Show ratings & reviews for

3.7 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

17 People found this comment helpful

the new tablets work well for IBS w constipation, surprisingly!Staying hydrated and eating right helps. I used to eat right,exercise, took Miralax and Amitiza, but still had problems. The Citracel tablets alone seem to do the trick. It took about 2 weeks for my system to adjust but it is worth it.I take 2 tabs 3 or 4 times/day. Sounds like alot, but its a small price to pay when something really w...

Shared reviews and ratings

vacpacker1 | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/23/2021
Condition: Irritable Colon
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Citrucel definitely softens my stool and makes bowel movements more frequent. Too frequent. After a few days of taking this medication (i.e. 1 -2 tsp in a glass of water once a day), I have way too frequent (ie. 8 to 12 times a day), and mushy stool that I have to digitate out most of. My intestine is just too sensitive to this compound. I constantly feel there is a bowel movement waiting to come out. I'm thinking I can't take it more than once or twice a week at most.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Orville | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/15/2020
Condition: Incomplete or Infrequent Bowel Movements
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Doesn’t work well to promote bowel movements, just gives me gas

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
csmc | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/11/2018
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

sure helped my rafter having part of my colon removed..

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
simply me | 65-74 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
10/26/2017
Condition: Incomplete or Infrequent Bowel Movements
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

MUST drink at least 48-64 oz of water each day. Especially drinking another glass of water after taking the Citurcel is very important so that it dose not bind up in the upper intestine. This product works.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bob Gibson | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more |
8/21/2015
Condition: Incomplete or Infrequent Bowel Movements
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

52-year-old male with family history of constipation and bouts of Irritable Bowel Syndrome. I am relatively healthy - Body fat of 19%, and exercise 1-hour, 3 times per week. I have taken Citrucel and Metamucil (or generics work just as well) for more than 30 years. Excess gas has always been a problem (hence the 4-star satisfaction) Citrucel does induce less gas than Metamucil, at least for me. Two "doses" of yogurt (6-oz containers) have greatly reduced flatulence and also "improved" odor of remaining gas. Beano also helps on occasion when combined with other high fiber foods (beans, etc.)Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/26/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After 4 days stopped taking. Caused severe nausea.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
boo | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/14/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

stomach pain

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/3/2014
Condition: Incomplete or Infrequent Bowel Movements
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'm not a big fan of the flavor, makes it harder for me to drink but does help with constipation. However, I think you should be drinking 6-8 glasses of 8 oz water at minimum a day to make it really effective

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/21/2014
Condition: Incomplete or Infrequent Bowel Movements
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 75 or over | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/10/2014
Condition: Incomplete or Infrequent Bowel Movements
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I drink mine. I started it on my own and the Dr. OK's it. I am just getting started but it is easy to make and use.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Maverick | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
4/7/2011
Condition: Incomplete or Infrequent Bowel Movements
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After a long time using this product as advised after a colonoscopy and questioning trouble it may have been causing I have stopped using it. Family doc kept saying it would not cause absorption problems, but to wait a couple hours to be safe. Most of these products warn of impacts upon absorption of other meds. This is very serious. I am type 2 diabeteic and take bp meds, recently it appeared that I needed to raised those prescription needs due to bad blood work reports. I decided to stop the citracel first. After 3 days and no other changes morning sugar went from 210 down to 180, bp went from 140/90 down to 120/68. After a week the sugar went down to 135 in the am. You make you own call I am done with this stuff. I was taking it when I got up in the am, taking meds 4 hours later, the warning label says you only have to wait 2 hours (bunk!!!). A recent doc visit for 2nd opinion supported this course of action.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bluegroove | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/14/2010
Condition: Irritable Colon
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

the new tablets work well for IBS w constipation, surprisingly!Staying hydrated and eating right helps. I used to eat right,exercise, took Miralax and Amitiza, but still had problems. The Citracel tablets alone seem to do the trick. It took about 2 weeks for my system to adjust but it is worth it.I take 2 tabs 3 or 4 times/day. Sounds like alot, but its a small price to pay when something really works!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
K/mom | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/11/2010
Condition: Irritable Colon
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

used for IBS, really amazed by the good results

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anngellica | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/17/2009
Condition: Irritable Colon
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

While this product is known for its ability to treat constipation, it also treats irritable bowel (frequent, loose bowel movements) remarkably well.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous |
9/22/2009
Condition: Irritable Colon
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

this was recommended by 2 of my doctors. it works quickly and effectively.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
distylit | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
2/6/2009
Condition: Incomplete or Infrequent Bowel Movements
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have tried many other fiber meds and this one has been the most effective and doesn't cause me to have gas.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More