Show ratings & reviews for

3.3 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

24 People found this comment helpful

I'm Bipolar but also with an anxiety disorder. I go to the guidance center for treatment and they decided to stop prescribing Xanax ( and all medications like it, because of their addictive nature) even to those of us who truly need it and don't abuse it. As you can see I am not happy with their desicion. However, My dr. decided to put me on Vistaril 25 Mg X3 a day to combat my anxiety. The medica...

Most voted negative review

7 People found this comment helpful

If your Dr. suggests this drug,walk out and go to a new Dr.;The Dr. here is a Veterinarian! Of all the choices, the person prescribing this should be ashamed and go back to school.

Shared reviews and ratings

MichaelC1234 | 25-34 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/29/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This was prescribed to me to address chronic insomnia. I was also taking 200mg of Sertraline for general anxiety disorder. This gave me auditory hallucinations that kept me up all night making it near impossible to sleep. I was also unable to to stop twitching at random.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
nonamegiven | 25-34 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/25/2021
Condition: Anxious
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The medication was perscribed for anxiety, i can only take this 2 days ina row without feeling totally empty and depersonalizing, which is something ive never had happen to me prior to taking this. i cant think straight, my reactions slow, and I pretty much feel nothing. Would not recommend for anyone

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ser13 | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/20/2019
Condition: Inducing of a Relaxed Easy State
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am diagnosed with Bipolar II Disorder and I’m on antidepressants as well as Vistaril. My doctor prescribed me this medication as I expressed I had lots of anxiety while trying to sleep and it caused me to not be able to fall asleep most nights. I was getting around ~5 hours of sleep and with Vistaril I am now getting ~3 hours. It makes you feel drowsy, don’t get me wrong, and relaxes your muscles, but not in a way that is helpful. I felt like I was trapped inside a zombies body. Falling asleep on this drug is extremely difficult. My body is uncomfortable and feels numb. I wake up several times during the night and the next morning I don’t know if I was asleep or awake during the night. I can only remember staring at the window for what seemed like hours. I feel the side effects of this drug a whole 24 hours after taking it. The next morning after taking it for sleep, my muscles do not work properly and I feel as though I’ve lost motor function in my limbs and fingers. My brain is not comprehending information quickly and I have a hard time typing and reading, which is most of my job. Even reaching up to open my car door is a chore for my body. I was in a store and felt like I had to be taken to emergency because of how much anxiety I was feeling coupled with my body feeling limp and weak. Everything about this medication effected me negatively. Didn’t help with my anxiety. Didn’t help me fall asleep. Just made me feel like an empty shell of a person. I’ve only taken this drug 3 times (not even in a row) and will not be taking it again. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Diane | 25-34 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/29/2019
Condition: Itching
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My son was given this in emerg room, only took 5 low doses pills over 6 days, after reaction was in hospital for 3 days. This is what vistaril did for him, it caused visual and auditory hallucinations, severe paranoid anxiety, extreme dry mouth, tremors, stuttering, and many other things. He thought everyone was trying to kill him, everyone he looked at had rivers of tears running down their face. Its killing me hearing all of it. He’s been very traumatized.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tanncox77 | 35-44 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/29/2018
Condition: Anxious
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It helps me stay calm and helps my allergies

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Maryland Gal | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/17/2018
Condition: Anxious
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My doctor prescribed this along with my antidepressant medication because I had trouble sleeping. After taking it for the first time I noticed that I was able to get a full nights rest. After taking it consistently did a month now I’ve been getting the best sleep in my life. It does give me dry mouth but I need to drink more water anyways lol. Love this stuff!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Histo | 35-44 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/16/2018
Condition: Additional Medication for Calming
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed this med to help me fall asleep as well as allergies. I have noticed a welcoming- calming effect that is not too sedative- very quick onset. I have had no issues such as side effects or anything to report unpleasant. Very happy that this med was added to my daily regimen of medications. It makes me feel focused. Bonus!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Matthew120 | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/14/2018
Condition: Anxious
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Been taking xanax for 7years and was at 6mg a day so i quit taking it and tried the Vistaril at 25mg and it didnt calm my nerves or my severe anxiety. Used this now for almost a week and will go back to my xanax. Everyone is different! It made me twitch uncontrollably which is somewhat embarrassing when out in the public.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Spiked-Philly | 35-44 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/4/2017
Condition: Nausea and Vomiting
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was taking this along with Demerol after a major surgery. I was supposed to take it to help with nausea. Hydrocodone makes me vomit, so doc though Vistaril would help me tolerate the Demerol. Within an hour of taking it my blood pressure dropped super low and I fainted 3 times within a hour. I hadn't taken the Demerol yet, so it wasn't the 2 drugs interacting. Had to go to the ER and have IV fluid to flush it out. I would NOT recommend this drug if you have low BP. Mine is 80/65 normally.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Beau | 65-74 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/21/2017
Condition: Anxious
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Taking me off Xanax , I've been on Vistaril for 2 months. I helped fine for l-1.5 then it began raising my blood pressure to 190/98 range. So now I'm being treated for High Blood Pressure with two medicines. Go figure!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mom2Boys | 35-44 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/30/2017
Condition: Anxious
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My pdoc put me on Vistaril on December 14, 2016. (I also take Cymbalta, Geodon and Klonopin). Originally, the Vistaril was a low dose, so there wasn't any noticeable weight gain, but I also wasn't getting any relief from my symptoms. On January 6, 2017, my pdoc increased my dosage to 50 mg. up to 3 times per day. I am now getting relief from my symptoms, but I also notice the scale creeping upwards. This upsets and frustrates me becsuse since August 1, 2016, I have worked hard to lose 30 pounds and I'm petrified of that slipping away. I just don't know what to do. I'm petrified of gaining weight, but yet, the benefits of Vistaril have been great. I don't see my pdoc until February 15th. I guess I'll have to wait to discuss this then, because the doctors don't answer non life threatening questions when they see that you have an appointment coming up.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Cindy | 45-54 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/19/2017
Condition: Anxious
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lisa | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
1/15/2017
Condition: Anxious
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I began taking this drug years ago. I was taking it every day several times a day at the same times every day. It really didn't have a decent affect after taking it for about 6 months. They increased the dose by adding that I could also take it PRN. Soon I discovered that it was not working too well about 6 months later. My new prescribing physician let me know that taking Vistaril every day at the same time of day was not as effective as just taking it PRN. Since then, Vistaril really has a wonderful, calming affect during the times I really need it.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jittery1285 | 35-44 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/25/2016
Condition: Anxious
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The first time I took this it made me tired. No big deal. Then I took it again the next day and could no longer control my emotions. Then I took it one more time, this time i had uncontrollable quivering externally (hands knees legs) and internally ( chest ). It is now 4 days later and my legs are still sore and my hands are shaking worse than they were before i took the vistaril. Worst Drug ever!!~!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
hello | 25-34 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/18/2016
Condition: Anxious
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

this is some real cheap stuff its what they give people in jail or in my case bad insurance I complained and was given a look like I was lying to them only other meds they offered was Benadryl

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
visteryl | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/7/2016
Condition: Feel Like Throwing Up
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

dont know yet

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Caregiver
12/24/2015
Condition: Anxious
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/15/2015
Condition: Anxious
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Every time I take this medicine It really doesn't do anything for me and I have to take several of them before anything starts to happen.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/4/2015
Condition: Anxious
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed this drug for panic/anxiety treatment. For panic attacks, it sometimes works, sometimes doesn't. I'll take it when I feel a panic attack coming on, and it will not kick in for about 30 minutes, and by then the panic attack has already run it's course. I have insomnia from my anxiety, so it does help me sleep at night when I feel like I can't. If I take it during the day, it makes me a little tired, but not tired enough to fall asleep behind the wheel or when I'm busy doing something. I also suffer from allergies to dustmites/mold/things in the air, and it helps control them.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
BReady | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/30/2015
Condition: Additional Medication for Calming
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been using this for a few days due to night terrors, sleep walking and severe anxiety. I feel"high" and sometimes numb when used, the next day I feel leveled and happier. I take buspar, paxil and minipress in conjunction with this. I have not had terrors or fine any mischief at night though and I feel rested.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More