Show ratings & reviews for

3.9 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

42 People found this comment helpful

I was prescribed the drug yesterday within a four week pregnancy. After reading many of the online reviews I was absolutely terrified, which as a result I am writing this review in an effort to help calm some of the nerves out there. Although I have three more nights to go with this, (I am to take 400mcgs over four nights)I have to say my first night was not the nightmarish experiences women o...

Most voted negative review

7 People found this comment helpful

ple give suggetionMisoprostol.oral

Shared reviews and ratings

StephMari | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/27/2022
Condition: Abortion
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was about 7 weeks pregnant. Like many of you, I was scared and didn’t know what to expect. If you find yourself reading the reviews before you take the medication I advise to focus on the good. I know everyone’s body is different and we all have different symptoms. I got home from work about 4:40 pm that’s when I started my ibuprofen and nausea medication before I started the doses. I took the dose around 4:56 pm and waited for 30 minutes as directed. I inserted the pills on my cheeks and let them dissolve. After that I waited for about an hour.. the cramps started to come. By 2 hrs minor bleeding, by 3 hours that’s when the heavy bleeding started coming. I would say I was on the toilet every 10 to 20 mins just passing blood clots. The cramps would be about 8/10. You’ll be on the toilet I would say about an 3 hrs just passing on blood clots (but that’s just me of course) after about hour 4 the bleeding became like any regular heavy period. The cramping wasn’t as bad. What helped me was a heating pad for the cramps, sips of water and just try to eat regularly. You are loosing blood and trying to keep yourself hydrated is the best way to go. It is manageable & it can be done!! Don’t scare yourself! It wasn’t as bad as I initially thought it would had been! Keep positive!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/26/2022
Condition: Induction of Cervical Softening and Dilation in Labor
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was terrified reading the horror stories, so terrified that I almost didn’t proceed. I’m not sure if the horror stories are true or not. I was just about 5 weeks when I made my decision to terminate my pregnancy. First pill was given in the clinic at 12:30, I did not have any side effects. I was advised to take the remaining 4 pills after 24 or 48 hrs. The next day I took ibuprofen 800 and nausea pill at 10:00pm and then I took the 4 pills at 10:40pm. I was literally so scared by these stories that I had my son’s bag packed in case I had to go to the ER. I did not have anyone at home with me. I had VERY slight cramping about 1 hr after the pills dissolved. I fell asleep and woke up around 3am to cramping that was NOT painful more of a discomfort. I went to the bathroom and had a small blood clot the size of a nickel. I went back to sleep and woke up and went to work. I do work from home. I bleed as if I was on a normal period. The process was so smooth and PAINLESSRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Gigi F | 35-44 | Female | Patient
5/22/2022
Condition: Abortion
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was extremely nervous after reading other reviews and tried having a positive outlook before taking the pills. About 15 minutes after taking the cheek pills I was sweating and constantly moving side to side because of the cramping. I threw up three times, bright yellow acid and had diarrhea. All of this within the first hour. I was surprised how quickly it hit me… by hour 3 I was feeling a little bit better but then the bleeding started and it was bad. It was gushing out when I sat on the toilet and I had about 4 big lemon size clumps come out of me. I was afraid I was losing too much blood because I was extremely faint and lightheaded. I tried showering and ended up on the shower floor with tunnel vision and without hearing, I was on the verge of passing out. I got out and didn’t even dry myself off and stumbled to my bed soaking wet. I was in a complete daze. The heavy bleeding proceeded until about 15 hours after the cheek pills were taken. I am still bleeding on day 6 but not as badly. I would never do this again, it was very traumatic. I was fully prepared for a bad experience but I thought I would be one of the lucky ones and have an easy time. NOPE. Do not do this if you’re home with someone and trying to keep it a secret. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Gianna | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/22/2022
Condition: Abortion
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I wish I read the reviews before taking this pill. This was the worst pain I have ever felt in my life. I experienced vomiting, extreme cramping, and a lot of bleeding. The pain lasted around 6 hours non stop. I cried on my bathroom floor for hours wishing I took another route. Please never take this pill.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Helen | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/16/2022
Condition: Abortion
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had children all natural delivery with no pain relief. Taking these tablets had me taking codeine and ibuprofen every 4 hours. This experience can only be described as going into labour. Almost straight away after taking the 2nd tablets, contractions started and continued for over 7 hours....The pain was indescribable. In the end I done away with the rule book, got in 3 baths during those hours and that seemed to ease the pain for a while. Alot of blood and clots, next day still in slight pain but more than anything just very tired. Honestly, if you cannot handle pain, don't take these. Because for someone who has a high pain threshold, I was in agony and had I known all of this I definitely wouldn't have taken this option.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female |
5/15/2022
Condition: Abortion
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’m 6 weeks pregnant. I orally took 4 pills and I only could keep them in my mouth for 20 mins. By the 20 mins mark i was already having diarrhea. I made my boyfriend run and get me a water so I could swallow as much as I could. As soon as I swallowed I projectile vomited. Then like 5 mins later the “cramps” started. I was on the floor screaming. I was told this was going to be like a heavy period. I told my boyfriend to call an ambulance cause I was scared and didn’t know this was normal. Went to the hospital to be told this is what happens. I went home and I’m writing this about 6 hours later. The contractions (the part they don’t tell you about) are bare able now but I’m still in pretty bad pain (6 out of 10) the nausea is back as well. I just wish my doctor told me the amount of pain I was going to experience. I have never felt such pain in my life. Heating pad sorta helps and pain meds didn’t nothing. THIS EXPERIENCE IS DIFFERENT FOR ALL. This is my first ever abortion and I’m going to be honest nobody told me it would be this scary. I have no second thoughts I just wish it wasn’t taboo that you could possibly experience the worst pain of your life. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | Female | Patient
5/13/2022
Condition: Abortion
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Wow I was not at all prepared for this experience. My mark for my pregnancy was 7 weeks and I decided to have an abortion and take the pill route. I took the first pill and didn’t feel any side effects other than nausea wich I was already experiencing prior with the pregnancy. The next day I took the 4 pills let them soak in my mouth for 30 min and waited. The first hour nothing happened just very light bleeding but after that first hour it only went downhill from there. I had severe cramping that was so painful I passed out from the pain twice. My body had the chills and I was sweating a lot. I also had diarrhea for a while and couldn’t leave the toilet. This cramping pain went on for 4 hours straight I am still in shock it hurt this much. I had taken Tylenol 3 prior to the 4 mitoprisol pills but it did nothing for the pain and only made me loopy. If I could go back in time I would have gotten the surgery instead. Although the bleeding was heavy as well throughout the day it did not phase me whatsoever as I was too distracted by the pain which I would rate a 9/10. Wish I read some reviews before deciding the pill but Atleast I’m not pregnant anymore I guess. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Gift | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/8/2022
Condition: Abortion
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Taken it for 3days now but nothing am worried

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
La | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/7/2022
Condition: Abortion
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After reading reviews and hearing about the horrible pain, cramps and bleeding made me super scared. So I decided to try to set my self up to be as comfortable as possible. I put water bottles and snacks next to my bed, got a hot water bottle super hot and ready, opened up a window in my room, found a few good movies for distraction and last but definitely not least I ate before taking 1200mg of ibuprofen instead of 800 as suggested by the dr. Then I took the 4 pills orally, two in each cheek. Let them dissolve for 30 mins sitting in my cheeks and then swallowing the rest. I started light bleeding within 20 mins. I didn’t get horrible cramps though, in fact I didn’t get any painful cramps. I think it was due to the amount ibuprofen I took plus the hot water bottle on my stomach. But I did bleed ALOT. Where I had to change my sheets and take a shower. But after about 2 hours of heavy bleeding and huge blood clots, the bleeding slowed down. I did have a lot of gas also. But other than that, it wasn’t too bad. The next day was medium bleeding and yet again no cramps. Going by my experience, I would suggest to set yourself for comfortability. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female |
5/4/2022
Condition: Abortion
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I came on here earlier looking to find out how other people had felt after taking misoprostol for abortion. Of course, I was nervous. I read many horror story ones, and told myself after my experience I’d write an honest review (and was hoping I would be able to write a positive review as well.) However, my experience was like the many horror stories I’m sure you’ve read. I took the 4 pills at 6:50pm. I started to feel slight affects around 750, mild cramps and fatigue. I thought “huh, if this is it then I’m gonna be fine.” Skip to 1 hour later, I’m forced to get up because I have to pee. From there, the real side effects began. First it was severe cramping and nausea, next came diarrhea. The diarrhea, severe cramping, and nausea alone lasted about 45 mins. From there I had felt like I was going to faint quite a few times, and eventually I started to vomit. All 4 symptoms continued for 2 more hours. My legs began to ache, so I tried to lay on the floor a few times and everytime without fail I’d quickly have to get back up and poop or vomit. As I FINALLY started to feel better 2.5 hours later, I got uncontrollable shivers and chills. 20 minutes later, it all finally stopped. I felt better. It was like a flip had switched, I was able to shower and crawl into bed (still with immense cramps). This is one of the worst experiences with a medication I have had, make sure you are prepared for all side effects possible (because you never know). Of course every body and every experience is different, but I thought I’d share my story. Keep strong ladies, you’re not alone xoxo Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | Female | Patient
5/1/2022
Condition: Abortion
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’m currently 6 weeks On day one and after the first hour my cramps have been on and off. The first hour for me was horrible but I think it would’ve been much worse if I haven’t taken pain meds 30 mins prior. Remember to take your pain and nausea medicine! This isn’t as bad as some of those fear mongering posts. I am bleeding a lot but It’s honestly not as bad as I thought it would be. The heating pack has helped a lot as well. I think the worse part was actually taking the medicine and having it dissolve in between my gums. That’s probably the closest thing that resembles eating chalk. YOU CAN DO THIS! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Dolly | 13-18 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/27/2022
Condition: Abortion
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication went straight to my brain, I’m mentally affected by this medication, I’m very suicidal, people stay away from this medication

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ashley M | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/25/2022
Condition: Abortion
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was afraid to take these medications as I heard there would be a lot of pain and a small chance of it not working. The first pill, mifepristone was given at the clinic in Pittsburgh after sitting there for 6 hours. Nothing happened at all- no cramping or bleeding. 6 hours later I administered the misoprostol vaginally- all 4 pill. Then, nothing happened until 2:45am- cramping, almost like labor pains for a full hour. I bled some but believed my pregnancy expelled at that point because the cramping slowed down significantly. Today, I’ve been taking care of my 2 sons and trying to rest but everything it fine today. Mild cramping today, mild bleeding. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Hap901 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/24/2022
Condition: Abortion
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Hi, just wondering if anyone had any side effects with the 4 pills you put in between the mouth and gum? I could only hold mine in my mouth for 15 minutes before I ended up throwing up. Anyone else?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Xxxgirl | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/23/2022
Condition: Abortion
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After reading the reviews on this site I was absolutely terrified to start the process, I was around 4-5 weeks and just kept telling myself surely it can’t be that bad I’m so early. The day 1 tablet you swallow was no issue I had no symptoms with this, but just under 24 hours later before I had even started the second process I sat down and felt a gush of blood, and I thought nothing online says you can bleed from the first tablet so I was confused. I went to the toilet and passed a blood clot around the size of a £2 coin. I then took some codeine and put the 4 tablets in my gums, I was planning on doing vaginally but because I was bleeding I didn’t want them to come out with the blood flow. The 4 tablets in the gums wasn’t horrific although it did made me feel quite sick after. When the half an hour was up of having them in my gums the pain started within 5 minutes. I had only taken 2 codeine and my god I should have took 4 and 3 ibuprofen.. the pain came so quickly out of nowhere, I sat on the toilet and I was shaking head to toe, my legs and feet were tingling, and I felt so sick so I went and led down. I felt the urge to move my legs side to side and have them open, any other position was too uncomfortable. The stomach cramps was nothing like a period, I have never felt pain like it, I was crying, shaking, and the room was spinning. I took another 2 codeine and within 10 minutes the pain killers began to kick in and it slowly got more manageable. Honestly if I can give anyone any advice it would be to take 4 codeine half an hour before doing step 2 of the 4 tablets. For the rest of the night I had strong period pains but nothing like the pain I felt the first time. I was taking ibuprofen aswell as codeine and filling a hot water bottle up every 2 hours, please make sure you have a hot water bottle I don’t think I could have coped without mine, it helps so much. When it came to taking the last 2 tablets I did them vaginally because I have a fear of throwing up and I just didn’t need that whilst going through the pain. I was expecting hell with these but because I was taking pain killers regularly it didn’t really get a chance. I got pains here and there but they just seem like nothing after the pain I felt the first time. If you’re reading this I wouldn’t read anymore because it sends your anxiety through the roof. I finished all my treatment at 00:12 and it’s now 9:12am and I don’t really feel pain, I’m just tired as I barely slept the night and set alarms throughout the night to remind me to take more codeine/ibuprofen as I was too scared to let that pain come back. I’m sorry if you’re going through this, your experience might be different please remember that, and please take my advice of keeping on top of your pain killers and taking 4 codeine half an hour before you start the second treatment. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
T | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/19/2022
Condition: Abortion
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Please note everyone experiences different types symptoms and pain. Unfortunately my experience was not pleasant. I was 7+5 when I took the first dose with some bleeding occuring the next day. Day after in the evening I took panadeine forte and ibroprofin then administered the 4 tablets buccally and experienced uncomfortable cramps about 40 minutes later which lasted for around an hour. Then the severe cramping started. The pain was unbearable. I then started vomiting, had chills and had to rock my hips and keep moving because the pain was nearly causing me to pass out. The pain lasted for around 4 hours and did not ease. I passed clots and large amounts of blood but this did not relieve the pain. Looking back I should have gone to Emergency Department. I cannot begin to explain how painful this was. Please ensure you have pain relief and go to hospital- I wish I did. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sarah | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/16/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took 3 200mg tablets of misoprostol vaginally in preparation for a hysteroscopy / uterine biopsy. I was not pregnant at this time. I started feeling some mild cramping about 30 minutes after taking it. However, about 1 hour after I took the medicine, I started feeling very intense cramping (I would say 7-8 out of 10 pain) that lasted for 4-6 hours. Around 5 hours after taking it, I considered taking myself to the emergency room because the pain was so intense and was not being controlled with OTC pain relievers. During this time, I also experienced chills/shaking around 30 minutes after taking it and some mild nausea. If you have to take this medicine, I would ask your doctor for the lowest possible dose that you can take to avoid these side effects. I would also be very proactive about taking pain medicine.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Pills | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/15/2022
Condition: Abortion
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’m convinced many of the stories on here are forced birthers attempting to terrify women. I had an abortion three weeks ago. I was five weeks pregnant. I did cramp, but was able to sleep through the cramps with a heating pad on and most of the bleeding and discomfort was done over a weekend. I normally have wayyyyyy worse periods. Make sure to have pain and anti nausea meds, Advil and a heating pad and ask your doctor what to expect. Tell them you’re scared and need support for fear of the pain and they’ll be honest with you. Most women I know who did a medical abortion had experiences like mine. The fear I got from reading this site had me literally afraid for my life. The experience itself was 100000000x easier. If these pills were causing pain for the majority of women that was sending them to the hospital en masse most abortions would just be surgical. Not trying to downplay anyone’s experience but. I cannot believe after my experience that this many people have this much unbearable pain. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
IslaF | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/14/2022
Condition: Abortion
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was 4 weeks exactly when I found out. Took the first pill right at the start of my 5th week. Was nervous in the clinic taking the first pill and tbh that was the most upsetting part of the journey for me. No side effects from this. Took the 2 other pills in my mouth the next day. Felt a throbbing pain as they dissolved on my gums. started to feel pain about 30 mins after I had taken them. Uncontrollable vomiting followed. After an hour the pain became too much for me to handle and I went to the maternity hospital. They did scans (ultrasound & transvaginal) and gave me pain relief. The pain was a 20/10. I am shocked at how many women here say they were able to go to sleep after taking this tablet or that there was no pain at all! As for the bleeding, bled heavily for 5/6 hours, after that bled like a regular period for maybe a week. The pain was the worst of my life- I thought we would never make it to the hospital, I was in complete and utter agony, I couldn't help but scream out in pain. I remember the nurse telling me i was as white as a sheet. I remember another nurse telling me that this is very common in abortion pills to feel such pain.I shook in the bed and couldn't get up to use the bathroom (they caused severe upset tummy too) the pain was completely gone in about 14 hours after I had taken the tables, but only with the help of injected pain meds. Honestly, I would never do this again. If I had my time back id do surgical, this was barbaric. Ladies be prepared, go to the hospital right away if the pain is too much don't suffer in silence. The docs&nurses were so nice to me and you'll get proper care xRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
M | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/14/2022
Condition: Abortion
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I came here last night after taking the medication and wondering if I was dying (dramatic but true) or if this was normal. I was relieved-ish to see that many others shared the same experience. After taking the 4 tablets by mouth within 15 minutes I had the worst pain of my life. I was shivering uncontrollably for 2 hours and felt like I was going to pass out from the pain. BUT I’m here to say, day 2 the pain is basically gone and the bleeding is manageable. My advice is have a strong pain med (I only took ibuprofen), a heating pad (I had to get one delivered and it helped immensely) and I also used a body pillow to cling onto when other positions hurt. I’m only on here to say this because I was underprepared for the level of pain I experienced and wish the doctors would have better prepared me. I hope it goes better for everyone else! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More