for almost three weeks. I don’t believe in consequences and oddly enough he’s had to hold off on the melanoma treatment as his hemoglobin has dropped to a very extremely low level. The hospital has given him three units of blood total, and they say he has a very small ulcer in his GI system. He was diagnosed with this four years ago, and after a upper GI and Colonoscopy, they couldn’t find the small spot of bleeding. He went into the ER on his own and came home on 2 liters of Oxygen. Not exactly sure what they did, but the talkative student nurse was getting the “stink eye” from her boss when she told me his oxygen had dropped to like 64%! I was absolutely livid as he had been on oxygen and had gotten off of it. Now I feel like he’s given up on trying to get off of it! This past March and into April, he has had two surgeries on his scalp and his head will be bald where they removed the tissue. They did a skin graft from his upper leg. The Dr. said the second surgery came back with clean edges, but he does have melanoma in Stu. So, after a trip to see his oncologist that was suppose to treating this, they called us after some blood work because they discovered that his hemoglobin was at 6.8 from like 14 or so a couple of years ago. It was the last lab work as with his oxygen issues and this pandemic, he’s not likely to survive Covid. We have been fully vaccinated and tested, even had the second booster shots. After reading some of the reviews here, I have no doubt that this medication is responsible for the drop in hemoglobin! He has been to the ER and they gave him one unit of blood via transfusion and then they retested it. It came up by .1% to 6.9. They let us come home provided that he return the next day and get more blood. He was given 2 units this time and they wanted us to remain in the hospital. It’s the weekend of Easter and there are no Drs. working, so he said he wanted to come home. He’s had no issues with the low hemoglobin that normally occurs, and basically they wanted him to stay to keep giving him blood transfusions. Tomorrow he is going to see a specialist that can give him the camera pill that is extremely good at finding small bleeds. They did a swab and said he had blood in his stool, but he also has had some irritation from wiping and I think if he was loosing blood like the transfusion are showing, he would have a bloody stool or be throwing up blood. I will try to update this as soon as we get an answer as to why his hemoglobin is so low, and if this medication is responsible in part for some of his issues! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Cefdinir | 25-34 | Transgender | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/23/2022
Condition: Acute Maxillary Sinus S. Pneumoniae Bacteria Infection
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Cefdinir gave me heart burn that has not gone away since I quit taking it 5 days ago.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MAC | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
12/2/2021
Condition: Acute Maxillary Sinus S. Pneumoniae Bacteria Infection
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My husband took this for a stubborn sinus infection and it immediately made him really sick. Severe diarrhea, dizziness, weakness, dehydration. Much worse than the infection itself - and he was sick! He switched antibiotics and is doing much better - I do not recommend!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Natalie | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/24/2021
Condition: Bronchitis caused by the Bacteria Streptococcus Pneumoniae
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Prescribed this for possible bronchitis infection. Immediately I had diarrhea every time I went to the restroom for the duration of me taking this medicine. I quit taking it about 3/4 through my prescription. It gave me a yeast infection that I went to my gyno for and took months to clear up. …killed out all the good bacteria in my gut which made for horrible digestive issues. I started taking a good Probiotic and Enzymes. I am finally starting to get better after a year of digestive misery. Never will I take again.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Maggie G | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/9/2021
Condition: Acute Maxillary Sinus S. Pneumoniae Bacteria Infection
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

You must take probiotics and yogurt as soon as you start any antibiotic in order to prevent a yeast infection. Not just this antibiotic, but any antibiotic. I have not been on this medicine long enough to know if it will clear up my chronic sinus infection. I am commenting now, because I have so many complaints about yeast infections.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
sabrina | 13-18 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/15/2021
Condition: Middle Ear Infection
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

have been taking this twice daily. its a bit annoying to take it with food, but i haven't had any side effects thankfully.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/1/2021
Condition: infection caused by bacteria
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took one pill and within the hour I had severe diarrhea good thing I was near the bathroom .Lucky to get there in time it was close ...........never again will I take this

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
cefdinir helped | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/24/2021
Condition: Acute Maxillary Sinus S. Pneumoniae Bacteria Infection
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had been diagnosed with covid pneumonia and tried 2 different antibiotics (doxycycline for 2 courses and zithromax one course) both were taken for full course. Unfortunately, my symptoms were getting worse...not better. After 2 months I went again to our local covid medical clinic and she put me on cefdinir 300 mg twice daily with food for 10 days along with prednisone for 5 days. I had picked up my prescriptions late that evening, so I ate and took my new antibiotic and went to bed. The next morning I looked up the prescription on Web.md and I was terrified. Although I had taken the capsule already with absolutely no side effects I almost called the clinic to change my prescription because so many reviews were very negative and to be honest...scary!! I decided to continue the cefdinir...along with the 5 day course of prednisone and every day I got substantially better. After 10 days I am almost symptom free from the covid pneumonia. The reason why I have detailed my experience is because for some illnesses this medication can alleviate an inpatient hospital stay. Obviously if you have negative side effects stop taking this immediately...but if you have a stubborn illness don't be afraid. I am so glad I decided to continue on with this medication because it helped me gain my health back so quickly. To those that have had negative effects I am very sorry!! I just didn't want the negative side effects to scare everyone off....as it almost did me!! Take care everyone!!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Cedfirin | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/9/2021
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

First I took Bactrim for 3 days twice a day. Then they put me on Cefdinir for 10 days. I was feeling better with the Bactrim and after3 days on Cefdinir I’m starting to feel like the UTI is getting worse again. I will call the doctor tomorrow.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
James1601 | 19-24 | Transgender | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/7/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

They gave me this medication for covid? Not sure it is the best idea as my stools have been very red and soft. I’ve had more chest pain than before taking the medication as well as just overall worsened body pain. Not sure if it’s the medication or just covid ?? don’t even know if this is the proper prescription to give out for it... I thought no prescriptions helped covid.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More