Show ratings & reviews for

3.9 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

28 People found this comment helpful

I was prescribed med when other meds failed to stop Autoimmune urticaria. It worked within days of starting by stopping hives. Unfortunately, taking it has made me feel miserable otherwise. I have been very tired, my blood pressure has risen considerably, aching in my joints, flushing skin, swollen and tingling hands, and unable to sleep. In the process of weaning off it and hope that hives st...

Most voted negative review

4 People found this comment helpful

Have ben taking this medication for a month for a kidney condition and have had multiple side effects including body weakness, insomnia,inability to remain focused, jitteriness,muscle cramping, flatuence,indigestion,intermittent memory loss. Hope I will not have to stay on it much longer.

Shared reviews and ratings

Tiffany | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/27/2022
Condition: Severe Psoriasis that is Resistant to Treatment
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The smell is terrible. Hold my breath to take it fine considered the alternative. I have taken it for two weeks and I have more tear drop spots, my spots have tripped. The upset stomach is bad and not able to sleep. I have gained weight so it's not working. Wish there was a better treatment the side effects are terrible.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Snarzii | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
1/29/2022
Condition: Treatment to Prevent Reaction After Bone Marrow Transplant
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had a bone marrow transplant in 2012 and have been in cyclosporine ever since. I managed to get off it in 2014 but I now suffer from chronic GVHD and have been taking it again. Even ten years later I still block my nose when I open the foil pack, it smells like really strong weed and onion grass pretty gross. I hope people know that only the person taking cyclosporine can touch it? It’s actually dangerous for non immune suppressed people to touch it, as it can affect their immune system just by handling it. At one stage I had GVHD in my mouth and had to take the oral liquid. YOU DO NOT WANT TO TAKE THE ORAL LIQUID it is the most thick bitter burning solution that heats up in your mouth and the taste what could only be described as satans armpit. I couldn’t wait to get back on tablets. Overall apart from a few minor dislikes, cyclosporine has helped me so much and I’d be much worse off without it. Only side effects I get are being unable to touch cold things because my hands burn abd sone joint restriction but I’m probably on a higher dose that most. I also can’t take prednisone because it caused A vascular necrosis in my bones so cyclosporine has been my only friend in my skin recovery. It sucks, yes but I’m so grateful for it when so many around the world don’t have access to it. And let’s be honest most of us would be worse off without it. There are so many medical issues that can’t be fixed with medicine so thankfully this one works. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Danielle | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/20/2019
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Taking this medication for my Eczema - did not work at all and when I stopped taking it all my hair fell out = completely bald.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jomehu | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
1/20/2018
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started taking this for chronic hives when nothing else worked. First excessive hair growth mostly on head, but then after a few months it started falling out. Seems to have tapered off. Drug works for hives, but I have been on and off of it for 4 years. Now have some kidney damage and don't want to take it any longer. But hives are back with a vengeance. Next drug may be plaquenil. No free lunch. All these drugs have side effects, but I cannot live any quality of life with hives all over my body.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/30/2016
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This drug was the only one able to control my chronic hives but now I have multiple infections, stomach upset and hair loss. When I asked the doctor about the hair loss he told me it must be stress. If stress caused hair loss I would already be bald. I have also noticed dark hair growing on my face and a beard is not cute on a female. I am seriously ready to stop using this medicine. It is nasty. I read an article about an asthma drug that helps people with chronic hives without the side effects. I think a study was supposed to be published in a dermatology magazine in July 2014. It is a shot but I still think it would be better than this drug.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Raford | 75 or over | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
1/1/2016
Condition: Prevention of Cardiac Transplant Rejection
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

25 years post transplant and counting. No problems other than age related.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Christy | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/12/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Cyclosporine is brutal. I have grown excess black hair on my face, arms, legs, etc. My gums are so swollen and sore. I am extremely tired and weak. It has done its job by keeping my immune system depressed. I take it for Severe Aplastic Anemia. I don't know how long I will have to continue taking it, but hope it is not forever. It does taste bad, but I take it with crangrape juice and that helps. I am afraid of what it is doing to my organs.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/20/2014
Condition: Severe Psoriasis that is Resistant to Treatment
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had severe psoriasis 95 percent covered, been on it for 3 months. Most of it has gone away. I am now reduced to smaller quantity. Side effects are minimal compared to the others who posted comments. Fatigue, some hair loss, higher blood pressure. I hope I can go off this soon. I hope the condition won't back.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
11/1/2014
Condition: Body's Rejection of a Transplanted Organ
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I received this drug for a cornea graft, amongst other medicines (steroids etc) and unfortunately it didn't work. 4 Grafts and no luck. I found it not hard to use but got sick often and found the nausea was frequently bad.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/14/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Have ben taking this medication for a month for a kidney condition and have had multiple side effects including body weakness, insomnia,inability to remain focused, jitteriness,muscle cramping, flatuence,indigestion,intermittent memory loss. Hope I will not have to stay on it much longer.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
PaulO. | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/16/2014
Condition: Severe Psoriasis that is Resistant to Treatment
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After 3 weeks, my skin cleared up completely after suffering from eczema for most of my life. Unfortunately, I got a boil on my chest area which after noticing it foe 1 day, it caused nausea and I ended up in the ER w/ an infection and was required to discontinue use.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Martin | 55-64 | Male | Patient
4/12/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Cold sores, fatigue and inability to sleep and get enough rest. I have stage 4 kidney disease.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sauceyms | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
11/17/2013
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Interestingly I only found one other post where someone was taking cyclosporin for aplastic anemia which is what I have. My white count started at 2 when I was diagnosed. I am now up to 81. But have had many platelet transfusions. I have been taking this for about 2 years. I went through the ATG and had 2 heart attacks while in the hospital. They put a stent in my heart. I am home now but the side effects are brutal! Growing dark hair everywhere. However, the hair on my head is thining. Fatigue, confusion, eyesight and hearing problems. Muscle aches...I could go on and on...How long can a person take this stuff? My oncologist tried to wean me off but had to put me back on. Oh yes, I almost forgot (haha) I also now have two confirmed leisions of skin cancer on my face. Plus I need to have a liter of saline every day because this is damaging my kidney function.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
karin | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/10/2013
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

right now the only thing bothering me is the smell...it smells like weed!an when I take it I have to hold my breath.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/3/2013
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed med when other meds failed to stop Autoimmune urticaria. It worked within days of starting by stopping hives. Unfortunately, taking it has made me feel miserable otherwise. I have been very tired, my blood pressure has risen considerably, aching in my joints, flushing skin, swollen and tingling hands, and unable to sleep. In the process of weaning off it and hope that hives stay in remission so that I do not have to take this medicine again.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
rocrgurl1023 | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
4/7/2013
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'm taking cyclosporine for Sjogrens Syndrome and intercystital cystits. It has made a big difference in the dryness I have to deal with and with my bladder issues. I did develop high blood pressure, but its well worth me taking another med. The dryness was horrible before. My eyes were really dry and had very little saliva production.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Enaud | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
2/21/2013
Condition: Prevent Kidney Transplant Rejection
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Tiredness is unrelenting, mental slowness as well

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/12/2013
Condition: Prevent of Transplant Rejection
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had cyclosporine given to me on two occasions, first in 2005 post a renal transplant and recently post a pancreas and kidney transplant. The first time it was continued for aprox a week but fortunately the 2nd time I insisted that it had bad effects for me and thus the doctors discontinued it. The headaches, nausea and vomiting were extreme, I would vomit even if foods were mentioned or brought near me. When I was discharged the migraines were so bad that I was admitted into hospital and also was given CT and MRI scans but nothing abnormal was found. The recent transplant I received 01/01/2013, I initially was given two or three doses of cyclosporine which was enough to cause me headaches, nausea and vomiting for a short period until it was discontinuesRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Becky | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
1/31/2013
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had chronic hives for years. They come and go, but when they come back it is with a vengenance. My allergist finally started me on cyclosporin and I had to start out at 200mg a day and slowly decrease. After several months, the hives were gone! No really bad side effects other than some excessive facial hair. Now the hives have returned and I started the mediciation again. But the blood tests for kidney function is high so I had to stop the medicine. Hives have returned, especially the itching. This drug works for me and I would take it as long as necessary.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
cp43 | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months |
1/9/2013
Condition: Severe Psoriasis that is Resistant to Treatment
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I seem to be gaining weight with this drug. Is anyone else having that problem with the cyclosporine. Also joints ache

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More