Show ratings & reviews for

3.5 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

22 People found this comment helpful

I had absence of period for a year and inability to get pregnant in 2005. I was diagnosed with Micro prolactinomia and put on 2.5 mg. Within a month my levels were down and I had a period and within a few months I was pregnant. I had my second baby a year ago. My levels as of my last check were around 7. I have had nausea, but I take it right before bed and that helps a ton!! I'm amazed with the...

Most voted negative review

5 People found this comment helpful

I've been on this med since 2003, I have experienced all the side effects from this med; stiff joints, headaches, nausea, costipation, no menstrual cycle for as long as 8 months, hi prolactin levels, hi bood pressure, fatigue, low energy, metalic taste in my mouth, dizziness, night sweats, sleepless nights. I always experience at least three or four of the symptoms at the same time and if I miss a...

Shared reviews and ratings

starmist | 25-34 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
1/29/2021
Condition: Prolactin Excreting Tumor of the Pituitary Gland
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Technically this drug worked for me. It reduced my serum prolactin levels within 6 months of treatment. However, the side effects were horrid â?? severe congestion that triggered sinus headaches, lightheadedness, nausea, and hair loss. I have been off it for over a year and still suffer from alopecia and congestion though it is not as frequent.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Juliet | 45-54 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
1/19/2021
Condition: Prolactin Excreting Tumor of the Pituitary Gland
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking bromocriptine in refill bottles for a little over 2 years now and just two weeks ago, it was changed to this brand. Now, I have severe constipation. I have to get the previous one I have been using . I am rating this drug because I must give a rating to be able to post.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ruth | 55-64 | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
3/4/2020
Condition: Prolactin Excreting Tumor of the Pituitary Gland
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had a high prolactin level of 1200, was proscribed bromocriptine and the first few weeks prolactin level went up to 1800 now after being on this med for 25yrs my levels are much lower and its working great. I do get headaches and very restless sleeps. Feelings of anxiety are more obvious too. I feel tired, fall asleep but wake every he or so. But apart from that, all's well.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
rjaynie | 45-54 | Female | Patient
5/7/2018
Condition: Prolactin Excreting Tumor of the Pituitary Gland
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'm sick as can be w this med. my prolactin levels were 444.10 this is the second med I'm trying But these side effects. I'm walking oddly. please hoping it will stop.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tasha F. | 25-34 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
8/18/2016
Condition: Absence of Menstrual Periods
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was on bromocriprine for approximately 2 years and I suffered horrid side effects diarrhea constipation ibs body cramps stuffy nose nausea vomiting headache nightmares dizziness chest pain stomach aches blurred vision basically all of the above but the worst side effect of all was losing my hearing in my right ear which is one of the none listed side effect that they don't tell you I did my own research and found out there are people suffering like me ... I am searching for more people like me with the hearing loss I would like to know if you have it and how long have u dealt with and what source of treatment did you recieveRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/25/2016
Condition: Increased Levels of Prolactin in the Blood
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

did not work for me the side effect is very bad my blood pressure was high,constant headach for good two week.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
hopeful | 25-34 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/3/2016
Condition: Prolactin Excreting Tumor of the Pituitary Gland
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Great medication. Started out with 2.5mg at 277 prolactin levels. After one month on medication and 1 week off prolactin decreased to 219. Doctor recommended 5mg. side effects were just sever headaches and numbness on the right side of face. Waiting on prolactin level results in another week.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Yesecis28 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/23/2016
Condition: Prolactin Excreting Tumor of the Pituitary Gland
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Was diagnosed with 3mm prolactin secreting tumor, was placed on medication right away, initial prolactin levels at 70, checked 1 month later, prolactin at 40, recently checked 1 week ago at 13! Working great for me , some drowsiness and nausea at the beginning, now hardly any side effects. I am eating healthier and losing a little bit of weight, very happy!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Zahid | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
4/13/2014
Condition: Increased Size of Hands, Feet and Face
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am a patient of acromegaly with macro-adenoma since 2007. Presently Growth of hormone 120.Now I am over weighted and increased size of my hand, feet and lower jaw. Is this medicine helpful for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
lady in waiting | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/7/2012
Condition: Female Problems Causing Trouble in Getting Pregnant
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I missed a couple of periods. went to the doc & my prolactin level was up. My cycle started back before I started the Dostinex. (I was taking 1/2 pill 3x a wk, then increased to a a whole pill 3x a wk) I was on Dostinex, it started to decrease,the doc increased the dostinex & my prolactin level started to increase again. My cycle stopped again. My doc put me on bromocripitine, this is my second week, I initially has some drowsiness the first few days (I take 5 mg at night every night. It seems as if my cycle is trying to start back, but it is very very light. I'm getting a little frustrated while waiting to see what's going to happen.....but I must trust God.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
renaann | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/3/2012
Condition: Prolactin Excreting Tumor of the Pituitary Gland
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

At 39 yrs old my menstrual cycle stopped. Blood work showed an elevated prolactin level (30)but an MRI showed nothing . I had no intention of having children so I did not go on any medication. 2 years later is was (59) & just recently up to (89)& the MRI found a 5mm adenoma. I attributed a bit of hair thinning to my hormonal imbalance. I started on 2.5 mg of Bromocriptine. Within 4 weeks I could tell I was ovulating on my right side & I experienced the cervical mucus discharge associated with ovulation, only the discharge was quite heavy. My breasts became extremely soar & tender to the touch. Removing my bra at the end of the day was torturous as the sensitivity to my areola & nipples felt like they were raw & bruised, however looked completely normal. My breasts remained engorged & tender. And I experienced my first mensus in 4 years. Light, & lasted only 2 days. My doctor raised the dosage to 5mg. My levels dropped to (35). My next period came 23 days later. The ovulation stage was similar except the mucus discharge was even heavier! Upon the arrival of my 2nd period the cramping was painful, the flow was heavy & my breasts were extremely dense, fibrous, heavy & soar. Unbearably so. The period lasted a week. Only one week later did I start experiencing the ovulation, discharge & painful lumpy breasts again. This brings us to today. My breasts hurt so much I can barely take it and I am going to decrease the medication & look for a natural alternative to lower my prolactin levels if such a thing exists.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Amy | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/2/2012
Condition: Increased Levels of Prolactin in the Blood
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'm on an anti psychotic shot called Invega Sustenna and because of it my prolactin levels were at 153 causing missed periods, lactation and weight gain. I started on 1.25 mgs for 2 weeks and about a week ago I started on 2.5 mgs. I just got my first period in 7 months. My lactation has also decreased. When I went in a week ago my level was only down to about 130 but I'm assuming it's dropped a lot after being on one full pill a week seeing as I got my period. I never thought I'd be so happy to get my period. I haven't noticed any weight loss yet but am hoping. I have noticed I am less hungry after taking my pill in the morning. I read about horrible side effects but have had none besides a bit of head rush when standing up sometimes. Nothing annoying or serious and I don't know if it's related but am assuming so. This medicine has been wonderful. I'm curious to know what my level is at now.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
stephanie | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
5/1/2012
Condition: Increased Levels of Prolactin in the Blood
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had lots of nausea with this medication the first time I took it.I was very dizzy at first. I could not get up out of bed for the first couple of day and when the doctor gave me a stronger dosage I had the same effects

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
kdon415 | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/4/2011
Condition: Prolactin Excreting Tumor of the Pituitary Gland
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Since taking bromocriptine I have noticed a decrease in my weight. I also experience stuffiness at night. Overall I am very pleased. I use to have breast milk and my menstrual periods were absent. I happy to say my menstrual cycle has returned normal. I am not sure what my prolactin level is now but when I was first diagnosed it was 79 and kept increasing to 95. I know it is lowered because my symptoms of elevated prolactin has decrease.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mae | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
6/24/2011
Condition: Prolactin Excreting Tumor of the Pituitary Gland
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on this drug since 2000 when I was diagnosed for absence of periods for six months. Prolactin level was 198 but dropped to 40 after 3 months, and my period resumed after 2 weeks at 2.5mg. I am currently taking 5mg daily because prolactin rised to 98 in 2007, but leveled off at 10 since then. My only concern is the long term effects of taking this drug on my body. I tried to wean myself off of it, but the prolactin levels rose immediately and I had to go back on it. Any similar comments?Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
PPIERBUDS | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
6/11/2011
Condition: Prolactin Excreting Tumor of the Pituitary Gland
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

VERRY DIZZY AT NIGHT AND RUNNING INTO WALLS AND FALLING. NEED TO BE VERRY CAREFUL AT NIGHT WHEN YOU TAKE IT. IT HAS TAKEN AWAY MY PERSPIRING DURRING THE DAYS AND HIPEFULLY SHRINK THE TUMORS

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
wendalsue | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/23/2011
Condition: Increased Levels of Prolactin in the Blood
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Took this med and stopped it 3 different times. Took 1.5mg at night and woke up early with severe migraines. Dr. says this cannot be from the med, but I've read too many similar accounts. Different Dr. prescribed Dostinex, but I haven't started it yet.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Patient | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/17/2010
Condition: Prolactin Excreting Tumor of the Pituitary Gland
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My endocronologist started me on 2.5 mg after an MRI and being diagnosed with a microadenoma (pituitary tumor). I started taking the first week only half a pill at night. The first few nights I took with food at dinner and experienced dizziness, nausea, and was extremly tired and drowsy. After about 3-4 nights the other side effects went away and I only expereinced the drowsiness. Then after 1 week I began taking half a pill in the morning in addition to the half a pill at night. I'm on my second month and don't expereince the side effects anymore. Before treatment my prolactin level was mildly elevated at 48 and after taking the med for 1 month my bloodwork showed that my level went down to 9 (anything below 23 is considered normal). Now I am playing the waiting game to see when menstruation will return.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Webmed | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
9/29/2010
Condition: Prolactin Excreting Tumor of the Pituitary Gland
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have started taking this medication for a pituitary tumor of size 3mm.First I was prescibed Dostinex and dosage went up to 1.5 mg per week.My prolactin levels came back from 45 to 18 with 1.5 mg.I started experiencing numbness and tingling in my hands and feet.Other side effects such as constipation, nausea,headache were minimised after 1 month.since I had these side effects, I switched to bromocriptine.Starting with 2.5 mg per day.I have developed leg cramps after taking the medication.I am yet to see whether this medication works for me or not.Yet to know the blood work results.I have a feeling of tingling with this medication too.I'm scared that this medication also not going to work for me as I'm getting bad side effects. I have no choice of medication other than these 2. Anyone out there with similar side effects?If so how did you manage it?I have no kids and wanted to have as soon as possible.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
she | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
5/13/2010
Condition: Absence of Menstrual Periods
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i take only half a day coz if i take whole tablets it will makes me feel tired and nambness and pianful of my shoulder.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More