Show ratings & reviews for

2.9 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

40 People found this comment helpful

I suffered for 6 months while six medical doctors tried to diagnose my itching and red spots. Just because other folks in your household do not not have symptoms like you does not discount SCABIES as the culprit. All of my doctors assumed just that. Suddenly one day my wife started having similar symptoms so my primary care provider decided it was time to administer the cream. The cream was ap...

Most voted negative review

7 People found this comment helpful

I was diagnoized with Scabies 5 days ago. I had the itching about 2 weeks before going to the Dr. My granddaughter was itching too, so she went to the Dr. and was diagnoized with Scabies. Her Dr. told her that she had caught it from a puppy that she had gotten that had the mange. I also took care of the puppy. Some say that the mite that infects animals can't be transferred to humans. But, her Dr...

Shared reviews and ratings

GINGER | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/16/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Did not kill insects. Messy PRODUCT & not enough to do full body. Expensive tube of cream. Bite was a one time insect to 2 AREAS on back only. Destroyed pest = removed by straight vinegar spray bottle = killed whatever it was on me = TURNED insect on me to MUSH. PRODUCT MAY BE BETTER AS A SPRAY and able to reach a person's back. Not happy doc prescribed this believing it was bed bugs WHICH IT IS NOT = NO MATTRESS OR UPHOLSTERED FURNITURE AT ALL. Have one wood stool & hammock @ 3' off floor. Was a pest brought to my house on person / on 1 chair = gone now. COSTLY WASTE OF MY MONEY = NO DRUG PLAN. WOULD LIKE MY MONEY BACK PLEASE AND THANKS. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous |
10/25/2021
Condition: Scabies
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

if you are still suffering from scabies please ask your dr about ivermectin. Some people are still suffering even after applying premetherin several times. Ivermectin is the only thing that has helped me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Not A Robot | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/20/2021
Condition: Scabies
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

To counteract all of the negative, ignorant nonsense all of these people (who seem to have no more than a 3rd grade level education, from the way they all type. Like what is even going on with these people?!) have been overloading this page with, I thought I would share my POSITIVE, SUCCESSFUL experience. •I got scabies (didn't know what it was at the time) •I went to the doctor •I was diagnosed and prescribed said Permethrin cream •I used it AS DIRECTED (i.e. I covered my body, head to toe, save for the "sensitive areas") •I waited the appropriate amount of time •I rinsed it off •No more scabies This was all a few years back, but after coming across this page for unrelated reasons and seeing all of the... well, I'll be honest, the stupidity, I felt obligated to share my experience so that maybe, if anyone out there was reading all of this and somehow got dissuaded from seeking/accepting the proper medical help because of all of this nonsense... well maybe, just maybe, my testimonial might convince them otherwise. Not everyone has had such a miserable experience. Honestly, I can't help but wonder if some of these people were doing something wrong... one woman even seemed as if she had ingested the medication, or something foolish like that. So, even though I feel this should go without saying, I'll say it anyway: DO NOT INGEST THE CREAM. C'mon... (Also keep it away from cats and keep cats away from the cream. Felines and Permethrin DO NOT MIX.) Have a lovely day. Seek medical advice. Use your brain. And good luck with your scabies. I know they suck, but there is a solution. Just follow directions, PLEASE.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Pederson | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/2/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I went 3years experiencing something on my face similar but not scabies. They would itch until I got it out by tearing up my skin. I've been using it the same Permethrin cream on my face and I my husband ended up with it as well and the treatment has greatly helped him also. I do recommend that anyone experiencing a something weird, see a dermatologist asap.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/8/2020
Condition: Scabies
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I did this for the first time with a mature case.After3-4 days itching was gone, it's been Aprox 3 weeks and it's batch even worse. I didn't follow up in a week with another treatment because I dousing have enough. And wish first treatment i washed and dryed everything but never did my head. Also didn't think about shoes, carpet, purse. I just don't get why it works be back so much Worze.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | On medication for 1 to 6 months |
3/29/2019
Condition: Scabies
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My son brought scabies into my home from a hotel room, We both have used permethrin i did two times,,we have washed beds, clothes, towels and everything in hot water and sheets in clorox and hot water,,they keep coming back,,,they give you this little tube and want you to apply it all over ;your body,,,well . there is not enough in that tube to successfully do this! we have dogs, so the dogs have them now and they are in our carpet,,my son bought some 10% permethrin for farm animals and diluted it,,,we wiped the dogs down and sprayed the house,,we will see what happens next,,,will have to do this treatment again in one week !! I have never experienced anything like this in my lifetime,,,I ordered on line some Neem oil and tea tree oil and the neem oil is suppose to be a natural insect killer, used in many foreign countries,,i make a soak in my bath with this,,it helps for a few days and now my head is itching again,,The directions said to do this soak in the tub every day until they are gone. Woman have a harder time getting rid of these pets,,cause they have more hair,,,I have bites all over my back,,I am fed up with these damn pests in my house,,look up Neem oil and it's effects,,I will continue using this until i think they are all gone! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ungalil oruvan | 19-24 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/26/2016
Condition: Scabies
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

it irritate my eye....i applied my body and i slept .,then when woke up t irriotate my eyes

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Cat Lover | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/14/2016
Condition: Scabies
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I handled a feral kitten that had scabies when I was bringing it to the vet for treatment. The kitten is fine now. I saw a doctor and got a prescription for 5% permethrin. The first pharmacy wanted $85 for a tube. Walmart wanted $45 for a tube along with a discount card that I didn't have. So I looked online and found the product on ebay. One company in Sri Lanka required a copy of the prescription, but a company in Mexico did not require a prescription and only charged $22. I had a $10 off ebay coupon if I spent $25 or more so I ordered something additional for $6 and my total order after coupon was $18 - far better than $45 or $85. The cream appears to be working after several days, the scabs are gone and spots have dried up along with no itching. Warning, though, be careful around cats as permethrin is poisonous to them and can be fatal if they are near you or dogs that have been shampooed with products containing permethrin. It affects their livers I read. Also don't overuse on yourself as mites could become resistant. The cream kills the mites and eggs. I didn't notice any side effects except one day I had stomach pains briefly, but that could have been from something else. I recommend using this product, but you can save money ordering through ebay and receive the product in about 4 days much less expensively than a USA pharmacy.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
bbg65 | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/25/2016
Condition: Scabies
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

my dr gave me this 4 times and at 56 a tube thought it would work but nope and I washed my bedding my dogs bedding etc this product stinks am not happy with it at all

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Looking for a cure | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/9/2015
Condition: Scabies
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is an update to my last review, dated Aug. 27th. I did try the diatomaceous earth treatment, as mentioned. The DE I bought (SAFER brand) ended up turning into a brown paste when mixed with the oil. I used grape seed oil and also canola oil, and rubbed it all over. It made my skin super greasy, so I couldn't go out, but I work from home so I tried it for a while and it did seem to help. Then I got a prescription for Ivermectin, oral meds, so I took that and stopped the DE/oil. I was still getting bites. Then I noticed that I was using tea tree oil shampoo, and the bumps on the back of my neck started to go away. I read up on it, and in a lab, tea tree oil killed scabies mites faster than permethrin. So I rubbed the shampoo all over and left it on for a few hours. My skin started burning and turning red, so I had to take a warm bath to soak it all out. After that, I tried putting it on for 20-30 minutes a few times a day and then showering it off. I went out and got some tea tree body wash, which is less abrasive. These treatments seems to help a lot, but I'm still getting some fresh bites. I've taken my second dose of Ivermectin, too. Sooo... I'm planning to keep on with the tea tree oil, refill my Ivermectin prescription for a third dose, and I'm trying to get another prescription for permethrin, too. We'll see. Bottom line, these critters are hard to get rid of, and I'm washing all of my clothes, sheets and towels daily, too. Sigh... When I do have new bites and I rub in the tea tree oil products, it does seem to make those bumps diminish withing about 30 minutes and sometimes completely go away in a day, but then new bites are still showing up.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Friendly | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/22/2015
Condition: Scabies
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I used this medicine at least six times with no lasting effect. I have been having muscle spasms and twitching since using. Please be careful. All the best in your efforts to cure this awful condition.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MiteHater | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/4/2015
Condition: Scabies
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'm not itch free and the cream feels like plain ol' hydrocortisone cream. These mites are annoying. Why does medicare only cover this crappy medicine. Ugh Yes 1st time ever got these suckers and I'm at day two since medicated. How long will these mites stick around?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
scabie master | 19-24 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/14/2014
Condition: Scabies
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

long story short. this was a couple of years ago . after 1 1/2months of notstop itching that started with my 1 year old son and ended with my girlfriend at the time, myself, and my sons mother all itching we knew there was something wrong. I researched and went to the doctor and concluded it was scabies. at first the doctor recommended over the counter permethrin which has 5% but the only problem with that was that the label said to use NO LONGER than 30 min. that didn't work. I went back and got a prescription permethrin 1% and all it took was 1 time . I shared with everybody else, and sprayed everything in my house that we lay, sit, or sleep on with 2 cans of Lysol . when I thought it was enough I sprayed some more until I used both full bottles(I had to get out of my apartment) lol. I really hope this helps somebody. MAKE SURE ITS 1%. or it will BURN!!!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Caregiver
10/7/2014
Condition: Scabies
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Used treatment for six weeks straight with repeated refills along with daily vacuuming, washing clothing and linens in hot water, etc., etc. Didn't work!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Scabies Hater | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/6/2014
Condition: Scabies
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have put this insecticide on my body four times and I still am having mites and scratching. I didn't know to put it on the soles of my feet so I am now dealing with that. These little Scabies have ruined my life for 2 1/2 months. I am a school teacher and got them the last week of school or so before my retirement. It has been hell. I took pills and did the treatment with the Permethrin and I got reinfected. My husband never got one bite, he evidently was a carrier and never showed symptoms. I might have gotten scabies from sheets at a hotel. It is hard to tell. I am now ordering holistic / natural remedies like Dr. Scabies products. I will find out if they work. It is horrible to live with this little microscopic porcupine monster parasite. Cold showers and soaking feet in cold water helps. Curel lotion and Sarna lotion seem to help. Did I mention after the treatments of Permethrin I was still scratching until I was bleeding.This is one of the most horrible experiences I have lived through. I must have really been infested with these things and didn't know what it was for a long time. My MD put me on Prednisone and it did nothing, I kept scratching, arms, stomach, lower back,upper thighs and then later on my feet. Good luck with this medication. It does not kill the eggs. I told my dermatologist that it does not kill them all.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
griffiths | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month |
8/14/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i am very itch all over my body

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jeanneb | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/4/2014
Condition: Scabies
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After using the cream at night 0n the first for the 1st time I could really , tell that I was on it, I burned so bad from the inside. After the 3rd-5th using.My stomach cramped on the inside so bad, it was like having period cramp's. After a few day's I was throwing up and really had the shakes inside so bad.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/11/2014
Condition: Scabies
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

failed

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Captn Noah | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/6/2014
Condition: Scabies
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My son had scabies for a month before alerting me,hmmpf! I have used neem oil and eucalypus oil and then permethrin, huge coverage of rash now which appears only vaguely related to the infection sites. it is vital to understand their lifecycle as the eggs are not killed and then after 10 days or so the nymphs become adults and the cycle renews. I eventually cut of my (very long and precious) hair because they had got into my scalp and i needed to be able to apply cream there. unhappily they got from there into my face and the swellings are immense, I'm uncertain if this is reacting to the scabies or treatment. I have been bagging all cloths and bedding for three days then hot water washing. I'm only in the first month so there seems to be a ways to go yet. This is a most unwelcomed process, i wish you well.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month |
3/16/2014
Condition: Scabies
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was diagnoized with Scabies 5 days ago. I had the itching about 2 weeks before going to the Dr. My granddaughter was itching too, so she went to the Dr. and was diagnoized with Scabies. Her Dr. told her that she had caught it from a puppy that she had gotten that had the mange. I also took care of the puppy. Some say that the mite that infects animals can't be transferred to humans. But, her Dr. disagrees. I'm on my first week of using this cream. My Dr. told me to apply all over and let it stay for 14 hr. then wash off and apply again after 14 days. If it doesn't help I going to use Lava soap that's what one reader suggested. Makes sense to me.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More