Show ratings & reviews for

3.6 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

50 People found this comment helpful

I recently started taking 600 mg lithium per day. I am glad I am taking it. I am not as agitated and angry as I was before. I am a better mom because of it. I was very scared when I was put on it, but don't let fear get in the way of you getting better. It is working for me!

Most voted negative review

35 People found this comment helpful

Useless! Most likely your doctor will omit telling you to drink lots of water! Also, will not mention that Lithium blands ones emotions and very likely can cause serious kidney damage. In his excellent book, "Toxic Psychiatry," Psychiatrist Peter Breggan mentions his telling one Bipolar patient to forget alcohol OR Lithium and just solve his problems!That's what I'm doing. 1)No counting pills, ...

Shared reviews and ratings

Saved my life | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
5/8/2021
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Lithium Carbonate ER (lithium) for Bipolar Disorder:  “Hi guys, I have been on Lithium Carbonate (1000 mg). This might shock you, but I have been on Lithium for 18 years, I'm now age 37, I was 20 years old when I started. What I've learned is you need to know your triggers. For example, don't drink 2 much coffee as it can lower your lithium blood level , coffee made me shake. Watch what you eat and understand what triggers, if your feeling run down and dizzy and headaches and sore stomach see your doctor right away your lithium may be to low meaning your blood level for lithium carbonate you may need more to rebalance  your level and that sick side affect filling will go away i no that filling when my lithium  level is low doctor puts me up 100mg or 250mg it will safe your life and worries of going to hospital and relapsing and you fill on top of the world again that extra does help doctors and mental health workers are there to help if so only you can know that thats so dont ever be afraid to asks for help thats my tip to you  . One major thing to stop doing is looking for answers on Google! Just see a doctor! Lithium saved my life. Yes, I've had the odd up and downs, but I keep going and made something of myself. If I've come this far, I know anybody can. Smile! I would like you all to know, at the end of the day, you can have so much of anything, so make the most of it and enjoy life. I used to be scared of people judging me. Still, I finally decided to write this review because there is too much miss information out there.” I like to thank everyone at royal park mental health and mostly Peter and Craig A. Macneil with out your help i wouldn't be alive today thank you all p.s I was that kid with glasses many years agoRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jason | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
2/24/2021
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medicine has helped me calm down to the point where I can rest my head on a pillow and sleep. And improve my life generally as I’m not felling down and the weight of the world on my shoulders.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
OctobersOwnb | 35-44 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/22/2020
Condition: Additional Medications to Treat Depression
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Iâ??ve been taking lithium for 3 months now. Honestly I shouldnâ??t leave a review because Iâ??m not even sure why Iâ??m taking it

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Akadaca | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
9/18/2020
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Bipolar Disorder Hi guys, I have been on Lithium Carbonate (1000 mg) at Royal Park Vic. This might shock you, but I have been on Lithium for 18 years, I'm now age 37, I was 20 years old I started. What I've learned is you need to know your triggers. For example, don't drink coffee, that made me shake. Watch what you eat and understand what triggers, which only you know. One major thing to stop doing is looking for answers on bloody Google! Just see a doctor! Lithium saved my life. Yes, I've had the odd up and downs, but I keep going and made something of myself. If I've come this far, I know anybody can. Smile! I would like you all to know, at the end of the day, you can have so much of anything, so make the most of it and enjoy life. I used to be scared of people judging me. Still, I finally decided to write this review because there is too much misinformation out there. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
dreamer | 55-64 | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
3/29/2019
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

started off on 900mg,dr wasn't getting labs,went into lithium toxicity,kidney failure.was on 450mg for 4yrs,had gastric bypass surgery,lost over 100lbs,went off lithium on my own.i feel like a new person.would not recommend this drug to my worst enemy. this drug just about killed me. my psychiatrist should have been sued for not getting labs

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
7/16/2018
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
old psychologist | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
6/27/2018
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

lithium made my depressions less frequent and less severe. It smoothed out my daily and seasonal mood gradient. I have had low side effects. In the last 3 years my kidneys weakened, but I am still taking a low dose, 150mg daily. The WebMD information grossly exaggerates the risk of "serotonin syndrome." Compared to anti-depressants, lithium has very little effect on serotonin levels. Fear of serotonin syndrome should not factor into a patient's or a doctor's decision to try lithium.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | Female | Patient
4/27/2018
Condition: Additional Medications to Treat Depression
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I used Roxane generic brand for years and have done well. My pharmacy switched to Glenmark. Big mistake. Within a few days I experienced withdrawal symptoms and started realizing that the Glenmark was not doing its job. I was having stomach upsat, extreme fatigue, anhedonia--all symptom of recurrung depression.Fortunately the pharmacy will order Roxane for me. I don't recommend Glenmark.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/18/2018
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
maybe later | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/17/2017
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Been on Lithium for a month now,still have the side effects as my Doctor said. I feel more of having tremors then ever before. I do have a better outlook but I working with the side effects when does it subside ?? The drug is good to me some ways still gotta feel better about myself just seem to take time to work with the med.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
GGBgirl | 19-24 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
2/16/2017
Condition: Manic-Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I would not be alive if it wasn't for this med. I was fighting mental illness for nearly seven years since I was 13. I cut myself and would sometimes beat myself until the area turned purple and yellow. I've attempted suicide more times than I can count in hope of succeeding, and flew 1800 miles alone to San Francisco with no way back and nothing much other than the clothes I was wearing. My sole purpose to jump off the Golden Gate Bridge when I arrived. However, it took three more hospitalizations after that before I was started on lithium. Lamictal was added and finally Effexor. Lithium did a great job while to side was right. It did best at controlling the manic side, but I didn't have the mood swings I had before. The other meds further helped with the depression side. I don't know why lithium is not prescribed more often. It's a great medication and I don't know where I'd be without it. Sideffects seem minimal and I've been taking it for over two years now. I think it makes me more sleepy, but I think the others do as well. I have to be careful in the heat and make sure I replace electrolytes, and watch caffeen intake and be careful with ibuprofen. But it's wonderful. I know meds work differently for everyone, but if your like me and tried dozens of meds with no results, then it's definitely worth talking to your doc about it. And find a good doc. A good doc will listen and allow you to suggest things about your treatment and meds and not force you to change meds or force you take something that you don't want to. I hope this helps to all our there struggling. Don't ever give up hope. :)Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
10/13/2016
Condition: Mania associated with Bipolar Disorder
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Gonzo | 35-44 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/4/2016
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Well, my dr being the genius that he was left me on valium fot over two years...he would put you on a drug and just leave you in it...whether it worked or not. He put mr on alprazolam after the valium and you CANT go from valium to alprazolam and survive. I started getting wicked withdrawals and my idiot dr prescribed me lithium along with an old AD. Why I even took them in the first place is a mystery since I never asked for these meds and even told him my sleep was great. Started feeling sick after tsking fir two days while on vacation with hitler and told my fiance (hitler) that they were making me sick and I needed to stop them. She got angry and demanded I keep taking them and I didnt want anymore silent treatment/anger...two weeks later I suffered brain, muscle, nerve and kidney damage!!! This has ruined my life and before I met my fiance I was fine. NEVER take crap from a partner and when you see red flags you run like hell!!! Also, be careful about taking meds in general...do you think depression was because a lack of prozac?! Sorry, ive read enough about big pharma, the fda and drs to know better....its all a scam. If you dont believe me thats fine but pretty soon itll be common knowledge that medication is vastly overprescribed and the clinical trials are a joke at best. Listen to me now and thank me later. Ever wonder why the listed side effects are minimal compared to actual side effects of people taking them? Well, just maybe the manufacturer(who also is the one testing the drugs) is kind of lying or witholding the truth?! Of course not! Why would they lie? Its not like the drug is going to make millions or billions of dollars anyways...oh wait, yes it is! PeaceRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
China | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years |
8/6/2016
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Lithium is the reason I believe I am still alive. I had tried committing suicide three times. I swallowed an entire bottle of tricyclics which should have killed me. I was so desperate after medications didn't work that I was considering electroshock therapy. On the third day of taking Lithium I could physically feel something change in my brain. Like a switch turning on. My crippling depression is gone as is my urge to die. I'm not saying I don't struggle day to day but I never even contemplate hurting myself. I know every medication works differently for different people so I am not saying run out and get it. But if you are desperate to fight your depression it might be worth asking your doctor about it.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
WildCat | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
6/23/2016
Condition: Manic-Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started taking lithium carbonate over 5 years ago and it changed me into a *normal* person. The rapid cycling mood swings, mania and depression have been completely controlled and I've experienced none of the side effects so frequently quoted. I thank G*d for lithium!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jaylee | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/23/2016
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on this medication for a week in combonation with prozac and adderrall, and I can honestly say that I have never ever felt better. I can only hope that my mood and my control over my emotions and impulses continue to get better.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Icare4u2 | 25-34 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/2/2016
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Lithium is a great medication, however, I got a few of the side effects that it says you MAY receive while taking this drug. I first started taking this and felt great within a few days! I then started the hand trembling and then very slowly started to see a change in my vision. I noticed that I would get like quick flashes of light or one eye would go blank. I told my doctor and he removed me from it and put me on something else. I truly love this drug, but if it wasn't for these side effects, I'd be a happy camper.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Caregiver
4/15/2016
Condition: Manic-Depression
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Lithium worked wonderfully for my husband for 45 yrs. Then he found out it ruined his kidneys. So they took him off Lithium and tried some other mood stabilizers and he went into deep depression and tried to kill himself. Now he has a lot of Parkinsons symptoms. they won't let him take it anymore.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tkrowland | 19-24 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/4/2016
Condition: Rapid Cycle Manic-Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on Lithium Carbonate for roughly a week now, and it has totally stopped the rapid cycling, as well as suicidal ideations. I have tried numerous other medications, mainly newer ones, and they have failed to work. I was a bit hesitant, mainly due to the weight gain and other side effects, but I am finally in control for once in my life. No more wanting to spend money frivolously, and seek action and adventure in my life. I finally have seen the light, and it's great to be doing better, after such a long period of struggle. I would caution though to get regular blood tests, this drug can have some nasty side effects to the kidneys and thyroid. Hope this helps!!!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
R22000 | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
3/3/2016
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

A therapist suggested trying lithium one time to me and i followed up with my psychiatrist and she agreed to try it. i usually wind up below clinical range but along with the latuda and fetzima that i am taking the lithium has helped a lot. i started like 5 years ago dont recall any of the real side effects i had already had gained 40 lbs from using zyprexa at an earlier time. The lithium worked wonders. I feel close to "normal" but definately dont overwatch the lack of water even though i feel it when it is hot or working a bit much. I've been on my current meds for almost 2 years and they have gotten me really stable the lithium added a certain level id recommend it if it works cause it works well if it does and if it doesn't at least you gave it a shot and know that you can't use this almost wonderdrug. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More