Show ratings & reviews for

2.8 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

69 People found this comment helpful

I took Gastrografin at 7pm on 2 consecutive evenings,it tasted absolutely disgusting, even with orange aquash mixed with it.I drank lots of fluids as directed, afterwards.. I had my CTcolonoscopy in the afternoon of the third day. I had bad diarrhea that evening & am STILL suffering 9 days later.!! Is this normal.?? I would appreciate a reply to this please....

Most voted negative review

6 People found this comment helpful

I was given this in the ER to prep for a CT scan of my abdomen. The nurse mixed it with Crystal Loght and the taste was not too bad. I had to drink over a quart of the mixture. The CT scan went well and I was sent home and thought all was well. In about 4 hours I had severe diarrhea that lasted over 3 days.On the third day of diarrhea I nearly passed out and was admitted to the hospital with...

Shared reviews and ratings

Daisy Atkins | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/2/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The most disgusting medicine ever! I was fit and well having this. I had to have a ct colonoscopy for abdominal pains. I was asked to drink 50ml two days before and 50 ml one day before. After the first one I felt hideous, not so much from diarrhoea but I developed a fever/ high temperature/ and really painful skin. I believe I may have been allergic to iodine. I called the hospital to ask if I should take the s exons one as I feel so ill. They said to do what it says on the sheet, so I did. Never felt so I’ll in my life and should have trusted my gutt to not take it. I dragged myself to the scan, literally, knowing it was now or never as I would never do this again. I explained but the radiologist was very vague, I highlighted that the iodine contrast was not a good idea. I still had a high temperature and sore skin. We did the scan, I went home and was in bed for the next 3/4 days. I drank water, took electrolytes. I am just recovering. The whole experience has been absolutely shocking. I know I needed the scan, which is the only reason I kept going with it. No results yet but I will speak to the consultant once I am stronger.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kazz63 | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/4/2022
Condition: X-Rays Done for Diagnostic Purposes
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had to take 2 doses of gastrografin the day before a CT scan. It tasted disgusting - very strong aniseed flavour. I diluted it in a glass of orange squash and gulped it down quickly. The next dose was 3 hours later. I had to fast for 24 hours but after drinking this stuff I lost my appetite anyway. It started to work around 10pm and I had several trips to the loo but it wasn't very painful. I've had moviprep in the past and that was horrendous. I had the scan, which was uncomfortable but not for too long and the staff in the radiology department were wonderful. They really looked after me. Back home now and feeling okay. I put off having this scan for ages because I was scared of the prep (after that bad experience with moviprep) but I needn't have worried, it was nowhere near as bad as I thought it would be. The worst part is swallowing the medicine but after that it's tolerable. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Gail | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/16/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had a watery bowel for more than two weeks. The scan machine malfunctioned late the day before my scan. I was asked to go the next week again due to me having high risk kidney problems, glaucoma and suffer with clots in my blood I decided it was not worth the risk. I believe in most cases the dosage of gastrografin prescribed should be less so to have less risk of effects. One good thing I have a clean empty bowel!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MikeUk | 65-74 | Male | Patient
8/15/2021
Condition: Process of Making X-Rays of Stomach or Intestines
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had to have a virtual ct colonoscopy recently. But I had a normal camera colonoscopy in hospital 6 years ago. But the prep was pinkish and wasn't too bad. But this stuff shouldn't be in use, it's far to difficult to even drink. I was nearly sick from just one swallow, wife bought some barley water to mix with it, grastrogafin, should be remade with a different recipe. It's the most disgusting stuff I have ever had to take, I T was so bad I literally only took 60% of the bottle at home. Scans went OK. Runs stopped 4 hours before hand. But as soon as I went back to eating, the effects are still with me two days later, with soft stools, twice within 4 hours. I would not take this again, it totally wrecked me for a week, with slight headaches, tiredness and urinating from drinking lots of fluids. Poor medicine for people already suffering bowel problems like me with IBS a diverticular and medium hiatus hernia????Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
T J Edwards | 75 or over | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/17/2021
Condition: Process of Making X-Rays of Stomach or Intestines
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took the first half at 7 am the day before the C T scan took the second half at 7 pm it started to work at 10 pm, My C T scan was 11am the next morning i got to the hospital and the bowel was still working they done the CT scan and when they had finished the scan the bowel started to work again what a mess, i got home and the bowel stop working at 4 p m. The hospital should tell to take the Gastrografin two day's before the scan there would not be a problem

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Horrible side effects | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/26/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had a CT today and drank this medicine... Results have been 4 severe liquid explosions of CAUSTIC diarrhea at the hospital, then 2 more massive accidents on the 5 mile drive home. It has continued ever since. My rectum is raw and swollen. Even my pancreatic cancer pain hasn't been this bad!!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
7p7iza | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
8/10/2019
Condition: X-Rays Done for Diagnostic Purposes
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was on a low residue diet for 2 days prior to a CTVirtual Colonoscopy and had to take a dilution of 50ml at 8pm on both days. I immediately experienced very low blood pressure and dizziness. On the 2nd day I was nauseous as well, very poorly. Told by Dr to continue. CT experience ok. told I would be fine and should eat normally. 11 days later I am still ill with hypotension, extreme wind pains, weepy, night sweats, very tired. Have seen GP twice and called 111 once. No help, no explanation. GP said there was nothing sinister. I never saw a consultant beforehand , nor since. Dreadful experience. I am still waiting for result.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Joanne | 75 or over | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
5/26/2019
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication worked a bit more than it should have easy to use but 3 weeks after still having loose stools & feeling ill & not eating much, dreadful stuff you would think in this day & age there would be an easier stuff to take

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 75 or over | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/30/2017
Condition: X-Rays Done for Diagnostic Purposes
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was due to have a CT Colonography on the Wednesday. I took the recommended dose of gastrografin at 5.00pm on the Tuesday. After a couple of hours suffered severe diarrhoea. The following morning it continued, and I was unable to leave the house to attend the hospital, so did not get my scan. The diarrhoea continued on Thursday, at the time of writing, although it does seem to be improving. My appointment has been rebooked, but I don't know what to due about the gastrografin. If I take it again, I can see the same thing happening.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/2/2017
Condition: Process of Making X-Rays of Stomach or Intestines
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had this several times mixed with Crystal Light and did not have any problems. Recently I had to have a small bowel series, and they had me drink it straight, with nothing added. Worst thing I have ever tasted. Within an hour, severe diarrhea started, which lasted several hours-I must have lost at least a gallon of fluid. I was already dehydrated due to NPO, and got more dehydrated while waiting for the 2nd scan. Other side effects: severe exhaustion, headache, swollen glands, dry mouth, tachycardia. I am still wiped out the next day. Never again.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Shazlee | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/23/2017
Condition: Process of Making X-Rays of Stomach or Intestines
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had to drink a litre of water with this in. It was suppose to taste like aniseed which it did at first the more I drank it the more it just tasted like chemicals and cleaning fluids. After an hour of drinking it I had some ache and wind. 4 hours after drinking it I had stomach ache which was making some horrible noises and ended up with diarrhea

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
C1merritt | 75 or over | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/10/2017
Condition: Process of Making X-Rays of Stomach or Intestines
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Prep for CT stomach/abd. Upon taking in citrus flavored drink (a pint or so), immediately became very nauseated. Informed medical personnel for help and was told they had nothing there (this was inside hospital), to see my doc. Upon completion of x-ray, I started across street to my doc's office when the most severe stomach burning/cramps I have EVER encountered struck. Have experienced childbirth twice , and this pain was worse. Reached doc's reception area w/I five minutes and was sobbing, bent over with pain. directed to ER where I administered drugs for nausea, pain, and calming. Pain would subside somewhat following med, but returned w/I minutes. According to ER nurse, maximum pain drug was administered. Since I had no gastrointestinal doc, I was sent home, crying and begging, please no - keep me. This occurred Oct 16. Have continuing nausea and intermittent stomach cramping, supplemented by a month or more of diarrhea, Have a gastrointestinal doc now, but NO findings to this point! Am 75 years, college educated, had long career as an HR professional. As an aside, I have many food and environmental allergies. Have to this time been unable to ascertain volume of gastrografin administered - was finally told "a little", and there was no record of its being administered. Upon my insistence, the record was supplemented by chief radiologist. Now for the question. I believe the drug contains iodine. Was the severe reaction to that, or some other element in the drug? Where do I go to find out? Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/2/2017
Condition: Process of Making X-Rays of Stomach or Intestines
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
SMD | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/26/2016
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After surgery for removal of perforated Appendix, have had 2 CT Scans which required drinking Gastrografin to "light up" my Abdomen so they can locate Abscesses. It tastes like Nuclear Waste; horrid even with Crystal Light Lemon flavoring. To make it worse, the Nurse gave it to me WARM...

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | Patient
12/30/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Took it last night at 9 pm. Tasted like cough medicine - not terrible. Had CT Colonography this morning. So far, so good.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jed | 65-74 | Female | Patient
9/30/2014
Condition: X-Rays Done for Diagnostic Purposes
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This drug caused me severe diarrhea when used for swallow test following repair of giant para esophageal hernia. Voluminous, explosive diarrhea for five days , lost 11 pounds. Tried Gatorade, water, rice, bananas, kaopectate, Imodium AD. Nothing worked. After five days diarrhea subsided, continue to feel extremely weak, gained back two pounds. Dr and hospital apologized. I was never told this contrast dye was contraindicated for those of us allergic to iodine. Had an anaphylactic shock to iodine bases dye before, it is all over my chart.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/22/2013
Condition: Process of Making X-Rays of Stomach or Intestines
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had a small bowel obstruction at the sight of a previous bowel resection. After 48 hours in the ER, I was administered the drug through a nasogastric tube in preparation for a small bowel follow through. Within thirty minutes the laxative affect of the drug cleared the obstruction and I was able to leave the hospital four hours later. I suffered from severe diarhea for the next 24 hours but this was a small price to pay for removing the obstruction.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kat | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/26/2013
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took Gastrografin at 7pm on 2 consecutive evenings,it tasted absolutely disgusting, even with orange aquash mixed with it.I drank lots of fluids as directed, afterwards.. I had my CTcolonoscopy in the afternoon of the third day. I had bad diarrhea that evening & am STILL suffering 9 days later.!! Is this normal.?? I would appreciate a reply to this please....

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tomie | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/7/2013
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was given this in the ER to prep for a CT scan of my abdomen. The nurse mixed it with Crystal Loght and the taste was not too bad. I had to drink over a quart of the mixture. The CT scan went well and I was sent home and thought all was well. In about 4 hours I had severe diarrhea that lasted over 3 days.On the third day of diarrhea I nearly passed out and was admitted to the hospital with low sodium and extremely high blood pressure. It took three days before I was discharged The DR. felt the low sodium was from the severe diarrhea but was unsure what caused the high BP. A week after the gastrografin I'm finally feeling much better except for gas pains. If I even need another CT scan I will ask if there is some other prep. I really don't want to go through that again. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Glad to Be Home Now | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month |
9/12/2012
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Used this yesterday for CT of abdomen and pelvis to diagnose partial small bowel obstruction. Was given to me at room temp but nurse was kind enough to provide apple juice chaser. Tasted like Satan's urine, very difficult to drink while in pain. However, doctor says its laxative effect helped relieve my obstruction without surgery. Therefore, I love Gastrografin.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More