Show ratings & reviews for

3.4 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted negative review

2 People found this comment helpful

Got it through IV for 14 days. I lost hair, got low blood presure, haemaglobin was low, tired, muscle cramps, irritated veins, spotting among others...

Shared reviews and ratings

Susie Q | 55-64 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/26/2017
Condition: Herpes Infection of Brain and Surrounding Tissue
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Went thru ER with disorientation to time,place and person with 3 day memory loss.Placed on med immediately by infectious disease while awaiting labwork. Labwork confirmed DX of Herpes Zoster of cerebrospinal fluid. Went home on IV med x 7 d. Within 24 hrs of iniation of drug alert and oriented. 72 hrs all loss of word finding and math calculations restored.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
wm | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
2/6/2016
Condition: Prevent Recurrent Herpes Simplex Infection
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
lkmmled | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/5/2014
Condition: Inflammation of the Brain caused by Herpes Simplex Virus
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was admitted to the hospital with a systemic HSV-1 infection and this drug was used and it saved my life. I had Meningitis caused by hsv-1 and encephalitis caused my HSV-1. Upon using this drug pior treatment I dramatically improved I was hospitalized for 3 1/2 weeks on IV Acyclovir. I had NO bad side effects I actually felt 100% better with the use of this drug.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
rural3 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/17/2010
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

put on this in ER for severe headache and numbness of right side. Had lots of side effects some of them being what I came in for. The most serious I found out the day after they admitted me was kidney failure. I was down to 28% of kidney use. They tell me it should come back but now am stuck in hospital til my numbers go down. DO NOT USE THIS DRUG. Two of us had the same complication that night in the ER and they stopped using it. Finally

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Janne | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/10/2009
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Got it through IV for 14 days. I lost hair, got low blood presure, haemaglobin was low, tired, muscle cramps, irritated veins, spotting among others...

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
dejahd | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/18/2009
Condition: Shingles
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It arrested further spread of the rash, caused it to peak and begin to crust quicker than it might have otherwise, however, has no effect on neuralgia at all and I have not been given effective pain management

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tess | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/10/2008
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Was put on this for treatment of viral menengitis. 10 days in hospital and 3 days home health. Had BAD halucinations and gross hematuria requiring rehospitalization for another week. Microscopic hematuria still showing up in urine. Was informed by 3 doctors it was side effect of this medication.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Dora | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/28/2008
Condition: Herpes Simplex Infection
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

developed major yeast infection now for 2 and one half weeks after going off it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More