Show ratings & reviews for

3.2 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

54 People found this comment helpful

This medication works but I developed muscle and joint pains in both shoulders and neck area. More sever in the left shoulder.

Most voted negative review

7 People found this comment helpful

amlodipine besylate caused heart to throb, weakness, dizziness ... just another drug "pushed" by the legal "drug-pushers" ... doctors, pharmaceutical firms and their sexy representatives in their "tight

Shared reviews and ratings

Mad in AR | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/28/2021
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed this medication as an alternative to lisinopril as it caused me to have a bad reaction and subsequent renal kidney failure. I have been on it for about a week now. It made my tongue swell up, hard to breath, can't taste food or drink, dizziness, lack or focus and the final straw is now I have sores on my tongue from me accidentally biting it while I eat and sleep. I'd rather face the affects of having high blood pressure than having to deal with poor quality of life. Mind you that my resting blood pressure it usually 170/80 to 183/90.Still they really shouldn't prescribe this to patients if it has this many side effects. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
dillerboi | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/8/2021
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Have been taking this medication for only a week or so now. Immediately was having issues with dizziness with a bit of nausea. I work with power tools and drive quite a bit and can't afford not to work. I then started feeling like I was always one step behind, unfocused, got extremely tired after doing things I have done for years with no problem. The blood pressure did respond to the medication but I am going to tell my doctor to find something different. Some days I find it hard to even get out of the house because of the effects of this stuff. No bueno.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Diana Jo Wilson | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/31/2021
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It worked for a short time then the awful migraines started, swelling in left leg and ankle, my right arm hurts so bad and my shoulder keeps popping like it’s out of place and it was not injured or anything. Anxiety, confusion, forgetfulness, trouble with kidneys working just a little at a time and feel like i’m burning up when i have to go. It is the worst medication i have ever taken and my blood pressure is all over the place. This drug has so many bad side effects i don’t understand why anyone would prescribe it unless they didn’t bother to check it out first. I thought i was loosing my mind, we are not it’s this medicine. I’m done.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ron W | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
8/17/2021
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Works great for my blood pressure, but within a week my ankles were swollen and weight shot up 15 pounds despite being at the same weight for the past 20 years and eating no differently. Six months later it's no better and have had swollen knees and sore shoulders which I never had before this medicine. I guess it's better than a heart attack or stroke though.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kenny | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/27/2021
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Lisinopril made me cough so my doctor gave me this instead. It is awesome. It totally got rid of my Reynaud's syndrome (she said it might help) which is a huge bonus since I live in a cold climate. And my BP was 106 / 68 last time it was measured.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | Patient
5/27/2021
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am a 43 year old female and was given amlodipine for some high blood pressure. I was taking for 4 days when I woke up with a rash on my upper body and stomach. Following day I was in the hospital with a severe allergic reaction. I had clusters of blisters not even hives and the rest of my body from head to toe. My lips had swollen and I immediately took myself to the hospital. Docs said that I had a case they hadnt seen with so many blisters. I was given epinephrine and steroids then sent home with 5 days of steroids and an epi pen. I am now almost 2 weeks in and still have a rash on most of my body. A terrible experience. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mo | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
5/26/2021
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'm 42 yrs old. I'm just coming off amlodipine. I was taking it for several years 5mg day, but to better control blood pressure was upped to 10mg about 4 months ago, that is when I noticed side-effects. For me I had some swelling of ankles/legs (worse in hot climates). This might have been manageable but then I started having joint pain, especially in my knees and shoulders - they felt out of place and would have inflammation easily with movement/exercise. I had not made any other changes in my life or with medications and am 100% sure this medication caused the joint pain. I've been off it for a few weeks now and already joint pain is going away. Now trying a new medication...fingers crossed...Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
DrZhiivago | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
5/19/2021
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took the Amlodipine 5mg along with Anatolol 50 mg and it worked for me. Of course, I had side effects but I dealt with it and I did not take additional meds for each and every side effect. Most of the side effects eventually went away after 2-3 months, however, my BP went down too and I can feel the difference in my daily routine. I have researched high BP meds over 2-3 years and I discovered the best med is the combination meds. I believe it did lots of good for me. But please do bear in mind; I did not just inhale my meds; I added vigorous quick walking and I watched what I was eating too. The combination of meds, exercise, and the right food did help tremendously. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND IT. Best of LuckRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/17/2021
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My Cardio Dr started me on this BP med 3 weeks ago. I go back to him next week. I’ll be telling him he needs to switch me to something else!! I am so dizzy almost 24-7. I’ve also noticed that I have arm pain some days too, like I slept funny on it. I can live with that - I CANT live with this dizziness!!! I also take Atenolol 50mg a day -for years now- and I have no problem with that med. This Amlodipine Besylate is not working. My Dr only has me on med at 2.5mg because he says I just need a small boost on my HBP but this is not working for me. This dizziness and vertigo needs to stop! However it is starting to help my BP go down many days and when it does go back up I’m in the 140’s-150. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Linda | 65-74 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/4/2021
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Amlodipine besylate caused me severe hair loss and thinning. I was on it for four months and will not be taking it any more.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Countryfellow | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
4/30/2021
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is an awful drug for me. I started on 5mg back in August 2020 after feeling a bit of head pressure. Dr said my pressure was up and I should be started on HP medication. At the time my BP was 150/110. The medication worked well, until April this year. Then doctor decided to increase my dosage to 10mg. That's when things started. I have had most of the symptoms that persons on the platform have spoken of dizziness, anxiety through the roof, heart palpitations, weired dreams, chest discomfort (which I never had before), body aches all over, depression, brain fog and blurred vision. The worst part was tiredness and fatigue I was literally useless. I felt like I had been hit with a powerful tranquilizer. As I write to you I have decided to take better care of my health. I have lost 25 lbs, started taking Garlic supplements, eating healthier and exercising everyday. I'm currently weaning myself off this medication. My blood pressure currently ranges between 112/77 to 130/90. This medication works for some, but not for me. If you check online you can see that's its being experimentally used to treat persons with bipolar disorder and that it may cause cancer and Parkinsons.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ms. Hardrick | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/29/2021
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication is causing me major joint pain all over my body especially in my hands. My fingers get numb to touch, they cramp up and have tingling sensation. Told my doctor and was told that’s not a symptom, just continue to take. This is most definitely a symptom for me, it happens everytime I take this medication. Is anyone else experiencing similar joint aches and pains from hands to lower extremities?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/27/2021
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is a horrible Medicine. It caused palpitations, chest pain, swelling in my ankles. I also developed a lower extremity rash on my legs. Made my blood pressure higher. This is toxic stuff I do not recommend anyone take this. I am back on my lisinopril that I was on before and feel great. Amlodipine is poison.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mom | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Caregiver
4/26/2021
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My daughter developed acute pancreatitis and almost died after being on this drug a couple of years. When you google it, this drug is known to do that. BEWARE.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sue | 75 or over | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/23/2021
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on this medication for only a week .Today my ankles are severely swollen and hurts to walk legs tingling has had flushing and headaches bloating.Why doctors doesn’t explain to their patients of these extreme symptoms and side effects? I “m stopping this medication asap

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Chiki1956 | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/1/2021
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Today is my first day taking this and I have a headache just like the headaches that I was having before I took this med. My heads feel tightness as if my pressure is up. No sure if this is suppose to occur Any thoughts anyone?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Robb | 35-44 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
3/21/2021
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am using Amlodipine 10mg for almost 3years together with ACE Ramipril 10mg and diuretics Burimex 1mg and Rosuvastatin 10mg for cholesterol. Before i was prescribed with Amlodipine my BP was 190/110 mostly due to a stress and anxiety+genetics and of course combined with overweight. At start of use of Amlodipine there was a feet oedema, diuretics helps with that,BP lowered to 120/80-140/90, but after 2years Amlodipine started to be less effective, side effects worsen, cold hands and feet,anxiety/depression/fear tremors/shaking which spikes BP to 160/100 and it takes 1-2hours of slow breathing technique under duvet to calm HR and BP down after that, constipations/diarrhea/bloating which spikes up BP as well, laxative helps a little. I am exercising and i am on diet for 3mts lost 30lb.in 3months cardio twice a daily 40min total+30min walking daily, no salt, no sugar,lots of omega3, vegs, fruits and supplements B6,B12,D3,B-complex,Curcumin, and no red meat, no fat, feeling same side effects especially in the evenings shaking and constipation spikes in BP, tried taking 5mg now, but doesn't change the thing, same side effects+BP up. Cutted off diuretics (it caused UTI symptoms and constipation due to a dehydration), lowered statins (causing more constipation),Amlodipine blocking calcium while its widen relaxing blood vessels,this cause frequent urination+dehydration thus another constipation etc. (water=calcium/ blocking=frequent urination=dehydration=constipation)... It's not easy and its dangerous to get off Amlodipine 10mg after two years, even wean off may cause trouble and ER visits. I wish i did never started taking it, now i dont know how to get off of it, fear and anxiety from heart attack and stroke can't allow me to stop it. I am fighting everyday with these side effects and fear, because i am weighting stroke and heart attack vs. side effects and the side effects are secondary for me...Used Propranolol temporarily as well, but doesn't lowered my BP enough...Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
P | 75 or over | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
2/8/2021
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am using 5 mg a day for the past six months due to high blood pressure, initially I had the problem of frequenting to bathroom, but after some days everything became normal

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
DaisysDad | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/15/2021
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have only taken it for a few days and my blood pressure is down to 129/75. Previously the bottom number would be between 95 and 110. I will say it seems to make me have to urinate a lot more, but that could be an interaction with the losartin and hydroclorithizde I also take.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mary | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/10/2021
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Sour taste in mouth that won't go away; gastrointestinal issues. MD's need to be more aware of these side effects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More