Show ratings & reviews for

1.5 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Shared reviews and ratings

Troy | 45-54 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/23/2018
Condition: Additional Agent to Induce General Anesthesia
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Used for pelvic fusion surgery intubation, after surgery had significant trouble with o2 saturation (88%) and extreme hypertension, this passed after 4 hours, and then for 3 days experienced unimaginable full body muscle cramps that required PCA hyrdromorphine drip plus ketamine drip until it resolved after 3 days. The cramping when asked to rate 1-10 was as I reported a 14! This is no joke, worst part is it took a day to convince staff pain was not related to the surgery, which also presented its own significant pain profile.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
smokinhorn | 45-54 | Male | Patient
6/30/2014
Condition: Skeletal Muscle Relaxation for Tube Insertion Into Trachea
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I cant even tell you how painful my whole body is in. All my muscles hurt so bad it is incapacitating. I can't even rollover in bed the pain is so bad. My Jaw, shoulders, ribs, abbs, neck, back theighs, and grion are in so much pain. I have had surgeries before and have never experienced this! Upon researching what may be the cause it looks like I have "Postoperative Muscle Pain Myalgia from the use of Succinylcholine and Scoline in the Anesthesia.I have had numerous surgeries with anesthesia and have never experienced this severe muscle pain. This is day 3 and I am still have Major Muscle pain all over my body. Its horrible. I was also told my bloodpresure was all over the place and had extremely low oxygen levels due to the drug. Avoid this drug at all costs. It is horrible. They did not tell me they would be using it.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
galvarez | 35-44 | Male | Patient
6/16/2014
Condition: Skeletal Muscle Relaxation for Tube Insertion Into Trachea
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The same thing happened to me after surgery on my knee, the debilitating,excruciating pain I felt was the worst thing I had ever been through. The FDA needs to outlaw this drug. I felt like dying.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous |
10/6/2010
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
coffeelovermama | 65-74 | Female | Patient
5/29/2010
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was given this drug when I had a tonsilectomy. Within 12 hours of being home my legs totally died..I could not lift them or turn over in my bed. During the next 6 hours this deep sleep in my muscles had moved up my back and around my chest making it impossible to get out of bed, turn over and very difficult to breath. My muscles had gone back to sleep. I ended up in ICU for 24 hrs and after two additional days in a regular room and my muscles coming back to life no one knew what was happening. After coming home I kept bugging the hospital until I got in touch with the Anesthessiolgist group who put me to sleep during the surgery and found out this was the drug I had received and one of the rare side effects was just what I had encountered. My heart is a muscle!!!! Now I have to search for other drugs with this same side effect for it's time for another surgery. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/18/2009
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was given this medication for outpatient surgery to remove some growths from my vocal cords. I woke up in severe abdominal and side pains. I was given morphine and percocets to ease the pain, but it worsened over the next 2 days and I am in day 3 and still suffering severe muscle pain throughout my entire body. The surgery center told me I was having a reaction to the anesthetic succinylcholine and it will go away. In the time being I am in alot of pain and do not know what to do to decrease this pain. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
GLOCDan | 35-44 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/28/2009
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was given a brief shot of this medication in an I.V. just prior to esophageal surgery to make getting a breathing tube down easy. When I woke up a couple hours later my leg muscles hurt, but I managed to hobble out without a wheelchair. The nurses said it must have been the way the doctors placed my legs that made them sore. The next morning, almost all my muscles hurt so bad it took a couple minutes to get out of bed. It took 5 whole minutes to shuffle my way from bedroom to kitchen (maybe 30 feet). It hurt so bad each step was less than 6 inches. When I sneezed or laughed I nearly collapsed - my stomach muscles hurt so much they couldn't keep me up. If you're like me and had a cramped leg or charley horse, or if you got cramps in the arch of your foot before, you know what this feels like. But this was like having those cramps ALL OVER nonstop for three days. It hurt my feet, legs, arms, back and neck. I normally don't complain about muscle pain, but I was shouting really loud for three days. It was a little scary...I almost went to the E.R. They should do a blood test first to see if this will affect you before you use it. My doctor will give me a different medicine the next time I go in for surgery.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
armymedic | 35-44 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/20/2009
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Was given this drug before surgery for intubation 24 hours later my muscles started craping little by little till my whole body was in a big knot and I could not move I was still in the hospital and my doctors gave massive doses of Mophine and hydromorphone but nothing would take away the pain I was curl up in the fetal position crying like a baby for about 2 days I was the worst pain I every felt x10 in my life I don't recomend this drug for anybody unless you're dieing

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/27/2008
Condition: Decreased Muscle Tone
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Shelley914 | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/12/2008
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was given this drug during minor surgery and every muscle in my body was very sore for 3 days. Could barely chew or walk around.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More