Show ratings & reviews for

3.2 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

48 People found this comment helpful

Since taking this medication I have had severe diarrhea (explosive diarrhea) if I eat normal quantities of fruits and vegetables, especially tomatoes. I've had numbness and tingling in my hands and tingling in my feet, itching, crawling skin feeling, backache, weight gain, and repeated bouts of gout. I never had problems with any of these things before taking this medication. I've been on it fo...

Most voted negative review

8 People found this comment helpful

I haven't been taking it long enough to know.

Shared reviews and ratings

Bryan | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/9/2022
Condition: Prevention of Recurrent Atrial Fibrillation
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Im asian. Took this september last year 2021 for my heart to lower its palpitations. I would admit it lowered palpitation but i got super dizziness in the morning sometimes whole day (taking it only at night), muscle pain, blurry visions by mid of november of 2021. This was the only new meds i was taking so im sure this is the one causing it. Ive stopped this week for 3 days already. So far dizziness is a little manageable. How long will this last? I still have dizziness periods...

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
sandrad | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
1/8/2022
Condition: heart failure with reduced ejection fraction due to dilated cardiomyopathy
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have taken this medication for approximately a year started at 6.25 was it 12.25 and then 25 mg twice a day with 25 mg I could never even get out of bed. Switch back to 12.25 mg started having severe pain in my back, my wrist ankles feet toes clavicle bone. The pain was so severe along with that I started getting red rashes on my face and my back. I have gained 30 lbs I cannot take off. I stopped this medicine today and I'm going to go to natural alternatives that are recommended by a top Cardiologist. You may try Googling natural alternatives for heart failure and this doctor and his suggestions will come up. I can no longer live my life like I am feeling like I'm dying. I have 10 grandchildren and a business and I do not want to give up my freedom of being able to move and enjoy my life. I will post back and approximately six months and let everyone know how things work out. But this drug for me is deadly. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Phillip | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
12/1/2021
Condition: heart failure with reduced ejection fraction due to dilated cardiomyopathy
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'm happy for the people who found success with this medication but it is not for me! I have been taking Carvedilol for about 8 months now. I started with a low dose (3.125) and eventually moved up (12.5) The side effects began slowly at first with NAUSEA, feeling LIGHT-HEADED/ JITTERY/ WEAKNESS and EXTREME THIRST no matter how much water I drank. After I switched from 6.25mg to 12.5mg, I started having HEART PALPITATIONS. Mild at first but increased overtime to a POUNDING, IRREGULAR HEARTBEAT which combined the STOMACH ISSUSES, DIZZINESS and BREATHING PROBLEMS sent me straight to the EMERGENCY ROOM! They did an EKG and bloodwork and found nothing life threatening so they sent me home. My worthless cardiologist's solution to the problem was to increase the dosage to 18.75mg. Within a couple of weeks I was back in the ER twice with all of the warning signs of a HEART ATTACK! CHEST DISCOMFORT, IRREGULAR/ SKIPPING HEARTBEAT, NAUSEA, WEAKNESS DIZZINESS and being UNABLE TO CATCH MY BREATH. I contacted my PCP this morning to find out how to safely take myself off of this medication as there is a risk of heart failure. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
derf | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/21/2021
Condition: Prevention of Recurrent Atrial Fibrillation
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Just started taking this med. It has lowered BP and slowed my breathing down. I have noticed dorwsiness like others, but it also gives me the benefits of more relaxed breathing. I am breathing so much deeper and don 't feel tightness of the chest like I used to. To me, the benefits outweigh drowsiness - at least for now. I also had a bout of loose stool but I'm over it so maybe that was something else. So overall, I am quite pleased with the med.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years |
8/5/2021
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have taken this pill for 2 years and I am tired all the time and I wheeze. My poor my mom was prescribed and she was tired for years. She was tired all the time and fell many times and she died. I spoke to a pharmacist and explained everything to that person and was told not to take it, to consult with a doctor who cares.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
peg99levi | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
5/12/2021
Condition: Prevention of Recurrent Atrial Fibrillation
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Tired of being tired. makes my skin crawl. Cold hands & feet- even my nose. Basically feel lifeless. Been on a year and have decreased dosage. Just want off off it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Essie | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/11/2021
Condition: Chronic Heart Failure
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Prescribed for chf, 6.25 mg, twice a day, for 3 weeks, so far. My blood pressure is too low, I think. Today it's 113/40. I'm woozy, very tired, weak, have almost constant nausea and some vomiting, body aches, stiff neck, not able to breath through my nose at all at night, dry mouth and eyes, stomach ache, headaches that come and go, and one day I couldn't see anything but a blurr in the center of my field of vision. Those side effects add up to making me feel much worse than before I began taking it. Not worthwhile for me. As soon as I can get my Dr. To divorce herself from the sales gobbledygook she was given about this chemical, I'm quitting, never to return!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 75 or over | Female | Patient
5/3/2021
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have nose bleeds, I suspect the runny nose and congestion is caused by this blood pressure pill. I would like to know if anyone else has had nose bleeds.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
NaiNai | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/10/2021
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This med does not seem to be helping my B/P at all. I’ve been on it for 2 months and I’m still waiting for my B/P to decrease.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Susan | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/13/2020
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Been on this medicine 6.25mg for a month, then cardiologist changed dosage to 12.5mg twice daily. Experienced severe chest pain, dizziness, headache. Will ask doc change med.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
BIG RAGU | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
4/3/2020
Condition: Chronic Heart Failure
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

been on it for a year keep telling my doc and cardiologist not good can not wake up sweating tired all the time fighting to stay up going one more time to cardiologist and changing or going to discontiue and live a quality life not quantity need to find a better fit

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mig | 65-74 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/27/2019
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

68 year old male with 15 year history of Hypertension and 3 year history of CRF (moderate). Prior good control with Propranolol and Lisinopril Recently changed to Carvedilol 6.25mg BID. BP average now running 170/100,Pulse 100. Was told it takes a couple of weeks to start working. Am increasing dose to 25mg BID. No call back from provider. Hope I don't have a stroke, heart attack, DVT or PE. Now having headaches, blurred vision, painful neck, SOB, and twinges in chest. Am not a fan of this drug. Its scaring me.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Chad Paler | 25-34 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/19/2019
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had thickened Anterior Mitral Valve Leaflets with Mild Mitral Valve Prolapse on its tip and belly. I also had Mild Mitral Regurgitation. My Dr. prescribed me this medicine. I took 6.25 mg once daily every after dinner. At first, sometimes I've noticed discomfort on my chest, I don't know, I suspected that it maybe due to psychological effect because I was thinking that I have a heart problem. There are times that it goes away. There are also times that I feel like difficult to breath and it's kinda feels heavy on my chest. But when I checked my nose it was the other side of my nasal that's clogged. So, maybe those were not really the side effects. I noticed that my skin and eyes are dry. I sometimes feel weak maybe because I am depressed of my condition. That's why I am not really sure about those sensations were the side effects of Cardevilol. But, reading those serious side effects and risks of this tablet? I honestly feel terrified. especially for my liver and kidneys... Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Chad Paler | 25-34 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/19/2019
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had thickened Anterior Mitral Valve Leaflets with Mild Mitral Valve Prolapse on its tip and belly. I also had Mild Mitral Regurgitation. My Dr. prescribed me this medicine. I took 6.25 mg once daily every after dinner. At first, sometimes I've noticed discomfort on my chest, I don't know, I suspected that it maybe due to psychological effect because I was thinking that I have a heart problem. There are times that it goes away. There are also times that I feel like difficult to breath and it's kinda feels heavy on my chest. But when I checked my nose it was the other side of my nasal that's clogged. So, maybe those were not really the side effects. I noticed that my skin and eyes are dry. I sometimes feel weak maybe because I am depressed of my condition. That's why I am not really sure about those sensations were the side effects of Cardevilol. But, reading those serious side effects and risks of this tablet? I honestly feel terrified. especially for my liver and kidneys... Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Hazel | 75 or over | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/2/2019
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I cried every day I took this pill until it was replaced with Bystolic 12 years ago. Recently I was given it again for chf. It was cancelled, but pharmacy had no record, nor did I. This morning, I took a 25 mg pill. Just read I should have been given a 3.25 mg pill to start with. Wish me luck.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Nomas | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
2/14/2019
Condition: Dysfunction of Left Ventricle of Heart following Heart Attack
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

No.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Wennie Sasotona | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/15/2018
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am regularly 120/70 - 130/75 then after I take this drug it made me PALPITATE, EASILY GET TIRED AND HAD NIGHTMARE!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Heart | 35-44 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
6/6/2018
Condition: Dysfunction of Left Ventricle of Heart following Heart Attack
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on this for 1 year along with lisinopril. It they have both help my heart to recovery almost back to normal. My first echo was at 12% left ventricle. The last echo I had in April was 54% left ventricle. I still feels side effects...dizziness,nausea. I sometimes get panic attacks from the side effects that raise my blood pressure.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
4/1/2018
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Been on these meds for about/almost 3 years. Had heart attack then 6 stents 5 on one side 1 on the other (2 diff surgeries). Have not had any problems with this drug.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
JJ | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
3/31/2018
Condition: Ventricular Rate Control in Atrial Fibrillation
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have no energy feel like crap all the time! Short of breath with little exertion

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More