Show ratings & reviews for

3.1 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

20 People found this comment helpful

I have gone through a few treatments with cantharone for a couple of very persistent plantar warts (on the foot). The podiatrist pared the dead skin off of the warts, and then applied the cantharone. Let me tell you, it hurts, especially if you have deep warts. The severe pain lasts only a day or two, and then returns when the blister breaks and/or the dead skin falls off. The skin underneath ...

Most voted negative review

1 People found this comment helpful

my 8yr old son had this put on his mullusca.he had severe repeated blistering on the sites and redness around the site. it was very painful for him. i would never use it again and feel the dermatologist didn't inform me very well about the effect it would have.i have to bring him in again because anti-biotics don't seem to be treating the redness/infection.

Shared reviews and ratings

Pain in my foot | 45-54 | Female | Patient
12/6/2022
Condition: Plantar Warts
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is the most painful medical experience I have ever had, not when the podiatrist put it on my plantar wart but within 4 hours, my foot was throbbing. I have had a c-section and two broken bones.. those were mild compared to this. This is my second treatment and it was worse the second time around. So much pain I literally didn’t sleep the night after getting this done, pain to the point of nausea. Make sure you discuss this with your doc before doing this, it’s no joke. It’s “mild ” just as much as a ghost pepper is “slightly warm.”Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
doliver | 13-18 | Nonbinary | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/26/2022
Condition: Plantar Warts
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My podiatrist told me this would be painless. He obviously lied because my feet have been in excruciating pain ever since he put it on. I can barely walk and stand.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Transgender | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/16/2022
Condition: Plantar Warts
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I used to be in so more pain that I used to cry. I am a nurse which means that I work long hours on my feet. I have been free of pain on the very first day I used Cantharone. I called cantharone the miracle. I thank my Dr. Patel my podiatrist.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
John | 35-44 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/13/2021
Condition: Plantar Warts
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had a solitary plantar wart for 5 years that I tried salicylic acid and liquid nitrogen on several times. Nothing worked. I heard about this treatment and bought some from Canada to DIY. I have a pretty high pain tolerance. You should be aware that there are many factors that go into the amount of pain you may have with this treatment, such as the size of the wart, the depth of the wart, the amount of nerves it draws in to itself, how deep the wart is pared down before application, how much is applied, and how wide the application site is when compared to the size of the wart. At this point I've done 3 treatments on myself. It's a painless application, but after the first application I was in severe pain and barely able to walk, and with quite a limp. The pain was much better after a day. I suspect a lot of pain from the 1st application was due to abundant nerve tissue in the wart itself. The 2nd and 3rd applications were progressively less painful, and the wart appears to be nearly gone. Not sure if I will need a 4th treatment at this point or not, but this definitely seems to be the most progress I've had yet and suspect eventually the wart will be entirely gone. I could imagine this is not a fun treatment for mosaic warts, but if you have a high pain tolerance and are motivated to get the wart gone, this is a good go to.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Hazel | 13-18 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/5/2020
Condition: Plantar Warts
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This product is derived from blister beetle toxin and produces large blood and water blisters beneath the skin. Our podiatrist failed to disclose the extreme pain that these blisters would cause. It was super easy to use; the doctor simply smeared the toxin on the warts and ushered us out the door with no aftercare instructions. My 15 year old son could not walk for the first two days and then hobbled around on crutches until day 5. I would absolutely NOT recommend this treatment.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Hazel | 13-18 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/4/2020
Condition: Plantar Warts
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This product is derived from blister beetle toxin and produces large blood and water blisters beneath the skin. Our podiatrist failed to disclose the extreme pain that these blisters would cause. It was super easy to use; the doctor simply smeared the toxin on the warts and ushered us out the door with no aftercare instructions. My 15 year old son could not walk for the first two days and then hobbled around on crutches until day 5. I would absolutely NOT recommend this treatment.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bears | 19-24 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/20/2016
Condition: Plantar Warts
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was using Vircin for 8 weeks with little results before trying this. I have a reasonably high pain tolerance and this is honestly the worst pain I have EVER been in in my life. I just got the treatment 9 hours ago and it has been excruciating. I will NOT be getting another treatment even if my doctor suggests ir. The pain is not worth having them gone quickly. My warts are on my outer foot (mosaic warts) and if the pain does not subside by tomorrow I will have to cancel all of my obligations due to my inability to walk without nearly collapsing in agony. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
HopeToWalkW/oPainSomeDay | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/27/2014
Condition: Plantar Warts
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had 4 treatments with this medication to try and eliminate a large mosaic plantar wart that covered the bottom right side of my right foot and up the right side of my foot. The pain within 2 hours after applying is almost unbearable and it lasted for almost 2 weeks. I also had lots of bleeding from my foot after the last treatment (as if my skin was eaten right down to the bone). It does not appear that the wart is gone yet either. The truth about the pain needs to be disclosed before treatment is given. Been on crutches for 8 weeks now.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
JZ | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/9/2013
Condition: Plantar Warts
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was told it might take a few treatments to get rid of the wart, but it only took one. It hurt like crazy as the blister formed and I couldn't really bare the pain to walk on it. However, two weeks later and the main wart and the other new forming babies elsewhere on the foot all disappeared. The nurse made me a nice cushion out of super thick moleskin that helped ease the pain.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous |
1/12/2013
Condition: Disorder in which Skin Converts to Hard Horny Material
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
5/5/2012
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was able to cure difficult plantar warts including a large mosaic wart with this treatment.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Warty | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/12/2012
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started the Catherone treatment ofter fighting farmers warts for 8 years, including surgically removing them. The treatment were quite painful at time, several hours after the treatment but less that 12 hours. After my 6 treatments my doctor and I were convinced the treatment was a failure. 6 weeks after the final treat the warts on my hand that were not being treated had disappeared while the ones on my foot were definately on their way out. The treatment had forced my immune against warts pick up and fight. Just plan according when you are getting a treatment. Take it easy after treatment,plan on staying laid up the day after, and plan on curtailing activity for next 6-8 days. Hopefully it pays off for you in the end. Oh yeah my doctor paired the treatment with me applying 40% salicylic acid pads directly on the warts after the 2nd day of treatment for half a day until next treatment.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
unknown | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
3/3/2011
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been going to a foot clinic to treat plantars warts on the bottom of my foot for over a year now. Use of Canthrone Plus has been extremely painful with little-to-no results given the amount of time I've been receiving weekly treatments. I feel as though telling patients there will be "mild" discomfort from the blisters which for after treatment is copletely false as I've had to change my work availability to accomodate a day's worth of ice packs and cold water soaks just to be able to walk on the parts of my foot not being treated. Based on the amount of time I've already spent having these warts treated with canthrone and the minimal results paired with extreme pain, I would not recommend its use.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/19/2010
Condition: Disorder in which Skin Converts to Hard Horny Material
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Med was used to treat plugged sweat gland on ball of foot. Effective; however, developed a severe reaction: extreme pain, edema, red streaks (lasted 5-6 days). Outcome: med worked, but Podiatrist said he wouldn't use it on me again.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Melissa | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/11/2009
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had Molluscum and the dermatologist put Cantharone on them and they went right away! I am pretty tolerant of blisteres but this I have to admit, hurt a little more than your average blister. It dosen't hurt when the dermatologist puts it on, only one the blister forms. Overall, it works!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 7-12 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
9/1/2008
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

my 8yr old son had this put on his mullusca.he had severe repeated blistering on the sites and redness around the site. it was very painful for him. i would never use it again and feel the dermatologist didn't inform me very well about the effect it would have.i have to bring him in again because anti-biotics don't seem to be treating the redness/infection.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/23/2008
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have gone through a few treatments with cantharone for a couple of very persistent plantar warts (on the foot). The podiatrist pared the dead skin off of the warts, and then applied the cantharone. Let me tell you, it hurts, especially if you have deep warts. The severe pain lasts only a day or two, and then returns when the blister breaks and/or the dead skin falls off. The skin underneath can be very tender, and in the case of plantar warts, very difficult to walk on. All in all, however, after only one treatment there was a dramatic improvement, and after the second treatment the warts were almost gone. It's effective, but be warned, it can be EXTREMELY painful for a short while.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Medical Student | 19-24 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/11/2007
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
drbrianbailey | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Caregiver
10/17/2007
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Treatment consists of applying Cantharone Plus to the wart in about 4 hours forms a blood blister. This cuts off the warts blood supply. A blood blister with fluid in it is normal after application of the Cantharone Plus. You can expect at 4 hours after application of Cantharone Plus mild discomfort relieved by Motrin or Tylenol. You must keep the area dry for 24 hours at which time you can get the area wet. At 4-10 days after application the blister should fall off. After a week or two, there should be healing however if the blister is still present this is normal too. Cold-water foot soaks can be used to help the pain after the 1st 24-hour period. You will come back in 2-3 weeks for re-examination. It may take 2-3 applications of Cantharone Plus to completely kill the wart. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More